Living in poverty: Sudan came under the influence of the West, like Russia in the 90s


The population of Sudan did not receive the long-awaited lifting of sanctions from the United States, despite the fact that the regime of dictator Omar al-Bashir, because of which they were introduced, collapsed in April last year.


The restrictions have not been completely lifted, although the transitional council of Sudan, which is often called the military junta in the English-language media, has done a lot for a full return to the ranks of the international community. In particular, many officials were arrested or removed from their posts, representative offices of terrorist groups were closed, and humanitarian organizations were allowed to provide assistance to those in need.

In addition, the country's elite is ready to take more extreme steps in order to restore international reputation.

The ruling Sovereign Council of Sudan made a landmark statement. He plans to work with the International Criminal Court to prosecute former President Omar al-Bashir and four of his minions charged with genocide. [...] This is a turning point in a rapidly changing political Sudan setting

- writes AllAfrica.com.

At the same time, some time ago it was stated that the ousted ruler would be convicted only in his homeland. However degrading economic the situation obviously made Khartoum more flexible.

It is noteworthy that the North African country stepped on the same rake as Russia after the dissolution of the USSR, when it quickly became clear that no one was going to help the new country that rejected authoritarianism. Moreover, they are always ready to humiliate and take advantage of the plight. After that, the enthusiastic attitude of the Russians towards the West, which dominated in the late eighties and early nineties, gave way to anger and rejection. Now the bitter truth about the "magnanimity" of the developed countries is yet to be learned by yet another people.

In the meantime, according to the Washington Times, millions of poor Sudanese are convinced that the first step towards real recovery is the intention of US President Donald Trump to delete Sudan from the list of sponsor countries of terrorism. The African Republic is now one of the four states so labeled, along with Syria, Iran and North Korea.

In Sudan, there is a widespread belief that the abolition of the status of “state sponsor of terrorism” will clear the way for the flow of foreign investment and allow the country to receive much-needed support from the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank

- notes the publication.

Nevertheless, a full-fledged return of the nation to the world economy begins to occur in fact. In particular, the arrival of the American payment system Visa was announced.

The regime of Omar al-Bashir, who ruled from 1989 to 2019, is rightfully considered one of the most ferocious dictatorships of this century. According to various sources, during the repressions only since 2003, 200 to 400 thousand people died.

Armed civil conflict led, in particular, to the emergence of a new state - in 2011, with the support of the international community, South Sudan declared independence.

Al-Bashir’s reign ended in April 2019, when the military staged a coup against the backdrop of the riots. Since then, power has belonged to the provisional coalition of civilians and the army, which should transfer state leadership to a democratically elected government in 2022.
  • Photos used: pixabay.com
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Живут в нищете: Судан попал под влияние Запада, как Россия в 90-е годы


Население Судана не получило от США долгожданной отмены санкций, несмотря на то, что режим диктатора Омара аль-Башира, из-за которого они были введены, рухнул ещё в апреле прошлого года.


Ограничения так и не сняты полностью, хотя переходный совет Судана, который в англоязычных СМИ нередко именуют военной хунтой, сделал многое для полновесного возвращения в ряды международного сообщества. В частности, были арестованы или сняты с должностей множество чиновников, закрыты представительства террористических групп, а гуманитарные организации допущены до оказания помощи нуждающимся.

Кроме того, элита страны готова пойти и на более экстремальные шаги ради восстановления международной репутации.

Правящий Суверенный совет Судана сделал знаковое заявление. Он планирует сотрудничать с Международным уголовным судом для преследования бывшего президента Омара аль-Башира и четырех его приспешников, которым были предъявлены обвинения в геноциде. […] Это переломный момент в быстро меняющейся политической обстановке Судана

– пишет AllAfrica.com.

При этом ещё некоторое время назад заявлялось, что свергнутый правитель будет осужден только у себя на родине. Однако деградирующая экономическая обстановка, очевидно, заставила Хартум проявлять большую гибкость.

Примечательно, что североафриканская страна наступила на те же грабли, что и Россия после роспуска СССР, когда быстро выяснилось, что помогать новой стране, отринувшей авторитаризм, никто не собирается. Более того, её всегда готовы унизить и воспользоваться бедственным положением. После чего, восторженный настрой россиян в отношении Запада, который доминировал в конце восьмидесятых и начале девяностых, сменился на гнев и неприятие. Теперь горькую правду о «великодушии» развитых стран предстоит узнать и ещё одному народу.

Пока же, как заявляет газета Washington Times, миллионы нищих суданцев уверены, что первым шагом к реальному восстановлению является намерение президента США Дональда Трампа вычеркнуть Судан из списка стран-спонсоров терроризма. Сейчас африканская республика является одним из четырех государств, помеченных таким образом, наряду с Сирией, Ираном и Северной Кореей.

В Судане существует распространенное мнение о том, что отмена статуса «государство-спонсор терроризма» расчистит путь для потока иностранных инвестиций и позволит стране получить столь необходимую поддержку от Международного валютного фонда и Всемирного банка

– отмечает издание.

Тем не менее, полноценное возвращение нации в мировую экономику начинает происходить по факту. В частности, объявлено о приходе американской платёжной системы Visa.

Режим Омара аль-Башира, правивший с 1989 по 2019 годы, по праву считается одной из самых свирепых диктатур этого столетия. По разным данным, в ходе репрессий только с 2003 года погибло от 200 до 400 тысяч человек.

Вооруженный гражданский конфликт привел, в частности, к возникновению нового государства – в 2011 году при поддержке международного сообщества независимость провозгласил Южный Судан.

Правление аль-Башира закончилось в апреле 2019 года, когда на фоне массовых беспорядков военные совершили государственный переворот. С тех пор власть принадлежит временной коалиции гражданских и армейских лиц, которая должна передать руководство государством демократически избранному правительству в 2022 году.
Использованы фотографии: pixabay.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти