Turkey asks US for Patriot air defense systems to contain Russian air forces


Bloomberg has informed the public that Ankara is asking Washington for the MIM-104 "Patriot" (Partiot) missile defense systems to deter the Russian and Syrian air forces on their southern borders. It is clarified that under the cover of such air defense / missile defense systems, the Turkish air forces will be able to more actively use their F-16s to launch attacks on the Syrian Arab Army (SAA).


It is noted that Ankara has not yet received an official response from Washington to its request, which was allegedly transferred in mid-February 2020 to US Special Representative for Syria James Jeffrey. At the same time, it is known that in December 2019, the Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu during the Doha Forum in Qatar said that Turkey had asked the United States to sell her Patriot systems. However, Washington’s reaction to this proposal is still unknown.

Turkey believes that the United States is still our allies, and we remain their allies ... No one can cancel the deal with Russia on the purchase of C-400, that's done. The offer of Russia was more profitable, and we accepted it. Now we are ready to buy the Patriot system from the USA, we are waiting for their response

- said Chavushoglu then.

By the way, on February 20, 2020, the head of the Ministry of National Defense of Turkey, Hulusi Akar, said in an interview with CNN Turk that the United States could supply Ankara with several Patriot batteries as support. In fact, the Turks beg the Americans for air defense, while the "stronghold of democracy" is strikingly silent.

The USA declares that they support us in Idlib. We are not talking about the appearance of American troops there. We can be supported in the form of Patriot air defense supplies

- said the Turkish minister.

In addition, the Turkish minister emphasized that the S-400 anti-aircraft missile systems (SAMs) previously acquired from Russia will be put into operation soon. At the same time, he added that the Turkish army can be withdrawn from the territory of Syria only after the "legitimate elections" are held there.

We follow the rules of the game, based on the principles. There were statements from the category of "you can’t buy them, you can’t put them for yourself." Our president gave the appropriate necessary response and accepted the S-400. No one should doubt that the S-400 will be put into operation. Work will begin around April

- explained Akar.

There will be a constitution, legitimate elections will be held, a legitimate government will come, a democratic state will appear, then everyone will take all the places, and we will do it. When there is a democratic leadership, then Turkey will leave

- summed up Akar.


Necessary to remindthat the Russian Aerospace Forces helped the SAA repel the counter-offensive of militants in the Idlib "de-escalation" zone. After that, a video appeared on the Web how in the sky of Idlib, a Su-24 bomber left a missile launched from MANPADS.
Photos used: Spc. Henry / wikipedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Турция просит у США ЗРК Patriot для сдерживания ВКС России


Агентство Bloomberg проинформировало общественность, что Анкара просит у Вашингтона противоракетные комплексы MIM-104 «Пэтриот» (Partiot) для сдерживания ВКС России и ВВС Сирии на своих южных рубежах. Уточняется, что под прикрытием подобных систем ПВО/ПРО, ВВС Турции смогут более активно использовать свои F-16 для нанесения ударов по Сирийской арабской армии (САА).


Отмечается, что Анкара пока не получила официального ответа из Вашингтона на свой запрос, который был якобы передан в середине февраля 2020 года спецпредставителю США по Сирии Джеймсу Джеффри. При этом известно, что в декабре 2019 года глава МИД Турции Мевлют Чавушоглу в ходе Дохийского форума в Катаре заявил, что Турция обратилась к США с просьбой продать ей системы Patriot. Однако реакция Вашингтона на это предложение до сих пор неизвестна.

Турция верит, что США все еще наши союзники, и мы по-прежнему остаемся их союзниками... Никто не может отменить сделку с Россией по покупке С-400, это сделано. Предложение России было более выгодным, и мы его приняли. Сейчас мы готовы купить систему Patriot от США, ждем их ответа

- сказал тогда Чавушоглу.

К слову, 20 февраля 2020 года, глава Министерства национальной обороны Турции Хулуси Акар сообщил в интервью телеканалу CNN Turk, что США могли бы поставить Анкаре несколько батарей Patriot в качестве поддержки. Фактически, турки клянчат у американцев ПВО, при этом «оплот демократии» хранит поразительное молчание.

США заявляют о том, что они нас поддерживают в Идлибе. Речь не идет о появлении там американских военнослужащих. Нам может быть оказана поддержка в виде поставок ЗРК Patriot

- сказал турецкий министр.

Кроме того, турецкий министр подчеркнул, что ранее приобретенные у России зенитные ракетные системы (ЗРС) С-400 будут скоро введены в эксплуатацию. При этом он добавил, что армия Турции может быть выведена с территории Сирии только после проведения там «легитимных выборов».

Мы следуем правилам игры, исходя из принципов. Были заявления из разряда «вы не можете их купить, вы не можете их себе поставить». Наш президент дал соответствующий необходимый ответ и принял С-400. Никто не должен сомневаться, что С-400 будут введены в эксплуатацию. Работы начнутся приблизительно в апреле

- пояснил Акар.

Вот будет конституция, пройдут легитимные выборы, придет легитимное правительство, появится демократическое государство, вот тогда все займут все места, и мы сделаем это. Когда будет демократическое руководство, тогда Турция выйдет

- подытожил Акар.


Нужно напомнить, что ВКС России помогли САА отбить контрнаступление боевиков в Идлибской зоне «деэскалации». После этого в Сети появилось видео, как в небе Идлиба бомбардировщик Су-24 ушел от ракеты, выпущенной из ПЗРК.
  • Использованы фотографии: Spc. Henry/wikipedia.org
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти