FBI fitness app monitors users


On March 25, Business Insider announced that the US Federal Bureau of Investigation was once again engaged in promoting its mobile app. The application with training programs is suspicious, and users doubt its safety.


On March 23, while millions of Americans are quarantined or self-isolated at home, the FBI official Twitter account said, “Download the FBI's Physical Fitness Test app and get the best physical exercise for the home.” The program with a simple interface offers the user to do squats, push-ups or other exercises - to get physical training at the level of the FBI agent.

Users quickly noticed that the application requires access to the geolocation service, information about connecting to Wi-Fi, as well as files on the device and settings for Google services. The corresponding screenshots quickly spread across the network and caused clear questions, and also became the reason for accusations and jokes.

Business Insider notes that the FBI FitTest was first released a few years ago, and there were already questions about permissions for it. In September 2018, the FBI replied that it did not collect user data. All information received by the application remains on the device and is not transmitted anywhere.

Security experts pointed to a loophole in the user agreement, which allows the FBI to obtain all the desired data about the user and his mobile device.

The agreement states that the application applies policy privacy of the official FBI website fbi.gov. This document states that all user actions are tracked and recorded. The user agreement to the application does not specify which actions and data fall under the terms of the site fbi.gov and which do not.

Since the fall of 2018, the situation has not changed. The last update for the application to version 1.3 was released on October 2 of last year with the comment "minor improvements and bug fixes." It again requires the already known permissions to access data. Users and the press are again turning their attention to the problem - but the FBI continues to claim that it is not collecting user data.

Currently, the FBI's Physical Fitness Test application has been installed on several tens of thousands of devices in the United States and beyond. Because of the last News users delete it - although it’s not completely clear whether it sent data to the FBI and what information it was interested in.
Photos used: https://www.fbi.gov/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Arkharov Offline
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 26 March 2020 10: 47
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Interestingly, they are monitored only with the help of fitness applications and only by the FBI? Here they honestly write that this is their application.
  2. Dmitry S. Offline
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 26 March 2020 11: 15
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    To be honest, I know very few applications that do not follow users. Fingers enough and still remain.
  3. 123 Online
    123 (123) 26 March 2020 14: 06
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    We have all been under the hood for a long time, you can track the smartphone itself, not to mention applications, they almost completely track the user's geolocation. Video cameras are around, the face recognition system is far from a novelty. Want to do fitness unattended? Come to the taiga. Chainsaws and axes will be provided on site.

Фитнес-приложение от ФБР следит за пользователями


25 марта портал Business Insider сообщил, что Федеральное бюро расследований США вновь занялось продвижением своего приложения для мобильных устройств. Приложение с программами тренировок проявляет подозрительную активность, и пользователи сомневаются в его безопасности.


23 марта, в то время как миллионы американцев находятся дома на карантине или самоизоляции, официальный аккаунт ФБР в Твиттере заявил: «Загрузите приложение FBI's Physical Fitness Test и получите лучшие физические упражнения для дома». Программа с элементарным интерфейсом предлагает пользователю заняться приседаниями, отжиманиями или другими упражнениями – чтобы получить физическую подготовку на уровне агента ФБР.

Пользователи быстро заметили, что приложение требует для работы доступ к службе геолокации, информации о подключении к Wi-Fi, а также к файлам на устройстве и настройкам сервисов Google. Соответствующие скриншоты быстро разошлись по сети и вызвали понятные вопросы, а также стали поводом для обвинений и шуток.

Business Insider отмечает, что приложение FitTest от ФБР впервые вышло несколько лет назад, и уже возникали вопросы к разрешениям для него. В сентябре 2018 года ФБР ответило, что не собирает данные о пользователях. Вся информация, полученная приложением, остается на устройстве и никуда не передается.

Эксперты по безопасности указали на лазейку в пользовательском соглашении, которая позволяет ФБР получать все желаемые данные о пользователе и его мобильном устройстве.

В соглашении указано, что к приложению применяется политика конфиденциальности официального интернет-сайта ФБР fbi.gov. В этом документе говорится, что все действия пользователей отслеживаются и фиксируются. В пользовательском соглашении к приложению не уточняется, какие действия и данные подпадают под условия сайта fbi.gov, а какие – нет.

С осени 2018 года ситуация не изменилась. Последнее обновление для приложения до версии 1.3 вышло 2 октября прошлого года с комментарием «незначительные улучшения и исправление ошибок». Оно вновь требует уже известные разрешения на доступ к данным. Пользователи и пресса опять обращают внимание на проблему – но ФБР продолжает утверждать, что не собирает данные о пользователях.

На данный момент приложение FBI's Physical Fitness Test установлено на нескольких десятках тысяч устройств в США и за их пределами. Из-за последних новостей пользователи удаляют его – хотя до конца не ясно, пересылало ли оно данные в ФБР и какой информацией интересовалось.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.fbi.gov/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Архаров Офлайн
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 26 марта 2020 10:47
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Интересно, следят только с помощью фитнесс-приложений и только ФБР? Здесь хоть честно пишут, что это их приложение.
  2. Дмитрий С. Офлайн
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 26 марта 2020 11:15
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Если честно, то я знаю очень мало приложений, которые не следят за пользователями. Пальцев на руках хватит и ещё останутся.
  3. 123 Онлайн
    123 (123) 26 марта 2020 14:06
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Мы все давно "под колпаком", отследить можно сам смартфон, не говоря уже о приложениях, они практически поголовно отслеживают геолокацию пользователя. Кругом стоят видеокамеры, система распознавания лиц далеко не новинка. Хотите заниматься фитнесом без присмотра? Приезжайте в тайгу. Бензопилами и топорами обеспечат на месте.