Sakhalin risks becoming Russian-Japanese

The opening of the first stage of the Crimean bridge gave rise to a lot of rumors that the Russian authorities are going to reanimate the Sakhalin Bridge project, which was started and abandoned in Soviet times, which should connect the island with the continental part of Russia. They also recall plans announced several years ago to connect Russian Sakhalin with the Japanese island of Hokkaido with a huge bridge.




In this regard, it is interesting to evaluate economic Sakhalin’s potential and a look at the prospects for its development from the point of view of Japanese partners. A large-scale oil and gas project Sakhalin-2 has been launched on the island. In 2014, a new light oil called Sakhalin Blend appeared on the world energy market. Sakhalin oil is exported to five countries through Japan, China and South Korea.

It was on Sakhalin in 2009 that the first plant for the production of liquefied natural gas appeared, whose products go to Japan, China, the Republic of Korea, Thailand and Taiwan. 70% of Sakhalin liquefied natural gas is sent to Japan, providing 10% of the island’s energy balance. Japanese Hokkaido is almost entirely dependent on exports from Sakhalin. The proximity of the Russian and Japanese islands provides convenient logistics, because the sea route for LNG tankers takes only 2 days. As gas consumption in Japan is growing, a project was launched in Sakhalin to increase LNG production by 2023 times by XNUMX.

Thanks to taxes on oil and gas revenues, the budget of the sparsely populated Sakhalin Oblast reaches 100 billion rubles a year. Due to the relatively high wages, Sakhalin is experiencing population growth amid a general depopulation of the Far East. Now the population of the island reaches half a million people. Sakhalin authorities pay benefits of 150 rubles to mothers aged 000 to 19 for the birth of their first child. It is not surprising that on the island the birth rate over the past three years has increased by 25% compared with the previous period. There is a sharp difference in the level of wages in the oil and gas and other areas, which may differ by 70 times.

The Sakhalin administration plans to bring to half the budget revenue from activities not related to the Sakhalin-2 project. It is about the development of agriculture, fishing and tourism. The regional governor expressly states that he is counting on Japanese help:

The possibilities of Russian-Japanese relations are not limited only to the oil and gas sphere


Japanese farmers from neighboring Hokkaido pass on their knowledge and Technology Sakhalin colleagues. Due to the use of Japanese equipment on Sakhalin, it is possible to double the yield per hectare of land. The director of the largest Sakhalin state farm Teplichny explains:

We will completely change the production process in a Japanese way


In 2018, twenty years passed the agreement on friendship and economic cooperation between Hokkaido and Sakhalin. And this interaction is growing from year to year. It became known that Sakhalin and Japanese Hokkaido are discussing the issue of visa-free travel between the regions. Apparently, Japan’s interest in Russia is not limited to “northern territories”.
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Foxsvl Offline Foxsvl
    Foxsvl (Vladimir) 18 May 2018 10: 29
    0
    Good plan. Talks have long been going on with the Japanese about the joint construction of several bridges to the mainland. Another topic was the construction of a road and a bridge to Alaska.

Сайту «Репортёр» требуются авторы. Требования: грамотность, неиссякаемая творческая энергия, опыт в копирайтинге или журналистике, умение анализировать и писать сжато и интересно. Работа оплачивается. Образцы своих свежих материалов высылайте по адресу: topcor.ru@gmail.com

Сахалин рискует стать русско-японским

Открытие первой очереди Крымского моста породило массу слухов о том, что российские власти собираются реанимировать начатый и заброшенный еще в советское время проект «Сахалинского моста», который должен соединить остров с континентальной частью России. Также вспоминают озвученные несколько лет назад планы соединить российский Сахалин с японским островом Хоккайдо огромным по протяженности мостом.



В этой связи интересно оценить экономический потенциал Сахалина и взгляд на перспективы его развития с точки зрения японских партнеров. На острове запущен масштабный нефтегазовый проект «Сахалин-2». В 2014 году на мировом рынке энергоносителей появилась новая легкая нефть под названием «Сахалин Бленд». Сахалинская нефть идет на экспорт в пять стран через Японию, Китай и Южную Корею.


Именно на Сахалине в 2009 году первым появился завод по производству сжиженного природного газа, чья продукция идет в Японию, КНР, Республику Корея, Тайланд и Тайвань. 70% сахалинского сжиженного природного газа отправляется именно в Японию, обеспечивая 10% всего энергобаланса островного государства. Японский Хоккайдо практически полностью зависит от экспорта из Сахалина. Близость российского и японских островов обеспечивает удобную логистику, ибо морской путь для СПГ-танкеров занимает всего 2 дня пути. Поскольку потребление газа в Японии растет, на Сахалине затеяли проект увеличения производительности СПГ в полтора раза к 2023 году.

Благодаря налогам от нефтегазовых доходов, бюджет малонаселенной Сахалинской области достигает 100 миллиардов рублей в год. Благодаря достаточно высоким заработным платам, Сахалин испытывает прирост населения на фоне общей депопуляции Дальнего Востока. Сейчас население острова достигает полумиллиона человек. Сахалинская власть выплачивает пособия в 150 000 рублей матерям в возрасте от 19 до 25 лет за рождение первого ребенка. Неудивительно, что на острове рождаемость за последнюю трехлетку увеличилась на 70% по сравнению с предыдущим периодом. Отмечается резкое различие в уровне заработных плат в нефтегазовой и иных сферах, которая может отличаться в 10 раз.

Сахалинская администрация планирует довести до половины бюджета доходы от видов деятельности, не связанных с проектом «Сахалин-2». Речь о развитии сельского хозяйства, рыбной ловли и туризма. Губернатор области прямо заявляет, что рассчитывает на японскую помощь:

Возможности российско-японских отношений не ограничены только нефтяной и газовой сферой


Японские фермеры с соседнего Хоккайдо передают свои знания и технологии сахалинским коллегам. За счет использования японского оборудования на Сахалине удается увеличить в 2 раза урожай с гектара земли. Директор крупнейшего на Сахалине совхоза «Тепличный» поясняет:

Мы полностью изменим производственный процесс на японский лад


В 2018 году исполнилось двадцать лет соглашению о дружбе и экономическом сотрудничестве между Хоккайдо и Сахалином. И это взаимодействие растет год от года. Стало известно, что Сахалин и японский Хоккайдо обсуждают вопрос о безвизовом сообщении между регионами. Судя по всему, интерес Японии к России не исчерпывается «северными территориями».
Автор: Сергей Маржецкий
Использованы фотографии: https://avatars.mds.yandex.net/

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Foksvl Офлайн
    Foksvl (Vladimir ) 18 мая 2018 10:29
    0
    Хороший план. Давно разговоры идут с японцами о совместном строительстве нескольких мостов до материка. Ещё тема была о строительстве дороги и моста на Аляску.