Haaretz: Saudi Arabia's oil victory over Russians turns out to be Pyrrhic


The victory of Saudi Arabia over the Russians in the “price war” is likely to become a pyrrhic one, according to the oldest Israeli newspaper Haaretz.


Yes, Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman finally forced Russia to achieve the reduction in production that he wanted - the Russians lost even more than originally planned.

But according to the results of all the manipulations, the prince got a market in which there is literally no place to store all the oil extracted. The new plan to stifle the American "shale" oil industry with low prices failed miserably - like the previous such attempt in 2014. At the same time, according to the results of the last war, prices did not return to their original prices - and the prince could at least learn from recent experience. But that did not happen.

Saudi Arabia itself can no longer engage in such games with the price of hydrocarbons. Yes, the kingdom has a low cost of oil production, but it also has large financial obligations - and even larger than it seems initially, as Prince Muhammad began implementing his Vision 2030 plan, aimed at diversification economics.

According to Fitch Ratings, the breakeven point for the kingdom, that is, the minimum price of oil that it needs, to cover costs this year will be $ 91 per barrel. But no one expects the price to come close to similar values ​​in the near future.

Since 2014, Saudi reserves have declined from $ 740 to $ 500 billion. She cut subsidies to her citizens, who were accustomed to the seemingly limitless generosity of the state, and now began to borrow money abroad. A new round of budget cuts is just around the corner.

Saudi Arabia does not have the money to buy off social discontent, as it was in the past. All the means that are available will go to mitigate the impact of the economic impact of coronavirus.

Meanwhile, the Crown Prince’s plans to turn his country into a global center of technologies and tourism as part of the long-term vision of Vision 2030 is now virtually doomed to failure. The treasury of the kingdom is too scarce to undermine it with long-term injections into the cities of the future, and the foreign investments that the prince was counting on did not rush into the project even before the pandemic.

On almost any front - the war with Yemen, the campaign to isolate Qatar, the assassination of journalist Jamal Khashoggi, and now in the battle for black gold prices - Muhammad bin Salman has shown himself not too brilliantly, writes Haaretz.

The Vision 2030 project was the only thing that promised the country real strategic leadership. But other senior management errors now reset him.

According to the publication, the opinion is expressed that Saudi Arabia by 2030 will not be Silicon Valley and the Cote d'Azur of the Middle East, but just an oil producer fighting for its own survival.
Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

16 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Binder Offline
    Binder (Miron) April 18 2020 06: 58
    -1
    • 7
    • 8
    The Vision 2030 project is a reasonable undertaking, but Muslims are not able to carry it out on their own, even with enormous resources, smart Jewish heads cannot be dispensed with. So the Saudis are quietly establishing relations with the Israelis, they understand that if they continue to stupidly live oil grandmothers, then in the foreseeable future they will transfer from Mercedes and Ferrari to camels, and return to their grandfather's tents ...
    1. GRF Online
      GRF April 18 2020 10: 06
      +3
      • 5
      • 2
      Until the time when freestanding, bloody gold flowed from Europe to India, America, and the rest of the world, Arab scholars were even and even more enlightened than European scientists, but even now, judging by the mortality from the same unknown disease, progressive Western scholars do not really shine. Camel for me, much more perfect Ferrari, it is a pity that people do not appreciate the free ...
      As for the establishment of relations, then leave the hungry West from the East - and the world will come much earlier.
      But when the Jews declare victory of Russia that didn’t appear at the war over Ukraine - I’m looking, they are talents in this ...
      1. Binder Offline
        Binder (Miron) April 18 2020 17: 51
        -2
        • 3
        • 5
        Quote: GRF
        Arab scholars were on a par, or even more enlightened than European

        You mistakenly attribute to the Arabs major scientific achievements in the era of Islamic expansion. The reason for the flourishing of sciences was that, capturing countries and peoples, forcibly converting the vanquished to Islam, Arabs also appropriated the achievements of ancient cultures - Egypt, Byzantium, Persia, etc., however, having mastered the experience of scholars of the past, Muslims could not move on, hopelessly behind the Europeans.
        1. GRF Online
          GRF April 18 2020 19: 00
          +3
          • 4
          • 1
          After the destruction and looting of museums, libraries, monuments, and just people, from the Crusades to the "democratic" incarnations in the Stone Age - who could develop further?
          I looked at the ratings of universities, of course, this is about nothing, but still:

          Lomonosov Moscow University - Place 94
          King Saud University - Rank 191
          Kiev Shevchenko University - place 491
          Baghdad University - Rank 717

          They have scientists, many work in the West and the fact that they are not often awarded the "Nobel Prizes" is nonsense. Give them peace and there will be no hopeless lag in sight, but that is why they will not be given to them ...
          1. Binder Offline
            Binder (Miron) April 18 2020 20: 04
            -3
            • 0
            • 3
            As for the destruction, plunder and other indecencies - by. If Muslims were more developed and organized, there would be no one left in the world in general except them. And those immigrants from Islamic countries who successfully work in the West, therefore, were able to succeed because they had virtually ceased to be Muslims, their mentality was changed. Well, those who have not changed - work as janitors or sit on benefits. Islamic principles are a major brake on the followers of the Prophet.
  2. Observer2014 Offline
    Observer2014 April 18 2020 07: 13
    -7
    • 7
    • 14
    Haaretz: Saudi Arabia's oil victory over Russians turns out to be Pyrrhic

    It turns out. It turns out. Breathe deeper. Oh, how many victorious releases we heard and read a couple of months ago. When the "cunning plan" to kill the American shale oil, our "non-replaceable leaders" implemented. laughing
    1. The comment was deleted.
      1. The comment was deleted.
      2. The comment was deleted.
  3. 123 Offline
    123 (123) April 18 2020 09: 19
    +6
    • 13
    • 7
    Oh, that ornate Middle Eastern speech. laughing
    It’s so subtle to make nice to your overseas patrons. winked
    Putin knew the bitterness of defeat, fully realized what the anger of hairy men in white pajamas means. sad But since their victory is actually Pyrrhic, the conclusion is obvious: the eternally chewing guys in sombrero remained the real winners. It doesn't matter that they cut back on production, shut down wells, and fire people. The plan to destroy the shale rocking ground failed miserably and that’s it, don’t even try to argue. laughing
    True, for some reason the fanfare in the camp of the winners is not audible, but something like that.
    There was a "water truce", but everyone is trying to declare himself a winner after the battle. The situation is not new and has a long tradition.
    1. Observer2014 Offline
      Observer2014 April 18 2020 09: 32
      -8
      • 2
      • 10
      123 (123) I just put it to you plus? laughing drinks
      1. 123 Offline
        123 (123) April 18 2020 09: 38
        0
        • 5
        • 5
        You did it in vain. laughing I mean, you can bet anything and anyone, but voiced in vain. yes You are now under the "gunshot," ridge for it more than once. yes The herd will not forget you. winked
  4. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker April 18 2020 09: 30
    -3
    • 4
    • 7
    And he said that now fans will rush to prove that Russia did it all, and not signed the surrender in the oil war. Yes, it’s violet to me, like there in Saudi Arabia !!! You write to me how good it is in Russia after the signed surrender. Or should I be glad that Sechin, Miller and the like saved their salaries of 2-3 million rubles a day?
    1. ser.rudov2016 Offline
      ser.rudov2016 (Sergey Rudov) April 18 2020 10: 05
      -6
      • 4
      • 10
      steelworker, yes, Putin signed the surrender. Arabs avenged him for gossip and conceit. The Saudis will manage with those crumbs of oil that they will sell, but will we manage? With our spending on space, nuclear weapons, the maintenance of the bureaucracy ... Kudrin is already hinting at the withdrawal of deposits from Sberbank for the needs of the state and our future in the fog.
      1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline
        Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) April 18 2020 15: 10
        +2
        • 3
        • 1
        Rashkafso, oil goes, put away !!!
        And Kudrin always dreamed of putting Sberbank money into prizes. But no one offers premiership a second time. Sadness ...
      2. 123 Offline
        123 (123) April 18 2020 15: 33
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        ser.rudov2016 (Sergey Rudov)
        Your future is definitely vague, the rest is not a fact. no
  5. The comment was deleted.
    1. Is it possible to think "chorus and crowd"? The process of thinking arises in each individual person and is purely individual, otherwise it is not a process of thinking. Either you endow the kingdom of troglodytes with a function that is deeply uncharacteristic of them, or you are deeply mistaken in something.
  6. boriz Offline
    boriz (boriz) April 18 2020 18: 36
    +5
    • 6
    • 1
    A new plan to stifle the American "shale" oil industry with low prices failed miserably ...

    And what, oil prices have risen, at least, to $ 50? Something did not notice. Or will Haaretz talk about how shale oil will exist at prices 2 times lower than cost?
    And Vision 2030 was initially doubtful, and now even more so. The tourism industry in the world, in the form to which we are accustomed, will order a long life (in fact, it has already begun) and will not recover in the next 30 years. And the climate there, to put it mildly, is not for everyone. Not to mention orthodox Islam. Those who want to relax in such a climate are already in Dubai, the UAE. And then, while there is money, that is, for a short time.
    As for technology, they don’t have their brains, and strangers will soon be behind the iron curtain. Here the people, basically, do not know or do not remember what it is. Well, soon to find out.
    There is another subtlety. KSA reserves, as I recall, are largely located in the United States. In the near future (less than a year) the US will forgive everyone its debts. In one form or another. And these heirs of the whole king will remain naked and barefoot. There, the USA is already going to write off its debts to China. So this is China, a country with missiles and a fleet. And what is KSA? What will the US do?
    Here is a phrase from Kissinger’s latest interview:

    When the Covid-19 pandemic ends, many countries will be sentenced: “You failed. ” How fair this sentence is, does not matter. The main thing is this: the world will never again be the same as before the coronavirus.

    Did you understand? 3–5 countries will gather and decide who will exist in what form. And do not care about the laws. The opinion of other countries no one asks.
    A pandemic is simply a cover for reformatting the world and world order.
    And the princes on camels will cut through the desert. Both palaces and oil will be taken away. Moreover, the United States will not be taken away at all. At that moment, their hands would not reach them.
    As for the text, I got the impression that Marzhecki moved to work at Haaretz. I sincerely congratulate him.
  7. Citizen Mѣshkov (Sergey G) April 19 2020 00: 17
    -3
    • 0
    • 3
    It seems to be just recently written that this is a victory for Russia?
  8. 69 Offline
    69 April 19 2020 09: 29
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Quote: Bindyuzhnik
    The reason for the flourishing of sciences was that, capturing countries and peoples, forcibly converting the vanquished to Islam, Arabs also appropriated the achievements of ancient cultures - Egypt, Byzantium, Persia, etc.

    It is not necessary to attribute the “exploits” of the Zionists to other nations, pretending to be rags.

Haaretz: Нефтяная победа Саудовской Аравии над русскими окажется пирровой


Победа Саудовской Аравии над россиянами в «ценовой войне» вероятнее всего станет пирровой, отмечается в старейшей израильской газете Haaretz.


Да, наследный принц Мухаммед бин Салман наконец-то заставил Россию добиться сокращения добычи, которого он и хотел – русские уступили даже больше, чем планировалось изначально.

Но по итогам всех манипуляций принц получил рынок, в котором буквально нет места для хранения всей добытой нефти. Новый план по удушению американской «сланцевой» нефтяной индустрии низкими ценами провалился с треском – как и предыдущая такая попытка в 2014 году. При этом по итогам прошлой войны цены так и не вернулись на исходные – и принц мог хотя бы извлечь уроки из недавнего опыта. Но этого не случилось.

Сама Саудовская Аравия больше не может заниматься подобными играми с ценой на углеводороды. Да, королевство имеет низкую себестоимость производства нефти, но у него также есть и большие финансовые обязательства – и даже более крупные, чем кажется изначально, поскольку принц Мухаммед приступил к реализации своего плана Vision 2030, нацеленного на диверсификацию экономики.

По оценкам Fitch Ratings, точка безубыточности для королевства, т. е. минимальная цена на нефть, в которой оно нуждается, для покрытия расходов в этом году составит 91 доллар за баррель. Но никто не ожидает, что цена в ближайшем будущем приблизится к подобным значениям.

Начиная с 2014 года, резервы Саудовской Аравии сократились с 740 до 500 млрд долларов. Она урезала субсидии своим гражданам, которые привыкли к, казалось бы, безграничной щедрости государства, и теперь начали занимать деньги за границей. Новый раунд сокращений бюджета не за горами.

У Саудовской Аравии нет денег, чтобы откупаться от социального недовольства, как это было в прошлом. Все средства, какие есть, пойдут на смягчение влияния экономического воздействия коронавируса.

Между тем, планы наследного принца превратить свою страну в глобальный центр технологий и туризма в рамках долгосрочного замысла Vision 2030 в настоящее время фактически обречены на провал. Казна королевства слишком скудна, чтобы подтачивать её ещё и долгосрочными вливаниями в города будущего, а иностранные инвестиции, на которые принц рассчитывал, не торопились в проект даже до пандемии.

Почти на любом фронте – войне с Йеменом, кампании по изоляции Катара, убийстве журналиста Джамала Хашогги, а теперь и в битве за цены на черное золото – Мухаммед бин Салман показал себя не слишком блестяще, пишет Haaretz.

Проект Vision 2030 был той единственной вещью, которая обещала стране реальное стратегическое лидерство. Но другие ошибки высшего руководства теперь обнулили и его.

По итогу публикации высказывается мнение, что Саудовская Аравия к 2030 году окажется не Кремниевой долиной и Лазурным берегом Ближнего Востока, а всего лишь сражающимся за собственное выживание производителем нефти.
Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

16 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Биндюжник Онлайн
    Биндюжник (Мирон) 18 апреля 2020 06:58
    -1
    • 7
    • 8
    Проект Vision 2030 - разумное начинание, но мусульмане не способны его осуществить самостоятельно, даже имея огромные средства, тут без умных еврейских голов не обойтись. Вот и налаживают саудиты втихаря отношения с израильтянами, понимают, что если они будут и дальше тупо проживать нефтяные бабки, то в обозримом будущем пересядут с "Мерседесов" и "Феррари" на верблюдов, а жить вернутся в дедовские шатры...
    1. GRF Офлайн
      GRF 18 апреля 2020 10:06
      +3
      • 5
      • 2
      До того момента, когда в Европу потекло халявное, кровавое золото из Индии, америк, да прочего мира, арабские ученые были вровень, а то и на голову просвещеннее европейских, но и сейчас, судя по смертности от одной и той же неизвестной болезни - прогрессивные ученые Запада не так-то уж и блещут. Верблюд по мне, гораздо совершеннее Феррари, жаль, что люди плохо ценят бесплатное...
      Что по поводу налаживания отношений, то уйди голодный Запад с Востока - и мир настанет гораздо раньше.
      Да когда ж евреи объявят победу неявившейся на войну России над Украиной - гляжу, они в этом таланты...
      1. Биндюжник Онлайн
        Биндюжник (Мирон) 18 апреля 2020 17:51
        -2
        • 3
        • 5
        Цитата: GRF
        арабские ученые были вровень, а то и на голову просвещеннее европейских

        Вы ошибочно приписываете арабам крупные научные достижения в эпоху исламской экспансии. Причина расцвета наук была в том, что захватывая страны и народы, насильно обращая побежденных в ислам, арабы присваивали также достижения древних культур - Египта, Византии, Персии и т.д., однако освоив опыт ученых прошлого, мусульмане не смогли двинуться дальше, безнадежно отстав от европейцев.
        1. GRF Офлайн
          GRF 18 апреля 2020 19:00
          +3
          • 4
          • 1
          После уничтожения да разграбления музеев, библиотек, памятников да и просто людей, от крестовых походов до "демократичных" вбамбливаний в каменный век - кто смог бы дальше развиться?
          Посмотрел на рейтинги университетов, конечно, это ни о чем, но все же:

          Московский университет им Ломоносова - место 94
          Университет им короля Сауда - место 191
          Киевский университет им Шевченко - место 491
          Университет Багдада - место 717

          Ученые у них есть, многие работают на Западе и то, что не им чаще вручают "Нобелевские премии", ерунда. Дайте им мира и никакого безнадежного отставания не будет и в помине, но именно поэтому, его им и не дадут...
          1. Биндюжник Онлайн
            Биндюжник (Мирон) 18 апреля 2020 20:04
            -3
            • 0
            • 3
            Насчет уничтожения, разграбления и прочих непотребств - мимо. Были бы мусульмане более развитыми и организованными, и в мире вообще никого, кроме них, не осталось бы. А те выходцы из стран ислама, что успешно работают на Западе, потому и смогли преуспеть, что фактически перестали быть мусульманами, менталитет изменили. Ну а те, кто не изменил - работают уборщиками или сидят на пособии. Исламские принципы являются основным тормозом для последователей Пророка.
  2. Наблюдатель2014 18 апреля 2020 07:13
    -7
    • 7
    • 14
    Haaretz: Нефтяная победа Саудовской Аравии над русскими окажется пирровой

    Окажется. Окажется. Дышите глубже. Ох, сколько победоносных релизов мы слышали и читали пару месяцев назад. Когда "хитрый план" по убийству американской сланцевой нефти наши "несменныерукамиводители" осуществили. laughing
    1. Комментарий был удален.
      1. Комментарий был удален.
      2. Комментарий был удален.
  3. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 18 апреля 2020 09:19
    +6
    • 13
    • 7
    Ох уж эта витиеватая ближневосточная речь. laughing
    Так тонко сделать приятно своим заокеанским покровителям. winked
    Путин познал горечь поражения, в полной мере осознал, что значит гнев волосатых мужиков в белых пижамах. sad Но поскольку их победа на самом деле пиррова, вывод очевиден: настоящими победителями остались вечно жующие парни в сомбреро. Неважно, что они сокращают добычу, закрывают скважины и увольняют людей. План по уничтожению сланцевой качалки провалился с треском и все тут, даже и спорить не пытайтесь. laughing
    Правда, фанфары в стане победителей почему-то не слышны, но то такое.
    Наступило "водяное перемирие", но каждый пытается объявить себя победителем после битвы. Ситуация не нова и имеет давние традиции.
    1. Наблюдатель2014 18 апреля 2020 09:32
      -8
      • 2
      • 10
      123 (123) Это я вам плюс только что поставил? laughing drinks
      1. 123 Офлайн
        123 (123) 18 апреля 2020 09:38
        0
        • 5
        • 5
        Это Вы напрасно сделали. laughing В смысле, ставить можете, что угодно и кому угодно, но озвучили зря. yes Вы теперь под "прицелом", отгребете за это еще не раз. yes Стадо Вас не забудет. winked
  4. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 18 апреля 2020 09:30
    -3
    • 4
    • 7
    А говорил, что сейчас фанаты бросятся доказывать, что это России всех сделала, а не капитуляцию подписала в нефтяной войне. Да мне фиолетово, как там в Саудовской Аравии!!! Вы мне напишите, как хорошо в России после подписанной капитуляции. Или мне радоваться, что Сечин, Миллер и им подобные сохранили себе зарплату 2-3 млн руб в день?
    1. ser.rudov2016 Офлайн
      ser.rudov2016 (Сергей Рудов) 18 апреля 2020 10:05
      -6
      • 4
      • 10
      сталевар, да, Путин подписал капитуляцию. Арабы ему отомстили за сплетни и самомнение. Саудиты обойдутся теми крохами нефти, которые будут продавать, а вот обойдёмся ли мы. С нашими расходами на космос, ядерное оружие, содержание чиновничьего аппарата... Кудрин уже намекает на изъятие вкладов из Сбербанка на нужды государства и будущее наше в тумане.
      1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн
        Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 18 апреля 2020 15:10
        +2
        • 3
        • 1
        Рашкафсё, нефтяуходит, путенуходи!!!
        А Кудрин всегда мечтал деньги Сбербанка пустить себе на премии. Но никто второй раз премьерство не предлагает. Печалька...
      2. 123 Офлайн
        123 (123) 18 апреля 2020 15:33
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        ser.rudov2016 (Сергей Рудов)
        Ваше будущее точно туманное, про остальных не факт. no
  5. Комментарий был удален.
    1. Разве можно думать "хором и гурьбой"? Процесс мышления возникает в каждом отдельном человеке и сугубо индивидуален, иначе - это не процесс мышления. Либо вы царство троглодитов наделяете глубоко не свойственной им функцией, либо вы в чем-то глубоко ошибаетесь.
  6. boriz Офлайн
    boriz (boriz) 18 апреля 2020 18:36
    +5
    • 6
    • 1
    Новый план по удушению американской «сланцевой» нефтяной индустрии низкими ценами провалился с треском ...

    А что, цены на нефть поднялись, хотя бы, до 50$? Что-то не заметил. Или Haaretz расскажет, как сланцевики будут существовать при ценах, в 2 раза ниже себестоимости?
    А Vision 2030 изначально был сомнителен, а теперь и подавно. Турбизнес в мире, в том виде, к которому мы привыкли, прикажет долго жить (собственно, уже начал) и не восстановится в ближайшие лет 30. Да и климат там, мягко говоря, на любителя. Не говоря уже об ортодоксальном исламе. Те, кто хочет в таком климате отдыхать, уже в Дубае, ОАЭ. И то, пока деньги есть, то есть, ненадолго.
    Что касается технологий, то своих мозгов у них нет, а чужие в ближайшее время окажутся за железным занавесом. Здесь народ, в основном, не знает или не помнит, что это такое. Что же, скоро предстоит узнать.
    Есть ещё одна тонкость. Резервы КСА, насколько я помню, в значительной мере, находятся в США. В ближайшее время (меньше года) США всем свои долги простит. В той или иной форме. И останутся эти наследники целого короля голые и босые. Вон, США уже собирается свои долги Китаю списать. Так это Китай, страна с ракетами и флотом. А что такое КСА? Что оно США сделает?
    Вот фраза из последнего интервью Киссинджера:

    Когда пандемия Covid-19 закончится, институтам многих стран будет вынесен приговор: «Вы провалились». Насколько этот приговор будет справедлив, неважно. Главное вот в чем: мир больше никогда не будет таким, как до коронавируса.

    Вы поняли? Соберутся 3 - 5 стран и решат, кто и в каком виде будет существовать. И плевать на законы. Мнение других стран никто не спросит.
    Пандемия - это просто прикрытие переформатирования мира и миропорядка.
    И будут королевичи на верблюдах по пустыне рассекать. Отберут и дворцы, и нефть. Причём, совсем не обязательно США отберут. У них, на тот момент, руки уже не дотянутся.
    А что касается текста, то у меня создалось впечатление, что Маржецкий перешёл работать в Haaretz. Искренне его поздравляю.
  7. Гражданинъ Мѣшковъ (Сергей Г) 19 апреля 2020 00:17
    -3
    • 0
    • 3
    Вроде бы, ещё недавно писали, что это победа России?
  8. 69П Офлайн
    69П 19 апреля 2020 09:29
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Цитата: Биндюжник
    Причина расцвета наук была в том, что захватывая страны и народы, насильно обращая побежденных в ислам, арабы присваивали также достижения древних культур - Египта, Византии, Персии и т.д.

    Совершенно необязательно приписывать "подвиги" сионистов другим народам, прикидываясь ветошью.