The largest-wing twin-wing aircraft will return to the sky


The plane with the world's longest wing can return to the sky as early as September of this year. The resumption of test flights Stratolaunch Model 351 said the vice president of the same name company Mark Bitterman.


However, according to the functionary, the concept of using the aircraft will once again undergo changes. Model 351 in the coming years will not be used to launch missiles, as previously assumed. The device is involved in testing various of technologies and instruments in atmospheric and suborbital hypersonic flights.

Recall that the project of a two-fuselage aircraft with the longest wing in the world (117,3 measures) was presented by Stratolaunch in 2018. It was assumed that the device will be used instead of the first stage of the launch vehicle, launching the rocket to an altitude of 11 km, where separation will take place, and the device will continue to fly to orbit on its own.

After the death of Stratolaunch founder Paul Allen in late 2018, the company first abandoned the development of its own rockets, and then, due to financial difficulties, the project was put up for sale at all. Now, Mark Bitterman said that the Stratolaunch Model 351 will continue flights, but within the framework of a new concept, where the aircraft will become a carrier for hypersonic devices created by both the company and third-party developers.

At the same time, it is worth noting that back in 2018, Stratolaunch engineers submitted an article describing two hypersonic devices reaching speeds of 6 and 10 Machs. Perhaps it is these developments that will be further used by the American company.
Photos used: Robert Sullivan / flickr.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Zheleznyak Offline
    Zheleznyak 9 March 2020 14: 37
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    It is only a matter of time, and this one will either crumble in the sky itself, or become a joke in the museum of human stupidity.
  2. g1washntwn Offline
    g1washntwn (George Washington) 10 March 2020 09: 18
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Commercially unprofitable. Only the Pentagon. Most likely, under his military programs and dragged by the ears.

Двухфюзеляжный самолет с самым большим крылом вернется в небо


Самолет с самым длинным в мире крылом может вернуться в небо уже в сентябре текущего года. О возобновлении испытательных полетов Stratolaunch Model 351 заявил вице-президент одноименной компании Марк Биттерман.

Однако, со слов функционера, концепция применения самолета в очередной раз претерпит изменения. Model 351 в ближайшие годы не будет использоваться для запуска ракет, как предполагалось ранее. Аппарат задействуют в испытании различных технологий и инструментов в атмосферных и суборбитальных гиперзвуковых полетах.



Напомним, что проект двухфюзеляжного самолета с самым длинным в мире крылом (117,3 мера) был представлен компанией Stratolaunch в 2018 году. Предполагалось, что аппарат будет применяться вместо первой ступени РН, выводя ракету на высоту 11 км, где произойдет отделение, и аппарат самостоятельно продолжит полет к орбите.

После смерти основателя Stratolaunch Пола Алена в конце 2018 года, в компании сначала отказались от разработки собственных ракет, а затем, в связи с финансовыми трудностями, проект и вовсе был выставлен на продажу. Теперь же Марк Биттерман заявил, что Stratolaunch Model 351 продолжит полеты, но уже в рамках новой концепции, где самолет станет носителем для гиперзвуковых аппаратов, созданных, как самой компанией, так и сторонними разработчиками.

При этом, стоит отметить, что еще в 2018 году инженеры Stratolaunch представили статью с описанием двух гиперзвуковых аппаратов, достигающих скорости в 6 и 10 Махов. Возможно, именно эти наработки и будут в дальнейшем использованы американской компанией.
Использованы фотографии: Robert Sullivan/flickr.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Железняк Офлайн
    Железняк 9 марта 2020 14:37
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Это только вопрос времени, и этот, либо рассыплется в небе сам, либо станет на прикол в музее человеческой глупости.
  2. g1washntwn Офлайн
    g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 10 марта 2020 09:18
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Коммерчески невыгодно. Только Пентагон. Скорее всего, под его военные программы и тащат за уши.