COVID-19 pandemic: a wave of nationalization may cover Western capitalists


After COVID-19, the world will not be the same. A coronavirus pandemic not only kills thousands of lives, but also breaks down established stereotypes about international economics. Some couple of months of the crisis caused by the rapid spread of the disease, clearly showed that the "braces" of the liberal capitalist economy stopped working.


Private enterprise, which is supposedly always more efficient than the state, the “invisible hand of the market”, small business - all this was instantly covered with a copper basin. But will the right conclusions be drawn from this?

The pandemic has shown all the weaknesses of a globalized economy when everyone is totally dependent on each other. In China, due to quarantine for months, industrial enterprises were closed, the supply of which is expected abroad. The consumption of raw materials and energy carriers decreased, which hit their exporters, including Russia. Ford Motor, General Motors and Fiat Chrysler have closed their plants in the United States, Canada and Mexico, sending home one and a half hundred thousand workers. Toyota, Honda and Nissan followed suit.

Logically stopping assembly lines will hit thousands of enterprises manufacturing components for them. If a pandemic drags on over time, this can lead to the bankruptcy of many companies and the collapse of production chains. A huge number of specialists involved in the high-tech automotive industry risk losing their jobs.

And this is just one example. COVID-19 brought down the tourism and hotel business worldwide, questioned the existence of many transport companies engaged in passenger and freight transportation. A business focused on serving a large number of visitors, for example, cinemas, restaurants, cafes, shopping centers, is on the verge of ruin. So, on the eve of Germany recognized that 99% of small and medium enterprises of the European Union, that is, about 25 million business entities, suffered from the epidemic.

It is also significant that no one is going to save these “effective owners”. Judging by the statements of Berlin and Paris, only large corporations will receive financial support. German Minister of Economics Peter Altmayer a few days ago said:

We will not allow the bankruptcy of economically strong companies.


At the same time, the word "nationalization" was spoken for the first time, albeit with the proviso that it was "temporary." Soon, his French counterpart Bruno Le Mayor spoke in a similar way.

Let's face it, it even touches. Nationalization is the transfer of property from private to state through confiscation or requisition. All past decades, we have been taught from the West, and home-grown liberals assented them that the state is an inefficient owner, so we need to privatize everything as soon as possible so that everything flies.

And everything flies, while everything is fine. But at the first serious crisis, for some reason everything immediately streams in, and all “effective businessmen” run for salvation under the wing of the state. Moreover, only large companies will become supportive, in relation to which the “invisible hand of the market” will temporarily cease to act, and any “trifle” will have to be saved on its own.

What amounts are we talking about? In the United States, authorities plan to channel $ 850 billion into the fight against coronavirus, which will help businesses and the public. The European Union has increased financial assistance to 37 billion euros. Paris will allocate 45 billion euros to support the French economy, Finland - 15 billion. Poland at all 52 billion. As other countries say, Italy's worst-hit epidemic in Europe has already begun nationalization, starting with Alitalia and its healthcare sector. By the way, the nationalization of Lufthansa and SAS airlines are now discussed, respectively, in Germany and Sweden.

So it turns out that liberalism in the economy works, only so far so good, and when it gets bad, the state should bear the burden of costs of “effective owners” for the transitional period. Well, until things get better.

It is interesting to see which of the domestic oligarchs will be the first to come to the government for help and launch their hands in the NWF. In a good way, if the "business captains" can’t cope with it themselves, it would be nice to nationalize the assets that they once privatized as part of a free confiscation. But, knowing how everything is arranged with us, one can be sure that “nationalization” will mean the sale of assets that have become “toxic” to the state at a reasonable price.
Photos used: Kiefer / flickr.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

11 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Bakht Offline
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 22 March 2020 12: 56
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    All according to the laws of the market. So there is no contradiction. Profit for oneself, losses for the state.

    On the other hand, nationalization in Russia is vital for solving completely different problems. And even very late.
    1. Bitter Offline
      Bitter (Gleb) 22 March 2020 15: 52
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      Nationalization, as a way to write off your insolvency and debts at the expense of the state, then again denationalize your favorite feeder and effective managers at the same time "shuffle".
      1. Bakht Offline
        Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 22 March 2020 15: 57
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        In Russia, the meaning of nationalization is different. If we are to carry out nationalization, then we will have to cancel the privatization of the 90s. None of the Russian leadership will do this.

        Although, of course, for the "effective managers" this is a good solution at the moment. To carry out a temporary, of course, rudeness on the part of the bankrupt "menagers".
        1. Bitter Offline
          Bitter (Gleb) 22 March 2020 16: 20
          +1
          • 1
          • 0
          ... abolish the privatization of the 90s. None of the Russian leadership will do this.

          Logically, stolen in the nineties, this is holier than all the shrines.

          ... this, of course, is rudeness ...

          It is rather a "non-standard" approach to solving problems or "nothing personal, just business," and you are immediately rudeness.
          However, it’s time to be rude as a national Russian sport, at all levels, from amateur to professional.
          1. Bakht Offline
            Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 22 March 2020 16: 41
            +3
            • 3
            • 0
            Temporary privatization (both in Russia and in Germany) is rudeness, regardless of the country. So there’s nothing national. Rather, class.

            If a gentleman cannot win by the rules, he changes them.
  2. Arkharov Online
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 22 March 2020 13: 46
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Can it be eastern? However, nationalization has nowhere led to anything good.
    1. Bakht Offline
      Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 22 March 2020 14: 17
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      Then why now is the question of nationalization? Both in the States and in Europe. Do they really want to make it worse?
      1. Arkharov Online
        Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 22 March 2020 15: 23
        -1
        • 0
        • 1
        Who is on whom and where is it? They’re going to go right this way, there are government decisions, or on our “Internet”, as you always don’t understand, what and where have you read?
        1. Bakht Offline
          Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 22 March 2020 15: 48
          +1
          • 2
          • 1
          In your favorite RBC, it is written that the German Minister of Economics is considering the temporary nationalization of large enterprises. In exact accordance with what I wrote. For the time of losses - everything is to the state, and how the situation will be corrected and profit will appear - return everything to the private owner.
          In the States, Trump spoke of the buyback of large companies. Mnuchin (Minister of Finance) says the same thing in a slightly different form. It is about $ 1 trillion to private companies. This is not a direct help. This is a transfer of a controlling stake under state control.

          When asked if there is enough stimulus of a trillion dollars, Trump said: “We will find out later. Let's see what happens. Depends on how long, so much depends on what is happening in this room, from a medical point of view. We can stop it in its path, the virus, it is enough. If we cannot, we will have to go back and talk. ”

          President Donald Trump on Thursday opened the door to a radical change in US government relations with private industry, as an outbreak of coronavirus undermines the country's economy, stating that it will support the government that has decided to nationalize some companies.
          -----
          “We will help the aviation industry. We will help the cruise ship industry. We are likely to help the hotel industry, ”said the frantic Donald for the seed.
    2. Bitter Offline
      Bitter (Gleb) 22 March 2020 16: 08
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      But the privatization of national giants often led to mass layoffs (because otherwise it didn’t), lower quality and higher prices for manufactured products.
      And then (after a couple of years) again to beg to the state, like, there were not enough funds and more injections from the budget are needed, otherwise the kirdyk is close. Effective management of effective managers. laughing
      It is necessary to introduce to the golden parachutes, in addition, an effective shooting with rubber bullets, depending on the "effectiveness" of individuals, from once a month, per quarter, or according to the results of the project.
  3. Bakht Offline
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 23 March 2020 11: 13
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    The coronavirus pandemic is pushing the Italian government to do something that hasn't been seen in decades in Europe: Nationalizing an airline.

    An emergency decree published on Sunday, introducing billions of euros in measures to help the Italian economy crippled by the pandemic, contains a provision for the state to buy Alitalia. The airline, which hasn't made a profit since 2002 and has been in bankruptcy for almost three years, would be nationalized in response to the crisis. Alitalia is formally for sale, but with the travel industry in tumoil it's highly unlikely that anybody will express an interest in buying it before the deadline to present offers on Wednesday. That might leave the government as the only alternative to shutting down.

    A pandemic of the virus forces the Italian government to take a step that has not been in Europe for decades. Government buys Alitalia.
    An airline that has not made a profit since 2002 and has been bankrupt for almost three years will be nationalized in response to the crisis.

Пандемия COVID-19: западных капиталистов может накрыть волна национализаций


После COVID-19 мир уже не будет прежним. Пандемия коронавируса не только уносит тысячи жизней, но и ломает устоявшиеся стереотипы об устройстве международной экономики. Какие-то пару месяцев кризиса, вызванного стремительным распространением заболевания, наглядно показали, что «скрепы» либеральной капиталистической экономики перестали работать.


Частное предпринимательство, которое якобы всегда эффективнее государства, «невидимая рука рынка», малый бизнес – все это моментально накрылось медным тазом. Но будут ли сделаны из этого верные выводы?

Пандемия продемонстрировала всю слабость глобализированной экономики, когда все друг от друга тотально зависят. В Китае из-за карантина на месяцы закрылись промышленные предприятия, поставок продукции которых ждут за рубежом. Снизилось потребление сырья и энергоносителей, что ударило по их экспортерам, в том числе, по России. Компании Ford Motor, General Motors и Fiat Chrysler закрыли свои заводы в США, Канаде и Мексике, отправив домой полторы сотни тысяч работников. Их примеру последовали Toyota, Honda и Nissan.

Закономерным образом остановка автосборочных конвейеров ударит по тысячам предприятий, производящих для них комплектующие. Если пандемия затянется по времени, это может привести к банкротству многих компаний и развалу производственных цепочек. Огромное количество специалистов, задействованных в высокотехнологичной автомобильной отрасли, рискуют лишиться работы.

И это только один пример. COVID-19 обрушил туристический и отельный бизнес по всему миру, поставил под вопрос существование многих транспортных компаний, занимающихся пассажирскими и грузовыми перевозками. Бизнес, ориентированный на обслуживание большого количества посетителей, например, кинотеатры, рестораны, кафе, ТРК, стоит на грани разорения. Так, накануне Германия признала, что от эпидемии пострадали 99% предприятий малого и среднего бизнеса Европейского союза, то есть, порядка 25 миллионов хозяйствующих субъектов.

Также показательно, что спасать этих «эффективных собственников» никто не собирается. Судя по заявлениям Берлина и Парижа, финансовой поддержки удостоятся только крупные корпорации. Министр экономики ФРГ Петер Альтмайер несколько дней назад заявил:

Мы не допустим банкротства экономически крепких компаний.


При этом впервые прозвучало слово «национализация», пусть и с оговоркой, что «временная». Вскоре аналогичным образом высказался его французский коллега Бруно Ле Мэр.

Скажем прямо, это даже умиляет. Национализация – это переход собственности из частной в государственную через конфискацию или реквизицию. Все минувшие десятилетия нас учили с Запада, а доморощенные либералы им поддакивали, что государство – это неэффективный собственник, поэтому надо все поскорее приватизировать, чтобы все «залетало».

И все «летает», пока все хорошо. Но при первом же серьезном кризисе все почему-то сразу сыплется, и все «эффективные бизнесмены» бегут за спасением под крыло государства. Причем поддерживать станут только крупные компании, в отношении которых «невидимая рука рынка» временно перестанет действовать, а всякая «мелочь» вынуждена будет спасаться самостоятельно.

О каких же суммах идет речь? В США власти планируют направить на борьбу с коронавирусом 850 миллиардов долларов, которые пойдут на помощь бизнесу и населению. Европейский союз увеличил размер финансовой помощи до 37 миллиардов евро. Париж выделит для поддержания французской экономики 45 миллиардов евро, Финляндия – 15 миллиардов. Польша – вовсе 52 миллиарда. Пока другие страны говорят, наиболее пострадавшая от эпидемии в Европе Италия уже приступила к национализации, начав с авиакомпании Alitalia и своего сектора здравоохранения. К слову, национализацию компании Lufthansa и авиакомпании SAS сейчас обсуждают, соответственно, в Германии и Швеции.

Вот и получается, что либерализм в экономике работает, только пока все хорошо, а когда становится плохо, бремя издержек «эффективных собственников» должно на переходный период брать на себя государство. Ну, пока все не наладится.

Интересно посмотреть, кто из отечественных олигархов первым придет за помощью к правительству и запустит руки в ФНБ. По-хорошему, если «капитаны бизнеса» с ним сами не справляются, то неплохо бы национализировать некогда приватизированные ими активы в рамках безвозмездной конфискации. Но, зная, как у нас все устроено, можно быть уверенными, что под «национализацией» будет подразумеваться продажа ставших «токсичными» активов государству по недурственной цене.
Использованы фотографии: Kiefer/flickr.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

11 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Bakht Офлайн
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 22 марта 2020 12:56
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Все по законам рынка. Так что никакого противоречия нет. Прибыль - себе, убытки - государству.

    С другой стороны - национализация в России жизненно необходима для решения совсем других задач. И даже сильно запоздала.
    1. Bitter Офлайн
      Bitter (Глеб) 22 марта 2020 15:52
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      Национализация, как способ списать свою несостоятельность и долги за счёт государства, потом опять денационализировать любимую кормушку и эффективных манагеров заодно "перетасовать".
      1. Bakht Офлайн
        Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 22 марта 2020 15:57
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        В России смысл национализации в другом. Если уж проводить национализацию, то придется отменять приватизацию 90-х. На это никто из руководства России не пойдет.

        Хотя, конечно же, для "эффективных менагеров" это неплохой выход на данный момент. Проводить временную, это конечно же, хамство со стороны обанкротившихся "менагеров".
        1. Bitter Офлайн
          Bitter (Глеб) 22 марта 2020 16:20
          +1
          • 1
          • 0
          ...отменять приватизацию 90-х. На это никто из руководства России не пойдет.

          Логично, наворованное в девяностые, это ж святее всех святынь.

          ...это, конечно же, хамство...

          Это скорее "нестандартный" подход к решению проблем или "ничего личного, просто бизнес", а вы сразу хамство.
          Однако и хамство уже пора признать национальным российским видом спорта, на всех уровнях, от любительского до профессионального.
          1. Bakht Офлайн
            Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 22 марта 2020 16:41
            +3
            • 3
            • 0
            Временная приватизация (что в России, что в ФРГ) это хамство, независимо от страны. Так что тут ничего национального. Скорее, классовое.

            Если джентельмен не может выиграть по правилам, он их меняет.
  2. Архаров Офлайн
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 22 марта 2020 13:46
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    А восточных может? Впрочем, ни к чему хорошему национализация еще нигде не приводила.
    1. Bakht Офлайн
      Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 22 марта 2020 14:17
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      Тогда почему сейчас стоит вопрос национализации? И в Штатах, и в Европе. Неужели хотят сделать еще хуже?
      1. Архаров Офлайн
        Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 22 марта 2020 15:23
        -1
        • 0
        • 1
        Кто на ком и где стоит? Прямо так конкретно и собираются, есть правительственные решения, или в наших "интернетах", как всегда не поймешь, что и где прочитали?
        1. Bakht Офлайн
          Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 22 марта 2020 15:48
          +1
          • 2
          • 1
          В Вашем любимом РБК написано, что министр экономики ФРГ рассматривает вопрос о временной национализации крупных предприятий. В точном соответствии с тем, что я написал. На время убытков - все государству, а как ситуация исправится и появится прибыль - вернуть все частнику.
          В Штатах Трамп заговорил о выкупе крупных компаний. То же самое немного в другой форме говорит и Мнучин (министр финансов). Речь идет о примерно 1 трлн долларов частным компаниям. Это не прямая помощь. Это переход контрольного пакета под государственный контроль.

          На вопрос, достаточно ли стимула в триллион долларов, Трамп сказал: «Мы узнаем об этом позже. Посмотрим, что произойдет. Зависит от того, как долго, так сильно зависит от того, что происходит в этой комнате, с точки зрения медицины. Мы можем остановить его на своем пути, вируса, его достаточно. Если мы не сможем, нам придется вернуться и поговорить».

          Президент Дональд Трамп в четверг открыл дверь к радикальному изменению отношений правительства США с частной промышленностью, поскольку вспышка коронавируса подрывает экономику страны, заявив, что поддержит правительство, принявшее решение о национализации некоторых компаний.
          -----
          «Мы будем помогать авиационной отрасли. Мы будем помогать индустрии круизных лайнеров. Мы, вероятно, будем помогать гостиничной индустрии» - заявил для затравки неистовый Дональд.
    2. Bitter Офлайн
      Bitter (Глеб) 22 марта 2020 16:08
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      Зато приватизация национальных гигантов зачастую приводила к массовым увольнениям (потому что иначе никак), снижению качества и повышению цен на продукты производства.
      А потом (через пару лет) снова к государству попрошайничать, типа, не хватило средств и необходимы ещё вливания из бюджета, иначе кирдык близок. Эффективное хозяйствование эффективных манагеров. laughing
      Надо вводить к золотым парашютам впридачу ещё и эффектный расстрел резиновыми пулями, в зависимости от "эффективности" отдельных личностей, от одного раза в месяц, в квартал, или по результатам проекта.
  3. Bakht Офлайн
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 23 марта 2020 11:13
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    The coronavirus pandemic is pushing the Italian government to do something that hasn’t been seen in decades in Europe: Nationalizing an airline.

    An emergency decree published on Sunday, introducing billions of euros in measures to help the Italian economy crippled by the pandemic, contains a provision for the state to buy Alitalia. The airline, which hasn’t made a profit since 2002 and has been in bankruptcy for almost three years, would be nationalized in response to the crisis. Alitalia is formally for sale, but with the travel industry in tumoil it’s highly unlikely that anybody will express an interest in buying it before the deadline to present offers on Wednesday. That might leave the government as the only alternative to shutting down.

    Пандемия вируса заставляет правительство Италии пойти на шаг, которого не было в Европе десятилетиями. Правительство покупает компанию Alitalia.
    Авиакомпания, которая не получала прибыль с 2002 года и была банкротом почти три года, будет национализирована в ответ на кризис.