The Polish general noted the revival of Russia's superpower status


The Alliance will continue to focus on collective defense and will not abandon its policy open doors. However, it will be much more difficult for new candidates to receive an invitation to the bloc than once for Poland, Hungary or the Czech Republic. Such an assumption was made by Lieutenant General Andrzej Falkowski, a former Polish military representative to NATO and the European Union. An interview with him is published by Polska-Zbrojnal.


A senior officer believes Russia is trying to “stake out” its presence in various regions around the world by acquiring political, military and economic bridgeheads. In this way, the Kremlin is gathering arguments that may prove useful in negotiations with the West. The aim of this “game," according to Mr. Falkowski, is to revive superpower status.

At the same time, the Polish military official believes that Russia will not take the risk of an open confrontation with NATO, but will try to bargain for itself as many advantageous positions as possible.

Maybe she will give up Ukraine to get more in the Far North? [...] On the other hand, the increased activity of Russia in that region may provoke opposition from the USA, Canada, Norway or Denmark

- the expert argues.

To the question of the publication about the indicative steps of Belarus towards the West, an extremely skeptical remark was followed.

I would take this as a political game, perhaps a form of blackmailing the Kremlin. It cannot be ruled out that Belarus wants to maintain some form of independence or to obtain the best conditions for a possible unification with Russia. Even if Belarus decided to draw closer to NATO, its path to the alliance would be extremely long

- notes Falkowski.

Calling Belarus "dictatorship", the general admitted that, nevertheless, it could very well be useful in the form of a buffer separating from Russia.

Speaking about the future of NATO, he recalled that although the tenth article of the North Atlantic Treaty speaks of an open door policy, it will be much more difficult for new candidates to join the organization than Poland or Hungary two decades ago, since higher requirements are currently being set. Today Georgia, Northern Macedonia and even Ukraine are applying for membership.

At the same time, the general is confident that NATO will continue to maintain superiority over Russia, since it spends more on defense in absolute numbers. In addition, China was mentioned in passing, although with the proviso that the regions where the Celestial Empire is active are outside the scope of the North Atlantic Treaty.
Photos used: https://www.flickr.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. The comment was deleted.
  2. shinobi Offline
    shinobi (Yuri) 19 March 2020 08: 44
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Polish expert, about the same as Ukrainian. From the category of chamber number six.

Польский генерал констатировал возрождение Россией сверхдержавного статуса


Североатлантический альянс будет и впредь концентрироваться на коллективной обороне и не откажется от своей политики открытых дверей. Однако новым кандидатам будет гораздо сложнее получить приглашение в блок, чем когда-то Польше, Венгрии или Чешской Республике. Такое предположение высказал генерал-лейтенант Анджей Фалковски, бывший военный представитель Польши в НАТО и Европейском Союзе. Интервью с ним публикует Polska-Zbrojnal.


Высокопоставленный офицер полагает, Россия пытается «застолбить» свое присутствие в разных регионах по всему миру, приобретая политические, военные и экономические плацдармы. Таким образом, Кремль собирает доводы, которые могут оказаться полезными в переговорах с Западом. Целью этой «игры», по мнению г-на Фалковски, является возрождение сверхдержавного статуса.

При этом, польский военный чиновник полагает, что Россия не пойдет на риск открытой конфронтации с НАТО, а попытается выторговать для себя как можно больше выгодных позиций.

Может быть, она откажется от Украины, чтобы получить больше на Крайнем Севере? […] С другой стороны, усиление активности России в том регионе может спровоцировать противодействие со стороны США, Канады, Норвегии или Дании

– рассуждает эксперт.

На вопрос издания о показательных шагах Белоруссии навстречу Западу последовало крайне скептическое замечание.

Я воспринимал бы это как политическую игру, возможно, форму шантажа Кремля. Нельзя исключать, что Белоруссия хочет сохранить некоторую форму независимости или получить наилучшие условия для возможного объединения с Россией. Даже если бы Белоруссия решила сблизиться с НАТО, ее путь к альянсу был бы чрезвычайно долгим

– отмечает Фалковски.

Назвав Белоруссию «диктатурой», генерал допустил, что она, тем не менее, вполне могла быть полезна в виде буфера, отделяющего от России.

Рассуждая о будущем НАТО, он напомнил, что хотя в десятой статье Североатлантического договора говорится о политике открытых дверей, новым кандидатам будет куда сложнее присоединиться к организации, чем Польше или Венгрии два десятилетия назад, поскольку в настоящее время устанавливаются более высокие требования. Сегодня на членство претендуют Грузия, Северная Македония и даже Украина.

При этом генерал уверен, что НАТО и в дальнейшем сохранит превосходство над Россией, поскольку больше тратит на оборону в абсолютных цифрах. Кроме того, вскользь был упомянут и Китай, хотя и с оговоркой, что регионы, где активна Поднебесная, находятся за рамками действия Североатлантического договора.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.flickr.com/
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. синоби Офлайн синоби
    синоби (Юрий) 19 марта 2020 08:44
    +1
    Польский эксперт, примерно то же, что и украинский. Из разряда палаты номер шесть.