In the US, the termination of reconnaissance flights over the Russian Federation was called a "bad idea"


The United States may opt out of open skies. The American magazine Popular Mechanics calls such a move a “bad idea” and explains why.


The article, published on the website of the publication, says that on March 2, 2020, a number of US Democratic Party senators sent a warning letter to the State Department stating why the White House administration should not withdraw Washington from the Open Skies Treaty (DON). The document says that DON is a key arms control agreement and allows for inspection flights over participating countries.

It is noted that the current US administration, headed by President Donald Trump, claims that Washington does not have any particular benefit from this agreement with Moscow, since Russia allegedly imposes restrictions on inspections. At the same time, American supporters of the preservation of DON say that this agreement is needed to demonstrate transparency and build confidence between the two countries.

It is clarified that the authors of the letter, which advises not to leave DON, are Bob Menendez, member of the US Senate Committee on Foreign Relations, and Jack Reed, member of the US Senate Armed Forces Committee. According to senators, withdrawing from the agreement “will damage the security interests of both the United States and its allies” and deprive American experts of the possibility of “comprehensive study of Russian military facilities.”

It should be recalled that DON (The Treaty on Open Skies) is a multilateral international agreement that allows the free flight of unarmed reconnaissance aircraft in the airspace of signatory countries. The agreement was signed on March 24, 1992 in Helsinki (Finland) by representatives of 23 member states of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE).
Used photos: http://mil.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 9 March 2020 15: 20
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    The fact that the USA needs it - to control and observe us, is understandable. But why do we need it and what good is it that Russia has this? For some reason they don’t really tell us about this. Can the Americans even want to give up that information is already being extracted in a different way?

    This agreement is needed to demonstrate transparency and build confidence between the two countries.

В США прекращение разведывательных полетов над РФ назвали «плохой идеей»


США могут отказаться от договора по открытому небу. Американский журнал Popular Mechanics называет такой шаг «плохой идеей» и объясняет, почему.


В статье, опубликованной на сайте издания, рассказывается, что 2 марта 2020 года ряд сенаторов Демпартии США направили в Госдеп письмо-предупреждение, в котором изложили, почему администрация Белого дома не должна выводить Вашингтон из договора по открытому небу (ДОН). В документе говорится, что ДОН является ключевым соглашением по контролю над вооружениями и позволяет проводить инспекционные полеты над странами-участницами.

Отмечается, что действующая администрация США, возглавляемая президентом Дональдом Трампом, утверждает, что от указанного соглашения с Москвой, Вашингтон не имеет никакой конкретной пользы, так как Россия якобы накладывает ограничения на инспекции. При этом американские сторонники сохранения ДОН говорят, что это соглашение нужно для демонстрации прозрачности и укрепления доверия между двумя странами.

Уточняется, что авторами упомянутого письма, в котором дается совет не выходить из ДОН, являются член комитета по международным отношениям Сената США Боб Менендес (Bob Menendez) и член комитета по вооруженным силам Сената США Джек Рид (Jack Reed). По мнению сенаторов, выход из соглашения «нанесет ущерб интересам безопасности как США, так и союзников» и лишит американских специалистов возможности «всеобъемлющего изучения российских военных объектов».

Нужно напомнить, что ДОН (The Treaty on Open Skies) - это многостороннее международное соглашение, разрешающее свободные полеты невооруженных разведывательных летательных аппаратов в воздушном пространстве стран-подписантов. Договор был подписан 24 марта 1992 года в Хельсинки (Финляндия) представителями 23 государств-членов Организации по безопасности и сотрудничеству в Европе (ОБСЕ).
  • Использованы фотографии: http://mil.ru/
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 9 марта 2020 15:20
    +1
    То, что США это надо - нас контролировать и наблюдать за нами, это понятно. А вот нам это зачем и польза какая, что Россия с этого имеет? Об этом нам почему-то не особо рассказывают. Американцы, может, от этого и отказаться хотят, что информация уже другим способом добывается?

    Это соглашение нужно для демонстрации прозрачности и укрепления доверия между двумя странами.