“A worthy partner”: Armenia will take part in NATO exercises in Georgia


On February 27, 2020, the head of the Georgian Ministry of Defense, Irakli Garibashvili, at a joint press conference with his Armenian counterpart David Tonoyan in Yerevan, said that Armenian troops would participate in the NATO Noble Partner-2020 exercises (“Decent Partner”). It is not difficult to guess that the main purpose of these exercises, conducted by the Alliance and its allies in Georgia, is to influence Abkhazia and South Ossetia.


It should be noted that the first such NATO exercises were held in Georgia in May 2015. Then the exercises were held on the territory of the Vaziani military base near Tbilisi. And every year the number of participating countries, forces and means, is growing steadily.

I am glad that Armenian troops will take part in the Noble Partner 2020 multinational exercise, which will be held in Georgia with the participation of representatives of NATO member countries and partners

- said Garibashvili.

We agreed that there is no alternative to the development of our friendly relations, there is no alternative to the peaceful resolution of conflicts, as well as ensuring stability in the region

- added Garibashvili.

He expressed hope that Yerevan will continue to participate in such exercises in the future. At the same time, during this two-day visit, Georgia and Armenia signed an agreement on cooperation in the defense sector for 2020.

It should be clarified that since 1992 Armenia has been a party to the Tashkent Pact (“Tashkent Treaty”) and is a member of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO). As for the head of the Ministry of Defense of Armenia David Tonoyan, in 1997 he graduated from the Military Diplomatic Academy under the Ministry of Defense of Russia (this is his second education).

It should be noted that many media outlets cite only the Georgian minister, while not citing the statements of the head of the Armenian military department. In addition, few people recall that Armenia is dependent on Georgia and isolated from Russia.

I want to express my deep gratitude to my colleague for the first official visit to the Republic of Armenia in the South Caucasus region

- said Tonoyan.

It (program for 2020 - ed.) Covers the areas of military education, social protection of military personnel, peacekeeping and mountain training, and an agreement was reached on expanding cooperation in a number of other areas that are not yet included in our bilateral program

- explained Tonoyan.

Armenia and Georgia in politicalcultural economic areas and security areas are crucial for each other

- summed up Tonoyan.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Bulanov Offline
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 28 February 2020 14: 30
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    In this case, it would be quite out of place for Azerbaijan to conduct joint exercises with Russia.
  2. Tramp1812 Offline
    Tramp1812 (Tramp 1812) 28 February 2020 16: 23
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Armenia is spinning. That's what happens, that's what happens when you want to be good for everyone. Russia for Armenia is a time-tested ally. All the rest are either its opponents or they are absolutely indifferent to what will happen to this tiny, impoverished, mountainous country. They do not seek good from good. Georgia demanded the withdrawal of Russian military bases from its territory - there are no questions. Armenia adopted them on its territory - a competent decision: on the one hand, Turkey, on the other, Iran. With the third - a friend of Azerbaijan. Russian bayonets are a guarantee that you can resist. In this difficult situation. But why, when determining such a roll towards Russia, do maneuvers towards NATO? Illogical and very fraught. For Armenia, first of all.
  3. Oh come on ...
  4. Pawel ignatiew Offline
    Pawel ignatiew (Pawel Ignatiew) 29 February 2020 00: 34
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    The next "brother".
  5. commbatant Offline
    commbatant (Sergei) 29 February 2020 13: 15
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    What is the article about? The actions of the Armenian "comrades" in no way contradict the CSTO Charter ...

    https://odkb-csto.org/documents/documents/ustav_organizatsii

«Достойный партнер»: Армения примет участие в учениях НАТО в Грузии


27 февраля 2020 года глава Минобороны Грузии Ираклий Гарибашвили, на совместной пресс-конференции со своим армянским коллегой Давидом Тонояном в Ереване заявил, что военнослужащие Армении примут участие в учениях НАТО Noble Partner-2020 («Достойный партнер»). Не сложно догадаться, что главной целью данных учений, проводящихся Альянсом и его союзниками на территории Грузии, является оказание воздействия на Абхазию и Южную Осетию.


Нужно отметить, что первые подобные учения НАТО прошли в Грузии в мае 2015 года. Тогда учения проводились на территории военной базы Вазиани около Тбилиси. И с каждым годом количество участвующих стран, сил и средств, неуклонно растет.

Я рад, что армянские военнослужащие примут участие в многонациональных учениях Noble Partner 2020, которые пройдут в Грузии с участием представителей стран–членов и партнеров НАТО

– сказал Гарибашвили.

Мы согласились в том, что нет альтернативы развитию наших дружественных отношений, нет альтернативы мирному решению конфликтов, как и обеспечению стабильности в регионе

- добавил Гарибашвили.

Он выразил надежду, что Ереван в дальнейшем продолжит принимать участие в таких учениях. Одновременно с этим, во время этого двухдневного визита, Грузия и Армения подписали соглашение о сотрудничестве в оборонной сфере на 2020 год.

При этом нужно уточнить, что Армения с 1992 года является участницей «Ташкентского пакта» («Ташкентского договора») и состоит в Организации Договора о коллективной безопасности (ОДКБ). Что касается главы Минобороны Армении Давида Тонояна, то в 1997 году он окончил Военно-дипломатическую академию при Минобороны России (это его второе образование).

Нужно обратить внимание, что многие СМИ цитируют лишь грузинского министра, при этом не приводя высказывания главы армянского военного ведомства. Кроме того, мало кто вспоминает, что Армения зависит от Грузии и изолирована от России.

Я хочу выразить глубокую благодарность моему коллеге за первый официальный визит в регионе Южного Кавказа в Республику Армения

- сказал Тоноян.

Она (программа на 2020 год - ред.) охватывает сферы военного образования, социальной защиты военнослужащих, миротворчества и горной подготовки, а также была достигнута договоренность о расширении сотрудничества в ряде других сфер, которые пока не включены в нашу двустороннюю программу

- пояснил Тоноян.

Армения и Грузия в политической, культурной, экономической сферах и области безопасности имеют друг для друга важнейшее значение

- подытожил Тоноян.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Буланов Офлайн
    Буланов (Владимир) 28 февраля 2020 14:30
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    В данном случае, Азербайджану будет совсем нелишним провести совместные учения с Россией.
  2. Бродяга1812 Офлайн
    Бродяга1812 (Бродяга1812) 28 февраля 2020 16:23
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Крутится Армения. Вот что бывает, вот что выходит, когда для всех хочешь быть хорошим. РФ для Армении - проверенный временем союзник. Все остальные - либо её противники, либо им абсолютно безразлично, что будет с этой крошечной, нищей, гор(д)ной страной. От добра добра не ищут. Потребовала Грузия вывода российских военных баз со своей территории - нет вопросов. Приняла их Армения на своей территории - грамотное решение: с одной стороны - Турция, с другой - Иран. С третьей - друг Азербайджан. Русские штыки - гарантия, что можно устоять. В этой непростой ситуации. Но зачем при определении такого крена в сторону России, делать маневр в сторону НАТО? Нелогично и очень чревато. Для Армении, в первую очередь.
  3. Pawel Ignatiew Офлайн
    Pawel Ignatiew (Pawel Ignatiew) 29 февраля 2020 00:34
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Очередные "братушки".
  4. commbatant Офлайн
    commbatant (Сергей) 29 февраля 2020 13:15
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    О чем статья? Действия армянских "товарищей" никак не противоречит Уставу ОДКБ...

    https://odkb-csto.org/documents/documents/ustav_organizatsii