Expert: Russia's ambitions in the Arctic will not be realized


Russian authorities have great views of the Arctic, although economic the situation in the country, as well as a number of other circumstances, will hardly allow Moscow to realize all the plans in this region. This opinion was expressed by Luc Coffey, director of the Center for External policy Douglas and Sarah Ellison at The Heritage Foundation. His article was published by the Saudi English-language newspaper Arab News.


The Kremlin seeks to promote its economic interests in the Arctic. Half of the Arctic territory and the same proportion of the population of this entire region are located in Russia. Also in the Far North are large reserves of oil and gas.

According to some estimates, in the next fifteen years, the strategy [of the development of the Russian North to 2035] could bring up to 15 trillion. rubles (200 billion dollars) of investments. However, in the context of economic stagnation and lower oil prices, it is still unknown where Russia will get such funds

- the author reports.

Moscow hopes that the Northern Sea Route will be one of the most important shipping lanes in the world, and will even become a competitor to the Suez Canal, compared with which the Arctic crossing significantly reduces the time and distance from Europe to East Asia.

However, these plans are hardly feasible. In 2019, only 37 vessels passed the Northern Sea Route, compared to 18 that passed the Suez Canal over the same period. Apparently, there is still a long way to go before the Northern Sea Route becomes a serious competitor to Suez, if it ever happens, the article says.

The results of the study [...] show that Arctic shipping can become economically feasible around 2040 if the ice cover continues to decline at the current pace.

- The extract from the report of the Copenhagen Business School from 2016 is given in the publication.

Russia is trying to control the Northern Sea Route, writes Mr. Koffi, even going against established international rules. Last year, the Russian Federation announced that it was introducing strict navigation rules even outside the Russian territorial waters. This cannot but attract attention from NATO.

The expert did not forget to mention the “militarization” of the Arctic, recalling that the Northern Fleet is the most powerful in the Russian Navy today. Summing up, the author expressed the opinion that, although most of the world's attention to Russia is concentrated on its “heinous actions in Syria or the illegal annexation of Crimea,” Moscow’s ambitions in the Arctic should not be ignored.
  • Used photos: kremlin.ru
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. 69 Offline 69
    69 18 March 2020 11: 22
    +1
    Russia is trying to control the Northern Sea Route, writes Mr. Koffi, even going against established international rules

    What are the “international rules” that are taken away and divided?
  2. g1washntwn Offline g1washntwn
    g1washntwn (George Washington) 18 March 2020 11: 57
    +4
    Why is it suddenly such an anxious concern for Russia? Doing everything right to compete?
  3. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 18 March 2020 13: 44
    -1
    In the light of recent developments in the oil market, the impartiality and objectivity, I would even say, with a touch of favor and friendliness towards Russia from the Saudi press, is not in doubt. laughing
    I didn’t read the article, and it’s clear that the torn economy of the gas station country will be bent in a week. Singer Putin realized the full depth of his fall, he was ready to bow to the wise ruler of the dunes and, as a sign of humility, would accompany the royal family on foot, circling their new Arctic possessions on snow-white camels, and ships of our potential partners would salute from the sea.
    Google suggests that "peremoga" is written in Arabic like this - The second
    Am I not mistaken? winked
  4. gorenina91 Online gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 18 March 2020 16: 00
    -3
    - Once ..., but, incidentally, not so long ago ... - I personally wrote a lot and in detail about Yamal (where they suddenly started a "Novotekov campaign", ridiculously similar to the "Chubais research"); and about the Russian shipyard "Zvezda", which today cannot be called Russian either. only Chinese work there to install Chinese and South Korean equipment ... - again due to the fact that Russian plants and enterprises were not given orders for the production of Russian equipment and components for this shipyard ... - The Zvezda shipyard will now depend for life on supplies of South Korean equipment ... - Namely ... - the entire production of the industrial design Russian shipyard "Zvezda" (where container ships for the transportation of Russian LNG will be built) will now entirely depend on what the left (and maybe the right one) the heel of South Korean companies ... - how cool ... - And this is the newest Russian shipyard ... - most likely, Russia will start buying container ships from Yuzhn. Korea ... - it turns out that all this expensive "Star" has not yet been built, but is no longer needed ... - but money was spent on it (Chubais just nervously smokes on the sidelines) ...
    - But this is not the only "Chubais project".
    - And also personally I wrote a lot about the fact that

    Novatek proposed a plan to expand capacities and implement the Arctic LNG-2 project, which could produce an additional 2 million tons of LNG per year. The launch of the first line of the Arctic LNG-19,8 project is scheduled for 2 with full capacity reaching in 2023.

    - Well, about Novatek personally, I already wrote a lot ...- I don’t want to repeat ... -this swindler will be even worse than Gazprom ...
    - And now, when personally I constantly stated all this, then many site clever men well choked on their minuses ...
    - And today suddenly some ...- "saw the light" and also began to broadcast to me in unison and ... diametrically opposed to their own previous site calculations ... - So if only they apologized to me for their blotted cons ... they are like water off a duck's back and today they are already writing the opposite, and they are not ashamed ... - but how did they defend their "gibberish" ... - And today they are already setting out the opposite of theirs:

    so it is clear that a torn economy of a gas station country will bend in a week. Singer Putin realized the full depth of his fall, he was ready to bow to the wise ruler of the dunes and, as a sign of humility, would accompany the royal family on foot, circling their new Arctic possessions on snow-white camels, and ships of our potential partners would salute from the sea.

    - So that's it ... "the economy of a gas station country will be bent to shreds in a week" ... - But with what aplomb the opposite was given earlier ...- How much bravura was, how much the pump, how much incense was smoked (not to breathe ) - and all in honor of the "brilliant thoughts" and "progressive steps" of the arrogant swindlers and swindlers from the Russian economy ...
    - Well, well ... - it is visible to many site workers ...- it's easier ...
    1. Astronaut Offline Astronaut
      Astronaut (San Sanych) 18 March 2020 23: 43
      -2
      Not tired of carrying nonsense, huh?
  5. How can it not, when already able? It’s the Arctic’s doodles, and we’re okay - there are cities, roads, airfields, and MILITARY BASESso shut up, uncle sam, and crawl away under the shkonki!
  6. Beech Offline Beech
    Beech 19 March 2020 11: 49
    0
    ..the article was published by the Saudi-language newspaper Arab News

    The next biggest girls friends? Are Arabs also laughed at the Northern Sea Route?
  7. Regis Offline Regis
    Regis (Sergey Kopan) 19 March 2020 15: 18
    +3
    The whole problem is in the experts. And American experts, especially when it comes to Russia, are generally something with something.

Эксперт: амбиции России в Арктике не будут реализованы


Российские власти имеют большие виды на Арктику, хотя экономическая ситуация в стране, а также целый ряд других обстоятельств едва ли позволят Москве реализовать все замыслы в данном регионе. Такое мнение выразил Люк Коффи, директор Центра внешней политики Дугласа и Сары Эллисон при «Фонде наследия» (The Heritage Foundation). Его статью опубликовала саудовская англоязычная газета Arab News.


Кремль стремится продвигать свои экономические интересы в Заполярье. Половина арктической территории и такая же доля населения всего этого региона расположены в России. Также на Крайнем Севере находятся большие запасы нефти и газа.

По некоторым оценкам, в следующие пятнадцать лет стратегия [развития русского Севера до 2035 года] может прилечь до 15 трлн. рублей (200 млрд. долларов) инвестиций. Однако в условиях стагнации экономики и снижения цен на нефть еще неизвестно, где Россия раздобудет такие средства

– сообщает автор.

Москва надеется, что Северный морской путь окажется в числе важнейших судоходных магистралей в мире, и даже станет конкурентом Суэцкому каналу, по сравнению с которым арктический переход значительно сокращает время и расстояние от Европы до Восточной Азии.

Однако эти планы едва ли осуществимы. В 2019 году всего 37 судов прошло Северным морским путем, по сравнению с 18 800, что миновали за тот же период Суэцкий канал. По всей видимости, предстоит еще долгий путь, прежде чем Севморпуть станет серьезным конкурентом Суэцу, если это вообще когда-либо произойдет, говорится в статье.

Результаты исследования […] показывают, что арктические морские перевозки могут стать экономически осуществимыми примерно в 2040 году, если ледяной покров продолжит уменьшаться в нынешних темпах

– приводится в публикации выдержка из отчета Копенгагенской школы бизнеса от 2016 года.

Россия пытается контролировать Севморпуть, пишет г-н Коффи, даже идя против установленных международных правил. В прошлом году РФ объявила, что внедряет строгие правила навигации даже за пределами российских территориальных вод. Это не может не привлекать внимания со стороны НАТО.

Не забыл эксперт упомянуть и про «милитаризацию» Арктики, вспомнив, что самым мощным в ВМФ России на сегодняшний день является именно Северный флот. Подводя итог, автор выразил мнение, что, хотя большая часть внимания всего мира к России сосредоточена на ее «гнусных действиях в Сирии или незаконной аннексии Крыма», не следует игнорировать и амбиции Москвы в Арктике.
Использованы фотографии: kremlin.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. 69П Офлайн
    69П 18 марта 2020 11:22
    +1
    • 3
    • 2
    Россия пытается контролировать Севморпуть, пишет г-н Коффи, даже идя против установленных международных правил

    Каких "международных правил", это которые отнять и поделить?
  2. g1washntwn Офлайн
    g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 18 марта 2020 11:57
    +4
    • 5
    • 1
    С чего это вдруг такая трепетная забота о России? Слишком все правильно делаем, чтобы конкурировать?
  3. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 18 марта 2020 13:44
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    В свете последних событий на нефтяном рынке, беспристрастность и объективность, я бы даже сказал - с некоторым оттенком благосклонности и дружелюбия к России со стороны саудовской прессы, не вызывает сомнений. laughing
    Статью читать не стал, и так понятно, что порванная в клочья экономика страны-бензоколонки загнется через неделю. Зазнайка Путин осознал всю глубину своего падения, готов склониться перед мудрым повелителем барханов и в знак покорности будет пешком сопровождать королевскую семью, объезжающую свои новые арктические владения на белоснежных верблюдах, а с моря будут салютовать корабли наших вероятных партнеров.
    Гугл подсказывает, что "пэремога" по-арабски пишется так - الثاني
    Я не ошибся? winked
  4. gorenina91 Офлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 18 марта 2020 16:00
    -3
    • 0
    • 3
    - Когда-то.., а впрочем, не так уж и давно...- лично Я очень много и подробно писала и про Ямал (где вдруг начали "новотэковскую кампанию", до смешного похожую на "чубайсовские изыскания"); и про российскую судоверфь "Звезда", которую сегодня и российской-то назвать нельзя.., т.к. там работают одни китайцы по установке китайского и южнокорейского оборудования...- опять же по причине того, что российским заводам и предприятиям не дали заказы по изготовлению российского оборудования и комплектующих для этой верфи... - Верфь "Звезда" теперь пожизненно будет зависеть от поставок южнокорейского оборудования...- А именно... - всё производство промышленной проектной российской верфи "Звезда" (где должны будут строиться корабли-контейнеровозы для перевозки российского СПГ) - теперь целиком и полностью будут зависеть от того, что захочет левая (а может правая) пятка южнокорейских компаний... - как здорово... - И это новейшая российская верфь... - скорее всего, Россия начнёт закупать контейнеровозы у Южн. Кореи... - выходит, что вся эта дорогущая "Звезда", еще не построена, а уже не нужна...- а денег-то угрохали на неё (Чубайс просто нервно курит в сторонке)...
    - Но это не единственный "чубайсовский прожект".
    - А также лично Я много писала и о том, что

    Компанией "Новатэк" был предложен план по расширению мощностей и реализации проекта "Арктик СПГ-2" (Arctic LNG-2), который мог бы производить дополнительно 19,8 млн т СПГ в год. Пуск первой линии проекта "Арктик СПГ-2" запланирован на 2023 г. с выходом на полную мощность в 2026 г.

    - Ну и про "Новатэк" лично Я уже много писала...-повторяться не хочу... -этот аферист ещё похлеще Газпрома будет...
    - И вот, когда лично Я всё это постоянно излагала, то многие сайтовские умники ну прям захлёбывались от своих минусов...
    - А сегодня вдруг некоторые...- "прозрели" и начали тоже вещать мне в унисон и ... диаметрально противоположно своим же прежним сайтовским выкладкам... - Так хоть бы передо мной извинились за свои наляпанные минусы... - Но с них как с гуся вода и сегодня пишут уже обратное, и им не стыдно ... - а как ведь отстаивали свою "абракадабру"...- А сегодня они уже излагают противоположное своему:

    так понятно, что порванная в клочья экономика страны-бензоколонки загнется через неделю. Зазнайка Путин осознал всю глубину своего падения, готов склониться перед мудрым повелителем барханов и в знак покорности будет пешком сопровождать королевскую семью, объезжающую свои новые арктические владения на белоснежных верблюдах, а с моря будут салютовать корабли наших вероятных партнеров.

    - Вот так вот... "порванная в клочья экономика страны-бензоколонки загнется через неделю"... - А ведь с каким апломбом ранее подавалось обратное...-Сколько было бравурности, сколько помпы, сколько фимиама было накурено (прям не продохнуть) - и все в честь "гениальных помыслов" и "прогрессивных шагов" отъявленных прохиндеев и аферистов от российской экономики...
    - Ну, что ж... - видно многим сайтовцам...-так проще...
    1. Астронавт Офлайн
      Астронавт (Сан Саныч) 18 марта 2020 23:43
      -2
      • 0
      • 2
      Не надоело бред нести, а ?
  5. Как это не может, когда уже смогла? Это у дудлей Арктика пустая, а у нас все окей - есть города, дороги, аэродромы, и ВОЕННЫЕ БАЗЫ, так что замолкни, дядя сэма, и отползи под шконки!
  6. buk Офлайн
    buk 19 марта 2020 11:49
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    ..статью опубликовала саудовская англоязычная газета Arab News

    Очередные самые большие девочкины друзья? Арабы тоже мылятся на севморпуть?
  7. Regis Офлайн
    Regis (Сергей Копань) 19 марта 2020 15:18
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Вся проблема в экспертах. А американские эксперты, особенно когда речь идет о России, это вообще что-то с чем-то.