NASA spent 10 years and 1 billion dollars on one launch complex


The Ars Technica portal, citing NASA inspector general Paul Martin, reports problems with the construction of the launch complex for the Space Launch System launch vehicle. The total cost of the Mobile Launcher-1 project amounted to at least $ 927 million. Work has been going on for about 10 years.


Initially, they spent $ 1 million on Mobile Launcher-234 - then it was a mobile complex for the Ares I launch vehicle. In 2010, the Ares-1 project was canceled, and they decided to rebuild the installation for SLS. 54 million dollars were requested for these works. The actual cost of modernization reached 693 million. For this money, NASA received a platform for new missiles.

According to the report of the inspector general, the cost of the work lies with the Vencore contractor. In preparation for the work, NASA and Venkor signed an agreement on additional expenses, which provided for the development of ground-based equipment for the launch complex. The implementation of the contract began in 2011 and continued until 2017.

As the inspector general established, NASA has repeatedly accepted unverified contractor projects and quickly concluded procurement and delivery contracts. NASA employees said that in some cases they knew about the unavailability of the projects, but promoted them because of the need to fulfill the general schedules of the construction program.

Such actions by the customer and the contractor led to delays and the need for numerous alterations. All this ultimately led to a stretch of work for 10 years and a total expenditure of more than 900 million.

NASA did not use penalties for low-quality work provided for by the contract with Vencor. Responsible persons interviewed by the inspector indicated that they knew about the problems, but believed that the contractor would do the job. Vencore's work was rated “good” and “excellent” - despite being behind schedule and unacceptable cost increases.

Ars Technica believes that this is not only the case with the modernization of the Mobile Launcher-1 complex, but also with the SLS project as a whole. Critics of this project indicate that its goal, apparently, is to create new jobs in space management and at Boeing. Space rocket development equipment and obtaining new results in this case fades into the background.

The Inspector General in his report tends to agree with this point of view. It is also confirmed by the fact that the first SLS flight was originally planned for 2017, but now it has been shifted to the 2021st.

The background for such messages is work on a new launch complex - a mobile installation for the SLS Block 1B missile, a larger and heavier one. A contract for such work worth $ 383 million in 2019 was received by Bechtel. Construction should be completed by March 2023. Thus, they plan to spend three times less money and half as much time on Mobile Launcher-2 than on the first complex.

In the light of the Inspector General's latest report, such plans look overly optimistic.


Recall that the SLS program is one of the main and most complex developments of NASA in recent decades. The development of the launch rocket line began in 2011, and the first launch is scheduled for the 2021st. At the beginning of 2023, the first flight with the Orion manned spacecraft will take place, moreover, we are talking immediately about the moon overflight.

For the first launch of the LSL rocket, the Mobile Launcher-1 launcher is required. Subsequent missions will be carried out using the Mobile Launcher-2 under construction. So far, contractors have enough time to complete the work.

Since its launch, SLS has been subjected to all kinds of criticism. One of the most popular topics is cost. To date, about $ 15 billion has been spent, and work has not yet been completed. NASA is also accused of launching an inappropriate and expensive project to support Boeing. The latter in this case has to face competition in the launch market.
  • Photos Used: NASA
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 24 March 2020 12: 34
    0
    Also Rogozin? belay
    1. g1washntwn Offline g1washntwn
      g1washntwn (George Washington) 25 March 2020 11: 18
      0
      Schazzz will answer you, yeah ... "well, who doesn’t happen to you," "all the same, the Mask of all the winners" and the minuses will be dumped so that they do not disturb their matrix in the head. smile
  2. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 24 March 2020 19: 10
    +1
    They haven’t flown to the ISS yet, but already dream of the Moon. Hollywood to help them!

NASA потратило на один пусковой комплекс 10 лет и 1 миллиард долларов


Портал Ars Technica со ссылкой на генерального инспектора NASA Пола Мартина сообщает о проблемах при строительстве стартового комплекса для ракеты-носителя Space Launch System. Общая стоимость проекта Mobile Launcher-1 составила не менее 927 млн долл. Работы продолжаются около 10 лет.


Первоначально на Mobile Launcher-1 потратили 234 млн долл. – тогда это был мобильный комплекс для ракеты-носителя Ares I. В 2010 году проект «Арес-1» отменили, а установку решили перестроить под SLS. На эти работы затребовали 54 млн долл. Фактическая стоимость модернизации достигла 693 миллиона. За эти деньги NASA получило площадку для новых ракет.

Согласно отчету генерального инспектора, вина за удорожание работ лежит на компании-подрядчике Vencore. При подготовке работ НАСА и «Венкор» подписали договор о дополнительных тратах, который предусматривал разработку наземной аппаратуры пускового комплекса. Выполнение контракта началось в 2011-м и продолжалось до 2017 года.

Как установил генеральный инспектор, NASA неоднократно принимало непроверенные проекты подрядчика и быстро заключало контракты на закупку и поставку. Сотрудники НАСА рассказали, что в ряде случаев знали про неготовность проектов, но продвигали их из-за необходимости выполнения общих графиков программы строительства.

Подобные действия заказчика и подрядчика приводили к задержкам и к необходимости многочисленных переделок. Все это в итоге привело к растягиванию работ на 10 лет и суммарным тратам более 900 миллионов.

НАСА не использовало механизмы взысканий за некачественную работу, предусмотренные договором с «Венкор». Ответственные лица, опрошенные инспектором, указали, что они знали о проблемах, но полагали, что подрядчик справится со своей работой. Работы компании Vencore получили оценки «хорошо» и «отлично» – несмотря на отставание от графика и неприемлемый рост стоимости.

В Ars Technica полагают, что подобным образом дело обстоит не только с модернизацией комплекса Mobile Launcher-1, но и с проектом SLS в целом. Критики этого проекта указывают, что его целью, по всей видимости, является создание новых рабочих мест в космическом управлении и в компании Boeing. Развитие ракетно-космической техники и получение новых результатов в этом случае отходит на второй план.

Генеральный инспектор в своем отчете склонен соглашаться с такой точкой зрения. Ее также подтверждает тот факт, что первый полет SLS изначально планировался на 2017 год, но теперь его сместили на 2021-й.

Фоном для таких сообщений служат работы по новому стартовому комплексу – мобильной установке для ракеты SLS Block 1B, более крупной и тяжелой. Контракт на выполнение таких работ стоимостью 383 млн долл. в 2019 году получила компания Bechtel. Строительство следует завершить к марту 2023 года. Таким образом, на Mobile Launcher-2 планируют потратить втрое меньше денег и вдвое меньше времени, чем на первый комплекс.

В свете последнего отчета генерального инспектора такие планы выглядят чрезмерно оптимистичными.


Напомним, программа SLS является одной из основных и самых сложных разработок NASA последних десятилетий. Разработка линейки ракет-носителей началась в 2011 году, а первый старт запланирован на 2021-й. В начале 2023 года состоится первый полет с пилотируемым кораблем Orion, причем речь идет сразу об облете Луны.

Для первого старта ракеты LSL требуется пусковой комплекс Mobile Launcher-1. Последующие миссии будут осуществляться с применением строящегося Mobile Launcher-2. Пока у подрядчиков достаточно времени для завершения работ.

С момента своего запуска SLS подвергается разного рода критике. Одна из самых популярных тем – стоимость. К настоящему времени потрачено около 15 млрд долларов, и работы еще не завершены. Также НАСА обвиняют в запуске нецелесообразного и дорогого проекта с целью поддержки компании Boeing. Последней при этом приходится сталкиваться с конкуренцией на рынке запусков.
  • Использованы фотографии: NASA
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 24 марта 2020 12:34
    0
    Тоже Рогозин? belay
    1. g1washntwn Офлайн g1washntwn
      g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 25 марта 2020 11:18
      0
      Щаззз тебе ответят, ага... "ну, с кем не бывает", "все-равно Маск всех победун" и минусов отсыпят, чтоб не тревожил их матрицу в голове. smile
  2. сталевар Онлайн сталевар
    сталевар 24 марта 2020 19:10
    +1
    Ещё на МКС не слетали, а уже о Луне мечтают. Голливуд им в помощь!