Coronavirus undermines NATO's combat readiness


The coronavirus epidemic moved to Europe, driving the leading Western countries to universal quarantine. It dealt a big blow to the economy The EU, but no less important, is how this stressful situation affected the military component of the NATO bloc, which in recent years has been demonstrating ever-increasing anti-Russian activity.


Since the infected people appeared already at NATO headquarters in Brussels, the Alliance Secretary-General was forced to hold a conference with a report on achievements for the past 2019 with journalists remotely in video format.

Of the 219 thousand infected with the coronavirus COVID-2019, 9 thousand have already died worldwide. The alliance officially recognized the danger of coronavirus. Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg said:

The pandemic is testing NATO for strength, but we will defeat it. This does not affect the ability of the alliance to conduct its operations and its combat readiness.

However, the facts suggest otherwise. So, due to the risk of spreading the infection, a number of military exercises of the bloc were canceled, for example, Cold Response, which were to be held in Norway. It was planned to involve 15 thousand NATO troops in them near the Russian border. The command of the Kingdom considered that it was more important to protect the soldiers from the epidemic, thereby preserving the combat readiness of the army.

Even more COVID-2019 affected the Defender 2020 strategic exercises, which were supposed to be the largest in the past 25 years. Their initiators and protagonists themselves, the United States, refused to send their troops to Europe so that they would not bring the epidemic home. Americans stopped forwarding to Europe and their military machinery in the planned volumes, which, most likely, should have subsequently remained close to our borders. If Russia used to be coasted by General Frost, now Field Marshal Coronavirus stands up for us. This, of course, is black humor.

Due to universal quarantine, the movement and communication of NATO functionaries is limited. The increase in defense spending by the alliance is also in question. Against the background of the epidemic, the Secretary General expects a “short-term decline” in the income of the budgets of the NATO member countries, but, according to Jens Stoltenberg, it is still necessary to continue to pay because of the “unpredictability of the world in which we live.” Gathering a price for them, Mr. Stoltenberg points out the usefulness of the military in the fight against COVID-2019, as they provide assistance with quarantine and disinfection of cities.

Despite the pandemic, NATO does not plan to curtail its “missions” in other countries. The Secretary General of the Alliance said that all military operations abroad will continue, the disease among NATO troops was not found there. In Afghanistan, the number of Western troops will be planned to be reduced from 16 to 12 thousand people.
Photos used: NATO
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Bakht Offline
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 20 March 2020 17: 01
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    There are reports that the virus reached the US Navy. Two aircraft carriers are already infected with the virus. We are waiting for confirmation from the Pentagon.
    1. Arkharov Offline
      Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 20 March 2020 19: 03
      -6
      • 0
      • 6
      On the channel Tsargrad, or the newspaper Tomorrow?
      1. Bakht Offline
        Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 20 March 2020 20: 44
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        With Coronavirus on 3 Ships, Navy Leaders Are Told to Cut the Mass Gatherings

        https://www.military.com/daily-news/2020/03/20/coronavirus-3-ships-navy-leaders-are-told-cut-mass-gatherings.html
      2. King3214 Offline
        King3214 (Sergius) 22 March 2020 18: 37
        0
        • 1
        • 1
        They won’t give a green card anyway. You can not bend so much in front of the Master.
  2. King3214 Offline
    King3214 (Sergius) 24 March 2020 21: 41
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    The virus on an aircraft carrier - it is!

Коронавирус подорвал боеспособность НАТО


Эпидемия коронавируса перебралась в Европу, загнав ведущие западные страны на всеобщий карантин. Это нанесло большой удар по экономике ЕС, но не менее важно, как данная стрессовая ситуация отразилась на военной составляющей блока НАТО, который в последние годы демонстрирует все возрастающую антироссийскую активность.


Поскольку заразившиеся появились уже в штаб-квартире НАТО Брюсселе, генеральный секретарь альянса был вынужден проводить конференцию с отчетом о достижениях за минувший 2019 год с журналистами дистанционно в видеоформате.

Из 219 тысяч заразившихся коронавирусом COVID-2019 во всем мире уже умерло 9 тысяч. В альянсе официально признали опасность коронавируса. Генеральный секретарь Йенс Столтенберг заявил:

Пандемия испытывает НАТО на прочность, но мы победим ее. Это не сказывается на способности альянса проводить свои операции и его боеготовности.

Тем не менее, факты говорят об обратном. Так, из-за риска распространения инфекции был отменен ряд военных учений блока, например, Cold Response, что должны были провести в Норвегии. В них неподалеку от российской границы планировалось задействовать 15 тысяч военнослужащих НАТО. Командование Королевства сочло, что важнее уберечь солдат от эпидемии, тем самым сохранив боеспособность армии.

Еще более COVID-2019 сказался на стратегических учениях Defender-2020, что должны были стать самыми масштабными за минувшие 25 лет. Сами их инициаторы и главные действующие лица, США, отказались отправлять своих военнослужащих в Европу, чтобы они не привезли эпидемию домой. Перестали американцы переправлять в Европу и свою военную технику в запланированных объемах, которая, вполне вероятно, должна была впоследствии остаться неподалеку от наших границ. Если раньше Россию берег «Генерал Мороз», то теперь за нас заступается «Фельдмаршал Коронавирус». Это, конечно, черный юмор.

Из-за всеобщего карантина ограничены перемещения и общение функционеров НАТО. Под вопросом и увеличение расходов альянса на оборону. На фоне эпидемии генеральный секретарь ожидает «кратковременного снижения» доходов бюджетов стран-членов НАТО, но платить, по мнению Йенса Столтенберга, продолжать все равно надо из-за «непредсказуемости мира, в котором мы живем». Набивая им цену, господин Столтенберг указывает на полезность военных в борьбе с COVID-2019, поскольку они оказывают помощь с карантином и дезинфекцией городов.

Несмотря на пандемию, НАТО не планирует сворачивать свои «миссии» в других странах. Генеральный секретарь альянса заявил, что все военные операции за рубежом будут продолжены, болезни среди военнослужащих НАТО там не обнаружено. В Афганистане численность западного воинского контингента будет планово сокращена с 16 до 12 тысяч человек.
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Bakht Офлайн Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 20 марта 2020 17:01
    +1
    Есть сообщения, что вирус добрался до ВМС США. Два авианосца уже поражены вирусом. Ждем подтверждения от Пентагона.
    1. Архаров Офлайн Архаров
      Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 20 марта 2020 19:03
      -6
      На канале Царьград, или газете Завтра?
      1. Bakht Офлайн Bakht
        Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 20 марта 2020 20:44
        +1
        With Coronavirus on 3 Ships, Navy Leaders Are Told to Cut the Mass Gatherings

        https://www.military.com/daily-news/2020/03/20/coronavirus-3-ships-navy-leaders-are-told-cut-mass-gatherings.html
      2. King3214 Офлайн King3214
        King3214 (Сергий) 22 марта 2020 18:37
        0
        Грин-карту все равно не дадут. Можешь так сильно не прогибаться перед Хозяином.
  2. King3214 Офлайн King3214
    King3214 (Сергий) 24 марта 2020 21:41
    0
    Вирус на авианосце - самое оно!