U.S. pandemic drills over riot


The COVID-19 pandemic has become a terrible test for the whole world. Even the United States, with its claims to superpower, cannot control the coronavirus. The most interesting thing is that Washington began to prepare for something like this many years ago.


The Foreign Policy publication recalled that, back in 2001, almost immediately after the September 11 attacks, the Pentagon conducted large-scale exercises to combat the consequences of a biological attack against the United States, using smallpox by an unknown enemy. The exercises were called “Dark Winter”.

The action was organized by the Health Safety Center and the Washington Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS). The task was to check how the governing bodies will function in the event of a biological war. For natural simulations, not only the military were involved, but also the real ones. policy: Senator Sam Nunn played the role of US President, and Frank Wisner, staff diplomat, was the head of the State Department. The scene was chosen the city of Oklahoma City and its suburbs.

What subjects were subjected to in 2001 is very reminiscent of current events. The “leadership of the country” had to make decisions in the context of a rapidly developing epidemic with a shortage of vaccines and the inability of the health system to adequately respond to challenges. The situation at the exercises was constantly deteriorating: due to lack of food in stores, the population began to scatter outside the quarantine or riot, and mass protests had to be suppressed by the National Guard.

Exercises to combat the biological attack on the United States ended on the second day. Subsequently, reporting on the results of the simulation, Senator Sam Nunn stated:

It would be much easier for us to cope with the consequences of the terrorist explosion.


The 2001 experiment clearly showed what difficulties the United States of America might face in the event of a pandemic. At the same time, the organizers came to the conclusion that, as such, a biological attack will not create a threat to the integrity of the state. Andrew Lakoff, a professor of sociology at the University of Southern California, who studied Dark Winter and its influence, stated:

Dark Winter was an exercise designed to push the system to failure in order to learn about its vulnerabilities. The lessons of the "Dark Winter" formed a policy of biological preparedness for the next 10 years
.

The results of the simulation were reported to the administration of President George W. Bush and to the US Congress.
Photos used: https://defense.gov/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. King3214 Offline
    King3214 (Sergius) April 3 2020 14: 20
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    If in America they still do not shoot, then the authorities are still coping with the situation.
  2. albor.ru Offline
    albor.ru (Alexander) April 3 2020 15: 26
    -1
    • 3
    • 4
    The task was to check how the controls will function in the event of a biological war.

    And here, many did not like that I called Putin’s position on the epidemic a rehearsal of the supreme power - command and staff exercises on the implementation of measures in the conditions of a real biological war ... It seems in America that they got it right.
    1. Dear sofa expert. April 3 2020 16: 30
      +2
      • 4
      • 2
      Only there were teachings, and Putin’s position is in real conditions, there are real sick and dead, and calling it rehearsal is blasphemy. Does it really not fit in your head?
  3. albor.ru Offline
    albor.ru (Alexander) April 4 2020 10: 59
    +1
    • 1
    • 0

    We will shoot the coronavirus! Our cause is right! - Victory will be ours!
    1. The comment was deleted.
    2. albor.ru Offline
      albor.ru (Alexander) April 4 2020 15: 12
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      Now, looking at the photo, I myself am surprised - how then did I manage to always shoot at "good" ...? From a hangover or after work - on the drum. Much later, I began to shoot with 2 hands, and here, if you see - the thumb will BEND! And it should be parallel to the shutter frame !!!

Учения военных США по преодолению пандемии закончились беспорядками


Пандемия COVID-19 стала страшным испытанием для всего мира. Даже США с их претензиями на сверхдержавность не могут совладать с коронавирусом. Самое интересное, что к чему-то подобному Вашингтон начал готовиться уже много лет назад.


Издание Foreign Policy припомнило, как в далеком 2001 году, практически сразу после терактов 11 сентября, Пентагон провел масштабные учения по борьбе с последствиями биологической атаки против США, с применением оспы неким неизвестным противником. Учения получили название «Темная зима» («Dark Winter»).

Организаторами акции выступили Центр безопасности здравоохранения и Вашингтонский Центр стратегических и международных исследований (CSIS). Ставилась задача проверить, как органы управления будут функционировать в случае начала биологической войны. Для натуральности симуляции были привлечены не только военные, но и настоящие политики: роль президента США играл сенатор Сэм Нанн, а главу Госдепа – кадровый дипломат Фрэнк Виснер. Местом действия был выбран город Оклахома-Сити и его пригороды.

То, чему в 2001 году подвергли испытуемых, очень напоминает нынешние события. «Руководству страны» приходилось принимать решения в условиях быстро развивающейся эпидемии при дефиците вакцин и неспособности системы здравоохранения адекватно реагировать на вызовы. Ситуация на учениях непрерывно ухудшалась: из-за нехватки продовольствия в магазинах население начинало разбегаться за пределы карантина или бунтовать, а массовые протесты приходилось подавлять Национальной гвардией.

Учения по борьбе с биологической атакой на США закончились на второй день. Впоследствии, отчитываясь о результатах симуляции, сенатор Сэм Нанн заявил:

Нам было бы гораздо проще совладать с последствиями террористического взрыва.


Эксперимент 2001 года наглядно показал, с какими трудностями могут столкнуться Соединенные Штаты Америки в случае начала пандемии. При этом организаторы пришли к выводу, что как таковой, угрозы целостности государства биологическая атака не создаст. Эндрю Лакофф, профессор социологии в Университете Южной Калифорнии, который изучал «Темную зиму» и ее влияние, констатировал:

«Темная зима» была упражнением, предназначенным для того, чтобы подтолкнуть систему к отказу, чтобы узнать о ее уязвимостях. Уроки «Темной зимы» сформировали политику биологической готовности на ближайшие 10 лет
.

О результатах симуляции было доложено администрации президента Джорджа Буша и Конгрессу США.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://defense.gov/
Объявление
Изданию требуется авторы в новостной и аналитический отделы. Требования к соискателям: грамотность, ответственность, работоспособность, неиссякаемая творческая энергия, опыт в копирайтинге или журналистике, умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Работа оплачивается. Обращаться: editor@topcor.ru
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. King3214 Офлайн King3214
    King3214 (Сергий) 3 апреля 2020 14:20
    0
    Если в Америке еще до сих пор не стреляют, значит, власти пока справляются с ситуацией.
  2. albor.ru Офлайн albor.ru
    albor.ru (Александр) 3 апреля 2020 15:26
    -1
    Ставилась задача проверить, как органы управления будут функционировать в случае начала биологической войны

    А тут многим не нравилось, что позицию Путина по эпидемии я назвал репетицией верховной власти - командно-штабными учениями по реализации мероприятий в условиях настоящей биологический войны... Кажется в Америке это поняли правильно.
    1. Только там были учения, а позиция Путина - в реальной обстановке, есть реальные больные и умершие, и называть это репетицией - это кощунство. Неужели в вашей голове это не укладывается?
  3. albor.ru Офлайн albor.ru
    albor.ru (Александр) 4 апреля 2020 10:59
    +1

    Расстреляем коронавирус! Наше дело правое! - Победа будет за нами!
    1. Комментарий был удален.
    2. albor.ru Офлайн albor.ru
      albor.ru (Александр) 4 апреля 2020 15:12
      +2
      Я теперь, глядя на фото, и сам удивляюсь - как я тогда умудрялся всегда отстрелять на "хорошо"...? С бодуна или после работы - по барабану. Много позже я стал стрелять с 2 рук, а здесь, если вы видите - большой палец СОГНУТ! А он должен располагаться ПАРАЛЛЕЛЬНО затворной рамке!!!