IOC: Tokyo Olympics May Be Canceled


The 2019-nCov Coronavirus infection (COVID-19) continues to spread throughout the planet. Recently сообщалосьas the epidemic began in Italy and South Korea, and the richest people in the world lost $ 139 billion in just a day. And so, the oldest (since 1978) member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), Richard William Duncan "Dick" Pound (Richard William Duncan "Dick" Pound, born in 1947 from Canada) said that there were only three months left to decide the fate of the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo (Japan).


According to the first president of the World Anti-Doping Agency 1999-2007, expressed in an interview with the Associated Press, the Japanese government urgently needs to increase security by establishing proper control over the Olympic village, food and hotels. Pound said that the fate of the Olympic Games directly depends on the decision of the World Health Organization (WHO) and the UN.

Pound noted that the organizers of the 2020 Olympics should make sure by the end of May that the situation with the distribution of the 2019-nCov (COVID-19) in Japan is under control. Otherwise, the “cancellation” of these Olympic Games will probably be considered. At the same time, Pound urged athletes not to stop training and to prepare for participation in the 2020 Olympics in the planned mode.

Focus on your sport and rest assured that the IOC will not let you into a pandemic

- emphasized Pound.

It should be recalled that the first death in Japan from 2019-nCov (COVID-19) was recorded on February 13, 2020. In addition, the Princess Princess cruise ship (3,7 people, of which about 700 are infected) is quarantined off the coast of Japan, on which two passengers have already passed away. Moreover, the 60-year-old Japanese woman who had previously left this cruise ship after passing quarantine turned out to be infected.

It should be added that on February 26, 2020, the authorities of the northern Japanese prefecture of Hokkaido announced that they intend to close all municipal schools due to the threat of the spread of infection. In total, about 900 cases of infection were recorded in Japan, including passengers and the crew of the Diamond Princess cruise ship.
Photos used: https://www.flickr.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Tatyana Offline
    Tatyana 26 February 2020 14: 18
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Yeah! In the case of the 2020 Olympics, it is better to play it safe because of the coronavirus epidemic than to bury one of its participants and spectators from acquiring a contagious disease by air !!
  2. Bulanov Offline
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 26 February 2020 15: 23
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Why do we need such an Olympics if Russia will not be in it?

МОК: Олимпийские игры в Токио могут быть отменены


Коронавирусная инфекция 2019-nCov (COVID-19) продолжает распространяться по планете. Недавно сообщалось, как эпидемия началась в Италии и Южной Корее, а богатейшие люди мира потеряли $139 млрд всего за сутки. И вот, старейший (с 1978 года) член Международного Олимпийского комитета (МОК) Ричард Уильям Данкан «Дик» Паунд (Richard William Duncan «Dick» Pound, 1947 г.р. из Канады) заявил, что осталось всего три месяца для решения дальнейшей судьбы Олимпиады-2020 в Токио (Япония).


По мнению первого президента Всемирного антидопингового агентства 1999-2007 годов, высказанному в интервью Associated Press, правительству Японии нужно срочно повысить безопасность, установив надлежащий контроль за олимпийской деревней, едой и отелями. Паунд уточнил, что судьба Олимпийских игр напрямую зависит от решения Всемирной организации здравоохранения (ВОЗ) и ООН.

Паунд отметил, что организаторам Олимпиады-2020 следует до конца мая убедиться, что ситуация с распространением в Японии 2019-nCov (COVID-19) находится под контролем. В противном случае, «вероятно, будет рассматриваться отмена» этих Олимпийских игр. При этом Паунд призвал спортсменов не прекращать тренировки и готовиться к участию в Олимпиаде-2020 в запланированном режиме.

Сосредоточьтесь на своем виде спорта и будьте уверены, что МОК не допустит вас в ситуацию с пандемией

- подчеркнул Паунд.

Нужно напомнить, что первый случай смерти в Японии от 2019-nCov (COVID-19) был зафиксирован 13 февраля 2020 года. Кроме того, у берегов Японии на карантине находится круизный лайнер Diamond Princess (3,7 тыс. человек, из которых около 700 инфицированы), на котором уже скончались два пассажира. Более того, 60-летняя японка, которая ранее покинула этот круизный лайнер после прохождения карантина, оказалась зараженной.

Нужно добавить, что 26 февраля 2020 года власти северной японской префектуры Хоккайдо сообщили, что намереваются закрыть все муниципальные школы в связи с угрозой распространения инфекции. Всего в Японии зарегистрировано около 900 случаев заражения, включая пассажиров и экипаж круизного лайнера Diamond Princess.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.flickr.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Татьяна Офлайн
    Татьяна 26 февраля 2020 14:18
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Да уж! В случае с Олимпиадой-2020 из-за эпидемии коронавируса лучше перестраховаться, чем потом хоронить кого-то из её участников и зрителей от приобретения ими заразного заболевания воздушным путём!!
  2. Буланов Офлайн
    Буланов (Владимир) 26 февраля 2020 15:23
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Зачем нам такая Олимпиада, если в ней не будет России?