The capture of Neyrab: Ankara’s revenge or “agreement” with Moscow?


The Syrian army, with the support of the Russian Aerospace Forces, suffered the first significant defeat during its operation to liberate Idlib. Having received the nose last time, the militants, with the active support of the Turkish army, were able to recapture the important city of Neurab and are trying again to take control of the strategically important route. Is this a turning point in the campaign to liberate Damascus from its northern province after the direct intervention of Ankara, or something else?


First, let's figure out what exactly happened. For the first time, the militants trampled on Neyrab, but were swept away under the blows of the Russian Aerospace Forces. Now the active participation of the Turks in the counterattack is reported, artillery and special forces are working, drones are used. At the same time, for some reason, the media did not particularly mention the actions of Russian aviation, the Syrians do mostly on their own, pulling up heavy howitzers to restrain the further progress of the Turks and their “proxies”. What can this indicate?

There are at least two explanations; each one will choose to his own taste.

Erdogan “bit the bit”


As we detail told earlierThe military presence in northern Syria is in Turkish national interest. Ankara needs a “buffer zone” in its border from the Kurdish armed forces, which are considered a threat to the territorial integrity of Turkey. President Erdogan also needs an enclave where he can dump several million Syrian refugees, as well as militants who fought on the side of the Turks in recent years.

Initially, Ankara inherited almost the entire northern province of the SAR under the Sochi agreements, but Damascus, with the support of Russia, managed to recapture half of it in a short time. Further advancement of the Syrians threatens the “conquests” of Ankara, and President Erdogan personally loses his face in front of his voters. Turkey’s response is simply inevitable, the only question is their volume and degree of rigidity, how far is Recep Erdogan ready to go.

"Contract"


There is another explanation for what is happening. For example, military expert Alexei Leonkov admits that there may be some kind of tacit agreement between Moscow and Ankara in order to allow Erdogan to "save face":

To alleviate the situation, the transfer of Nairab may have been committed. This is not surrender, but transmission. In the sense that Erdogan needs this purely politically. He has an internal situation such that at least some success is needed, otherwise the rating will fall below a critical mark.


This version has a right to exist. Several factors speak in her favor.

At first, a full-scale military operation against Syria and its allied Russia will be qualified as a real war, which was directly warned in Damascus. This means that Turkey will not be able to count on direct support from NATO, and will receive condemnation from the UN.

SecondlyTurkish economy experiencing serious difficulties. The national currency is depreciating, 13% of the population are unemployed, investors are getting rid of bonds, foreign trade is scarce, inflation is 12,2%. A small victorious war is good for raising the mood of a patriotic public, but if it develops into a protracted conflict, it can finish off a sick economy, which will hit President Erdogan himself.

Thirdly, the Turkish army is going through hard times. Yes, it is the second largest in NATO after the United States, but after an unsuccessful coup attempt in 2016, it underwent a massive purge of officers. The effectiveness of its action has decreased, judging by the results of the past two operations in Syria. Among the high military command, dissatisfaction with the civilian appointees of Erdogan is growing, about which we detail told earlier. Plus, it is worth adding that Ankara began to disperse its forces, starting to help official Tripoli in Libya against the HNA of Haftar. A war on two fronts has never led to anything good.

Understanding the complexity of the moment, the parties could agree to some kind of “agreement”, allowing Erdogan to demonstrate to the voters a decisive victory in Idlib. As a result, a new version of the redistribution of the province may be formed, in which Damascus takes half of it for itself, leaving Ankara the other. Of course, such a scenario will also be intermediate, until new introductory ones appear.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

8 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 26 February 2020 13: 42
    0
    • 3
    • 3
    After Turkey did not fulfill its agreements, tried to bring down our plane, openly supported the terrorists with arms, - talk about an agreement !? Do not upset me! What level of education should Putin have in order for him to do this? Or do you want to say that if there is no conscience, then everything is possible? NOT! To talk about agreement, evidence is needed more convincingly! Most likely, under the pressure of the terrorists, the Syrian army wavered, more than once. In a couple of days, everything will be clear.
  2. Cheburashk Offline
    Cheburashk (Vladimir) 26 February 2020 15: 03
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    In my opinion, there is something other than these two options, most likely, there is no sense of agreement here. There is something more ambitious in relation to Turkey.
    Also, one cannot exclude such an aspect as the deliberate drawing of Turkey into a war on two fronts. Yes, now you can say and assume anything. But I doubt that Russia will agree to an agreement with Turkey, it can smell bad. Most likely, Russia will somehow put pressure on Turkey.
    But a bunch of questions remain: SP-2, construction of a nuclear power station in Turkey, S-400, possible closure or obstruction of the passage of Russian vessels through the Bosphorus and Dardanelles - how and what to do about it?
  3. Bulanov Offline
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 26 February 2020 15: 21
    +7
    • 8
    • 1
    Or the Turks are lured into a targeted territory, where there will be no civilians and where all those present there can be turned into dust, or one of two! One thing is clear - only suicides, or pro-Turkish citizens, can go to Turkey this year from Russia.
  4. Tramp1812 Offline
    Tramp1812 (Tramp 1812) 26 February 2020 21: 14
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Judging by what is happening, the Russian Federation does not particularly intervene in the events in Idlib. So the borders to which the Turks will be allowed to reach, and will be its "prize", in the division of Syria. But Iran will be asked to vacate the premises. That will satisfy all players, including one small, but very proud state.
  5. Bitter Offline
    Bitter (Gleb) 27 February 2020 00: 18
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    The Syrian army, with the support of the Russian Aerospace Forces, suffered the first significant defeat ...

    Maybe not with the support, but "... despite the support of the videoconferencing ...", or something like that. Although, perhaps, with support, then for sure - an “agreement”.
  6. Marzhecki Offline
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 27 February 2020 07: 43
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Quote: Bitter
    The Syrian army, with the support of the Russian Aerospace Forces, suffered the first significant defeat ...

    Maybe not with the support, but "... despite the support of the videoconferencing ...", or something like that. Although, perhaps, with support, then for sure - an “agreement”.

    Semantic tones ...
  7. master3 Offline
    master3 (Vitali) 27 February 2020 16: 09
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    When the Syrians knocked out one tank and on all sites - hurray, the Syrians, with the support of Russian aviation and Wagner, defeated the second largest NATO army, and then you crap. And it went - "This is not true," "this cannot be," "the currency has depreciated by 13%," "everything is bad in the country," "there are problems with the army." Another excuses and excuses for failure!
  8. Roarv Offline
    Roarv (Robert) 28 February 2020 11: 48
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Erdogan - Turks, well, you would be engaged in trading in tomatoes and Resorts, it’s more profitable for yourself and others safer. In Libya, got into a conflict. In Syria, they are fighting in full, the current military operations are sluggish with the Kurds ...
    But the economy will not crack or the Turkish Stream and the supply of tomatoes in Russia hopes the Turks. Strange War of S-400 air defense systems on credit, construction of Akkuyu NPP,
    The Bosphorus cannot be closed, but a temporary delay can be created for the passage of the Syrian Express ..., but there is an alternative to the territory of Iran and Iraq.

Захват Нейраба: реванш Анкары или «договорняк» с Москвой?


Сирийская армия при поддержке ВКС РФ потерпела первое значимое поражение в ходе своей операции по освобождению Идлиба. Получив по носу в прошлый раз, боевики при активной поддержке турецкой армии смогли отбить важный город Нейраб и пытаются вновь взять под свой контроль стратегически важную трассу. Что это, перелом в кампании по освобождению Дамаском своей северной провинции после прямого вмешательства Анкары, или нечто иное?


Сперва разберемся, что конкретно произошло. В первый раз боевики поперли на Нейраб, но были разметаны под ударами ВКС РФ. Теперь сообщается об активном участии турок в контрнаступлении, работают артиллерия и спецназ, применяются беспилотники. При этом в СМИ почему-то особо не фигурируют сообщения о действиях российской авиации, сирийцы обходятся в основном своими силами, подтягивая тяжелые гаубицы, чтобы сдержать дальнейшее продвижение турок и их «прокси». О чем же это может свидетельствовать?

Объяснений имеется как минимум два, каждый выберет на свой вкус.

Эрдоган «закусил удила»


Как мы подробно рассказывали ранее, военное присутствие на севере Сирии отвечает турецким национальным интересам. Анкаре необходима «буферная зона» в своем приграничье от вооруженных формирований курдов, считающихся угрозой территориальной целостности Турции. Также президенту Эрдогану нужен анклав, куда он сможет сбросить несколько миллионов сирийских беженцев, а также боевиков, которые последние годы воевали на стороне турок.

Изначально Анкаре по сочинским соглашениям досталась практически вся северная провинция САР, но Дамаск при поддержке России сумел в короткие сроки отбить уже ее половину. Дальнейшее продвижение сирийцев угрожает «завоеваниям» Анкары, а президент Эрдоган лично теряет лицо перед своими избирателями. Ответные действия Турции просто неизбежны, вопрос лишь в их объеме и степени жесткости, насколько далеко готов зайти Реджеп Эрдоган.

«Договорняк»


Есть и иное объяснение происходящему. Например, военный эксперт Алексей Леонков допускает, что может иметь место некая негласная договоренность между Москвой и Анкарой с целью позволить Эрдогану «сохранить лицо»:

Чтобы облегчить ситуацию, возможно, и была совершена передача Найраба. Это не сдача, а передача. В том смысле, что Эрдоган в этом нуждается чисто политически. У него внутренняя ситуация такая, что хоть какой-нибудь успех нужен, в противном случае рейтинг упадет ниже критической отметки.


Данная версия вполне имеет право на существование. В ее пользу говорит несколько факторов.

Во-первых, полномасштабная военная операция против Сирии и союзной ей России будет квалифицирована как настоящая война, о чем прямо предупредили в Дамаске. Это означает, что Турция не сможет рассчитывать на прямую поддержку со стороны НАТО, и получит осуждение со стороны ООН.

Во-вторых, турецкая экономика испытывает серьезнейшие трудности. Национальная валюта обесценивается, 13% населения безработны, инвесторы избавляются от облигаций, внешняя торговля дефицитна, инфляция составляет 12,2%. Маленькая победоносная война хороша для поднятия настроя патриотически настроенной общественности, но в случае ее перерастания в затяжной конфликт она может добить больную экономику, что ударит по самому президенту Эрдогану.

В-третьих, турецкая армия переживает не лучшие времена. Да, она вторая по численности в НАТО после США, но после неудачной попытки переворота в 2016 году подверглась масштабной чистке офицерского состава. Эффективность ее действия снизилась, если судить по результатам прошлых двух операций в Сирии. Среди высшего воинского командования растет недовольство гражданскими назначенцами Эрдогана, о чем мы подробно рассказывали ранее. Плюс к этому стоит добавить, что Анкара начала распылять свои силы, начав помогать официальному Триполи в Ливии против ЛНА Хафтара. Война на два фронта никогда к чему-то хорошему не приводила.

Понимая сложность момента, стороны могли пойти на некий «договорняк», дав Эрдогану продемонстрировать избирателям решительную победу в Идлибе. В итоге может быть сформирован новый вариант передела провинции, при котором Дамаск забирает себе ее половину, оставив Анкаре другую. Разумеется, такой сценарий также будет промежуточным, до появления новых вводных.
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 26 февраля 2020 13:42
    0
    После того, как Турция не выполнила свои договорённости, пыталась сбить наш самолёт, поддержала открыто террористов оружием, - говорить о договорняке!? Не расстраивайте меня! Это какой уровень образования должен быть у Путина, чтобы он на это пошёл? Или вы хотите сказать, что если совести нет, то всё возможно? НЕТ! Чтобы говорить о договорняке, доказательства нужны убедительней! Скорей всего, под напором террористов сирийская армия дрогнула, так уже не раз было. Через пару дней всё будет ясно.
  2. Чебурашк Офлайн Чебурашк
    Чебурашк (Владимир) 26 февраля 2020 15:03
    +1
    На мой взгляд, тут нечто иное, чем эти два варианта, договорняком тут, скорее всего, и не пахнет. Тут что-то более масштабное по отношению к Турции.
    Также нельзя исключать такой аспект, как намеренное втягивание Турции в войну на два фронта. Да, сейчас можно говорить и предполагать все, что угодно. Но я сомневаюсь, что Россия пойдет на договорняк с Турцией, это может дурно пахнуть. Скорее всего, Россия будет как-то давить на Турцию.
    Но остается куча вопросов: СП-2, строительство атомной станции в Турции, С-400, возможное закрытие или препятствия по проходу судов России через пролив Босфор и Дарданеллы - как и что с этим делать?
  3. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 26 февраля 2020 15:21
    +7
    Или турок заманивают на пристреленную территорию, где не будет гражданских и где всех присутствующих там можно превратить в пыль, или одно из двух! Одно ясно - ехать отдыхать в Турцию в этом году из России могут только самоубийцы, или протурецки настроенные граждане.
  4. Бродяга1812 Офлайн Бродяга1812
    Бродяга1812 (Бродяга1812) 26 февраля 2020 21:14
    +1
    Судя по тому, что происходит, РФ не особо вмешивается в события в Идлибе. Так что границы, до которых туркам дадут дойти, и будут ее "призом", при разделе Сирии. А вот Иран попросят освободить помещение. Что удовлетворит всех игроков, в том числе, одно маленькое, но очень гордое государство.
  5. Bitter Офлайн Bitter
    Bitter (Глеб) 27 февраля 2020 00:18
    +2
    Сирийская армия при поддержке ВКС РФ потерпела первое значимое поражение...

    Может, не при поддержке, а "...несмотря на поддержку ВКС...", или как-то так. Хотя, может быть, и при поддержке, тогда точно - "договорняк".
  6. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 27 февраля 2020 07:43
    -1
    Цитата: Bitter
    Сирийская армия при поддержке ВКС РФ потерпела первое значимое поражение...

    Может, не при поддержке, а "...несмотря на поддержку ВКС...", или как-то так. Хотя, может быть, и при поддержке, тогда точно - "договорняк".

    Смысловые полутона...
  7. master3 Офлайн master3
    master3 (Виталий) 27 февраля 2020 16:09
    0
    Когда сирийцы подбили один танк и на всех сайтах - ура сирийцы при поддержке российской авиации и Вагнера побеждают вторую по численности армию НАТО, и тут на тебе - обосрались. И поехало - "Это не правда", "такого не может быть", "валюта на 13% обесценилась", "в стране всё плохо", "с армией проблемы". Очередные отмазки и оправдания неудачи!
  8. Роарв Офлайн Роарв
    Роарв (Роберт) 28 февраля 2020 11:48
    +2
    Эрдоган - турки, ну занимались бы Вы торговлей помидорами да Курортами, себе прибыльней и другим безопасней. В Ливии влезли в конфликт. В Сирии воюют по полной, с курдами вяло текущие военные действия...
    А экономика не треснет или на Турецкий Поток и поставки помидоров в РФ надеются Турки. Странная Война ЗРК С-400 в кредит, строительство АЭС Аккую,
    Босфор закрыть нельзя, но создать временную задержку проходу Сирийского экспресса можно..., но есть альтернатива территория Ирана и Ирака.