Blackbird: why did the Americans want to bring a unique reconnaissance plane back to life


On September 11, 2001, the United States of America was attacked on its own land. Much has been written about the September 11 attacks and the ensuing Global War on Terror. But over the years, more and more details of events of that time have surfaced, writes The American magazine The Drive.


One of the least known events for fans of the unique SR-71 Blackbird reconnaissance aircraft and aviation enthusiasts in general is an attempt to resurrect the program in the early 2000s.

The SR-71 program was officially discontinued on November 22, 1989. In the 1990s, Blackbird supporters made unsuccessful attempts to bring the planes back into service. The point in the debate was put by then US President Bill Clinton. In 1999, the SR-71 scouts were handed over to NASA, and several museums received aviation museums.

However, less than 2 years later, immediately after the bloody terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, the Pentagon requested the opportunity to return Blackbird planes to the Air Force. This took up to 90 days and about $ 45 million.

The new role of the SR-71 was to be in the fight against terrorism. The Pentagon wanted to use a unique aircraft for mapping enemy territory, as well as for “non-lethal demonstrations of force”, flying over the enemy at supersonic speeds of 3000 km / h and scaring him with a shock wave (apparently, this is about Afghanistan - approx. Ed.).


As of September 13, 2001, three SR-71 aircraft, with tail numbers 61-7980, 61-7971, and 61-7967, were located at the Edwards US Air Force base. There was work to re-mothball these complex and truly unique aircraft.

However, the limited support from the leadership of the Air Force, as well as the alleged high cost of operation, which, by the way, has always been the curse of this aircraft, did not allow the plans to come true.

In addition, since the creation of Blackbird, the very methods of reconnaissance have changed. Satellites were used in full, which were significantly cheaper in maintenance and did not endanger the lives of pilots (due to their simple absence).

Moreover, the U.S. Air Force still had U-2 reconnaissance aircraft, which could well cope with the tasks of mapping the terrain.
Photos used: https://pxhere.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. slesarg65 Offline
    slesarg65 (Igor Ivanov) 30 March 2020 15: 26
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Apparently, we went along a difficult path. Again money. The plane, of course, is epoch-making, but there are so many defects! He would have airtight tanks - and there would be no price - here the bullet flew by and yeah! But somehow in the USA they are not friends with titanium. Ours even boiled the submarine, and they are riveted. Well, if only rubber tanks guessed to lay in the plane, but no!
    1. Lieutenant Rzhevsky I 30 March 2020 16: 26
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Quote: slesarg65
      He would have sealed tanks

      Protected?

      Quote: slesarg65
      But somehow in the USA they are not friends with titanium.

      Why make friends? You can buy from Russia.
    2. Arkharov Offline
      Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 31 March 2020 23: 14
      -2
      • 0
      • 2
      Yes, somehow treated the existing tanks, probably know what they are doing. Unique, of course, is the plane, and not one is lost. 800 futile missile launches on it in Vietnam.
  2. Lieutenant Rzhevsky I 30 March 2020 16: 38
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    The Pentagon wanted to use a unique plane to map enemy territory,

    They did not have maps of Afghanistan? Satellites could not cope with this task?
    It seems that the chest just opened.

    It took up to 90 days and about 45 million dollars.

«Черный дрозд»: зачем американцы хотели вернуть к жизни уникальный самолет-разведчик


11 сентября 2001 года Соединенные Штаты Америки подверглись нападению на своей собственной земле. Много было написано о терактах 11 сентября и последовавшей за ними Глобальной войне с террором. Но с годами всплывает все больше подробностей событий того времени, пишет американский журнал The Drive.


Одним из наименее известных событий для поклонников уникального самолета-разведчика SR-71 Blackbird и любителей авиации в целом является попытка воскрешения программы в начале 2000-х годов.

Программа SR-71 была официально прекращена 22 ноября 1989 года. В 1990-е годы сторонники Blackbird осуществляли безуспешные поползновения вернуть самолеты в строй. Точку в спорах поставил тогдашний президент США Билл Клинтон. В 1999 году разведчики SR-71 были переданы NASA, несколько аппаратов получили музеи авиации.

Однако менее чем через 2 года, сразу же после кровавых терактов 11 сентября 2001 года, Пентагон запросил возможность вернуть в боевой строй ВВС самолеты Blackbird. Для этого требовалось до 90 дней и около 45 миллионов долларов.

Новая роль SR-71 должна была заключаться в борьбе с терроризмом. В Пентагоне хотели использовать уникальный самолет для картографирования территории противника, а также для «несмертельной демонстраций силы», пролетая над врагом на сверхзвуковой скорости в 3000 км/ч и пугая его ударной волной (видимо, речь идет об Афганистане – прим. ред.).


На 13 сентября 2001 года на базе ВВС США «Эдвардс» находились три самолета SR-71, с бортовыми номерами 61-7980, 61-7971 и 61-7967. Предстояли работы по расконсервации этих сложных и по-настоящему уникальных самолетов.

Однако ограниченная поддержка со стороны руководства ВВС, а также предполагаемая высокая стоимость эксплуатации, которая, к слову, всегда была проклятием этого самолета, не позволили планам сбыться.

К тому же, с момента создания Blackbird изменились сами способы ведения разведки. Вовсю использовались спутники, которые были существенно дешевле в обслуживании и не подвергали опасности жизни пилотов (из-за простого их отсутствия).

Более того, на вооружении ВВС США все еще оставались самолеты-разведчики U-2, которые вполне могли справиться с задачами по картографированию местности.
Использованы фотографии: https://pxhere.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. slesarg65 Офлайн
    slesarg65 (Игорь Иванов) 30 марта 2020 15:26
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Видимо, пошли по сложному пути. Опять же деньги. Самолет, конечно, эпохальный, но столько дефектов! Ему бы герметичные баки - и цены бы не было - вот пуля пролетела и ага! Но как-то в США не дружат с титаном. Наши даже подлодку сварили, а они на заклепках. Ну хоть бы резиновые баки догадались в плоскости уложить, таки нет!
    1. Поручик Ржевский я 30 марта 2020 16:26
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Цитата: slesarg65
      Ему бы герметичные баки

      Протектированные?

      Цитата: slesarg65
      Но как-то в США не дружат с титаном.

      Зачем дружить? У России можно купить.
    2. Архаров Офлайн
      Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 31 марта 2020 23:14
      -2
      • 0
      • 2
      Да как-то обошлись с существующими баками, наверное, знают, что делают. Уникальный, конечно, самолет, и ни один не потерян. 800 безрезультативных пусков ракет по нему во Вьетнаме.
  2. Поручик Ржевский я 30 марта 2020 16:38
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    В Пентагоне хотели использовать уникальный самолет для картографирования территории противника,

    У них не было карт Афганистана? Спутники не могли справиться с этой задачей?
    Похоже, ларчик просто открывался.

    Для этого требовалось до 90 дней и около 45 миллионов долларов.