M109A7 intend to make the basis of US artillery


On March 24, the US Army and the international company BAE Systems signed another contract for the supply of artillery systems as part of the M109A7 Self-Propelled Howitzer combat vehicles and the M992A3 Carrier, Ammunition, Tracked ammunition transporters. For 48 sets, the contractor will receive $ 339 million.


According to a press release, the new self-propelled guns are a necessary update to the land artillery, providing an increase in the combat qualities of the Armored Brigade Combat Team units. Self-propelled units will be more mobile, more efficient and more convenient to use.

All these effects are achieved using the most advanced solutions, of technologies and aggregates. All key components of the complex went through modernization. The chassis of the combat vehicle is equipped with a new engine and transmission, as well as supplemented by an auxiliary power unit. Weapons have been improved and the electronic complex, including the fire control system (LMS), has been completely redesigned.

M109A7 carries a digital communication system with the function of receiving target designation and transmitting data to the LMS. After arriving at the firing position, the MSA independently determines the location of the self-propelled guns, processes information about the target and provides data for firing. In parallel, other procedures are performed. The first shot is performed one minute after stopping.

The LMS controls the operation of the 155 mm M284 / M284A2 howitzer. The joint work of electronics and guns provides accurate shooting at a range of up to 30 km in all conditions.

M109A7 differs from its predecessors by additional reservation and a remotely controlled installation with a machine gun. Saved automatic fire extinguishing system. All these measures increase the likelihood of survival in a collision with an enemy. The probability of being hit by a retaliatory strike is reduced, due to the ability to quickly leave the position after firing.

Attention is paid to operational issues. All major self-propelled gun systems are equipped with sensors and connected to the on-board diagnostic system. This simplifies the search for and elimination of breakdowns - allowing you to quickly return the car to service and combat work. Future technology upgrades are also being simplified.

The ammunition conveyor M992A3 is made on the self-propelled gun chassis M109A7 and unified with it for the main units. Instead of a tower and guns, he carries a cabin with stacks for shells and missile charges - a total of 95 shots. Ammunition is reloaded from the conveyor to a self-propelled gun using a mechanized system with a conveyor. In terms of mobility and level of protection, the conveyor corresponds to a combat vehicle.

The new contract stipulates the production of the first serial batch of artillery systems M109A7 / M992A3 in the amount of 48 units. In total, the US Army plans to acquire more than 200 complexes. Their total cost is over $ 1,5 billion. Using this technique, the ground forces will be able to supplement and partially replace self-propelled guns of older versions.

According to open data, in the US Army at the moment there are about 1000 self-propelled guns of the Paladin family. All available cars in the recent past have been upgraded to the state of M109A6. They are accompanied by a significant number of transporters M992A2. Deliveries of modernized equipment will make it possible to replace equipment with a developed resource, but they will make up only 20% of the total fleet.

The Army and BAE Systems reckon that the upgraded modern M109A7, with new capabilities, will become the "digital backbone" of the self-propelled artillery of the ground forces. In a few years, it will become clear how realistic such estimates were.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Afinogen Offline
    Afinogen (Afinogen) 29 March 2020 09: 06
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    ... signed another contract for the supply of artillery systems ...

    Something is wrong with the head of the Americans, something is wrong. An epidemic is raging in the country, everything is gaining momentum, hospitals are failing, queues are in stores, there is a battle for a packet of rice and a roll of toilet paper, the economy is raining. A global crisis is brewing in the country, and they are signing a contract for the supply of self-propelled guns.
    1. 123 Offline
      123 (123) 29 March 2020 09: 22
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      This is just understandable, there is a contract - there is work. The economy is supported.
  2. Aleksey Glotov Offline
    Aleksey Glotov (alexey glotov) 29 March 2020 16: 23
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Only 95 shots. ... a good start. what

M109A7 намерены сделать основой артиллерии США


24 марта Армия США и международная компания BAE Systems подписали очередной контракт на поставку артиллерийских комплексов в составе боевых машин M109A7 Self-Propelled Howitzer и транспортеров боеприпасов M992A3 Carrier, Ammunition, Tracked. За 48 комплектов подрядчик получит 339 миллионов долларов.


Согласно пресс-релизу, новые САУ являются необходимым обновлением сухопутной артиллерии, обеспечивающим рост боевых качеств подразделений Armored Brigade Combat Team. Самоходные установки будут мобильнее, эффективнее и удобнее в эксплуатации.

Все эти эффекты достигаются при помощи самых современных решений, технологий и агрегатов. Модернизацию прошли все ключевые компоненты комплекса. Шасси боевой машины оснащено новым двигателем и трансмиссией, а также дополнено вспомогательной силовой установкой. Улучшено вооружение и полностью переработан электронный комплекс, включая систему управления огнем (СУО).

M109A7 несет цифровую систему связи с функцией приема целеуказания и передачи данных в СУО. После прибытия на огневую позицию СУО самостоятельно определяет местоположение САУ, обрабатывает информацию о цели и выдает данные для стрельбы. Параллельно выполняются прочие процедуры. Первый выстрел выполняется через минуту после остановки.

СУО управляет работой 155-мм гаубицы M284/M284A2. Совместная работа электроники и орудия обеспечивает точную стрельбу на дальность до 30 км во всех условиях.

От предшественников M109A7 отличается дополнительным бронированием и дистанционно управляемой установкой с пулеметом. Сохранена автоматическая система пожаротушения. Все эти меры повышают вероятность выживания при столкновении с противником. Вероятность попадания под ответный удар снижается, благодаря возможности быстрого покидания позиции после стрельбы.

Уделено внимание вопросам эксплуатации. Все основные системы САУ оснащены датчиками и соединены с бортовой системой диагностики. Это упрощает поиск и устранение поломок – позволяя быстрее возвращать машину к службе и боевой работе. Также упрощается будущая модернизация техники.

Транспортер боеприпасов M992A3 выполнен на шасси САУ M109A7 и унифицирован с нею по основным агрегатам. Вместо башни и орудия он несет рубку с укладками для снарядов и метательных зарядов – всего 95 выстрелов. Перегрузка боеприпасов с транспортера на самоходную установку осуществляется при помощи механизированной системы с конвейером. По подвижности и уровню защиты транспортер соответствует боевой машине.

Новый контракт оговаривает производство первой серийной партии артиллерийских комплексов M109A7/M992A3 в количестве 48 единиц. Всего Армия США планирует приобрести более 200 комплексов. Общая их стоимость – свыше 1,5 млрд долларов. С помощью такой техники сухопутные войска смогут дополнить и частично заменить САУ более старых модификаций.

По открытым данным, в Армии США на данный момент имеется около 1000 САУ семейства Paladin. Все имевшиеся машины в недавнем прошлом были модернизированы до состояния M109A6. Их сопровождает значительное число транспортеров M992A2. Поставки модернизированной техники позволят заменить технику с выработанным ресурсом, но они составят лишь 20% от общего парка.

Армия и BAE Systems рассчитывают, что модернизированные современные M109A7, обладая новыми возможностями, станут «цифровым становым хребтом» самоходной артиллерии сухопутных войск. Через несколько лет станет ясно, насколько реалистичными были такие оценки.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Афиноген Офлайн
    Афиноген (Афиноген) 29 марта 2020 09:06
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    ...подписали очередной контракт на поставку артиллерийских комплексов...

    Что-то не так с головой у америкосов, что-то не так. В стране бушует эпидемия, все набирает обороты, больницы не справляются, в магазинах очереди, идет битва за пакет риса и рулон туалетной бумаги, экономика сыпется. В стране назревает глобальный кризис, а они подписывают контракт на поставку САУ.
    1. 123 Офлайн
      123 (123) 29 марта 2020 09:22
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Это как раз понятно, есть контракт - есть работа. Экономику поддерживают.
  2. алекей глотов (алексей глотов) 29 марта 2020 16:23
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Всего 95 выстрелов. ...неплохой задел. what