U.S. Navy Carrier Group Heads For Syria


British media have reported that the US Navy’s aircraft carrier strike group (AUG), led by the USS atomic carrier (CVN69) Eisenhower (Eisenhower), entered the Mediterranean Sea from the Atlantic Ocean, passing the Strait of Gibraltar. According to them, the specified AUG is sent to the eastern part of the Mediterranean Sea, where it will be for some time off the coast of Syria.


Then this AUG will head for the Persian Gulf, where it will replace the AUG led by the nuclear-powered aircraft carrier USS (CVN 75) Harry S. Truman (“Harry Truman”), which is now on duty in the Gulf of Oman. It should be noted that in May 2019, US President Donald Trump decided not to write off Harry Truman (construction began in November 1993, launched in September 1996, and was commissioned in July 1998). Trump's decision will cost the US budget $ 20 billion over the next 20 years.

As for the AUG led by the Eisenhower aircraft carrier, it includes: USS San Jacinto (CG-56) (San Jacinto) and USS Vella Gulf (CG 72) (Vella Gulf) missile cruisers, as well as destroyers Truxtun (DDG-103) (Trakstan), USS James Williams (DDG-95) (James E. Williams) and USS Stout (DDG 55) (Stout). Onboard the Eisenhower aircraft carrier, 48 F / A-18E Super Hornet fighter-bombers are deployed. However, it is not reported whether this AUG is accompanied by an atomic strike submarine (nuclear submarine) equipped with Tomahawk cruise missiles. Although such a nuclear submarine should accompany each AUG.

It should be added that in the Mediterranean Sea there is a Russian squadron of 15 warships and support vessels. On February 28, 2020, two more frigates were sent to them - Admiral Makarov and Admiral Grigorovich, equipped with Caliber cruise missiles and the Orsk large landing ship (BDK).
  • Photos Used: United States Navy / wikimedia.org
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Wanderer039 Offline Wanderer039
    Wanderer039 1 March 2020 17: 16
    +1
    AUG USA usually accompanies 1 - 2 nuclear submarines of the Russian Federation ...
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 1 March 2020 17: 36
    0
    Is this already in a row?

    In my memory, they wrote the same thing 2-3 times already. And where did they go? Swam, not swam, somehow the media is silent.

Авианосная группа ВМС США направилась к берегам Сирии


Британские СМИ сообщают, что в Средиземное море из Атлантического океана, пройдя пролив Гибралтар, вошла авианосная ударная группа (АУГ) ВМС США во главе с атомным авианосцем USS (CVN69) Eisenhower («Эйзенхауэр»). По их данным, указанная АУГ направляется в Восточную часть Средиземного моря, где будет некоторое время находиться у берегов Сирии.

Затем эта АУГ возьмет курс на Персидский залив, где заменит АУГ во главе с атомным авианосцем USS (CVN 75) Harry S. Truman («Гарри Трумэн»), которая сейчас дежурит в Оманском заливе. Нужно отметить, что в мае 2019 года президент США Дональд Трамп принял решение не списывать «Гарри Трумэн» (строительство начато в ноябре 1993 года, спущен на воду в сентябре 1996 года, введен в эксплуатацию в июле 1998 года). Решение Трампа обойдется бюджету США в $20 млрд в ближайшие 20 лет.



Что касается АУГ во главе с авианосцем «Эйзенхауэр», то в ее состав входят: ракетные крейсера USS San Jacinto (CG-56) («Сан Джасинто») и USS Vella Gulf (CG 72) («Велла Галф»), а также эсминцы Truxtun (DDG-103) («Тракстан»), USS James Williams (DDG-95) («Джеймс Е. Уильямс») и USS Stout (DDG 55) («Стаут»). На борту авианосца «Эйзенхауэр» размещено 48 истребителей-бомбардировщиков F/A-18E Super Hornet. При этом не сообщается, сопровождает ли эту АУГ ударная атомная подводная лодка (АПЛ), оснащенная крылатыми ракетами Tomahawk. Хотя такая АПЛ должна сопровождать каждую АУГ.

Нужно добавить, что в Средиземном море находится российская эскадра из 15 боевых кораблей и судов обеспечения. 28 февраля 2020 года к ним были направлены дополнительно еще два фрегата - «Адмирал Макаров» и «Адмирал Григорович», оснащенные крылатыми ракетами «Калибр» и большой десантный корабль (БДК) «Орск».
Использованы фотографии: United States Navy/wikimedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Странник039 Офлайн
    Странник039 1 марта 2020 17:16
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    АУГ США обычно сопровождают 1 - 2 АПЛ РФ...
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 1 марта 2020 17:36
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Это какая уже по счету?

    На моей памяти уже 2-3 раза писали то же самое. И куда они делись-то? Доплыли, не доплыли, как-то СМИ молчок.