US appreciates the prospect of a “physical clash” with Russia in the Arctic


During a hearing on the United States Congress Senate Committee on Armed Forces, Acting Under Secretary of Defense for Political Affairs, James Anderson, assessed relations between the United States and Russia in the Arctic.


According to him, the two countries are in a state of rivalry in the Arctic, but the potential for conflict in this region is extremely low.

TASS quotes the words of the representative of the US military:

Of course, we are in a state of rivalry with the Russian Federation, this is not in doubt ... but when I say that the potential for conflict is low, I mean a real physical collision, and the probability of this now, according to our assessment, is low .


It can be assumed that speaking of the low potential for a physical clash between the US and Russia in the Arctic, Anderson implied that the American military simply had nothing to get to the site of a possible conflict.

After all, it is no secret that the entire US icebreaking fleet consists of three old ships, two of which, at the very least, are still able to navigate in the northern latitudes, and the third is used as a spare parts donor.

The minimum time that Americans can build a new icebreaker to work in Arctic waters is, according to the most optimistic estimates, five years, while Russia already has 40 such ships in the region.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 4 March 2020 12: 56
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    The United States needs 10-15 years more to compete with Russia in the Arctic! True, Russia does not want to take advantage of this. When the USA has superiority somewhere, they don’t even give their heads. They crush and talk in the ultimate form. And Russia is a generous soul, still offers something joint.
  2. The comment was deleted.

США оценили перспективу «физического столкновения» с Россией в Арктике


Во время слушаний в комитете Сената Конгресса США по делам вооруженных сил, исполняющий обязанности заместителя министра обороны по политическим делам Джеймс Андерсон дал оценку отношениям Соединенных Штатов и России в Арктике.


По его словам, две страны находятся в состоянии соперничества в Арктике, однако потенциал для конфликта в этом районе является крайне низким.

ТАСС цитирует слова представителя американского военного ведомства:

Мы, безусловно, находимся в состоянии соперничества с Российской Федерацией, это не ставится под сомнение... но когда я говорю, что потенциал для конфликта является низким, я имею в виду настоящее физическое столкновение, и вероятность этого сейчас, согласно нашей оценке, низкая.


Можно предположить, что говоря о низком потенциале для физического столкновения США и России в Арктике, Андерсон подразумевал, что американским военным попросту нечем добраться до места возможного конфликта.

Ведь ни для кого не секрет, что весь ледокольный флот США состоит из трех старых судов, два из которых, худо-бедно, еще способны передвигаться в северных широтах, а третье используется в качестве донора запчастей.

Минимальный срок, когда американцы смогут построить новый ледокол для работы в арктических водах, составляет, по самым оптимистичным расчетам, пять лет, в то время как у России в регионе работает уже 40 таких кораблей.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 4 марта 2020 12:56
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    США надо 10-15 лет ещё, чтобы с Россией соперничать в Арктике! Правда, Россия этим воспользоваться не хочет. Когда у США есть превосходство где-то, они даже голову поднять не дают. Давят и разговаривают в ультимативной форме. А Россия щедрая душа, ещё совместное что-то предлагает.
  2. Комментарий был удален.