US media: Putin takes control of the Arctic and the Bering Strait


The world is paying too little attention to the Russian Arctic and the polar region as a whole, although important events are coming there, writes the American publication The Trumpet. Melting ice and technical progress has led to the fact that the potential of the North has come into the view of adjacent states, and a desire has appeared to take it under control.


During a recent visit to the Arctic, Russian President Vladimir Putin said that “natural resources that are of paramount importance to the Russian economicsare concentrated in this region. ” The US Geological Survey agrees with its assessment, because in the Arctic, up to 30 percent of the world's natural gas reserves and 13 percent of oil are hidden. It is also known that the region has a considerable number of deposits of gold, platinum and zinc.

- noted in the text of the publication.

Continuing to quote the Russian president, The Trumpet informs readers that current estimates of Arctic unused resources reach $ 30 trillion. This is 20 times the current GDP of all of Russia. It’s easy to understand why Putin decided to overcome the cold, distances and geopolitical competition in the struggle for these resources, the media argues.

In addition, the Northern Sea Route itself is also very important. It reduces the delivery time of goods from China to Europe to 15 days.

Further, the media saw a threat to the world order in the desire of Moscow to control its own waters.

If Russian activities along the Northern Sea Route were carried out in accordance with international law, this would be a boon to the global economy. But in March 2019, the Russian Federation issued a number of alarming requirements for foreign ships transit in transit along this route. Any ship that does not obey them can be detained or even “destroyed”, the Russian government said. And even if a foreign ship fulfills all the requirements, Russian officials say that they can reject any transit request without giving any reason. The disturbing and illegal clause of these rules concerns the Bering Strait, which lies between Russia and the USA.

- writes the edition.

According to international law, any state can exercise restrictions within its territorial waters and exclusive economic zones, but this rule does not apply to straits. Russia seeks to control everything, and for this it has enough strength, and the icebreaking fleet is becoming stronger and more numerous. It follows from this that Moscow’s position in the region will only be tightened.
Used photos: http://putin.kremlin.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Observer2014 Offline
    Observer2014 3 March 2020 19: 42
    +1
    • 3
    • 2
    US media: Putin takes control of the Arctic and the Bering Strait

    Take for now all the others to the point. laughing
    Speaking of birds. Using our main technological advantages in the form of powerful engines for launch vehicles of the Moon and Mars, for example, are we the first to colonize? Or will we, as always, then seek our own path of development and oppose American expansion? repeat
    1. Arkharov Online
      Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 3 March 2020 19: 48
      -2
      • 1
      • 3
      .. its main technological advantages in the form of powerful engines for launch vehicles

      What are the benefits? Call, maybe I don’t know?
      1. Observer2014 Offline
        Observer2014 3 March 2020 19: 53
        -2
        • 1
        • 3
        Quote: Arkharov
        ..the main technological advantages in the form of powerful engines for launch vehicles.

        What are the benefits? Call, maybe I don’t know?

        belay So I don’t know.
        And many idiots believe. And not only that, you can already call a sect directly. I have one familiar site here. bully
      2. akarfoxhound Offline
        akarfoxhound 4 March 2020 20: 24
        0
        • 1
        • 1
        Every day from morning till night grazes on sites, including this one, everywhere "with an opinion" from the party "Panties Libero" and at the same time never knows ... mdya, an interesting instance. laughing

СМИ США: Путин берет под контроль Арктику и Берингов пролив


Мир слишком мало обращает внимания на российскую Арктику и полярный регион в целом, хотя там грядут важные события, пишет американское издание The Trumpet. Таяние льдов и технический прогресс привели к тому, что в поле зрения прилегающих государств попал потенциал Севера, появилось желание взять его под контроль.


Во время недавнего визита в Арктику президент России Владимир Путин заявил, что «природные ресурсы, которые имеют первостепенное значение для российской экономики, сосредоточены в этом регионе». Геологическая служба США согласна с его оценкой, ведь в Арктике сокрыто до 30 процентов общемировых запасов природного газа и 13 процентов нефти. Также известно, что регион имеет немалое число месторождений золота, платины и цинка

– отмечается в тексте публикации.

Продолжая цитировать российского президента, The Trumpet сообщает читателям, что текущие оценки неиспользованных ресурсов Арктики достигают 30 триллионов долларов. Это в 20 раз больше нынешнего ВВП всей России. Нетрудно понять, почему Путин решил преодолеть холод, расстояния и геополитическую конкуренцию в борьбе за эти ресурсы, рассуждает СМИ.

Кроме того, сам по себе Северный морской путь также очень важен. Он сокращает срок доставки грузов из Китая в Европу до 15 дней.

Далее СМИ увидело угрозу миропорядку в желании Москвы контролировать собственные воды.

Если бы российская деятельность по Северному морскому пути осуществлялась в соответствии с международным правом, это было бы благом для мировой экономики. Но в марте 2019 года РФ обнародовала ряд тревожных требований для иностранных судов, следующих транзитом по данному маршруту. Любое судно, которое не подчиняется им, может быть задержано или даже «уничтожено», заявило российское правительство. И даже если иностранный корабль выполняет все требования, российские чиновники говорят, что могут отклонить любой запрос на транзит без объяснения причин. Тревожащий и незаконный пункт этих правил касается Берингова пролива, который лежит между Россией и США

– пишет издание.

Согласно международному праву, любое государство может осуществлять ограничения в пределах своих территориальных вод и исключительных экономических зон, однако это правило не распространяется на проливы. Россия стремится контролировать все, и для этого у нее достаточно сил, а ледокольный флот становится все крепче и многочисленнее. Из этого следует вывод, что позиция Москвы по региону будет лишь ужесточаться.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://putin.kremlin.ru/
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Наблюдатель2014 3 марта 2020 19:42
    +1
    СМИ США: Путин берет под контроль Арктику и Берингов пролив

    Возьмём то, пока что всем другим до фени. laughing
    Кстати, о птичках. Используя свои основные технологические преимущества в виде мощных двигателей для ракет носителей Луну и Марс, например, мы первыми колонизируем? Или будем, как всегда, искать потом свой путь развития и противостоять американской экспансии? feel
    1. Архаров Офлайн Архаров
      Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 3 марта 2020 19:48
      -2
      ..свои основные технологические преимущества в виде мощных двигателей для ракет носителей

      Какие такие преимущества? Назовите, может, я не знаю?
      1. Наблюдатель2014 3 марта 2020 19:53
        -2
        Цитата: Архаров
        ..свои основные технологические преимущества в виде мощных двигателей для ракет носителей.

        Какие такие преимущества? Назовите, может, я не знаю?

        belay Вот и я не знаю.
        А многие урякалки верят. И мало того, что прямо сектой уже назвать можно. Есть тут у меня один знакомый сайт. bully
      2. akarfoxhound Офлайн akarfoxhound
        akarfoxhound 4 марта 2020 20:24
        0
        Ежедневно с утра до вечера пасется на сайтах, включая этот, везде "с мнением" от партии "Трусики Libero" и при этом ни фигa не знает... мдя, интереснейший экземпляр. laughing