US Media: Creating a nuclear train in Russia is an impractical idea


The creation in the USSR of a military railway missile complex (BZHRK or “nuclear train”) was “a clearly impractical idea that was not brought to an end,” writes The American Interest, an American publication. In the article "Nuclear Chug-Choo: The Soviets had a crazy idea about a nuclear missile train," the author explains his point of view.


The author (Sebastien Roblin (Sebastien Roblin), who received a master's degree in conflict resolution at Georgetown University and worked as a lecturer at Peace Corps University in China) reports that in the summer of 2018, the Kremlin released a flurry of videos showing various systems being developed in Russia nuclear weapons, "from the RS-28 Satan-2 ICBM and the Dagger hypersonic missiles, to the nuclear torpedo," capable of destroying coastal American cities with tsunamis from irradiated water. "

At the same time, the expert drew attention to the project for the development of Doomsday trains in Russia, the successor to the Soviet BZHRK. Roblin clarified that the concept of BZHRK was developed many decades ago and was based on the idea that the moving train is much more difficult to hit the enemy, therefore, it will become a serious element of nuclear deterrence.

The expert noted that a similar principle made submarines (submarines, submarines) equipped with SLBMs the most effective nuclear deterrence tool. Since they "can roam the vast expanses, being under water." In turn, the masking of the "ghost train" will be carried out due to its visual "merger" with the usual railway traffic.

The author explains that only by the end of the 1980s in the USSR, the solid-fuel ICBM RT-23 UTTKh Molodets was finally developed, which was shorter than previous ICBMs (according to NATO classification - SS-24 and Scalpel, developed by Design Bureau "South" (Dnepropetrovsk, Ukrainian SSR) and adopted for service in 1987). At the same time, the "ghost train" was pulled by three standard diesel locomotives, and Soviet specialists managed to create a device that pushes overhanging power cables.

According to the author, in the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic (Ukraine), 12 such BZHRK were created, which stood on combat duty in the period from 1987 to 2002. At the same time, the American satellites only partially managed to track their movements. After that, the Pentagon set about developing its own version of the “ghost train,” but the end of the Cold War led to the closure of this project.

After the collapse of the USSR, sixty-two ICBMs RT-23 UTTH Molodets were in Ukraine for some time. But in 1994 they were transferred to Russia. Moreover, the BZHRK were decommissioned in the period 2003-2005 and some of them are now museum exhibits.

The author is surprised that as soon as the Pentagon set about developing the US missile defense system and the “Fast Global Strike” program, it “caused paranoia in Moscow.” According to the author, this is what prompted Russia to make large investments in improving its system for delivering nuclear weapons.

After that, in 2012, the Moscow Institute of Heat Engineering began to develop the successor to the “ghost train” called “Barguzin”, named after the violent winds of Lake Baikal. The new BZHRK planned to use a lighter rocket RS-24 "Yars". But in December 2017, it was announced that the development of the BZHRK was stopped. Moreover, the project can be quickly revived if necessary.

In addition, the author noted that in December 2015, China tested the Dongfeng-41 (East Wind) ICBM. He suggested that the Chinese "comrades" are developing their own "ghost train", modeled on the Soviet one.
  • Photos used: https://www.flickr.com/
15 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Cheburashk Offline Cheburashk
    Cheburashk (Vladimir) 11 March 2020 11: 31
    0
    Why the US is afraid of the Russian "ghost train"

    Already so much has been said about this and retold that the question - why the US is afraid - seems strange.
    The fact that, as it is written, the project was curtailed, does not at all mean that it was actually curtailed. Well, if you still turned, it pleases that if necessary they can revive.
    But still it would be calmer if this train was !!!!
    1. mor7d Offline mor7d
      mor7d (mor7d) April 6 2020 10: 02
      -2
      Already so much has been said about this and retold that the question - why the US is afraid - seems strange

      If this is really so scary, then maybe the Americans need to do something similar. Moreover, they with their level of technology to make such a train time to spit. They do not, which means that this is not necessary. Impractical idea.
      1. T. Henks Offline T. Henks
        T. Henks (Igor) April 6 2020 15: 43
        0
        They have no railways.
        1. mor7d Offline mor7d
          mor7d (mor7d) April 7 2020 07: 46
          -2
          They have no railways

          Is this such a subtle joke? The United States still has the longest rail network in the world, amounting to 293 km.
  2. AICO Offline AICO
    AICO (Vyacheslav) 11 March 2020 12: 54
    0
    If you speak for it, it’s definitely practical — maybe diapers will go up in price !!!
  3. g1washntwn Offline g1washntwn
    g1washntwn (George Washington) 11 March 2020 13: 24
    +1
    Quote: x / f Office romance
    - In your place, I would be interested in boots not during work, but after it.
    - So, good boots, you need to take

    smile
  4. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 11 March 2020 17: 48
    +2
    BZHRK thing is good. Stealth is almost like a nuclear submarine, but the price is lower and the service is safer.
  5. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 11 March 2020 23: 35
    -2
    Why are you cursing?
    The project was closed anyway, and for a long time.
    No train, no. Only blah blah on the internet and that's it.
  6. 69 Offline 69
    69 12 March 2020 06: 21
    +1
    Everything that can get under-hegemon in the den, and cut into the brain, is considered "impractical" in advance.
    1. Redfox3k Offline Redfox3k
      Redfox3k (Vladislav) 13 March 2020 11: 09
      0
      Moreover, they believe that if there is an opportunity to strike back - this is paranoia. They consider themselves God's chosen ones.
  7. duchy Offline duchy
    duchy (Salih) 12 March 2020 17: 54
    +2
    Well, these Americans are naive, that they are developing types of weapons - then this is overpopular, and if the rivals have complete crap and, sitting overseas, indicate what is good and what is bad. It would be nice if they were imbued with the idea, like a sparrow in a heap, sit and do not tweet on your island.
    1. mor7d Offline mor7d
      mor7d (mor7d) April 7 2020 07: 49
      -2
      naive these americans

      Once this is really so scary, then the Americans could also do such a thing. Moreover, they with their level of technology to make such a train time to spit. They do not, which means that this is not necessary. Impractical idea.
  8. The comment was deleted.
  9. albor.ru Offline albor.ru
    albor.ru (Alexander) 28 March 2020 17: 15
    +1
    It's just CONGENIOUS !!!

    The Pentagon has taken on the development of the US missile defense system and the Fast Global Strike program, which "has caused paranoia in Moscow."

    Yeah ... the United States is just developing a global strike program - and Russia has PARANOIA !? Amazing ... Why would !? It’s simply impossible to think up more idiocy ...
  10. Dust Offline Dust
    Dust (Sergei) April 8 2020 15: 08
    +1
    US Media: Creating a nuclear train in Russia is an impractical idea

    This is all rubbish! When there was disarmament, the Americans had one of the main conditions to remove nuclear trains from duty! Tracking the movement of trains across the vast expanses of Russia is very difficult, if at all possible. Why Americans do not do this at home! The answer is simple. In the USA, everything is almost private, and private traders ask for money for everything! So, letting such trains to the USA is a very expensive pleasure! Another thing is Russia!
  11. rotkiv04 Offline rotkiv04
    rotkiv04 (Victor) April 21 2020 16: 50
    +1
    So, we must create, or revive.

СМИ США: Создание ядерного поезда в России – непрактичная идея


Создание в СССР боевого железнодорожного ракетного комплекса (БЖРК или «ядерный поезд») было «явно непрактичной идеей, которая не была доведена до конца», пишет американское издание The National Interest. В статье «Ядерный чух-чух: у Советов была сумасшедшая идея о ракетно-ядерном поезде», автор разъясняет свою точку зрения.

Автор (Sebastien Roblin (Себастьен Роблин), который получил степень магистра в области разрешения конфликтов в Джорджтаунском университете и работал преподавателем в университете Корпуса Мира в Китае), сообщает, что летом 2018 года «Кремль выпустил шквал видеороликов», показывающих различные разрабатываемые в России системы ядерного оружия, «начиная от МБР РС-28 «Сатана-2» и гиперзвуковых ракет «Кинжал», до ядерной торпеды, «способной уничтожить прибрежные американские мегаполисы волнами цунами из облученной воды».



При этом эксперт обратил внимание на проект по разработке в России поездов «Судного дня», преемника советского БЖРК. Роблин уточнил, что концепция БЖРК была разработана много десятилетий назад и была основана на идее, что движущийся состав намного сложнее поразить противнику, следовательно, это станет серьезным элементом ядерного сдерживания.

Эксперт отметил, что подобный принцип сделал подводные лодки (подлодки, субмарины), оснащенные БРПЛ, самым эффективным инструментом ядерного сдерживания. Так как они «могут бродить по обширным просторам, находясь под водой». В свою очередь, маскировка «поезда-призрака» будет осуществляться за счет его визуального «слияния» с обычным железнодорожным движением.

Автор объясняет, что лишь к концу 1980-х годов в СССР наконец-то была разработана твердотопливная МБР РТ-23 УТТХ «Молодец», которая была короче, чем предшествующие МБР (по классификации НАТО - SS-24 и «Scalpel», разработанная Конструкторским бюро «Южное» (Днепропетровск, УССР) и принятая на вооружение в 1987 году). При этом «поезд-призрак» тянули тремя стандартными дизельными локомотивами, а советским специалистам удалось создать устройство, отодвигающее нависающие силовые кабели.

Как пишет автор, в УССР (Украине) было создано 12 таких БЖРК, которые стояли на боевом дежурстве в период с 1987 по 2002 годы. При этом американским спутникам лишь частично удавалось отслеживать их перемещения. После чего Пентагон взялся за разработку своего варианта «поезда-призрака», однако конец «холодной войны» привел к закрытию этого проекта.

После распада СССР шестьдесят две МБР РТ-23 УТТХ «Молодец» некоторое время находились на Украине. Но в 1994 году были переданы России. При этом БЖРК были выведены из эксплуатации в период 2003-2005 годов и некоторые из них теперь являются музейными экспонатами.

Автор удивляется, что как только Пентагон взялся за разработку системы ПРО США и программы «Быстрого глобального удара», это «вызвало у Москвы паранойю». По мнению автора, именно это побудило Россию к крупным инвестициям в усовершенствование своей системы доставки ядерных боеприпасов.

После этого, в 2012 году, Московский институт теплотехники приступил к разработке преемника «поезда-призрака» под названием «Баргузин», названного в честь буйных ветров Байкала. В новом БЖРК планировалось использовать более легкую ракету РС-24 «Ярс». Но в декабре 2017 года было заявлено о прекращении разработки БЖРК. При этом проект может быть быстро возрожден, если будет необходимость.

Кроме того, автор обратил внимание, что в декабре 2015 года Китай испытал МБР Dongfeng-41 (East Wind). Он предположил, что китайские «товарищи» разрабатывают собственный «поезд-призрак», по образцу советского.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.flickr.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

9 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Чебурашк Офлайн
    Чебурашк (Владимир) 11 марта 2020 11:31
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Почему США боятся российского «поезда-призрака»

    Уже столько было про это сказано и пересказано, что вопрос - почему США боятся - кажется странным.
    То, что, как написано, проект свернули, вовсе может и не означать, что его свернули на самом деле. Ну а если все-таки свернули, то радует, что при необходимости могут возродить.
    Но все-таки было бы спокойнее, если бы этот поезд был!!!!
  2. AICO Офлайн
    AICO (Вячеслав) 11 марта 2020 12:54
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Раз говорите за это - значит, точно практичная - авось памперсы подорожают!!!
  3. g1washntwn Офлайн
    g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 11 марта 2020 13:24
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Цитата: х/ф Служебный роман
    - На вашем месте интересовалась бы сапогами не во время работы, а после неё.
    - Значит, хорошие сапоги, надо брать

    smile
  4. Sapsan136 Офлайн
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 11 марта 2020 17:48
    +2
    • 4
    • 2
    БЖРК штука хорошая. Скрытность почти как у АПЛ, а цена ниже и служба безопаснее.
  5. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 11 марта 2020 23:35
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    А что вы ругаетесь.
    Проект все-равно закрыли, и давно.
    Нет поезда, нет. Только бла-бла в инете и все.
  6. 69П Онлайн
    69П 12 марта 2020 06:21
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Все, что может достать недогегемона в логове, и врезать по мозгам, заранее считается "непрактичным".
    1. Redfox3k Офлайн
      Redfox3k (Владислав) 13 марта 2020 11:09
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Более того, считают, что если есть возможность нанести ответный удар - это паранойя. Богоизбранными себя считают.
  7. duche Офлайн
    duche (Salih) 12 марта 2020 17:54
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Ну наивные эти американцы, что у них разрабатываются типы вооружения - то это сверх опупенно, а если у соперников - лабуда полнейшая и ещё, сидя за океаном, указывают, что хорошо, что плохо. Хорошо бы они прониклись мыслью, как воробей в куче, сидите и не чирикайте у себя на острове.
  8. Комментарий был удален.
  9. albor.ru Офлайн
    albor.ru (Александр) 28 марта 2020 17:15
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Это просто КОНГЕНИАЛЬНО!!!

    Пентагон взялся за разработку системы ПРО США и программы «Быстрого глобального удара», это «вызвало у Москвы паранойю».

    Ага... США всего-то разрабатывают программу глобального удара - а у России ПАРАНОЙЯ!? Удивительно... С чего бы!? Большего идиотизма придумать просто невозможно...