Comparison of military power: what Russian nuclear submarines can oppose NATO


In the past few years, the geopolitical confrontation between the USA and the Russian Federation has seriously intensified. The primary means of deterring an aggressive external policy Since Soviet times, Washington has been our "nuclear triad."


Military experts note Moscow’s attempts to regain previous positions in its naval component, primarily in the submarine fleet. What difficulties do our submariners face?

In the West, they differently assess the real capabilities of Russian nuclear submarines. For example, the portal We Are The Mighty, clearly deciding to “hijack”, scared its readers of the submarine Yuri Dolgoruky of the Borey class, which alone is capable of destroying New York with Bulava missiles:

A predator slowly rises from the depths of the Gulf of Mexico, like Godzilla, but even more destructive and deadly.

It is worth mentioning that up to 10 SSBNs (atomic submarines with ballistic missiles) are on alert by the United States. Of these, right now, four are capable of delivering a nuclear strike against Russia or China, two from the Pacific Ocean, two from the Atlantic. This is said to mean that the game is not played in one goal.

Even one single nuclear submarine armed with ICBMs can inflict irreparable damage to the enemy. Having a significantly weaker surface fleet than the United States, the Russian Federation is forced to rely on submarines. In the Russian Navy, there are three Borey class submarines in service, which scared the Americans by the media, one is being tested, and four more are under construction. After they enter combat duty, the level of presence of domestic nuclear submarines in the oceans will approach the Soviet level.

Nevertheless, even such a formidable weapon, like SSBNs, has its weaknesses, which should be mentioned. For example, standing at the pier, she will be defenseless against a sudden disarming strike, but this will not prevent her from releasing ICBMs at the enemy, even standing at the pier. That is why it is important that submarines spend as much time as possible at sea on alert duty.

The second most important problem is the submarine’s exit from the base to the patrol area. There is a constant struggle between the means of detecting nuclear powered ships and technology ensure their secrecy. The American SOSUS (SOund SUrveillance System, sound observation system), which controlled the Northern Fleet's access to the Atlantic, has long been outdated and mothballed, but they have been replaced by rapidly deployable multi-element regional underwater lighting systems (FOSS).

The main submarine extension routes have long been known to a potential enemy, therefore only a strong surface fleet is capable of providing A2 / AD (anti-access and area denial) zone for them, comparable in capabilities to an enemy’s at least in the local area. Otherwise, the loss of even one submarine cruiser will be a serious blow to the Russian "nuclear triad." What can be done to increase the survivability of domestic SSBNs so that their service does not look like a game of "cat and mouse"?

Among the solutions that suggest themselves, the first is the construction of a powerful surface fleet. The business is good, but very expensive and long. The second option is to create on the same platform as the SSBNs the PLARK series (nuclear submarines with cruise missiles suitable for non-nuclear, conventional warfare). Thus, the attention and efforts of anti-submarine reconnaissance of the enemy would be dispersed. Finally, it is possible to increase the overall security of Russian SSBNs due to underwater anti-aircraft missile systems and increasing the depth to which submarines are capable of diving, where torpedoes will be powerless against them.

Submarine fleet service remains a daily intense and dangerous game of cat and mouse.
Used photos: http://mil.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Sapsan136 Offline
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 17 March 2020 14: 18
    +4
    • 6
    • 2
    It is not so easy to launch a missile strike at the nuclear submarine standing at the pier, since even the port of Kamchatka is not badly covered by air defense, including the S-400 air defense system. The problem is that Soviet-built ships go down faster than new ones are built that can replace them ... This problem has yet to be solved ...
  2. Arkharov Offline
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 17 March 2020 20: 12
    -1
    • 2
    • 3
    Extremely nothing, and does not match the title.
  3. Rus Offline
    Rus 18 March 2020 20: 08
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Let them look at each other and be afraid of each other.

Сравнение боевой мощи: что российские АПЛ могут противопоставить НАТО


В последние несколько лет всерьез обострилось геополитическое противостояние США и РФ. Основным средством сдерживания агрессивной внешней политики Вашингтона еще с советских времен является наша «ядерная триада».

Военные эксперты отмечают попытки Москвы вернуть прежние позиции в ее морской компоненте, прежде всего, в подводном флоте. С какими же трудностями приходится сталкиваться нашим подводникам?



На Западе по-разному оценивают реальные возможности российских атомных субмарин. Например, портал We Are The Mighty, явно решив «хайпануть», пугнул своих читателей АПЛ «Юрий Долгорукий» класса «Борей», которая одна способна уничтожить Нью-Йорк ракетами «Булава»:

Хищник медленно поднимается из глубин Мексиканского залива, как Годзилла, но еще более разрушительный и смертоносный.

Стоит упомянуть, что на боевом дежурстве у США находится до 10 ПЛАРБ (подводные лодки атомные с баллистическими ракетами). Из них прямо в данный момент четыре способны нанести ядерный удар по России или Китаю, две из Тихого океана, две из Атлантического. Это сказано к тому, что игра ведется не в одни ворота.

Даже одна единственная атомная подводная лодка, вооруженная МБР, способна нанести противнику непоправимый ущерб. Имея значительно более слабый надводный флот, чем у США, Российская Федерация вынуждена делать ставку на субмарины. В ВМС РФ в строю имеется три подлодки класса «Борей», которыми СМИ пугали американцев, одна находится на испытаниях, и еще четыре строятся. После их выхода на боевое дежурство уровень присутствия отечественных АПЛ в Мировом океане приблизится к советской планке.

Тем не менее, даже столь грозное оружие, как ПЛАРБ, имеет свои слабые стороны, про которые необходимо упомянуть. Например, стоя у пирса, она будет беззащитна перед внезапным обезоруживающим ударом, но это не помешает ей самой выпустить МБР по противнику, даже стоя у причала. Именно поэтому важно, чтобы субмарины проводили в море на боевом дежурстве возможно большее время.

Вторая важнейшая проблема – это выход подлодки от места базирования к району патрулирования. Идет постоянная борьба между средствами обнаружения атомоходов и технологиями обеспечения их скрытности. Американская SOSUS (SOund SUrveillance System, звуковая система наблюдения), контролировавшая выход Северного флота в Атлантику, давно устарела и законсервирована, но им на замену пришли быстроразвёртываемые многоэлементные региональные системы освещения подводной обстановки (СОПО).

Основные маршруты выдвижения АПЛ давно известны потенциальному противнику, поэтому обеспечить зону A2/AD (anti-access and area denial) для них способен только сильный надводный флот, сопоставимый по возможностям с вражеским хотя бы на локальном участке. Иначе потеря даже одного подводного крейсера будет серьезнейшим ударом по российской «ядерной триаде». Что же можно сделать для повышения живучести отечественных ПЛАРБ, чтобы их служба не выглядела игрой в «кошки-мышки»?

Среди решений, напрашивающихся сами собой, первым является строительство мощного надводного флота. Дело хорошее, но очень дорогое и долгое. Второй вариант – это создание на одной платформе с ПЛАРБ серии ПЛАРК (АПЛ с крылатыми ракетами, пригодными для неядерной, конвенциональной войны). Таким образом, внимание и усилия противолодочной разведки противника распылялись бы. Наконец, можно повысить общую защищенность российских ПЛАРБ за счет подводных зенитно-ракетных комплексов и увеличения глубины, на которую способны погружаться субмарины, где против них будут бессильны торпеды.

Служба подводного флота остается ежедневной напряженной и опасной игрой в «кошки-мышки».
Использованы фотографии: http://mil.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Sapsan136 Офлайн
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 17 марта 2020 14:18
    +4
    • 6
    • 2
    Нанести ракетный удар по стоящей у пирса АПЛ не так просто, так как даже порт Камчатки сегодня недурно прикрыт ПВО, включая ЗРК С-400. Проблема в том, что корабли советской постройки выходят из строя быстрее, чем строятся новые, способные их заменить... Вот эту проблему и предстоит решать...
  2. Архаров Онлайн
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 17 марта 2020 20:12
    -1
    • 2
    • 3
    На редкость ни о чем, и никак не соответствует заголовку.
  3. Rus Офлайн
    Rus (Дмитрий) 18 марта 2020 20:08
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Пусть смотрят друг на друга и боятся друг друга.