The Pentagon has recognized serious problems in its air defense / missile defense system




Recently сообщалось, as at a hearing in the U.S. Senate, in a committee on the affairs of the armed forces, the commander of the European command of the U.S. armed forces and the supreme commander of the NATO armed forces in Europe, Tod Walters said that Russia has a certain military superiority over the Alliance in the Baltic region and the Arctic. In addition, the general reported to the senators that the US missile defense system (ABM) needs to be improved.

It should be noted that at the hearings mentioned, Senator Angus Stanley King, Jr. (Angus Stanley King, Jr., born in 1944) reminded the general of the “leaky missile defense”. King is an independent. He has been a member of the Senate from Maine since 2013. Prior to that, between 1995 and 2003, he was Governor of the State of Maine.

So, King recalled to the general how, in September 2019, drones launched an unpunished attack on the Saudi Aramco refinery in Saudi Arabia, as well as Iran’s missile attack, on military facilities in Iraq in January 2020 (after which the Pentagon announced the transfer of an additional the number of air defense / missile defense systems in the region).

What are our capabilities in protecting against such attacks because it did not work in Iraq and did not work in Saudi Arabia?

the senator asked.

She's improving, but she needs to get better. We have a plan related to integrated air defense, which fully takes into account what happens at high altitude and long range, as well as low altitude and shorter range

- reported the general.

After that, King asked Waters to clarify whether he considers the missile defense problem to be a “significant gap” in US defense.

This is a flaw, and we must continue to work on it.

- answered the general.

For objectivity, it should be clarified that according to the statement of the Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia, the second deputy head of government, the head of the Ministry of Defense of this country and the chairman of the royal court, Mohammed bin Salman Al Saud, the American Patriot and Hawk systems are not designed to destroy drones.
Photos used: https://www.flickr.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Пентагон признал серьезные проблемы в своей системе ПВО/ПРО




Недавно сообщалось, как на слушаниях в Сенате США, в комитете по делам вооруженных сил, командующий Европейским командованием Вооруженных сил США и Верховный главнокомандующий Объединенных вооруженных сил НАТО в Европе Тод Уолтерс сообщил, что Россия обладает определенным военным превосходством перед Альянсом в Балтийском регионе и Арктике. Кроме того, генерал доложил сенаторам, что система противоракетной обороны (ПРО) США нуждается в совершенствовании.

Нужно отметить, что на упомянутых слушаниях сенатор Ангус Стэнли Кинг-младший (Angus Stanley King, Jr., 1944 г.р.) напомнил генералу про «дырявое ПРО». Кинг является независимым политиком. Он член Сената от штата Мэн с 2013 года. До этого, в период 1995-2003 годы, он был губернатором штата Мэн.

Так вот, Кинг припомнил генералу, как в сентябре 2019 года беспилотники совершили безнаказанную атаку на НПЗ компании Saudi Aramco в Саудовской Аравии, а также о ракетном ударе Ирана, в январе 2020 года, по военным объектам в Ираке (после чего Пентагон объявил о переброске дополнительного числа комплексов ПВО/ПРО в регион).

Каковы наши возможности в вопросе защиты от таких атак, потому что это не работало в Ираке и не работало в Саудовской Аравии?

- поинтересовался сенатор.

Она улучшается, но она должна стать лучше. У нас есть план, относящийся к интегрированной противовоздушной обороне, которая в полной мере учитывает, что происходит на большой высоте и при большой дальности, а также на маленькой высоте и при меньшей дальности

- отрапортовал генерал.

После этого Кинг попросил Уотерса уточнить, считает ли он указанную проблему ПРО «значительным пробелом» в обороне США.

Это недостаток, и мы должны продолжать работать над этим

- ответил генерал.

Для объективности нужно уточнить, что по заявлению наследного принца Саудовской Аравии, второго заместителя главы правительства, руководителя Минобороны этой страны и председателя королевского суда, Мухаммеда бен Салмана Аль Сауда, американские системы Patriot и Hawk не предназначены для уничтожения беспилотников.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.flickr.com/
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти