Pentagon refuses to save civilians from coronavirus


The US military said it would not be able to provide assistance to civilian authorities in the fight against coronavirus due to a lack of necessary resources.


According to the assistant secretary of defense for public relations Jonathan Rat Hoffman, cited by the Pentagon press service, the ministry has only 36 hospitals on its balance sheet and 30-50 times fewer hospital beds than private hospitals.

In unison with Hoffman, the chief surgeon of the Joint Chiefs of Staff of the US Armed Forces, Paul Fredericks, spoke out. He explained that those hospital places that the ministry has are designed for "immediate military needs."

Among the arguments mentioned by the press secretary of the military department, it was also said that military doctors are more specialized in wounds and injuries, and in military hospitals they deal mainly with the young contingent.

According to him, the Pentagon has field tent hospitals, but they are intended, first of all, for treating the wounded in military operations and for humanitarian operations.

Hoffman recalled that the Pentagon is helping the Ministry of Health quarantine people suspected of having a coronavirus, hinting that this is not entirely within the competence of the military.

Thus, ordinary Americans are unlikely to rely on the help of the army if the epidemic is completely out of control.
  • Photos used: defense.gov
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Arkharov Offline Arkharov
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 18 March 2020 15: 47
    -3
    And why it refuses, they clearly explained that there are no resources and army medicine is not intended for this. What questions?
  2. Bakht Offline Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 18 March 2020 19: 41
    +3
    According to media reports, the States have 985 thousand beds in the civilian sector. If the army is 30-50 times smaller, then we divide one into another and are surprised. That is, the army has only 20-30 thousand beds. With a population of 1,2 million people (if I'm not mistaken). And if the virus spreads to the army, what then?
    In the end, the armies of both NATO and the USSR were preparing to use WMD. And to those, in addition to nuclear, applies both chemical and bacteriological. In any case, have we been taught this way?
    ----
    But personally it does not bother me at all. It can’t - it means it can’t. All the better...
    1. Arkharov Offline Arkharov
      Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 19 March 2020 08: 22
      -1
      Well, it's nice that it does not touch. Probably they know better. By the way, he once again says that no one is going to fight. And what you were taught, most likely to be forgotten, is the main question, are they teaching right now?
      1. Bakht Offline Bakht
        Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 19 March 2020 08: 39
        +2
        What I was taught helps me live. If someone is disturbed by his education, then this also does not bother me much.
        If no one is going to fight, then almost a trillion dollars a year to the Pentagon suggests otherwise.
        1. Arkharov Offline Arkharov
          Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 19 March 2020 08: 51
          -1
          Yes, they’re probably just afraid of us.
          1. Bakht Offline Bakht
            Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 19 March 2020 09: 10
            +1
            Really? Carrier strike groups are purely offensive weapons. Placing bases near the border of the USSR and Russia is probably out of fear. Missile defense systems, which, it turns out, are designed to deploy cruise missiles (that’s a surprise), are out of fear. Who should be afraid of whom?
            Do not make me laugh with such statements.
  3. Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 19 March 2020 07: 13
    0
    The main thing is to brand. And there even though the grass does not grow ...
  4. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 19 March 2020 08: 44
    0
    But HOLLYWOOD saves the whole WORLD from them. HOLIDAYS !! (the most censored word)
  5. Bakht Offline Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 19 March 2020 09: 17
    +1
    The head of the US Department of Defense said that the situation in the US Armed Forces has become very serious due to the beginning of the spread of coronavirus among US troops. According to Mark Esper, and this was two days ago, the number of patients with coronavirus infection COVID-19 was 36 people, while according to media reports, over the past 48 hours, the number of infected has exceeded 100 people, and thousands of US troops are potential carriers of the virus due to contact with the infected.

    In addition to the spread of COVID-19 coronavirus infection among US forces, the situation is very acute in the US Department of Defense. So, according to a number of data, we are talking about more than 40 cases of coronavirus infection among representatives of the US defense department.

    “Given the lack of effective countermeasures and preventive measures, by the end of the week, the COVID-19 coronavirus can“ mow ”up to 500 troops in the US Army, not to mention contacts at the next level.

    60 years were preparing to fight the USSR (Russia), and as soon as a dozen people sneezed, the "most powerful army in the world" was already blown away.
  6. Bakht Offline Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 19 March 2020 09: 37
    +2
    To close this discussion.
    Since what I was taught did not lose relevance, I’ll explain how I see the situation with the Pentagon’s refusal.

    For starters, a simple example. In 1981, I went, as a young specialist, to hell in the desert horns to work as an engineer for 120 rubles a month. This is still good. Some were taken by technicians with a salary of 105 rubles. Then my classmates, who graduated from military schools, went to serve in the same desert as lieutenants with a salary of 250 rubles and everything was ready. Honestly, after the training camp, they also suggested that I go for a joint platoon, but for various reasons I refused.

    The question is simple. Why did they pay that kind of money in the army? And why does the army exist? The army is needed to protect YOUR citizens from danger. No matter what: military, natural disasters or alien invasion. The army (soldiers and officers) must sacrifice themselves to save civilians. Chernobyl will not let lie.

    What do we see now? The Pentagon (that is, the US Army) refuses to save its citizens from the disease. And if the soldiers are told that they must die for their citizens? I personally see a huge degradation of morality in the US Army. Perhaps not at all. But the leadership is certain. And the complete inability of the US Armed Forces to defend their citizens.
  7. Arkharov Offline Arkharov
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 20 March 2020 15: 16
    -1
    On March 17, Secretary of Defense Mark Esper announced the imminent deployment of hospital ships in US ports. The next day, New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo announced that the USNS Comfort (T-AH-20) would soon arrive in New York Bay and join the fight against the current epidemic. The governor noted that a vessel with special potential will significantly improve the capabilities of local medicine.

Пентагон отказывается спасать гражданских от коронавируса


Военное ведомство США заявило о том, что не сможет оказывать помощь гражданским властям в борьбе с коронавирусом из-за отсутствия необходимых ресурсов.


По словам помощника министра обороны по связям с общественностью Джонатана Рэта Хоффмана, которые приводит пресс-служба Пентагона, на балансе у министерства находится лишь 36 госпиталей и в 30-50 раз меньше больничных коек, чем у частных больниц.

В унисон с Хоффманом высказался и главный хирург Объединенного комитета начальников штабов ВС США Пол Фридрикс. Он пояснил, что те больничные места, которыми располагает министерство, рассчитаны на «непосредственные военные нужды».

Среди аргументов, упомянутых пресс-секретарем военного ведомства, также прозвучало, что военные врачи больше специализируются на ранах и травмах, а в военных госпиталях имеют дело в основном с молодым контингентом.

По его словам, Пентагон располагает полевыми палаточными госпиталями, но и они предназначены, прежде всего, для лечения раненых в боевых действиях и для гуманитарных операций.

Хоффман напомнил, что Пентагон помогает Минздраву изолировать на карантине людей, у которых подозревают коронавирус, намекая на то, что и это не совсем относится к компетенции военного ведомства.

Таким образом, обычным американцам вряд ли стоит рассчитывать на помощь армии в случае, если эпидемия совсем выйдет из-под контроля.
Использованы фотографии: defense.gov
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

11 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Архаров Офлайн
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 18 марта 2020 15:47
    -3
    • 0
    • 3
    А почему именно отказывается, четко объяснили, что нет ресурсов и армейская медицина для этого не предназначается. Какие вопросы?
  2. Bakht Офлайн
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 18 марта 2020 19:41
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    По данным СМИ Штаты располагают 985 тыс койко-мест в гражданском секторе. Если в армии в 30-50 раз меньше, то делим одно на другое и удивляемся. То есть армия располагает всего 20-30 тысячами койко-мест. При численности в 1,2 млн человек (если не ошибаюсь). А если вирус перекинется на армию, что тогда делать?
    В конце-концов, армии и НАТО, и СССР готовились к применению ОМП. А к таковым, кроме ядерного, относится и химическое, и бактериологическое. Во всяком случае, нас так учили?
    ----
    Но лично меня это нисколько не трогает. Не может - значит не может. Тем лучше...
    1. Архаров Офлайн
      Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 19 марта 2020 08:22
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      Ну и славно, что не трогает. Наверное, им виднее. Кстати, лишний раз говорит, что воевать никто не собирается. А чему вас учили, надо скорее всего забыть, главный вопрос, правильно ли учат сейчас?
      1. Bakht Офлайн
        Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 19 марта 2020 08:39
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        Чему меня учили, помогает мне жить. Если кому-то мешает его образование - то это меня тоже мало трогает.
        Если никто не собирается воевать, то почти триллион долларов в год Пентагону говорит об обратном.
        1. Архаров Офлайн
          Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 19 марта 2020 08:51
          -1
          • 0
          • 1
          Да просто, наверное, боятся они нас.
          1. Bakht Офлайн
            Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 19 марта 2020 09:10
            +1
            • 2
            • 1
            Неужели? Авианосные ударные группировки - это оружие сугубо наступательное. Размещение баз у границы СССР и России - это, наверное, от страха. Системы ПРО, которые, оказывается, предназначены для размещения крылатых ракет (вот неожиданность) - это от страха. Кто кого должен бояться?
            Не надо меня смешить подобными высказываниями.
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 19 марта 2020 07:13
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Главное - заклеймить. А там хоть трава не расти...
  4. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 19 марта 2020 08:44
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Зато ГОЛЛИВУД у них весь МИР спасает. ПОЗОРНИКИ!! (самое цензурное слово)
  5. Bakht Офлайн
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 19 марта 2020 09:17
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Глава Министерства обороны США заявил о том, что ситуация в Вооружённых силах США очень серьёзно обострилась из-за начала распространения коронавируса среди американских военнослужащих. По словам Марка Эспера, а это было двое суток назад, количество больных коронавирусной инфекцией COVID-19 уже составляло 36 человек, в то время как по данным СМИ, за последних 48 часов количество заразившихся превысило 100 человек, а тысячи американских военных являются потенциальными носителями вируса из-за контактов с заразившимися.

    Помимо распространения коронавирусной инфекции COVID-19 среди военнослужащих ВС США, ситуация очень остро обстоит и в Министерстве обороны США. Так, по ряду данных, речь идёт уже о более чем 40 случаях заражения коронавирусом среди представителей оборонного ведомства США.

    «Учитывая отсутствие эффективных мер противодействия и превентивных мер, уже к концу недели коронавирус COVID-19 может «выкосить» до 500 военнослужащих в армии США, не говоря уже о контактах последующих уровней.

    60 лет готовились воевать с СССР (Россией), а стоило чихнуть десятку людей - и "самая мощная армия в мире" уже сдувается.
  6. Bakht Офлайн
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 19 марта 2020 09:37
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Чтобы закрыть эту дискуссию.
    Так как то, чему меня учили - не потеряло актуальности, то поясню, как я вижу ситуацию с отказом Пентагона.

    Для начала простой пример. В 1981-м году я отправился, как молодой специалист, к черту на рога в пустыню работать инженером за 120 рублей в месяц. Это еще хорошо. Некоторых брали техниками с окладом в 105 рублей. Тогда же мои одноклассники, окончившие военные училища, отправлялись служить в ту же пустыню лейтенантами с окладом в 250 рублей и на всем готовом. Честно говоря, после сборов и мне предлагали пойти комвзвода, но по разным причинам я отказался.

    Вопрос простенький. За что платили такие деньги в армии? И для чего существует армия? Армия нужна для защиты СВОИХ граждан от опасности. Неважно какой: военной, стихийных бедствий или вторжения инопланетян. Армия (солдаты и офицеры) должны жертвовать собой, чтобы спасать гражданских. Чернобыль не даст соврать.

    Что мы видим сейчас? Пентагон (то есть армия США) отказывается спасать своих граждан от болезни. А если солдатам скажут, что надо умереть за своих граждан? Я лично вижу огромную деградацию морали у военнослужащих армии США. Возможно, не у всех. Но у руководства точно. И ПОЛНУЮ неспособность ВС США защищать СВОИХ граждан.
  7. Архаров Офлайн
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 20 марта 2020 15:16
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    17 марта министр обороны Марк Эспер объявил о скором развертывании госпитальных судов в американских портах. На следующий день губернатор штата Нью-Йорк Эндрю Куомо заявил, что судно USNS Comfort (T-AH-20) в ближайшее время прибудет в Нью-Йоркскую бухту и присоединится к борьбе с нынешней эпидемией. Губернатор отметил, что судно с особым потенциалом значительно улучшит возможности местной медицины.