Pentagon and State Department argue about the need to transfer Patriot to Turkey


The American online publication Politico informed the public that the question of the appropriateness of deploying Patriot air defense systems in Turkey caused heated debate between the Pentagon and the US State Department. Moreover, if diplomats demand to satisfy Ankara’s request and send Patriot complexes, the military call this idea “reckless” and refuse to get hot chestnuts from the bonfire of war, because not only the rogue state will have to confront it.


It is clarified that US Special Representative for Syria James Jeffrey has already spoken out in favor of Turkey’s request for the temporary deployment of American Patriot systems. However, the Pentagon is "concerned about the global consequences of this move." Moreover, the military called this idea “bad,” emphasizing that they do not want to do “stupid things that have real global consequences.”

But, according to Politico, the mentioned Jeffrey is not discouraged, but continues to stubbornly defend his point of view. He really wants to create a closed zone for flights with the participation of the United States over Syrian Idlib. But the American military is resisting and does not want to create a "bad precedent" that still "will not change the calculations of the Russians and Syrians."

It should be recalled that Ankara asked Washington to temporarily place two batteries marked by air defense systems on its southern border in connection with the aggravation of the situation in the Syrian province of Idlib. From the USA, they immediately explained that it was not about selling complexes and promised to think about the request.

It should be added that information has already leaked from the US State Department that Washington’s assistance to Ankara in Syria in any case will not be related to the direct participation of the US military in the hostilities. Reuters learned from a representative of the said agency that the United States "did not decide to send military units to Syrian Idlib." Moreover, Turkey, as a member of NATO, the United States and so provide "all kinds of information and machinery". The State Department also noted "the existing very close coordination on the issue of strategic, air and missile attacks" between Moscow and Damascus.
  • Photos used: Spc. Henry / defenseimagery.mil / wikipedia.org
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Observer2014 Offline Observer2014
    Observer2014 29 February 2020 15: 41
    0
    That's right and argued. If Russia decides to control Turkey, then the given air defense system for the Turks is what is, what is not.

Пентагон и Госдеп поспорили о необходимости переброски Patriot в Турцию


Американское интернет-издание Politico проинформировало общественность, что вопрос целесообразности размещения в Турции ЗРК Patriot вызвал бурные споры между Пентагоном и Госдепом США. Причем, если дипломаты требуют удовлетворить просьбу Анкары и направить комплексы «Пэтриот», то военные называют эту идею «безрассудной» и отказываются доставать горячие каштаны из костра войны, ведь противостоять придется не только стране-изгою.


Уточняется, что спецпредставитель США по Сирии Джеймс Джеффри уже высказался за удовлетворение просьбы Турции о временном размещении американских комплексов «Пэтриот». Однако в Пентагоне «обеспокоены глобальными последствиями этого шага». Более того, военные называют эту идею «плохой», подчеркивая, что не хотят делать «глупостей, имеющих подлинные глобальные последствия».

Но, как утверждает Politico, упомянутый Джеффри не унывает, а продолжает упорно отстаивать свою точку зрения. Он очень хочет создать над сирийским Идлибом закрытую зону для полетов с участием США. Но американские военные упираются и не желают создавать «плохой прецедент», который все равно «не изменит расчеты россиян и сирийцев».

Нужно напомнить, что Анкара попросила Вашингтон временно разместить две батареи отмеченных ЗРК на своей южной границе в связи с обострением ситуации в сирийской провинции Идлиб. Из США сразу пояснили, что речь идет не о продаже комплексов и пообещали подумать над просьбой.

Нужно добавить, что из Госдепа США уже просочилась информация, что помощь Вашингтона Анкаре в Сирии в любом случае не будет связана с прямым участием американских военных в боевых действиях. Агентство Reuters узнало от представителя указанного ведомства, что США «не приняли решение об отправке боевых подразделений в сирийский Идлиб». При этом Турции, как участнице НАТО, США и так предоставляют «разного рода информацию и технику». В Госдепе также отметили «существующую очень тесную координацию в вопросе стратегических, воздушных и ракетных ударов» между Москвой и Дамаском.
Использованы фотографии: Spc. Henry/defenseimagery.mil/wikipedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Наблюдатель2014 29 февраля 2020 15:41
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Правильно и поспорили. Если Россия решит уконтропупить Турцию, то данный ЗРК туркам что есть, что нет.