Natural gas from the air: unique installations tested in Europe


The European Union, which intends to become the first climate-neutral region by 2050, has taken another important step towards achieving its goal. Along with the introduction of solar farms and “windmills”, work is underway in Europe to create plants that allow the synthesis of fuel (in particular methane) from renewable sources.


So, in mid-2019 in Germany, Switzerland and Italy, as part of the STORE & GO project, tests of plants for the production of synthetic natural gas from the air started. Last week, experts from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology announced their first test results.

During the experiment, three demonstration units were used, which carried out the conversion of a mixture of water with carbon dioxide, first into hydrogen, and then into synthetic methane. It is worth noting that all three devices operated at different reactors: based on the vital functions of microorganisms, with a microstructure and scalable cellular from KIT. In addition, each unit used its own method of producing carbon dioxide, including direct capture from the atmosphere.

As a result, it was possible to verify in practice the effectiveness of each of the plants, and the methane obtained in an “unusual” way was supplied to the city gas distribution network or liquefied. According to the developers, the experiment fully proved the viability of the new system. Thus, it can be recommended for mass use.
Photos used: Domenico Grossi / openaccessgovernment.org
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

6 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. AICO Online
    AICO (Vyacheslav) 28 February 2020 12: 08
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Yeah - and they sit behind the mountain and pea from the cans, and then they start up the wind - the installation filters out and voila, methane - this is not propane for you! )
  2. Bakht Offline
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 28 February 2020 12: 16
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    In any case, this is not the worst news in the world. Factories already exist and work. So the technology is not new. So far, the problem is profitability. So far, plants producing methane from the air are unprofitable.
    1. Cetron Offline
      Cetron (Peteris) 29 February 2020 17: 34
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Prepare for the nuclear bombing of Russia! After the war, installations will become cost-effective, as will shale gas and US oil.
  3. Anchonsha Offline
    Anchonsha (Anchonsha) 29 February 2020 21: 41
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Well, as they say, dashing trouble has begun, technology will gradually gain momentum and the cost of extracting combustible gases from the air will decrease. Is there enough air for everyone to produce hydrocarbons? This is not an option.
  4. g1washntwn Offline
    g1washntwn (George Washington) 2 March 2020 06: 27
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Profitability ... but has anyone heard about the law of conservation of energy? For burning, it is easier to burn Eurodollars right away, and for the chemical industry, the output will be unbearable. As long as there is natural, it will be the same as with the wind-solar one - without subsidies no one will do this at a loss. All these pseudo-economic mantras are only for the complacency of those who do not have their own wells.
  5. GRF Offline
    GRF 19 March 2020 19: 51
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    So do they want to stop burning methane (get away from the "dirty" carbon economy) or change the source of its production?

Природный газ из воздуха: в Европе испытали уникальные установки


Евросоюз, который намерен к 2050 году стать первым климатически-нейтральным регионом, сделал очередной важный шаг к достижению поставленной цели. Наряду с внедрением солнечных ферм и «ветряков», в Европе ведутся работы по созданию установок, позволяющих синтезировать топливо (в частности метан) из возобновляемых источников.


Так, в середине 2019 года в Германии, Швейцарии и Италии, в рамках проекта STORE & GO, стартовали испытания установок для добычи синтетического природного газа из воздуха. На прошлой неделе специалисты из Технологического института Карлсруэ подвели первые итоги тестирования.

В ходе эксперимента использовались три демонстрационных установки, которые осуществляли преобразование смеси воды с углекислотой сначала в водород, а затем в синтетический метан. Стоит отметить, что все три прибора функционировали на различных реакторах: на основе жизнедеятельности микроорганизмов, с микроструктурой и масштабируемый сотовый от KIT. Кроме того, каждый агрегат использовал свой способ получения углекислого газа, включая прямой захват из атмосферы.

В итоге, удалось на практике проверить эффективность каждой из установок, а полученный «необычным» способом метан подавался в городскую газораспределительную сеть либо сжижался. Со слов разработчиков, эксперимент полностью доказал состоятельность новой системы. Таким образом, она может быть рекомендована для массового применения.
  • Использованы фотографии: Domenico Grossi/openaccessgovernment.org
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. AICO Офлайн AICO
    AICO (Вячеслав) 28 февраля 2020 12:08
    -1
    Ага - а за горой сидят и горох из банок хавают, а потом по ветру запускают - установка отфильтровывает и вуаля, метан - это вам не пропан! )
  2. Bakht Офлайн Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 28 февраля 2020 12:16
    0
    В любом случае, это не самая плохая новость в мире. Заводы уже существуют и работают. Так что, технология не нова. Пока проблема в рентабельности. Пока что заводы по производству метана из воздуха убыточны.
    1. Cetron Офлайн Cetron
      Cetron (Peteris) 29 февраля 2020 17:34
      +1
      Готовятся к ядерной бомбардировке России! После войны установки станут рентабельными, как и сланцевый газ и нефть из США.
  3. Anchonsha Офлайн Anchonsha
    Anchonsha (Anchonsha) 29 февраля 2020 21:41
    +1
    Ну что ж, как говорят, лиха беда начало, постепенно технологии наберут оборот и себестоимость добычи горючих газов из воздуха снизятся. Только хватит ли для всех воздуха для выработки углеводородов? Это не выход.
  4. g1washntwn Офлайн g1washntwn
    g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 2 марта 2020 06:27
    +2
    Рентабельность... а про закон сохранения энергии кто-нибудь слышал? Для сжигания проще сразу евродоллары жечь, а для химпрома на выходе товар будет неподъемен. Пока есть природный, будет так же, как и с ветро-солнечной - без дотаций никто этим себе в убыток заниматься не будет. Все эти псевдо-экономические мантры только для самоуспокоения тех, у кого нет своих скважин.
  5. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 19 марта 2020 19:51
    0
    Так они хотят метан прекратить жечь (уйти от "грязной" углеродной экономики) или сменить источник его получения?