The Americans called the Russian rocket engine "technological miracle"


Recently, the head of the United Launch Alliance, an American company, Tori Bruno wrote on his Twitter account that at the end of the Cold War, the US government asked his company to buy RD-180 engines from Russia "so that Russian rocket scientists would not get into North Korea and Iran." Within a few days, Bruno specified that the Russian RD-180 rocket engine is a technological miracle.


RD-180 is technological a miracle perfect for the Atlas mission

- wrote Bruno.

It should be noted that ULA is the joint brainchild of two American corporations - The Boeing Company and Lockheed Martin Corporation, which was born in 2006, that is, at least 15 years after the end of the Cold War. ULA provides the launch of spacecraft using three types of launch vehicles - Atlas-5, Delta-2 and Delta-4. ULA services are used by NASA, the Pentagon and other government agencies in the United States. Moreover, the RD-180 rocket engines were developed in Russia in the period 1994-1999. So what kind of “cold war” Bruno originally had in mind is not entirely clear.

Bruno also turned his attention to the initial tweet by Dmitry Rogozin, head of the Roskosmos state corporation, who diplomatically called it “a strange explanation.”

It turns out that the American company buys our RD-180 engines not because they are the most efficient and reliable in their class (about 90 accident-free launches on the Atlas rocket), but in order “so that they will not go to the Iranians and North Koreans”

- Rogozin wrote in his Twitter account.

It was after this that Bruno published a new tweet in which he expressed his opinion about the RD-180.

In response, Rogozin thanked Bruno for appreciating the qualities of the RD-180. He expressed satisfaction with the cooperation and expressed readiness to continue deliveries of Russian rocket engines to the United States.

It must be added that in January 2020, Roscosmos reported data on the number of RD-2020 engines ordered by the Americans for 180 (six pieces). At the same time, they said from the USA that they would buy RD-180 from Russia by the end of 2023 for sure.
Photos used: NASA / Bill Ingalls / wikimedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

11 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Cyril Offline
    Cyril (Kirill) April 19 2020 15: 13
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Moreover, the RD-180 rocket engines were developed in Russia in the period 1994-1999. So what kind of “cold war” Bruno originally had in mind is not entirely clear.

    Because the RD-180 is a modified half of the RD-180. Which, yes, was developed during the Cold War.
    1. 123 Online
      123 (123) April 19 2020 17: 54
      +3
      • 3
      • 0
      Because the RD-180 is a modified half of the RD-180. Which, yes, was developed during the Cold War.

      foolFirstly, to create the RD-180 engine, the components and assemblies of the RD-170 and RD-171 engines were used.
      Secondly, if you talk like that, Mask missiles are modified FAUs. laughing
      1. Rum rum Offline
        Rum rum (Rum rum) April 19 2020 21: 57
        +1
        • 1
        • 0
        I won’t lie, but I read somewhere that the RD-170s are engines from the Soviet lunar program. The first sold to amers from storage warehouses. This was in the doc film of the early 2000s. recourse
        1. 123 Online
          123 (123) April 19 2020 22: 14
          +3
          • 3
          • 0
          It could even be. I have nothing against such a statement. RD-170 was intended for the Republic of Kazakhstan, "Energy" was one of the most powerful missiles, it is possible that it was considered as a contender for a flight to the moon.
          However, as far as I remember, at the time of its creation, the lunar program was long ago curtailed. Who knows, maybe such plans were considered, I don’t presume to approve anything on this issue. hi
          When they were really preparing to fly to the moon, there was an N-1 rocket.
      2. Cyril Offline
        Cyril (Kirill) April 19 2020 23: 40
        -1
        • 0
        • 1
        Firstly, to create the RD-180 engine, the components and assemblies of the RD-170 and RD-171 engines were used.

        You are right, yes. Sealed up.

        Secondly, if you talk like that, Mask missiles are modified FAUs.

        FAU-2 engines were not the basis of Merlin engines, the analogy, as always with you, is through one place.
        1. 123 Online
          123 (123) April 20 2020 00: 11
          +5
          • 5
          • 0
          It's not even a typo. If you assembled a new engine using the predecessor units, this is normal. They work faultlessly, economically. Where necessary - refine, improve. Simple practice. We did what was required in a short time. What are the claims to people? You, apparently, think that they are not doing anything, they live only on old developments? People are engaged in other projects, and this, since they are buying, why not?
          As for the analogy, yes figs with it. We have successful, trouble-free, cost-effective engines that go through improvements, improve, and refine. If the Americans did not have their own acceptable engine and had to develop a new one, who is to blame? Developed? Well done, let them fly. What, now give them a pie from the shelf?
          1. Cyril Offline
            Cyril (Kirill) April 20 2020 00: 38
            -1
            • 0
            • 1
            Did I say that this is not normal? I just commented on the author’s confusion about the words of the president of ULA that this engine was developed during the Cold War. RD-180 is not just designed using the components and assemblies of the RD-170 - it is the halved version of the RD-170.

            What are the claims to people?

            - none at all. There was no engine rating in my comment. I just answered a specific passage.

            You, apparently, think that they are not doing anything, they live only on old developments?

            - I never think so. Americans use engines developed for the Shuttles at the same time as the RD-170.

            If the Americans did not have their own acceptable engine and had to develop a new one, who is to blame?

            - they have enough of their good engines. Specifically, the RD-180 was chosen due to the fact that, with excellent performance, it was much cheaper than its American counterparts.
            1. 123 Online
              123 (123) April 20 2020 01: 07
              +2
              • 2
              • 0
              Did I say that this is not normal? I just commented on the author’s confusion about the words of the president of ULA that this engine was developed during the Cold War. RD-180 is not just designed using the components and assemblies of the RD-170 - it is the halved version of the RD-170.

              In the summer of 1996, NPO Energomash and Pratt & Whitney signed joint development contract and engine manufacturing. The first engine was shipped to the United States in 1999. Contract completed, engine developed by и made.
              I believe that for 3 years they were engaged in the refinement, testing and commissioning of production. Or have they just been grilling kebabs all this time?
              The engine turned out great.
              Tori Bruno himself believes that "RD-180 is a technological miracle."
              And not only him, but this comrade also liked the design.

              It's embarrassing that Boeing / Lockheed need to use a Russian engine on Atlas, but that engine design is brilliant.

              Elon Musk 23.12.2018/XNUMX/XNUMX

              Do you think the contract is fake?
  2. gorenina91 Offline
    gorenina91 (Irina) April 19 2020 17: 42
    -5
    • 0
    • 5
    It turns out that the American company buys our RD-180 engines not because they are the most efficient and reliable in their class (about 90 accident-free launches on the Atlas rocket), but in order “so that they won’t go to the Iranians and North Koreans,” Rogozin wrote in your Twitter account.

    - But, as always, they forgot about China ... - And yet - back in 2017, Russia was discussing with China the supply of RD-180 rocket engines and then it was only about the supply of finished products ... - But China was not completely satisfied ... and even then he insisted on transferring engine production technologies to him .... - But then Russia did not plan to transfer RD-180 technologies to China ... - But 3 years have passed since then and the conditions could change ...
    - As for the Russian supply of RD-180 engines, they are installed only on the first stage of the Atlas V American heavy missiles ... - And when launched, the first stage always discards ... - Well, it’s very profitable for the Americans to use the reliable Russian RD- engine 180, while they continue to operate Atlas V rockets ... - Why would they bother and create something else ... - it’s easier to buy a Russian engine ...
    - Well, in the future, Russia will be able to sell its RD-180 and to someone else ... - And if it is possible to maintain the first stage of the rocket after launch (after it has separated), then the RD-180 engine can be used repeatedly. ..
    1. shadow Offline
      shadow April 20 2020 20: 58
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Well, they bother sending astronauts from American land. It’s the same here: prestige.
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 19 2020 23: 05
    -4
    • 0
    • 4
    How not to jinx it ...
    Something often began to quote Rogozin, not good ....

Американцы назвали российский ракетный двигатель «технологическим чудом»


Недавно глава американской компании United Launch Alliance Тори Бруно написал в своем Twitter-аккаунте, что в конце «холодной войны» правительство США попросило его компанию покупать у России двигатели РД-180, «чтобы российские ученые-ракетчики не попали в КНДР и Иран». Уже через несколько дней Бруно уточнил, что российский ракетный двигатель РД-180 является технологическим чудом.


РД-180 - это технологическое чудо, идеально подходящее для миссии Atlas

- написал Бруно.

Нужно отметить, что ULA является совместным «детищем» двух американских корпораций - The Boeing Company и Lockheed Martin Corporation, появившемся на свет в 2006 году, то есть как минимум через 15 лет после окончания «холодной войны». ULA обеспечивает выведение космических аппаратов с помощью трех типов ракет-носителей - Атлас-5, Дельта-2 и Дельта-4. Услугами ULA пользуются НАСА, Пентагон и другие государственные структуры США. При этом ракетные двигатели РД-180 были разработаны в России в период 1994-1999 годы. Так что, какую именно «холодную войну» первоначально имел в виду Бруно, не совсем понятно.

На первоначальный твит Бруно также обратил свое внимание и глава госкорпорации «Роскосмос» Дмитрий Рогозин, который дипломатично назвал его «странным объяснением».

Оказывается, американская компания покупает наши двигатели РД-180 не потому, что они самые эффективные и надёжные в своём классе (около 90 безаварийных пусков на ракете Atlas), а для того, «чтобы они не достались иранцам и севкорейцам»

- написал Рогозин в своем Twitter-аккаунте.

Именно после этого Бруно опубликовал новый твит, в котором выразил свое мнение по поводу РД-180.

В ответ Рогозин поблагодарил Бруно за высокую оценку качеств РД-180. Он выразил удовлетворение по поводу сотрудничества и заявил о готовности продолжать поставки российских ракетных двигателей в США.

Нужно добавить, что в январе 2020 года «Роскосмос» сообщил данные о количестве заказанных американцами на 2020 год двигателей РД-180 (шесть штук). При этом из США заявили, что будут покупать у России РД-180 до конца 2023 года точно.
Использованы фотографии: NASA/Bill Ingalls/wikimedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

11 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Cyril Онлайн
    Cyril (Кирилл) 19 апреля 2020 15:13
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    При этом ракетные двигатели РД-180 были разработаны в России в период 1994-1999 годы. Так что, какую именно «холодную войну» первоначально имел в виду Бруно, не совсем понятно.

    Потому что РД-180 - это доработанная половинка РД-180. Который таки да, был разработан во время Холодной войны.
    1. 123 Офлайн
      123 (123) 19 апреля 2020 17:54
      +3
      • 3
      • 0
      Потому что РД-180 - это доработанная половинка РД-180. Который таки да, был разработан во время Холодной войны.

      foolВо-первых, для создания двигателя РД-180 использовались узлы и агрегаты двигателей РД-170 и РД-171.
      Во-вторых, если так рассуждать, ракеты Маска - это доработанные ФАУ. laughing
      1. Ром Ром Офлайн
        Ром Ром (Ром Ром) 19 апреля 2020 21:57
        +1
        • 1
        • 0
        Врать не буду, но где-то читал, что РД-170, это двигатели от советской лунной программы. Первые продали амерам со складов хранения. Это было в док.фильме начала 2000 годов. recourse
        1. 123 Офлайн
          123 (123) 19 апреля 2020 22:14
          +3
          • 3
          • 0
          Очень даже может быть. Ничего против такого утверждения не имею. РД-170 предназначался для РК, "Энергия" была одной из самых мощных ракет, вполне возможно, что ее рассматривали в качестве претендента для полета на Луну.
          Правда, насколько я помню, на момент ее создания лунная программа была давно свернута. Кто его знает, может, такие планы и рассматривались, утверждать что-либо по данному вопросу не берусь. hi
          Когда действительно готовились лететь на Луну, была ракета Н-1.
      2. Cyril Онлайн
        Cyril (Кирилл) 19 апреля 2020 23:40
        -1
        • 0
        • 1
        Во-первых, для создания двигателя РД-180 использовались узлы и агрегаты двигателей РД-170 и РД-171.

        Вы правы, да. Опечатался.

        Во-вторых, если так рассуждать, ракеты Маска - это доработанные ФАУ.

        Двигатели ФАУ-2 не являлись основой двигателей "Мерлин", аналогия, как всегда у Вас, через одно место.
        1. 123 Офлайн
          123 (123) 20 апреля 2020 00:11
          +5
          • 5
          • 0
          Дело даже не в опечатке. Если собрали новый двигатель с использованием узлов предшественников, это нормально. Они работают безотказно, экономически выгодны. Где надо - дорабатывают, улучшают. Обычная практика. Сделали то, что требовалось, в сжатые сроки. Какие к людям претензии? Вы же, видимо, считаете, что они ничего не делают, живут только на старых разработках? Люди занимаются другими проектами, а это, раз покупают, почему нет?
          Что касается аналогии, да фиг с ней. У нас есть удачные, безотказные, экономически эффективные двигатели, идут путем улучшений, совершенствуют, дорабатывают. Если у американцев не оказалось своего приемлемого двигателя и пришлось разрабатывать новый, кто им виноват? Разработали? Ну молодцы, пусть летают. Что, теперь им пирожок с полочки дать?
          1. Cyril Онлайн
            Cyril (Кирилл) 20 апреля 2020 00:38
            -1
            • 0
            • 1
            А я разве говорил, что это не нормально? Я просто прокомментировал замешательство автора насчет слов президента ULA о том, что этот двигатель был разработан во время Холодной войны. РД-180 не просто разработан с использованием узлов и агрегатов РД-170 - это именно уполовиненная версия РД-170.

            Какие к людям претензии?

            - вообще никаких. В моем комментарии не было никакой оценки двигателя. Я просто отвечал на конкретный пассаж.

            Вы же, видимо, считаете, что они ничего не делают, живут только на старых разработках?

            - ни в коем разе так не считаю. Американцы точно так же используют двигатели, разработанные еще для "Шаттлов" в те же времена, что и РД-170.

            Если у американцев не оказалось своего приемлемого двигателя и пришлось разрабатывать новый, кто им виноват?

            - у них достаточно своих хороших движков. Конкретно РД-180 был выбран по причине того, что при отличных показателях он был гораздо дешевле своих американских аналогов.
            1. 123 Офлайн
              123 (123) 20 апреля 2020 01:07
              +2
              • 2
              • 0
              А я разве говорил, что это не нормально? Я просто прокомментировал замешательство автора насчет слов президента ULA о том, что этот двигатель был разработан во время Холодной войны. РД-180 не просто разработан с использованием узлов и агрегатов РД-170 - это именно уполовиненная версия РД-170.

              Летом 1996 года НПО "Энергомаш" и "Pratt&Whitney" подписали контракт о совместной разработке и изготовлении двигателя. Первый двигатель отправлен в США в 1999 году. Контракт выполнен, двигатель разработан и изготовлен.
              Я так полагаю, 3 года они занимались доработкой, испытаниями и наладкой производства. Или они все это время просто шашлыки жарили?
              Двигатель получился отличный.
              Сам Тори Бруно считает, что "РД-180 - это технологическое чудо".
              Да и не только он, вот этому товарищу конструкция тоже понравилась.

              It’s embarrassing that Boeing/Lockheed need to use a Russian engine on Atlas, but that engine design is brilliant.

              Elon Musk 23.12.2018г.

              Считаете, что контракт липовый?
  2. gorenina91 Офлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 19 апреля 2020 17:42
    -5
    • 0
    • 5
    Оказывается, американская компания покупает наши двигатели РД-180 не потому, что они самые эффективные и надёжные в своём классе (около 90 безаварийных пусков на ракете Atlas), а для того, «чтобы они не достались иранцам и севкорейцам», - написал Рогозин в своем Twitter-аккаунте.

    - Но, как всегда, забыли про Китай... - А между тем - ещё в 2017 году Россия обсуждала с Китаем поставку ракетных двигателей РД-180 и речь тогда шла только о поставках готовой продукции... - Но Китай это не полностью устраивало...и он уже тогда настаивал на передаче ему технологий производства двигателя.... - Но тогда Россия не планировала передавать Китаю технологии РД-180... - Но с той поры прошло уже 3 года и условия могли поменяться...
    - Что касается поставки Россией двигателей РД-180, то они устанавливаются только на первую ступень американских тяжелых ракет "Atlas V"... - И при запуске первая ступень всегда отбрасывает... - Ну и американам очень выгодно использовать безотказный российский двигатель РД-180, пока они продолжают эксплуатировать ракеты "Atlas V"... - Зачем им заморачиваться и создавать что-то другое... - проще купить российский двигатель...
    - Ну, а в дальнейшем Россия сможет продавать свои РД-180 и кому-то другому... - И если удастся сохранить первую ступень ракеты после запуска (после того, как она отделилась), то двигатель РД-180 можно будет использовать многоразово...
    1. Тени Офлайн
      Тени 20 апреля 2020 20:58
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Ну они же заморачиваются посылкой астронавтов с американской земли. Тут то же самое: престиж.
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 19 апреля 2020 23:05
    -4
    • 0
    • 4
    Как бы не сглазить...
    Что-то часто Рогозина начали цитировать, не к добру....