Lag behind Russia: Pentagon wants its own nuclear mini-reactor


The obvious lag behind Russia in the field of small nuclear reactors forced the Pentagon to allocate funds for their development to three American companies specializing in nuclear energy.


As follows from the report of the publication Defensenews, the US military department has concluded contracts with BWX Technologies, Inc. from Virginia; Westinghouse Government Services from Washington, DC; and X-energy, LLC from Maryland, totaling nearly $ 40 million.

The contract provides for the design of a compact mobile nuclear reactor for two years.

The purpose of the mobile nuclear reactor will officially be the supply of electricity to US troops, both in the United States and abroad.

However, given the concern that the United States has shown since Russia has armament equipped with a nuclear power plant, such as the Poseidon submarine and the Burevestnik intercontinental cruise missile, it can be assumed that the Pentagon’s plans go much further than just creation of a mobile mini-reactor to provide electricity to its troops.

Indeed, despite all the skepticism about the new Russian weapons, which sounded in the speeches of the American military and politiciansThe United States strongly insists that it be included in the Strategic Offensive Arms Treaty (START-3).
Photos used: Moscow Polytechnic Museum
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

12 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. cmonman Offline
    cmonman (Garik Mokin) 10 March 2020 18: 21
    -3
    • 0
    • 3
    The obvious lag behind Russia in the field of small nuclear reactors forced the Pentagon to allocate funds for their development to three American companies specializing in nuclear energy.

    True patriots, after these words, went to bed with a happy smile on their faces, so that in the morning, without opening the half-empty refrigerator (not to bother with breakfast - I’ll leave the children / mother), we went to my favorite work with a spring singing in the shower!
    And now, without pathos, just the facts.
    Americans have long been concerned about the possibility of disconnecting electricity from bases / centers during the conflict. No money was allocated for the development of mininuclear reactors. But now the Pentagon has a new cartoon - look for new designs / ideas in the commercial sector, and if you don’t find it, we’ll allocate $$$ for development. And as it turned out, the commercial sector can provide a wide variety of mininuclear safe reactors.

    https://www.defensenews.com/smr/nuclear-arsenal/2020/03/09/pentagon-to-award-mobile-nuclear-reactor-contracts-this-week/

    According to a report from the Institute of Nuclear Energy in October 2018, 90 percent of military installations have "an average annual energy consumption that can be achieved with an installed nuclear reactor capacity of 40 MW or less."

    Replacing local electricity with a nuclear reactor is not necessary for the department, but one or more reactors in the range from 2 to 10 MW located at the base will provide, in case of failure of the local power system, critical functions.

    This is not the first time that the Department of Defense is considering small nuclear reactors. The 2010 NDAA instructed the department to explore the possibility of using nuclear energy for military installations, but research showed that the reactors available at that time were simply too large. However, new developments in the commercial sector offer more opportunities.

    “How reactors will be developed for commercial applications may depend not only on industry developments, but also on creating an effective regulatory environment. Most likely, although we will consider microreactors that will be put into commercial operation in the 2030s, ”Cobb explained.

    In short, the Pentagon wants to create microreactors based on existing commercial developments for its military bases and centers for independence from local networks. These reactors must be mobile - fit in a large truck. There are no idiotic plans to stick them into missiles / torpedoes. To envy Russia that during the test of the Petrel nearly “a small nuclear explosion” (or did it happen?) The Americans are not going to.
    1. shinobi Offline
      shinobi (Yuri) 11 March 2020 12: 11
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Yes? Did you personally know this from the Pentagon?
      1. cmonman Offline
        cmonman (Garik Mokin) 11 March 2020 15: 58
        -2
        • 0
        • 2
        Yes? Did you personally know this from the Pentagon?

        If you are saying that the Americans are not building nuclear torpedoes / missiles, then yes, the Pentagon said. And common sense. The Pentagon abandoned this idea 60 years ago, in a failed test. Nothing fell on the heads of their citizens, but the one possibility that this could happen sobered up idiots, and they forgot about it. Anything can fall on the heads of Russians — they won’t scream, they won’t dare. I understand that you are offended to read such things about yourself, but it’s true - you won’t come to the demonstration.
        In addition, if you open the site that I threw off, you will see the size of this nuclear installation, located in a 5-axle truck. What size should it be a torpedo in which such a piece of iron could fit?
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 10 March 2020 23: 16
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Again, someone from the cheers-media dreamed of working Petrel and Poseidon.

    Nafig then made a large floating At. station ????
    Ah, people and so on ...
    1. shinobi Offline
      shinobi (Yuri) 11 March 2020 12: 37
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Floating civilian stations, this provides the city with 250000-500000 people with heat and light in the Far North. Small-sized mobile station, for the same on a smaller scale. Prototypes (with us) have existed since the beginning of the 60s. Apparently, the energy supply of Peresvet is provided by a descendant of such a station.
      1. Sergey Latyshev Offline
        Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 11 March 2020 22: 37
        -1
        • 0
        • 1
        Real prototypes are expensive isotope sources.
        Lighthouses, weather stations, satellites ....

        Perhaps Peresvet, yes .... It’s quite enough to leave the block beautifully.
        Maybe you can dazzle someone ... but they don’t speak.
        But the article is not about him.

        And about the Petrel and Poseidon, who again dreamed of someone ....

        Projects all in bulk ....
        1. shinobi Offline
          shinobi (Yuri) 15 March 2020 02: 16
          0
          • 0
          • 0
          You confuse it with isotopic sources; they work on a different principle. No, dear, it is full-fledged stations.
          1. Sergey Latyshev Offline
            Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 15 March 2020 13: 12
            -1
            • 0
            • 1
            Real prototypes are expensive isotope sources.

            и

            You are confused with isotopic sources.

            - like, we’re talking about one thing ??? But, like messed up, right?
            I have never met that in Peresvet a full-fledged nuclear source. But especially and I do not follow. I remember everywhere cartoon / movie with the departure of the mechanics, and all.
            Everyone notes the unknown power supply.
            1. shinobi Offline
              shinobi (Yuri) 16 March 2020 10: 17
              0
              • 0
              • 0
              Hammer in the internet "Mobile nuclear power plants of the USSR", read for general development.
              1. Sergey Latyshev Offline
                Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 16 March 2020 14: 00
                -1
                • 0
                • 1
                Thank you.
                Ground Pamir closed after successful trials. Not used.
                The floating “Academician Lomonosov” was introduced in 2019.
                Все.
                1. shinobi Offline
                  shinobi (Yuri) 19 March 2020 08: 53
                  +1
                  • 1
                  • 0
                  The Pamir was not all; there was still a series of TPP-3, TPP-8 and TPP-10. There were still experimental reactors for aircraft and superheavy tanks. Operating time remained, this is the main thing. Creating from scratch is always harder and longer.
                  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline
                    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 19 March 2020 11: 03
                    0
                    • 0
                    • 0
                    Once upon a time I looked and read about these developments. Developments and remained.

                    The point is not from scratch / not from scratch, the point is that some people believe in Uri-media stories about pensions, the collapse of the United States, the development of 2010, the Moon 2015, the development of 2020, the core engine Poseidon, Petrel, gasoline will not rise in price etc.

Отставание от России: Пентагон захотел свой ядерный мини-реактор


Очевидное отставание от России в области малых ядерных реакторов вынудило Пентагон выделить средства на их разработку трем американским компаниям, специализацией которых является атомная энергетика.

Как следует из сообщения издания Defensenews, американское военное ведомство заключило контракты с BWX Technologies, Inc. из Вирджинии, Westinghouse Government Services из Вашингтона, округ Колумбия и X-energy, LLC из Мэриленда на общую сумму почти 40 миллионов долларов.



Контрактом предусмотрено проектирование компактного мобильного ядерного реактора в течение двух лет.

Назначением мобильного ядерного реактора официально станет снабжение электроэнергией американских войск, как на территории Соединенных Штатов, так и за рубежом.

Однако с учетом той озабоченности, которую США проявили после появления у России вооружения, оснащенного ядерной энергоустановкой, такого, как подводный необитаемый аппарат «Посейдон» и межконтинентальной крылатой ракеты глобальной дальности «Буревестник», можно предположить, что планы Пентагона простираются гораздо дальше, чем просто создание мобильного мини-реактора для обеспечения своих войск электричеством.

Ведь, несмотря на весь скепсис относительно нового российского вооружения, звучавший в речах американских военных и политиков, США категорически настаивают, чтобы оно было включено в Договор о стратегических наступательных вооружениях (СНВ-3).
Использованы фотографии: Московской Политехнический музей
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

12 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. cmonman Офлайн
    cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 10 марта 2020 18:21
    -3
    • 0
    • 3
    Очевидное отставание от России в области малых ядерных реакторов вынудило Пентагон выделить средства на их разработку трем американским компаниям, специализацией которых является атомная энергетика.

    Настоящие патриоты, после этих слов, со счастливой улыбкой на лице пошли спать, чтобы утром, не открывая полупустого холодильника (не заморачиваться завтраком - детям/маме оставлю), с поющей весной в душе пошли на любимую работу!
    А теперь без пафоса, просто факты.
    американцы были давно озабочены возможностью отключения электричества от баз/центров во время конфликта. На разработку миниядерных реакторов денег не выделялось. Но сейчас в Пентагоне новая мулька - ищи новые конструкции/идеи в коммерческом секторе, и, если не найдёшь, то выделим $$$ на разработку. И как оказалось, коммерческий сектор и может дать большое разнообразие миниядерным безопасным реакторам.

    https://www.defensenews.com/smr/nuclear-arsenal/2020/03/09/pentagon-to-award-mobile-nuclear-reactor-contracts-this-week/

    Согласно отчету Института Ядерной Энергетики за октябрь 2018 года, 90 процентов военных установок имеют «среднегодовое потребление энергии, которое может быть достигнуто при установленной мощности ядерного реактора в 40 МВт или менее».

    Замена местной электроэнергии на ядерный реактор не является необходимой для целей департамента, но один или несколько реакторов в диапазоне от 2 до 10 МВт, расположенных на базе, обеспечат, в случае выхода из строя местной энергосистемы, выполнения критических функций.

    Это не первый случай, когда Министерство обороны рассматривает небольшие ядерные реакторы. NDAA 2010 года поручила департаменту изучить возможность использования ядерной энергии для военных объектов, но исследование показало, что имеющиеся на тот момент реакторы были просто слишком большими. Тем не менее, новые разработки в коммерческом секторе открывают больше возможностей.

    «То, как реакторы будут разработаны для коммерческих приложений, может зависеть не только от отраслевых разработок, но и от создания эффективной нормативной среды. Скорее всего, хотя мы будем рассматривать микрореакторы, которые будут введены в коммерческую эксплуатацию в 2030-х годах », - пояснил Кобб.

    Короче - Пентагон хочет создать микрореакторы на основе существующих коммерческих разработок для своих военных баз и центров для независимости от локальных сетей. Эти реакторы должны быть мобильны - вмещаться в большом грузовике. Никаких идиотских планов воткнуть их в ракеты/торпеды нет. Завидовать России в том, что при испытании Буревестника чуть не произошёл “маленький ядерный взрыв” (или произошёл?) американцы не собираются.
    1. синоби Онлайн
      синоби (Юрий) 11 марта 2020 12:11
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Да? Это вам персонально из Пентагона сообщили?
      1. cmonman Офлайн
        cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 11 марта 2020 15:58
        -2
        • 0
        • 2
        Да? Это вам персонально из Пентагона сообщили?

        Если вы о том, что американцы не строят торпеды/ракеты с ядерным двигателем - то да, сообщил Пентагон. И здравый смысл. Пентагон отказался от этой идеи 60 лет назад, при неудачном испытании. На головы своих граждан ничего не упало, но одна возможность, что такое может произойти, отрезвило идиотов, и об этом забыли. На головы россиян может падать что угодно - они не пикнут, не посмеют. Я понимаю, что вам обидно читать о себе такое, но ведь это правда - на демонстрацию не выйдете.
        Кроме того, если откроете сайт, который я скинул, то увидите размер этой атомной установки, размещённой в 5-ти осном грузовике. Это какого же размера должна быть торпеда, в которую бы поместилась такая железяка?
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 10 марта 2020 23:16
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Опять кому-то из ура-СМИ приснился работающий Буревестник и Посейдон.

    Нафиг тогда сделали большую плавучую Ат. станцию????
    А, пипл и так схавает...
    1. синоби Онлайн
      синоби (Юрий) 11 марта 2020 12:37
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Плавучие гражданские станции, это обеспечение города на 250000-500000 населения теплом и светом в условиях Крайнего Севера. Малогабаритная передвижная станция, для того же самого в меньших масштабах. Прототипы (у нас) существуют с начала 60-х. Судя по всему, энергообеспечение Пересвета осуществляет потомок такой станции.
      1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 11 марта 2020 22:37
        -1
        • 0
        • 1
        Реальные прототипы - это дорогущие источники на изотопах.
        Маяки, Метеостанции, спутники....

        Возможно, Пересвет, да.... Красиво выехать блоку явно хватит.
        Может, и Ослепить кого-то можно... но не говорят.
        Но в статье не о нем.

        А о Буревестнике и Посейдоне, которые опять кому-то приснились....

        Прожектов-то у всех навалом....
        1. синоби Онлайн
          синоби (Юрий) 15 марта 2020 02:16
          0
          • 0
          • 0
          Вы путаете с изотопными источниками, они на другом принципе работают. Нет, уважаемый, именно полноценные станции.
          1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 15 марта 2020 13:12
            -1
            • 0
            • 1
            Реальные прототипы - это дорогущие источники на изотопах.

            и

            Вы путаете с изотопными источниками.

            - вроде, об одном говорим??? Но, типа напутал, да?
            Нигде не встречал, что в Пересвете полноценный ядерный источник. Но особо и не слежу. Помню, везде мультик/ролик с выездом механики, и все.
            Все отмечают неизвестность блока питания.
            1. синоби Онлайн
              синоби (Юрий) 16 марта 2020 10:17
              0
              • 0
              • 0
              Забейте в инете "Передвижные атомные станции СССР", почитайте для общего развития.
              1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 16 марта 2020 14:00
                -1
                • 0
                • 1
                Спасибо.
                Наземный Памир закрыли после успешных испытаний. Не использовался.
                Плавучий «Академик Ломоносов» ввели в 2019 году.
                Все.
                1. синоби Онлайн
                  синоби (Юрий) 19 марта 2020 08:53
                  +1
                  • 1
                  • 0
                  Памир - это не всё, была ещё серия ТЭС-3, ТЭС-8 и ТЭС-10. Были ещё экспериментальные реактора для самолётов и сверхтяжёлых танков. Наработки остались, это главное. Создавать с нуля всегда сложнее и дольше.
                  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 19 марта 2020 11:03
                    0
                    • 0
                    • 0
                    Когда-то давно смотрел и читал про эти разработки. Разработками и остались.

                    Суть-то не в том, с нуля/не с нуля, суть-то что некоторые верят в байки уря-СМИ про пенсии, развал США, развитие 2010, Луна 2015, развитие 2020, ядер-двигатель Посейдон, Буревестник, бензин не подорожает и т.п.