India is on the verge of economic ruin


India is facing an unprecedented prospect economic disaster that arose as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, writes the business publication Quartz.


This time the damage is much more serious than the fact that the global financial crisis of 2008 once caused the Indian financial sector, but did not stop production. At that time, the economy of the South Asian state was much better suited to overcome the crisis, since in previous years it had grown rapidly.

Although quarantine, the article notes, may have been necessary to limit the spread of coronavirus, it will not completely solve the problem. The blockade only gives the government some respite for the production and distribution of more kits for testing, increasing the supply of ventilators and safety equipment for medical workers. Without these measures, quarantine alone will only delay the problem.

Meanwhile, the general population will feel the impact of the crisis, and many citizens will immediately lose their livelihoods. In the absence of government intervention, poverty growth will accelerate. Many small entrepreneurs go broke.

Against this background, the response of the Modi government looks harsh and inadequate. Restrictions on mobility and economic activity should be introduced, but adjusted for the living and working conditions of most Indians, as well as taking into account the economic damage that will eventually be done

- notes Quartz.
Photos used: https://pxhere.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. albor.ru Offline
    albor.ru (Alexander) April 3 2020 09: 39
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    India cannot be on the brink of ruin - there is nothing to ruin. It has been a beggar all its life - if in Russia GDP per capita PPP is 28 and at a nominal value of 797, then in India it is 11 and 289, respectively. Even in Ukraine - 5 777 and 1626 9!
    Che write something nonsense !?
    1. Sergey Tokarev Offline
      Sergey Tokarev (Sergey Tokarev) April 3 2020 10: 20
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      India may stop supplying drugs to the United States. The USA does not produce its antibiotics.
      1. albor.ru Offline
        albor.ru (Alexander) April 3 2020 10: 25
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        I would not categorically write that the United States does not produce drugs ... And in Russia, Indian drugs are FULL! Like China, the precursor specialist. Violation of trade due to isolation will affect everyone. It is difficult to predict what exactly will be in short supply.
  2. Zolotse Offline
    Zolotse (Irina) April 3 2020 10: 10
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    In recent years, Indians have also been very actively engaged in loans, the borrowing of the population has grown to the delight of bankers. The consumer boom, as we have in the late 90s and early 2000s, joyfully inflated appetites. And the locals, people not frightened, still poorly understood the danger of loans. They already went ruin before the coronavirus. And now it's scary to imagine. Although we, in Russia, are not far gone. What will happen here after the "holidays" and the depreciation of the ruble is terrible to imagine. Better to write about India ...
    1. Sergey Tokarev Offline
      Sergey Tokarev (Sergey Tokarev) April 3 2020 10: 22
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      No loans now except chimpanzees in Africa. In Pakistan it will be many times worse than in India.

Индия оказалась на грани экономического разорения


Индия находится перед перспективой беспрецедентной экономической катастрофы, возникшей в результате пандемии COVID-19, пишет деловое издание Quartz.


На сей раз ущерб гораздо серьезнее того, что когда-то нанес мировой финансовый кризис 2008 года, который поразил индийский финансовый сектор, но так и не остановил производство. В то время экономика южноазиатского государства была гораздо лучше приспособлена для преодоления кризиса, так как в предшествовавшие годы она быстро росла.

Хотя карантин, отмечается в статье, возможно, и был необходим для ограничения распространения коронавируса, он не решит проблему полностью. Блокада лишь дает правительству некоторую передышку для производства и распространения большего количества наборов для тестирования, наращивания поставок аппаратов ИВЛ и средств обеспечения безопасности медицинских работников. Без этих мер сам по себе карантин только отложит проблему.

Между тем, широкие слои населения почувствуют на себе удар кризиса, а многие граждане сразу же лишатся средств к существованию. При отсутствии вмешательства со стороны государства ускорится рост бедности. Многие мелкие предприниматели разорятся.

На этом фоне ответ правительства Моди выглядит суровым и неадекватным. Ограничения на мобильность и экономическую активность должны быть введены, но с поправками на условия жизни и труда большинства индийцев, а также с учетом экономического ущерба, который будет в итоге нанесен

– отмечает Quartz.
Использованы фотографии: https://pxhere.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. albor.ru Офлайн
    albor.ru (Александр) 3 апреля 2020 09:39
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Индия не может оказаться на грани разорения - разорять нечего. Она и так всю жизнь была нищей - если в России ВВП по ППС на душу населения 28 797 и по номиналу 11 289, то в Индии 5 777 и 1626 соответственно. Даже на Украине - 9 883 и 3 220!
    Чё пишите-то всякий бред!?
    1. Сергей Токарев (Сергей Токарев) 3 апреля 2020 10:20
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Индия может прекратить поставки лекарств в США. Своих антибиотиков США не производит.
      1. albor.ru Офлайн
        albor.ru (Александр) 3 апреля 2020 10:25
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        Я бы так категорично не писал, что США лекарства не производят... А в России индийских лекарств ПОЛНО! Как и Китай - специалист по прекурсорам. Нарушение торговли вследствие изоляции скажется на всех. Тут трудно прогнозировать, что конкретно будет в дефиците.
  2. Золотце Офлайн
    Золотце (Ирина) 3 апреля 2020 10:10
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    В последние годы индийцев тоже весьма активно стали подсаживать на кредиты, закредитованность населения росла на радость банкирам. Потребительский бум, как у нас в конце 90-х и начала 2000-х, радостно раздувал аппетиты. А местные, люди не пуганные, еще плохо понимали опасность кредитов. У них и до коронавируса уже пошли разорения. А сейчас страшно представить. Хотя и мы, в России, не далеко ушли. Что здесь будет после "каникул" и обесценивания рубля, страшно представить. Лучше про Индию писать...
    1. Сергей Токарев (Сергей Токарев) 3 апреля 2020 10:22
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Без кредитов сейчас разве что шимпанзе в Африке. В Пакистане будет в разы хуже, чем в Индии.