Russia's plan in action: bankruptcy begins in the US oil industry


Whiting Petroleum, an American hydrocarbon exploration and shale oil company, filed for bankruptcy protection on April 1, 2020. It is reported by Bloomberg.


It is noted that the company is developing oil fields in North Dakota, but its performance has deteriorated over the past four years. At the same time, the onset of the pandemic of the coronavirus infection COVID-19 and the subsequent drop in oil prices on the world market only aggravated the company's position.

It is clarified that the company was not able to pay this week a debt of $ 262 million. Moreover, the total debt of the company has already reached $ 2,2 billion. Therefore, the owners of Whiting Petroleum decided to ask “to understand and forgive”, and at the same time to write off the debt in exchange to transfer control of the company.

Bloomberg points out that the company's difficulties began long before the outbreak of COVID-19. Five years ago, Whiting Petroleum was one of the leaders in shale production in North Dakota. At the same time, competing companies turned their attention to shale oil production in Texas, where costs are significantly lower.

At Whiting Petroleum, they calculated that at a price of oil of $ 50, the company would stay afloat and cope with the debt burden. But the fall in the commodity market was very serious and the price of $ 20 was unacceptable to the company.

At the same time, experts are confident that similar bankruptcies will continue in the United States. For example, analysts at Mizuho Securities USA think that more than 70% of the 6 thousand oil shale producers can stop their work. In turn, Pickering Energy Partners believes that 40% of such companies may go bankrupt in the next two years.

It should be added that on April 1, 2020, Russian leader Vladimir Putin said that Washington was worried about low oil prices because the profitability of shale oil in the United States fluctuated around $ 40 per barrel.

Experts believe that Russia's withdrawal from the agreement with OPEC, which became known in March of this year, was dictated primarily by the desire to oust American shale. Since 2016, the United States has been increasing oil production on a quarterly basis, crushing more and more new markets. Russia, being bound by an agreement with OPEC, was restraining the extraction of “black gold”.

Despite the fact that this allowed the Kremlin to form a solid National Welfare Fund, the Americans were also the winners. Oil at 50-60 dollars per barrel allowed to significantly increase the production of shale oil, thereby damaging the US share in the world market and reducing the share of other players.

In the long run, this situation did not suit Moscow, since oil, according to the statement of Vladimir Putin himself, is the main export product of Russia.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

13 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. master3 Offline
    master3 (Vitali) April 2 2020 14: 45
    0
    • 3
    • 3
    Rave! - there is no other expression.
  2. Lieutenant Rzhevsky I April 2 2020 14: 48
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Whiting Petroleum, an American hydrocarbon exploration and shale oil company, filed for bankruptcy protection on April 1, 2020. It is reported by Bloomberg.

    Think about it. An expert from Brighton Beach explained to us that everything is fine, a beautiful marquise. Now they will go broke, then they will rise like a Phoenix bird, and those who want to invest in them are already fighting in lines. This is not a miserable planned economy for you, this is the Market, just like that, with a capital letter, well, but about his invisible hand and what it is capable of, you are all in the know.
  3. Igor Pavlovich Offline
    Igor Pavlovich (Igor Pavlovich) April 2 2020 15: 02
    -2
    • 1
    • 3
    Putin's plan in action:

    In the first quarter of 2020, gas transit through the Ukrainian gas transportation system amounted to 11,1 billion cubic meters. At the same time, since the beginning of 2020, the capacities for gas transit from the Russian Federation have been fully paid for by Gazprom in accordance with the new transit transaction and at the rate of 65 billion cubic meters. m per year (178 million cubic meters per day), "the Ukrainian GTS Operator company said on Thursday, April 2.
    1. Lieutenant Rzhevsky I April 2 2020 16: 01
      0
      • 2
      • 2
      Quote: Igor Pavlovich
      Putin's plan in action

      Well-known blogger Yuriy Podolyak is talking about a new contract for gas transit through Ukraine.

      Over the five-year period, Ukraine’s losses will amount to almost $ 400 million.
      1. Igor Pavlovich Offline
        Igor Pavlovich (Igor Pavlovich) April 2 2020 17: 49
        -4
        • 2
        • 6
        Lieutenant, you are clearly from Ukraine, if you are so worried about its losses. And here we are talking about direct losses throughout Russia for the “wise leadership” of the nullified president ...
        1. Lieutenant Rzhevsky I April 2 2020 18: 45
          0
          • 1
          • 1
          You are clearly from Ukraine

          Whatever you write, with your finger to the sky. This is talent. Direct losses? But.
  4. gorenina91 Online
    gorenina91 (Irina) April 2 2020 16: 10
    -6
    • 0
    • 6
    Experts believe that Russia's withdrawal from the agreement with OPEC, which became known in March of this year, was dictated primarily by the desire to oust American shale

    - Well, well ... - Yes, it’s just that Russia finally saw (it’s strange that it hadn’t seen it before) that the USA and China simply “threw” it ... - yes, they simply “bred” it ...
    - That is, when Russia was once again invited to the next gatherings worthless for Russia in Trusteeship, where Saud, engaged for these gatherings, was already sitting. Arabia, Russia once again was not even given a chair where Russia could at least sit on an equal footing ... - And then Russia just began to dictate ... - they say, it must do this and that; that, they say, no one removes sanctions from it (or they can even add it if it behaves “wrongly”) ...- At the same time, Saud. Arabia stated that it sets the price of oil and the volume of oil production; and taking into account the fact that American shale oil also has its own solid quota in Europe, due to the share of Russia "squeezed and lost" ... - That's all ...- And China was standing under the window and was already letting go hungry salivating on that Russian oil that will not find its buyer in Zap. Europe ...- and will go to China at a bargain price (which actually happened) ...
    - Well, here is our compliant miserable and compliant guarantor “with goods” ...- I just couldn’t agree with this ... - Yes, and who can agree with that ... - Well, Russia went to " free swimming ", not knowing how to swim ... - Rather, in Russia there are a lot of those who can swim very well, but they are all not at the helm and are sitting on land ... - And Russia ... is floundering like that .. .-and even the Chinese network, with a Chinese catch trying to pull on itself ...- for China ...
    1. Rashid116 Offline
      Rashid116 (Rashid) 10 May 2020 10: 47
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      I wanted to put a plus sign for you, but it doesn’t work out. Such is the bald nullified freedom of speech))
  5. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 2 2020 16: 42
    +1
    • 3
    • 2
    I drove into the search and:

    From the beginning of 2015 to November last year, 208 companies in the United States and Canada declared their financial insolvency.

    40 per year. 3 per month.

    Something started to go bankrupt late this year!
  6. Arkharov Offline
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) April 2 2020 16: 59
    -3
    • 1
    • 4
    What is the other plan? Was he even there?
  7. Alexander Semenov (Alexander Semenov) April 3 2020 00: 09
    -2
    • 1
    • 3
    However, today Uncle Sam raised the price of oil, not the RF ... so everything goes according to Uncle Sam’s plan. Who needs to move - move, who needs to be pressed .. squeeze. When the negotiations of the OPEC countries begin, they will naturally be foiled, then the threats of amers will follow, and then there will be a brilliant orchestrated victory signing of all countries.
    1. Lieutenant Rzhevsky I April 3 2020 13: 10
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Your uncle was blown away.
  8. Dmitry S. Offline
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) April 3 2020 13: 50
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    What does Russia have to do with it? U.S. extractive industry domestic debt and stock bubbles. What does Russia have to do with any plans? Any bubble should burst. The time has come.

План России в действии: в нефтеотрасли США начались банкротства


Американская компания Whiting Petroleum, занимающаяся разведкой углеводородов и добычей сланцевой нефти, 1 апреля 2020 года подала заявление о защите от банкротства. Об этом сообщает агентство Bloomberg.


Отмечается, что компания ведет разработку нефтяных полей Северной Дакоты, но ее показатели ухудшались все четыре последних года. При этом начало пандемии коронавирусной инфекции COVID-19 и последовавшего за ней падения цен на нефть на мировом рынке, лишь усугубили положение компании.

Уточняется, что компания оказалась не в состоянии выплатить на этой неделе долг в размере $262 млн. При этом общий объем долговых обязательств компании уже достиг $2,2 млрд. Поэтому владельцы Whiting Petroleum решили попросить «понять и простить», а заодно списать долг в обмен на передачу контроля над компанией.

Bloomberg указывает, что сложности у компании начались еще задолго до вспышки COVID-19. Еще пять лет назад Whiting Petroleum была одним из лидеров сланцевой добычи в Северной Дакоте. При этом компании-конкуренты переключили свое внимание на добычу сланцевой нефти в Техасе, где затраты существенно ниже.

В Whiting Petroleum рассчитали, что при цене на нефть в $50 компания будет держаться на плаву и справится с долговой нагрузкой. Но падение рынка сырья было очень серьезным и цена в $20 оказалась неприемлемой для компании.

При этом эксперты уверены, что в США продолжатся подобные банкротства. Например, аналитики Mizuho Securities USA думают, что более 70% из 6 тыс. сланцевиков-производителей могут прекратить свою работу. В свою очередь, в Pickering Energy Partners считают, что может обанкротиться 40% таких компаний в ближайшие два года.

Нужно добавить, что 1 апреля 2020 года российский лидер Владимир Путин заявил, что Вашингтон обеспокоен низкими ценами на нефть потому, что рентабельность добычи сланцевой нефти в США колеблется в районе $40 за баррель.

Эксперты полагают, что выход России из соглашения с ОПЕК, о котором стало известно в марте текущего года, был продиктован в первую очередь желанием вытеснить американских сланцевиков. С 2016 года США ежеквартально наращивали объемы добычи нефти, подминая под себя все новые рынки. Россия же, будучи связанной соглашением с ОПЕК, сдерживала добычу «черного золота».

Несмотря на то, что именно это позволило Кремлю сформировать солидный Фонд национального благосостояния, в выигрыше оказались и американцы. Нефть по 50-60 долларов за баррель позволила существенно нарастить добычу сланцевой нефти, тем самым увечив долю США на мировом рынке и сократив доли других игроков.

Такое положение дел в долгосрочной перспективе не устраивало Москву, так как нефть, по заявлению самого же Владимира Путина, является основным экспортным товаром России.
13 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. master3 Офлайн master3
    master3 (Виталий) 2 апреля 2020 14:45
    0
    Бред! - другого выражения нет.
  2. Поручик Ржевский я 2 апреля 2020 14:48
    -1
    Американская компания Whiting Petroleum, занимающаяся разведкой углеводородов и добычей сланцевой нефти, 1 апреля 2020 года подала заявление о защите от банкротства. Об этом сообщает агентство Bloomberg.

    Подумаешь. Некий эксперт с Брайтон-Бич нам объяснил, что всё хорошо, прекрасная маркиза. Сейчас они разорятся, потом восстанут, как птица Феникс, а желающие в них инвестировать уже дерутся в очередях. Это вам не жалкая плановая экономика, это Рынок, именно так, с заглавной буквы, ну, а про его невидимую руку и на что она способна, вы все в курсе.
  3. Игорь Павлович (Игорь Павлович) 2 апреля 2020 15:02
    -2
    План Путина в действии:

    По итогам первого квартала 2020 года транзит газа через ГТС Украины составил 11,1 млрд кубометров. Вместе с тем, с начала 2020 году мощности для транзита газа из РФ полностью оплачены ОАО "Газпром" в соответствии с новой транзитной сделкой и в расчете 65 млрд куб. м в год (178 млн куб. в сутки)", – сообщили в компании Оператора ГТС Украины в четверг, 2 апреля.
    1. Поручик Ржевский я 2 апреля 2020 16:01
      0
      Цитата: Игорь Павлович
      План Путина в действии

      Известный блогер Юрий Подоляка - о новом контракте на транзит газа через территорию Украины.

      За пятилетку сумма убытков Украины составит почти 400 млн долларов.
      1. Игорь Павлович (Игорь Павлович) 2 апреля 2020 17:49
        -4
        Поручик, Вы явно с Украины, если Вас так беспокоят ее убытки. А тут разговор о прямых убытках всей России за "мудрое руководство" обнуленного президента...
        1. Поручик Ржевский я 2 апреля 2020 18:45
          0
          Вы явно с Украины

          Что не напишете, всё пальцем в небо. Это талант. Прямые убытки? Однако.
  4. gorenina91 Офлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 2 апреля 2020 16:10
    -6
    Эксперты полагают, что выход России из соглашения с ОПЕК, о котором стало известно в марте текущего года, был продиктован в первую очередь желанием вытеснить американских сланцевиков

    - Ну и ну ... - Да просто Россия наконец-то увидела (странно, что не увидела этого раньше), что США и Китай её просто "кидают"... - да, просто элементарно "разводят"...
    - Т.е.., когда Россию в очередной раз позвали на очередные никчёмные для России посиделки в Опек, где уже восседала ангажированная для этих посиделок Сауд. Аравия, то России в очередной раз даже не дали стул, куда Россия могла хотя бы присесть "на равных"... - А дальше России просто начали диктовать ...- мол, она должна делать то-то и то-то; что, мол, санкций с неё никто не снимает (а могут даже ещё и добавить, если будет вести себя "не так")...- При этом Сауд. Аравия заявила, что она устанавливает цену на нефть и объёмы на добычу нефти; да ещё и с учётом того, что и американовская сланцевая нефть - тоже имеет свою солидную квоту в Европе, за счёт доли "потеснившейся и уступившей" России... - Вот и всё ...- А Китай стоял под окном и уже пускал голодную слюну на ту российскую нефть, что не найдёт своего покупателя в Зап. Европе ...- и достанется Китаю по бросовой цене (что собственно и произошло)...
    - Ну, тут уж и наш покладистый горемычный и уступчивый гарант "со товарЫщи"...-просто уж никак не мог согласиться с этим... - Да и кто с таким может согласиться... - Ну, Россия и отправилась в "свободное плавание", не умея плавать... - Вернее, в России очень много таких, кто умеет очень хорошо плавать, но они все не у руля и сидят на суше... - А Россия...вот так и барахтается...-да ещё и китайские сети, с китайским уловом пытается на себе вытащить...- для Китая...
    1. Рашид116 Офлайн Рашид116
      Рашид116 (Рашид) 10 мая 2020 10:47
      +2
      Хотел вам плюсик поставить, но не получается. Такая вот лысая обнуленная свобода слова))
  5. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 2 апреля 2020 16:42
    +1
    Вбил в поиск и:

    С начала 2015 года по ноябрь прошлого года 208 компаний в США и Канаде объявили о своей финансовой несостоятельности.

    По 40 в год. По 3 в месяц.

    Что-то поздно начали банкротиться в этом году!
  6. Архаров Офлайн Архаров
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 2 апреля 2020 16:59
    -3
    Какой еще план? Он вообще был?
  7. Александр Семенов (Александр Семенов) 3 апреля 2020 00:09
    -2
    Однако сегодня дядя Сэм поднял цену нефти, а не РФ...так что все идёт по плану дяди Сэма. Кому нужно подвинуться - подвинутся, кого нужно прижать..прижмут. Когда начнутся переговоры стран ОПЕК, они, естественно, будут сорваны, потом последуют угрозы амеров и потом будет блестящее срежиссированное победное подписание всех стран.
    1. Поручик Ржевский я 3 апреля 2020 13:10
      0
      Сдулся ваш дядя.
  8. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 3 апреля 2020 13:50
    +2
    А при чём тут Россия? Внутренняя закредитованность добывающей промышленности США и биржевые пузыри. При чем тут Россия и всякие планы? Любой пузырь должен лопнуть. Настало время.