Russian electric aircraft engine will be tested in flight


Russian electric aircraft engine, developed by specialists from the Central Institute of Aviation Motors P.I. Baranova, will undergo flight tests this year. The upcoming plans on the eve were told by TsIAM General Director Mikhail Gordin.


According to the functionary, the unit will be tested using the Sigma-4 apparatus. The latter is a two-seat light aircraft with a take-off mass of 600 kg, developed by TsIAM together with the IPCP RAS.

This year, the car flies on batteries, and next year it is planned to conduct tests using solid polymer fuel cells, which will increase flight time.

It is worth noting that the prototype of the first Russian electric motor for aviation was ready last year. However, the previous experiment failed: a 60-kilowatt (80 hp) electric motor could not lift the plane into the air.

According to Gordin, this time the experts took into account all the shortcomings of the system, which were corrected in the current version of the invention.

Recall that in addition to the aforementioned unit, the Central Institute of Aviation Motors. P.I. Baranov is working on a 500-kilowatt demonstrator of a hybrid power plant. The latter is planned to be tested at the Yak-40 flying laboratory, presumably in 2 years.
  • Photos used: Siemens
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. candidate Offline candidate
    candidate (candidate) April 20 2020 19: 51
    +2
    The transition to electric movement leads to a problem in the form of electric motor operation on a screw. For an electric motor, this is a fan load at which the required power has a cubic dependence on the rotation frequency (P ~ ω3). Pumping power through the engine is associated with losses, including losses in copper, i.e. heat losses also increase in the same way. There is a problem with heat dissipation, the dimensions grow, the magnetic properties of the magnets fall, if they are on the rotor.
    Existing approaches to solving this problem, including the use of superconductors, can be described as a “solution to the forehead,” which are also not without drawbacks.
    However, a radical solution to this problem can be achieved only by abandoning the traditional approach to constructing an electric motor-screw system, but this is already a different technological level, a new generation of electric motors. To confirm or refute this, experimental research is needed, as they say, the devil in detail. So the thing is small - to begin.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 21 2020 08: 02
    -1
    I remember a year ago they boasted wunderwafers on superconductivity.
    1) Is that she ???
    2) There was no news that I could not fly ...
    3) Are they randomly poking? It seems that in the aircraft industry it is possible, if not calculated, then conduct analog tests .....

Российский электрический авиадвигатель испытают в полете


Российский электрический авиадвигатель, разработанный специалистами из Центрального института авиационного моторостроения им. П.И. Баранова, пройдет летные испытания в этом году. О предстоящих планах накануне поведал генеральный директор ЦИАМ Михаил Гордин.


Со слов функционера, тестировать агрегат будут с помощью аппарата «Сигма-4». Последний представляет собой двухместный легкий самолет взлетной массой 600 кг, разработанный ЦИАМ совместно с ИПХФ РАН.

В этом году машина полетает на аккумуляторах, а уже в следующем планируется провести испытания с использованием твердополимерных топливных элементов, что позволит увеличить полетное время.

Стоит отметить, что прототип первого российского электродвигателя для авиации был готов еще в прошлом году. Однако предыдущий эксперимент потерпел фиаско: 60-киловаттный (80 л.с.) электромотор так и не смог поднять самолет в воздух.

Как заявил Гордин, на этот раз специалисты учли все недостатки системы, которые были исправлены в текущей версии изобретения.

Напомним, что кроме вышеупомянутого агрегата, в Центральном институте авиационного моторостроения им. П.И. Баранова ведутся работы над 500-киловаттным демонстратором гибридной силовой установки. Последнюю планируется испытать на летающей лаборатории Як-40 предположительно через 2 года.
Использованы фотографии: Siemens
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. кандидат Офлайн
    кандидат (кандидат) 20 апреля 2020 19:51
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Переход на электродвижение тянет за собой проблему в виде работы электродвигателя на винт. Для электродвигателя это вентиляторная нагрузка, при которой требуемая мощность имеет кубический зависимость от частоты вращения (P ~ ω3). Прокачка мощности через двигатель сопряжена с потерями, включая потери в меди, т.е. тепловые потери тоже растут в такой же зависимости. Возникает проблема с отводом тепла, растут габариты, падают магнитные свойства магнитов, если они на роторе.
    Существующие подходы к решению этой проблемы, включая использование сверхпроводников, можно охарактеризовать как «решение в лоб», которые также не лишены недостатков.
    Радикального же решения этой проблемы можно будет добиться только при отказе от традиционного подхода к построению системы «электродвигатель-винт», но это уже другой технологический уровень, новое поколение электродвигателей. Чтобы подтвердить или опровергнуть это, нужны экспериментальные исследования, как говорится, дьявол в деталях. Так что дело за малым – начать.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 21 апреля 2020 08:02
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Помнится, хвастались год назад вундервафлей на сверхпроводимости.
    1) Это она???
    2) О том, что полететь так и не смог, новостей не было...
    3) Они наугад, что ли, тыкают? Вроде, в авиастроении можно, если уж не рассчитать, то провести аналоговые испытания .....