ExoMars Russian-European mission postponed for 2 years


The launch of the second ExoMars mission, which was supposed to take place in July of this year, is postponed to August-September 2022. This was announced the day before by Roskosmos and ESA.


Recall that ExoMars is a Russian-European Mars exploration program. The first mission in the framework of the project, which included the TGO and the Schiaparelli demonstration landing module, took place in 2016. The second stage, previously planned for 2020, included the sending to the Red Planet of the autonomous scientific station “Kazachok” and the rover “Rosalind Franklin”.

Roscosmos and the European Space Agency named two reasons for the delay: the coronavirus pandemic and the need for additional verification of spacecraft systems. At the same time, Alexander Rodin, an employee of the Space Research Institute (RAS), believes that COVID-19 was only a “convenient” excuse for postponing the launch. The decision was ripe for a long time, as European partners realized that the system was "raw", and landing on Mars was extremely risky technical point of view event.

It is worth noting that there are reasons for such a long period (2 years) of delay. This is due to the nature of planetary orbits. The fact is that our planet and Mars are in an ideal launching position every 26 months. Thus, after the cancellation of the July mission, scientists will have to wait for the next “window of opportunity”.
Photos used: ESO / G. Hudepohl
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 13 March 2020 16: 32
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    With my mind, I understand that Mars, the Moon are interesting and we need to do this. But when I receive housing and communal services receipts for taxes and salaries, the thought immediately shoots - WHY DO I HAVE THIS MARS?
    1. Observer2014 Offline
      Observer2014 15 March 2020 20: 08
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      Quote: steel maker
      With my mind, I understand that Mars, the Moon are interesting and we need to do this. But when I receive housing and communal services receipts for taxes and salaries, the thought immediately shoots - WHY DO I HAVE THIS MARS?

      You are a ground substance. And there is nothing to be done about this matter. For in rational hands and bright minds it’s clear that God’s day is that any technological aspiration of a person to higher matters is progress! Which implies new jobs, etc. etc. But we live in Russia. With all the ensuing consequences. We would have to attach this beloved president painlessly where in a good way. And then he, I feel, awakens yet, mom do not grieve.
  2. Nikolay Malyugin (Nikolai Malyugin) 15 March 2020 09: 43
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Now there is a lot of science fiction about space exploration. Some write that the planets of the solar system will be mastered in this decade. The landing of a man on the moon will show everything.

Российско-европейскую миссию «ЭкзоМарс» перенесли на 2 года


Запуск второй миссии «ЭкзоМарс», который должен был состояться в июле текущего года, переносится на август-сентябрь 2022 года. Об этом накануне заявили в «Роскосмосе» и ESA.


Напомним, что ExoMars является российско-европейской программой по исследованию Марса. Первая миссия в рамках проекта, в состав которой вошли аппарат TGO и демонстрационный десантный модуль Schiaparelli, состоялась в 2016 году. Второй этап, ранее запланированный на 2020 год, подразумевал отправку на Красную планету автономной научной станции «Казачок» и марсохода «Розалинд Франклин».

«Роскосмос» и Европейское космическое агентство назвали две причины отсрочки: пандемия коронавируса и необходимость дополнительной проверки систем космического аппарата. При этом сотрудник Института космических исследований (РАН) Александр Родин считает, что COVID-19 стал лишь «удобным» предлогом для переноса запуска. Решение зрело уже давно, так как европейские партнеры осознавали, что система «сырая», а посадка на Марс – чрезвычайно рискованное с технической точки зрения мероприятие.

Стоит отметить, что есть причины и для столь длительного периода (2 года) отсрочки. Это связано с природой планетарных орбит. Все дело в том, что наша планета и Марс находятся в идеальном для запуска положении каждые 26 месяцев. Таким образом, после отмены июльской миссии, ученым придется дождаться следующего «окна возможностей».
Использованы фотографии: ESO/G. Hudepohl
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 13 марта 2020 16:32
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    Умом я понимаю, что Марс, Луна - это интересно и надо этим заниматься. Но когда я получаю квитанции ЖКХ, по налогам и зарплату, сразу мысль стреляет - ЗАЧЕМ МНЕ ЭТОТ МАРС?
    1. Наблюдатель2014 15 марта 2020 20:08
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      Цитата: сталевар
      Умом я понимаю, что Марс, Луна - это интересно и надо этим заниматься. Но когда я получаю квитанции ЖКХ, по налогам и зарплату, сразу мысль стреляет - ЗАЧЕМ МНЕ ЭТОТ МАРС?

      Приземлённая ты субстанция. И с этим делом ничего не поделать. Ибо в разумных руках и светлых головах понятно аки Божий день, что любое технологическое стремление человека к высшим материям есть прогресс! Который подразумевает под собой новые рабочие места и т.д. и т.п. Но мы в России живём. Со всеми вытекающими последствиями. Нам бы этого ненаглядного президента пристроить безболезненно куда по-хорошему. А то он, чувствую, начудит ещё, мама не горюй.
  2. Николай Малюгин (Николай Малюгин) 15 марта 2020 09:43
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Сейчас много фантастики по поводу освоения космоса. Одни пишут, что в этом десятилетии будут освоены Планеты Солнечной системы. Высадка человека на Луну все покажет.