Is the lack of stealth technology in the Tu-160 its drawback?


The Tu-160 strategic bomber is rightfully the pride of Soviet and Russian aviation. Considering that the White Swans began to appear more and more often in the most unexpected places, for example, in Venezuela, the American media began to pay increased attention to this aircraft, acquainting readers with its characteristics.


Thus, the specialized publication The National Interest conducted its own analysis of the capabilities of the bomber. But is it worth it to trust his findings?

American experts do not skimp on compliments, which is quite unusual:

The fastest bomber ever built. The largest bomber ever built. The heaviest bomber ever built.

The advantages of the aircraft The National Interest attributed its "stunning" carrying capacity of 40 tons and variable sweep of the wing. But there was one drawback: "White Swans" do not have stealthof technologies. One would like to exclaim, like Georges Miloslavsky: “How did you allow ?!”

In fact, everything is quite simple. The aircraft began to be developed back in 1967. Then about stealth technologies still did not hear. The Soviet designers were given a specific task: to create a supersonic bomber capable of delivering 40 tons of bombs to the enemy at supersonic speed, at an altitude of 18 meters over a distance of 000-11000 km. She was successfully executed.

Even today, with the development of radar tracking technology, the “visibility” of the Tu-160 is not a critical problem. Air-based cruise missiles carried by the White Swan are capable of striking from a distance exceeding the range of the most modern anti-aircraft missile systems. For a one-time nuclear strike in the "last war" this will be quite enough. Also, bombers can be used to act against an irregular adversary who does not have developed air defense systems. Stealth technology against the "barmaley" are not needed.

But seriously, the Tu-160 really has one problem, which is not at all in its “visibility”. The thing is their small numbers: our long-range aviation totals only 10 Tu-160 and 7 Tu-160M1. A massive air strike cannot be inflicted by such forces. For comparison, the US Air Force today has about 140 strategic bombers.

Modernization of existing Tu-160 is required. In 2016, it was decided to resume the production of NK-32-02 engines for the White Swans, which will also be used at the promising long-range aviation complex. So far, one Tu-22M3M with such a power plant has entered the air forces and the first Tu-160M ​​is expected next year.
19 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Peter Tverdokhlebov 30 March 2020 13: 42
    0
    Can special Tu-160 bombs be used?
    1. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
      Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 30 March 2020 13: 59
      +3
      Maybe, but why, when can he carry cruise missiles built by stealth technology with a range of 5500 km, such as the X-101 ?!
    2. Kristallovich Offline Kristallovich
      Kristallovich (Ruslan) 30 March 2020 17: 42
      -1
      In principle, air bombs (any) only after serious conversion.
  2. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 30 March 2020 13: 53
    +2
    Stealth technology is, in theory, not bad, but, in fact, radar and air defense systems are developing rapidly and today the supposedly invisible plane will be perfectly visible on the enemy's radar tomorrow, and to achieve stealth, you need to sacrifice speed (American B-2 subsonic ), and a vehicle devoid of stealth, with a subsonic maximum speed, is an easy target for both air defense systems and fighter-interceptors ... Supersonic speed allows you to minimize the presence in the enemy air defense zone, jamming its electronic warfare, and allows you to try to get away from enemy fighters supersonic, which in the case of not the fastest F-35 is quite likely ... In general, the creation of cruise missiles, created with stealth technologies and with a range of 5500 km, such as the X-101, makes it possible to empty them from the airspace of their own country , under the cover of their own air defense and can probably transfer the lion's share of bombers to carriers of anti-ship missiles, or PLO systems ... To use today free-falling bombs against the developed in the military area But countries with decent air defense are almost unrealistic today ...
  3. albor.ru Offline albor.ru
    albor.ru (Alexander) 30 March 2020 14: 49
    0
    The invisibility of a bomber is very bad! There is nothing to argue about! They can’t sleep in NATO !!! In addition, he overtakes fighters at the afterburner!
  4. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 30 March 2020 15: 09
    0
    This topic has been sacked for about 5 years, since the start of modernization.
    If you drop pop music, then of course it is. Well, no stealth; most planes don't. So what?
  5. Bad Tracker Offline Bad Tracker
    Bad Tracker (Vladimir) 30 March 2020 16: 24
    +1
    I would like to ask the author of this opus what he smokes and where can I get it?
    If you strain at least a little strength and dig deeper into the “Murzilka” Wikipedia type, then you can easily find some discrepancies in the numbers ...
    Attention, the revelation in the form of a quote:

    In December 2015, 58 vehicles remained in active operation and 18 in reserve.

    And this is the latest version of the B-52N. Where is 140, I do not understand.
    And if it came from strategists, then where in the calculations of the Tu-95MS and Tu-95MSM? And in the light of recent developments on START-3, you can think about the Tu-22M3M ...
    Carefully need to study the materiel! More carefully.
    1. Orange big Offline Orange big
      Orange big (Max) 30 March 2020 16: 38
      +2

      In December 2015, 58 vehicles remained in active operation and 18 in reserve.

      And this is the latest version of the B-52N.
      Where is 140, I do not understand.

      If so, then 58 V-52H + 41 V-1 Lancer + 20 B-2 Spirit = 119 bombers.
      1. Bad Tracker Offline Bad Tracker
        Bad Tracker (Vladimir) 30 March 2020 17: 03
        +5
        Everything is so, but not so. B-1B - only 6 combat ready, the rest at different stages of readiness are waiting for modernization, which will either be, will not be, or will be again. Of the B-2s in recent years, a figure of 11 pieces out of 20 has constantly been featured that can fulfill the task. And this is provided that this slow-moving for an incredible amount of money can only carry free-falling bombs.
        In general, it was folding on paper ...
        1. Orange big Offline Orange big
          Orange big (Max) 30 March 2020 17: 09
          +4
          Quote: Good-for-nothing lineman
          Everything is so, but not so. B-1B - only 6 combat ready, the rest at different stages of readiness are waiting for modernization, which will either be, will not be, or will be again. Of the B-2s in recent years, a figure of 11 pieces out of 20 has constantly been featured that can fulfill the task. And this is provided that this slow-moving for an incredible amount of money can only carry free-falling bombs.
          In general, it was folding on paper ...

          Then 58 + 6 + 11 = 75 combat-ready bombers in the United States. Almost 2 times less than the declared 140 boards. It turns out that they still cheek in these articles, praise themselves.
        2. Guerilla1 Offline Guerilla1
          Guerilla1 (Eremeev) 30 March 2020 18: 42
          +2
          That's right, get ahead.
          B1 Lancer - they are dying and nothing will be done with them.
          B52 - engines on a modern element base are expensive to develop - cannibals from other B52 engines to replace the functioning sides of the B52. The number of combat-ready B52 decreases every year.
          So, Mr. Marzhetsky, again a little bit wrong ...
  6. Orange big Offline Orange big
    Orange big (Max) 30 March 2020 16: 28
    +4
    The thing is their small numbers: our long-range aviation totals only 10 Tu-160 and 7 Tu-160M1. A massive air strike cannot be inflicted by such forces. For comparison, the US Air Force today has about 140 strategic bombers.

    In 2017, the United States had 76 B-52H. 61 B-1 Lancer (of which 20 will be written off until 2021) and 20 B-2 Spirit. Total, not including those written off from the United States, 137 bombers. True, this figure is too high, far from all V-52Ns are in working condition.
    I wonder why we only count the Tu-160? But what about the Tu-95MS, which are our analogues of the B-52N? Then it is possible for the Americans to ignore the B-52H. The Tu-22M3, to which the refueling rods were returned, are not taken into account, which actually equates them with strategists, given the range of the Kh-101 / Kh-102.
  7. 123 Online 123
    123 (123) 30 March 2020 18: 58
    +1
    But seriously, the Tu-160 really has one problem, which is not at all in its “visibility”. The thing is their small numbers: our long-range aviation numbers only 10 Tu-160 and 7 Tu-160M1

    Most were cut in Ukraine. The first modernized Tu-160 is already flying, the release of new ones will begin soon (for some reason, another video is inserted, so just a link)



    Tu-22M3 also did not have much left, I saw how they were cut already with us, it is very pathetic, but the rest are still flying.
    1. The comment was deleted.
  8. Arkharov Offline Arkharov
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 30 March 2020 23: 33
    -3
    Only worth. To advance in advance, they started to scatter.
  9. slesarg65 Offline slesarg65
    slesarg65 (Igor Ivanov) 31 March 2020 06: 30
    +2
    Stealth technology is designed for forehead detection. But there is no technology that would give invisibility when illuminated from the side. Shadow theater - so understandable? What prevents using satellites for backlighting? The same GLONASS. They do not even need to be modified, you only need a receiver that will "catch" the shadow. And I think that such already exists. In any case, technically it's easy. Then the whole thing comes down to the interaction of air defense and surveillance systems, not even radar! And I think that something similar already exists, but is not advertised. So only speed!
  10. Marzhecki Online Marzhecki
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 31 March 2020 07: 11
    -3
    Quote: Good-for-nothing lineman
    I would like to ask the author of this opus what he smokes and where can I get it?

    I don’t smoke at all, mister bad.
  11. Marzhecki Online Marzhecki
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 31 March 2020 07: 13
    -3
    Quote: Guerilla1
    So, Mr. Marzhetsky, again a little bit wrong ...

    Again? Oh well...
  12. Marzhecki Online Marzhecki
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 31 March 2020 07: 18
    -3
    Quote: Orange Big
    For comparison, the US Air Force today has about 140 strategic bombers.

    In 2017, the United States had 76 B-52H. 61 B-1 Lancer (of which 20 will be written off until 2021) and 20 B-2 Spirit. Total, not including those written off from the United States, 137 bombers.

    And where did you find the contradiction?
  13. Aleksandr2020 Offline Aleksandr2020
    Aleksandr2020 (Alexander Vk) 31 March 2020 07: 25
    +2
    Is not!
    Especially when you consider that stealth technology the Americans slipped the USSR.
    This is our development, stealth technology was created and tested in the USSR, experiments were carried out, but nothing went into the series, ours recognized it as useless, tk. even Soviet radars saw her. And it was sniffed as a "leak" to the Americans. Here they are now suffering with her)))

Является ли отсутствие стелс-технологий в Ту-160 его недостатком?


Стратегический бомбардировщик Ту-160 по праву является гордостью советской и российской авиации. Учитывая, что «Белые лебеди» начали все чаще появляться в самых неожиданных местах, например, в Венесуэле, американские СМИ стали уделять этому самолету повышенное внимание, знакомя читателей с его характеристиками.


Так, специализированное издание The National Interest провело собственный анализ возможностей бомбардировщика. Но стоит для доверять его выводам?

Американские эксперты не скупятся на комплименты, что довольно непривычно:

Самый быстрый бомбардировщик, когда-либо построенный. Самый большой бомбардировщик, когда-либо построенный. Самый тяжелый бомбардировщик, когда-либо построенный.

К достоинствам самолета The National Interest отнесло его «ошеломляющая» грузоподъемность в 40 тонн и изменяемая стреловидность крыла. Но нашелся и один недостаток: «Белые лебеди» не имеют стелс-технологий. Так и хочется воскликнуть, как Жорж Милославский: «Как же вы допустили?!».

На самом деле, все довольно просто. Самолет начали разрабатывать в далеком 1967 году. Тогда о стелс-технологиях еще и не слыхивали. Перед советскими конструкторами была поставлена конкретная задача: создать сверхзвуковой бомбардировщик, способный доставить 40 тонн бомб к противнику со сверхзвуковой скоростью, на высоте в 18 000 метров на дистанцию в 11000-13000 км. Она была успешно исполнена.

Даже сегодня, с развитием технологий радиолокационного слежения, «видимость» Ту-160 не является критической проблемой. Крылатые ракеты воздушного базирования, которые несет «Белый лебедь», способны наносить удар с расстояния, превышающего дальность действия самых современных зенитных ракетных систем. Для разового ядерного удара в «последней войне» этого будет вполне достаточно. Также бомбардировщики можно использовать для действий против иррегулярного противника, не обладающего развитыми системами ПВО. Стелс-технологии против «бармалеев» не нужны.

Но если серьезно, то у Ту-160 и правда есть одна проблема, которая заключается вовсе не в его «видимости». Все дело в их малочисленности: наша дальняя авиация насчитывает всего 10 Ту-160 и 7 Ту-160М1. Массированный авиационный удар такими силами не нанесешь. Для сравнения, ВВС США насчитывают сегодня порядка 140 стратегических бомбардировщиков.

Требуется модернизация уже существующих Ту-160. В 2016 году было решено возобновить производство двигателей НК-32-02 для «Белых лебедей», которые также будут использованы на перспективном авиационном комплексе дальней авиации. Пока в воздушные войска поступил один Ту-22М3М с такой силовой установкой и в следующем году ожидается первый Ту-160М.
19 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Пётр Твердохлебов 30 марта 2020 13:42
    0
    Специальные авиабомбы Ту-160 может применять?
    1. Sapsan136 Офлайн Sapsan136
      Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 30 марта 2020 13:59
      +3
      Может, но зачем, когда он может нести крылатые ракеты, построенные по стелс-технологиям с дальностью 5500 км, типа Х-101?!
    2. Кристаллович (Руслан) 30 марта 2020 17:42
      -1
      В принципе авиабомбы (любые) только после серьезного переоборудования.
  2. Sapsan136 Офлайн Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 30 марта 2020 13:53
    +2
    Стелс-технологии, это, в теории, не плохо, но, по факту, средства РЛС и ПВО быстро развиваются и сегодня якобы невидимый самолет уже завтра будет отлично виден на радаре противника, а для достижения малозаметности нужно жертвовать скоростью (американский В-2 дозвуковой), а лишенная малозаметности машина, с дозвуковой максимальной скоростью, это легкая мишень и для ЗРК, и для истребителей-перехватчиков... Сверхзвуковая скорость позволяет свести к минимуму нахождение в зоне ПВО противника, глуша ее РЭБ, и позволяет попытаться уйти от истребителей врага на сверхзвуке, что в случае с не самым быстрым Ф-35 вполне вероятно... А вообще создание крылатых ракет, созданных с учетом стелс-технологий и с дальностью 5500 км, типа Х-101, делает возможным их пуст с воздушного пространства собственной страны, под прикрытием собственных ПВО и вероятно может перевести львиную долю бомбардировщиков в носители ПКР, или систем ПЛО... Применять же сегодня свободно падающие бомбы против развитой в военном плане страны с приличным ПВО сегодня почти не реально...
  3. albor.ru Офлайн albor.ru
    albor.ru (Александр) 30 марта 2020 14:49
    0
    Невидимость бомбардировщика - это очень плохо! Тут и спорить нечего! В НАТО спать не могут!!! К тому же он на форсаже истребители обгоняет!
  4. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 30 марта 2020 15:09
    0
    Эту тему мусолят уже лет 5, с момента начала модернизаций.
    Если отбросить попсу, то, конечно, является. Ну, нет стелс, у большинства самолетов его нет. И что?
  5. Непутевый обходчик (Владимир) 30 марта 2020 16:24
    +1
    Хочется спросить автора сего опуса, что он курит и где это можно взять?
    Если напрячь хоть немножечко сил и поковыряться в "Мурзилке" типа Википедия, то с легкостью можно обнаружить некоторые расхождения в цифрах...
    Внимание, откровение в виде цитаты:

    В декабре 2015 оставались в активной эксплуатации 58 машин и 18 - в резерве.

    И это последняя версия B-52N. Где 140, я не понял.
    И если речь зашла от стратегах, то где в подсчетах Ту-95МС и Ту-95МСМ? Да и в свете последних событий по СНВ-3 можно подумать и о Ту-22М3М...
    Тщательней надо матчасть изучать! Тщательней.
    1. Orange Big Офлайн Orange Big
      Orange Big (Макс) 30 марта 2020 16:38
      +2

      В декабре 2015 оставались в активной эксплуатации 58 машин и 18 - в резерве.

      И это последняя версия B-52N.
      Где 140, я не понял.

      Если так, то 58 В-52Н+41 В-1 Lancer+20 B-2 Spirit =119 бомберов.
      1. Непутевый обходчик (Владимир) 30 марта 2020 17:03
        +5
        Все так, да не так. B-1B - только 6 боеготовых, остальные в различной стадии готовности ждут модернизации, которая то будет, то не будет, то опять будет. Из B-2 в последние годы постоянно фигурировала цифра в 11 штук из 20, которые могут выполнить задачу. И это при условии, что этот тихоход за неимоверное количество денег может нести только свободнопадающие бомбы.
        В общем, было складно на бумаге...
        1. Orange Big Офлайн Orange Big
          Orange Big (Макс) 30 марта 2020 17:09
          +4
          Цитата: Непутевый обходчик
          Все так, да не так. B-1B - только 6 боеготовых, остальные в различной стадии готовности ждут модернизации, которая то будет, то не будет, то опять будет. Из B-2 в последние годы постоянно фигурировала цифра в 11 штук из 20, которые могут выполнить задачу. И это при условии, что этот тихоход за неимоверное количество денег может нести только свободнопадающие бомбы.
          В общем, было складно на бумаге...

          Тогда 58+6+11=75 боеготовых бомберов у США. Почти в 2 раза меньше заявленных 140 бортов. Выходит, они ещё щеки надувают в этих статьях, нахваливают себя.
        2. Guerilla1 Офлайн Guerilla1
          Guerilla1 (Еремеев) 30 марта 2020 18:42
          +2
          Все верно, опередили.
          B1 Lancer - потиху умирают и ничего с ними УжЕ делать не будут.
          B52 - двигатели на современной элементной базе дорого разрабатывать - каннибалят с других B52 двигатели на замену функционирующим бортам B52. Количество боеготовых B52 с каждым годом снижается.
          Так что, г-н Маржецкий, опять чуть-чуть не так...
  6. Orange Big Офлайн Orange Big
    Orange Big (Макс) 30 марта 2020 16:28
    +4
    Все дело в их малочисленности: наша дальняя авиация насчитывает всего 10 Ту-160 и 7 Ту-160М1. Массированный авиационный удар такими силами не нанесешь. Для сравнения, ВВС США насчитывают сегодня порядка 140 стратегических бомбардировщиков.

    В 2017 году у США было 76 В-52Н. 61 В-1 Lancer (из которых 20 спишут до 2021 года) и 20 В-2 Spirit. Итого, не учитывая списываемых у США, 137 бомбардировщиков. Правда, и эта цифра завышена, далеко не все В-52Н в рабочем состоянии.
    Интересно, почему у нас считают только Ту-160? А как же Ту-95МС, являющиеся нашими аналогами В-52Н? Тогда можно и у американцев не учитывать В-52Н. Не учитываются Ту-22М3, на которые вернули штанги дозаправки, что фактически приравнивает их к стратегам, учитывая дальность Х-101/Х-102.
  7. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 30 марта 2020 18:58
    +1
    Но если серьезно, то у Ту-160 и правда есть одна проблема, которая заключается вовсе не в его «видимости». Все дело в их малочисленности: наша дальняя авиация насчитывает всего 10 Ту-160 и 7 Ту-160М1

    Большинство порезали на Украине. Первый модернизированный Ту-160 уже летает, скоро начнется выпуск новых (почему-то видео вставляется другое, поэтому просто ссылка)



    Ту-22М3 тоже осталось не много, видел, как их резали уже у нас, очень жалко, но оставшиеся еще полетают.
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  8. Архаров Офлайн Архаров
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 30 марта 2020 23:33
    -3
    Только достоинством. Чтобы заранее при подлете разбегаться начинали.
  9. slesarg65 Офлайн slesarg65
    slesarg65 (Игорь Иванов) 31 марта 2020 06:30
    +2
    Стелс-технология рассчитана на обнаружение "в лоб". Но нет такой технологии, которая давала бы невидимость при подсветке со стороны. Театр теней - так понятно? Что мешает использовать спутники для подсветки? Те же ГЛОНАСС. Их даже не нужно модифицировать, нужен только приёмник, который будет "ловить" тень. И я думаю, что такие уже есть. Во всяком случае, технически это просто. Тогда все дело сводится к взаимодействию ПВО и систем наблюдения, даже не радаров! А я думаю, что нечто подобное уже и существует, но не афишируется. Так что только скорость!
  10. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 31 марта 2020 07:11
    -3
    Цитата: Непутевый обходчик
    Хочется спросить автора сего опуса, что он курит и где это можно взять?

    Я вообще не курю, господин непутевый.
  11. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 31 марта 2020 07:13
    -3
    Цитата: Guerilla1
    Так что, г-н Маржецкий, опять чуть-чуть не так...

    Опять? Ну-ну...
  12. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 31 марта 2020 07:18
    -3
    Цитата: Orange Big
    Для сравнения, ВВС США насчитывают сегодня порядка 140 стратегических бомбардировщиков.

    В 2017 году у США было 76 В-52Н. 61 В-1 Lancer (из которых 20 спишут до 2021 года) и 20 В-2 Spirit. Итого, не учитывая списываемых у США, 137 бомбардировщиков.

    И где вы нашли противоречие?
  13. Александр2020 Офлайн Александр2020
    Александр2020 (Александр Вк) 31 марта 2020 07:25
    +2
    Не является!
    Особенно если учесть, что стелс-технологии американцам подсунул СССР.
    Это же наша разработка, стелс-технология была создана и опробована в СССР, проведены эксперименты, но в серию ничего так и не пошло, наши признали её бесполезной, т.к. даже советские радары её видели. И её втюхали как "утечку" американцам. Вот они теперь с нею и мучаются )))