Odyssey of Academician Chersky: when the ship gets to Nord Stream 2


At the end of 2019, President Donald Trump imposed sanctions on contractors for the construction of the Nord Stream-2 and Turkish Stream pipelines. The US authorities explained their decision by saying that they “want to protect” Europe from Russian gas and the emergence of a monopoly position in Moscow. In fact, restrictive measures aim to increase the competitiveness of American LNG in the European market.


In Berlin, this “concern” for themselves was extremely disapproving: Germany intended to receive an additional 2 billion cubic meters of Russian gas annually through Nord Stream-55, which was supposed to be used to modernize the energy sector as part of the ongoing “green revolution”. German business elites directly say that without a gas pipeline, their competitive ability will decrease compared to the Americans. Chancellor Merkel insists that Nord Stream 2 be completed.

The key question is whether Gazprom can do it on its own, and if so, how long will the construction take in time? United States Secretary of Energy Dan Bruyett has recently been very skeptical about our options:

They cannot. This will be a very long delay, since Russia does not have the appropriate of technologies.

The American strike was very precise and precise: the construction got stuck in the Danish waters, which were the most problematic for Russia, and at that stage when only a few percent of the route remained to be completed. Due to the threat of US sanctions, a few foreign contractors are now close to the project.

President Vladimir Putin has announced a new deadline for putting Nord Stream-2 to a maximum in the first quarter of 2021. The head of the Russian gas monopoly, Alexey Miller, is beating himself in the chest, promising to complete the pipeline, for which he will attract all the necessary funds and equipment. Unfortunately, in many respects the US Secretary of Energy is right: Gazprom has no such experience of independent work, as well as specialized vessels corresponding to it. We’ll have to fill up the bumps, and the actual deadlines for the gas pipeline will most likely be more than declared.

Of the vessels that Gazprom has available, the most suitable for laying the Nord Stream-2 is Akademik Chersky, a crane-assembling pipe-laying vessel. At the time of laying in China, it was called Jascon-18, after which it was retrofitted in Singapore, bought by a subsidiary of Gazprom and renamed. It was assumed that it will be used in the development of the Kirinsky gas condensate field in the Sea of ​​Okhotsk. According to reports, the vessel is still not fully technically equipped, in addition, it requires an average repair of the propulsion system.

"Academician Chersky" was considered the number one candidate for the completion of Nord Stream-2 on its own. The problem is that it was located at the maximum distance from the place of work, in the Far Eastern port of Nakhodka. Some time ago, the ship attracted universal attention, starting to make curious movements. First, it moved to Singapore, where, as expected, it had to undergo appropriate modernization to work in the Baltic. But on the eve it made a strange maneuver, instead of Singapore, moving to the port of Colombo of Sri Lanka. What can be associated with a sharp change in course?

According to some reports, it follows from the Network that Akademik Chersky will go further to St. Petersburg, where one of the shipyards will be modernized and equipped with the necessary equipment, which has already been purchased from a European supplier. It can be assumed that for some reason Gazprom chose not to get involved with Singapore. It is possible that there were already some obstacles built up by him. Further, as expected, the ship will proceed through the Suez Canal.

But there are other opinions about its possible route. For example, Alexander Frolov, a representative of the Institute of National Energy, considers as follows:

On the one hand, the Northern Sea Route is shorter, and there are fewer risks associated with the possible intervention of certain third parties. On the other hand, there are problems associated with the ice situation on the route. Now it’s hard to drive the "Academician Chersky" along the Northern Sea Route.

If Gazprom chooses the Northern Sea Route, it means that it has real fears that another troubles and delays may await the Russian ship in Suez. It seems that Academician Chersky will have to make a real odyssey to get to Nord Stream 2.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

6 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Hayer31 Offline
    Hayer31 (Kashchei) 25 February 2020 21: 34
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Question - Gazprom has long been laying pipes through the sea, would it not be profitable to buy appropriate equipment and not pay the Swiss? Or Miller can not think more than two steps? Putin and friends again.
    1. Pereira Offline
      Pereira (Michael) 26 February 2020 19: 42
      +3
      • 3
      • 0
      If Miller did not see the obvious to everyone, therefore, he had something from the Swiss contract.
      1. Hayer31 Offline
        Hayer31 (Kashchei) 26 February 2020 20: 07
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        And I think that not only him.
        1. Pereira Offline
          Pereira (Michael) 26 February 2020 20: 11
          +2
          • 2
          • 0
          And I don’t think to argue.
          1. vik669 Offline
            vik669 (vik669) 3 March 2020 01: 47
            0
            • 0
            • 0
            So this is Gazprom’s work style!
  2. Vkd dvk Offline
    Vkd dvk (Victor) 26 February 2020 23: 27
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Quote: Hayer31
    Question - Gazprom has long been laying pipes through the sea, would it be unprofitable to buy appropriate equipment and not pay the Swiss? Or Miller can not think more than two steps? Putin and friends again.

    Such dinosaurs are made specifically for certain projects. If we were not given the opportunity to finish building the pipe, then, be sure, they will not let us build our ship. Further. What will this equipment do that is more expensive than an aircraft carrier? To stand by the wall or to fiddle in the internal seas, not waiting for permission in the waters of others? And in this, rest assured, there will be bans.
    Further. The pipe scandal is an item that can split the unity of the EU and the USA. To put the risk of not getting their money spent on construction (German, it was they who financed this project almost completely). The desire of Germany to BUILD a pipe is already, in a sense, a victory. Not crushing. But for our capabilities, more than modest ones - significant. Received a delay of 5 years. This is the time to force Ukraine to transit, and the threat to Europe, if they do not push through the project, is to buy liquid gas from us and from the USA. At a fairly high price. There is no cause for panic.

Одиссея «Академика Черского»: когда судно доберется до «Северного потока-2»


В конце 2019 года президент Дональд Трамп ввел санкции в отношении подрядчиков строительства трубопроводов «Северный поток-2» и «Турецкий поток». Власти США объяснили свое решение тем, что они «хотят защитить» Европу от российского газа и появления у Москвы монопольного положения. В действительности, ограничительные меры преследуют цель повысить конкурентоспособность американского СПГ на европейском рынке.


В Берлине такую «заботу» о себе восприняли крайне неодобрительно: Германия ежегодно намеревалась получать через «Северный поток-2» дополнительно 55 миллиардов кубометров российского газа, который должен был пойти на модернизацию энергетики в рамках идущей «зеленой революции». Немецкие бизнес-элиты прямо говорят о том, что без газопровода их конкурентные возможности по сравнению с американцами снизятся. Канцлер Меркель настаивает на том, что «Северный поток-2» должен быть достроен.

Ключевой вопрос, по силам ли «Газпрому» сделать это самостоятельно, и если да, то насколько во времени затянется стройка? Министр энергетики Соединенных Штатов Дэн Бруйетт недавно весьма скептически оценил наши возможности:

Они не смогут. Это будет очень длительная задержка, поскольку у России нет соответствующих технологий.

Американский удар был очень точечным и выверенным: строительство застряло в самых проблемных для России датских водах и на той стадии, когда оставалось завершить всего несколько процентов маршрута. Из-за угрозы попасть под санкции США немногочисленные иностранные подрядчики теперь к проекту и близко не подойдут.

Президент Владимир Путин назвал новые сроки сдачи «Северного потока-2» - первый квартал 2021 года максимум. Глава российского газового монополиста Алексей Миллер бьет себя в грудь, обещая достроить трубопровод, для чего привлечет все необходимые средства и технику. К сожалению, во многом министр энергетики США прав: подобного опыта самостоятельной работы у «Газпрома» нет, как и соответствующих ей специализированных судов. Придется набивать шишки, а реальные сроки сдачи газопровода, вероятнее всего, окажутся больше заявленных.

Из тех судов, что имеет в наличии «Газпром», более всего для прокладки «Северного потока-2» подходит «Академик Черский», краново-монтажное трубоукладочное судно. В момент закладки в Китае оно называлось «Jascon-18», после было дооснащено в Сингапуре, куплено дочерней структурой «Газпрома» и переименовано. Предполагалось, что оно будет использоваться при разработке Киринского газоконденсатного месторождения в Охотском море. По имеющимся данным, судно до сих пор не является полностью технически оснащенным, кроме того, ему требуется средний ремонт двигательной установки.

«Академик Черский» считался кандидатом номер один для достройки «Северного потока-2» своими силами. Проблема в том, что находилось оно на максимальном удалении от места выполнения работы, в дальневосточном порту Находки. Некоторое время назад судно привлекло к себе всеобщее внимание, начав совершать любопытные перемещения. Сперва оно двинулось к Сингапуру, где, как предполагалось, должно было пройти соответствующую модернизацию для работы на Балтике. Но накануне оно совершило странный маневр, вместо Сингапура двинувшись в порт Коломбо острова Шри-Ланка. С чем же может быть связано резкое изменение курса?

По некоторым сообщениям из Сети следует, что «Академик Черский» далее направится в Санкт-Петербург, где на одном из судоремонтных заводов пройдет модернизацию и оснащение необходимым оборудованием, которое уже закуплено у европейского поставщика. Можно предположить, что по некой причине «Газпром» предпочел с Сингапуром уже не связываться. Не исключено, что там ему уже были выстроены недоброжелателями какие-то препоны. Далее, как предполагается, судно проследует через Суэцкий канал.

Но есть и иные мнения по поводу его возможного маршрута. Например, Александр Фролов, представитель Института национальной энергетики, считает следующим образом:

С одной стороны, Севморпуть короче, и там меньше рисков, связанных с возможным вмешательством неких третьих лиц. С другой стороны, есть проблемы, сопряженные с ледовой обстановкой на маршруте. Сейчас вести "Академика Черского" по Севморпути тяжело.

Если «Газпром» выберет Северный морской путь, значит, у него есть реальные опасения, что на Суэце российское судно могут ждать очередные неприятности и задержки. Похоже, «Академику Черскому» придется совершить настоящую «одиссею», чтобы добраться до «Северного потока-2».
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Hayer31 Офлайн Hayer31
    Hayer31 (Кащей ) 25 февраля 2020 21:34
    +2
    Вопрос - Газпром уже давно прокладывает трубы через море, не выгодно было бы купить соответственную технику и не платить швейцарцам? Или Миллер более двух шагов не может думать? Опять Путин и друзья.
    1. Перейра Офлайн Перейра
      Перейра (Михаил) 26 февраля 2020 19:42
      +3
      Если Миллер не видел очевидного всем, следовательно, со швейцарского контракта что-то имел.
      1. Hayer31 Офлайн Hayer31
        Hayer31 (Кащей ) 26 февраля 2020 20:07
        +2
        А я думаю, что не только он.
        1. Перейра Офлайн Перейра
          Перейра (Михаил) 26 февраля 2020 20:11
          +2
          И не думаю спорить.
          1. vik669 Офлайн vik669
            vik669 (vik669) 3 марта 2020 01:47
            0
            Так это стиль работы Газпрома!
  2. Вкд Двк Офлайн Вкд Двк
    Вкд Двк (Виктор) 26 февраля 2020 23:27
    +1
    Цитата: Hayer31
    Вопрос - Газпром уже давно прокладывает трубы через море, невыгодно было бы купить соответственную технику и не платить швейцарцам? Или Миллер более двух шагов не может думать? Опять Путин и друзья.

    Такие динозавры делаются специально под определённые проекты. Коль нам не дали возможность достроить трубу, то, будьте уверены, не дадут и построить свой пароход. Далее. Что будет делать это оборудование, которое стоит дороже авианосца? Стоять у стенки или возиться во внутренних морях, не ожидая разрешения в чужих водах? И в этом, будьте уверены, запреты будут.
    Далее. Скандал с трубой - это предмет, которым можно раскалывать единство ЕС и США. Поставить перед риском не получить свои деньги, затраченные на строительство (немецкие, это ведь именно они финансировали практически полностью этот проект). Стремление Германии ДОСТРОИТЬ трубу - это уже в каком-то смысле, победа. Не сокрушительная. Но для наших возможностей, более, чем скромных - значительная. Получена отсрочка в 5 лет. Это время на принуждение Украины к транзиту, и угроза Европе, если они не протолкнут проект - покупать жидкий газ и у нас, и у США. По достаточно большой цене. Нет никакой почвы для паники.