Better than the human eye: Samsung announced a 600 megapixel camera


It would seem that after Xiaomi and Samsung created a 108-megapixel sensor, the struggle for "maximum resolution" in mobile cameras should have subsided. However, less than a year later, rumors began to appear about a smartphone with a 192-megapixel sensor. However, most likely, such a device is not destined to become a sensation.


The thing is that on the eve of the same Samsung talked about the development of a "revolutionary" sensor with a resolution of 600 megapixels. The company has already stated that their brainchild will be able to capture more details than the human eye. According to experts, our vision (when compared with cameras) allows us to look at the world with a resolution of about 500 megapixels.

How does the Korean giant intend to implement such technology, the message does not say. For example, the previous breakthrough (108-megapixels) was achieved by reducing the pixel size from 1,4 microns to 0,8 microns and combining 4 points in one "superpixel" with a side of 1,6 microns. It is likely that a similar principle will be implemented here.

As for the timing of the release of the "all-seeing" sensor, nothing is yet known. It is assumed that such cameras are most likely to be used not in smartphones, but in UAVs and autonomous vehicles.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Лучше человеческого глаза: Samsung анонсировал камеру на 600 мегапикселей


Казалось бы, после создания компаниями Xiaomi и Samsung 108-мегапиксельного датчика, борьба за «максимальное разрешение» в мобильных камерах должна была поутихнуть. Однако, не прошло и года, как стали появляться слухи о смартфоне с 192-мегапиксельным сенсором. Впрочем, скорее всего, сенсацией такому аппарату стать не суждено.


Все дело в том, что накануне все тот же Samsung рассказал о разработке «революционного» датчика разрешением в 600 Мп. В компании уже заявили, что их детище сможет захватывать больше деталей, чем человеческий глаз. По оценкам специалистов, наше зрение (если сравнивать с камерами) позволяет смотреть на мир с разрешением около 500 мегапикселей.

Каким образом корейский гигант намерен реализовать подобную технологию, в сообщении не говорится. Например, предыдущего прорыва (108-Мп) удалось достичь благодаря уменьшению размера пикселя с 1,4 мкм до 0,8 мкм и объединению 4-х точек в один «суперпиксель» со стороной 1,6 мкм. Вероятно, что здесь будет реализован аналогичный принцип.

Что касается сроков выпуска «всевидящего» датчика, пока ничего не известно. При этом предполагается, что такие камеры, скорее всего, будут использоваться не в смартфонах, а в БПЛА и автономном транспорте.
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти