Turkey is moving towards default: how can this threaten the whole world?


The coronavirus pandemic has become a real challenge for Turkey. And this is not only about the medical component. According to international institutions, the country is inexorably moving toward default. At the same time, the deplorable state of the Ottomans may eventually “come round” to the whole world, and that's why.


To begin with, Turkey has already overtaken China (for the entire pandemic) and neighboring Iran in the number of COVID-19 virus infected. Many experts believe that the situation in the country can go according to the “Italian scenario”.

However, despite the difficult situation, Ankara is optimistic about the imminent passage of the peak incidence rate and even by the beginning of summer they plan to open the tourist season for domestic tourists, and then for tourists from Asian countries. The step is risky, but there is no other way.

Economy Turkey largely depends on imports, which, of course, requires the constant availability of a large amount of currency. The country used to withstand crises due to the cheapening of the lira and obtaining loans, but now this is not the case.

Turkey's international reserves amount to $ 89 billion (excluding liabilities). The debt of Turkish companies, which must be paid in the next 12 months, is 172 billion. Tourism brought about 30 billion a year to the country, but this was before the pandemic.

Further more. It was not possible to agree on a loan from the GXNUMX countries. Erdogan is not going to contact the IMF for help.

As a result, one of Europe’s largest regional economies is moving towards default, which could trigger a chain reaction in the region and further aggravate the current crisis. The deterioration of the situation in Turkey itself will inevitably affect the flow of migrants not only from Syria, but also from Iraq, and even from Afghanistan. Indeed, for refugees, this country is a kind of gateway to Europe.

The regime change in Ankara does not bring any good to Russia either. Moscow is currently implementing several important projects in Turkey at once. This Akkuyu NPP, and the Turkish stream, and the supply of S-400 air defense systems. There is also the possibility that the Turks will decide to buy Russian fighters. The coming to power of other people who are more oriented toward the West will jeopardize Russian-Turkish relations.

Moreover, due to aggressive policy Erdogan, Turkey directly or indirectly got involved in several regional conflicts (Syria, Libya). And how for her (and not only for her) the “impending storm” will end, while no one knows.

  • Used photos: http://kremlin.ru/
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 24 2020 14: 17
    -1
    Progress! Before 30 years they wrote - the dollar is about to fall, now they will write - the lyre is about to collapse ...
    1. xilia72 Offline xilia72
      xilia72 (xantos) April 24 2020 15: 37
      0
      Their lyre has always fallen.
      1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
        Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 24 2020 16: 00
        -3
        And it will leisurely fall further ..
        They are also sitting at the crossroads of Africa-Asia-Europe + a good economy, army, tourism, etc.
  2. kriten Offline kriten
    kriten (Vladimir) April 24 2020 15: 41
    +2
    Rather, maybe terrorists of all stripes will have nothing to feed from ... Nobody will cry except for the Turks ....
  3. Roarv Offline Roarv
    Roarv (Robert) April 24 2020 21: 57
    0
    An interesting scenario is that the pre-default country begs the country with an oil and gas needle in veins to increase the quota for tomato imports.
    1. sharp-lad Offline sharp-lad
      sharp-lad (Oleg) April 25 2020 21: 37
      +2
      Did Erdogan ask Trump to skip Turkish tomatoes in the US? what
  4. Alexander Semenov (Alexander Semenov) April 26 2020 14: 47
    -3
    Russia will give a loan ... they will tell that it is a strategic partner and friend !!
  5. Syoma_67 Offline Syoma_67
    Syoma_67 (Semyon) 28 May 2020 20: 33
    -4
    "Turkey is heading for default," "America is bankrupt," "Ukraine will freeze," "the EU is about to fall apart" - articles for schizophrenics and cheers.

Турция движется к дефолту: чем это может грозить всему миру?


Пандемия коронавируса стала настоящим испытанием для Турции. И речь здесь идет не только о медицинской составляющей. По оценкам международных институтов страна неумолимо движется к дефолту. При этом плачевное состояние османов может в итоге «аукнуться» всему миру, и вот почему.


Начнем с того, что по количеству зараженных вирусом COVID-19 Турция уже обогнала Китай (за все время пандемии) и соседний Иран. Многие эксперты полагают, что ситуация в стране может пойти по «итальянскому сценарию».

Однако, несмотря на сложное положение, в Анкаре с оптимизмом заявляют о скором прохождении пика заболеваемости и даже к началу лета планируют открыть туристический сезон для внутренних туристов, а затем и для туристов из стран Азии. Шаг рискованный, но другого выхода нет.

Экономика Турции во многом зависит от импорта, что, естественно, требует постоянного наличия большого объема валюты. Раньше страна выдерживала кризисы за счет удешевления лиры и получения кредитов, но сейчас не тот случай.

Международные резервы Турции составляют 89 млрд долларов (без вычета обязательств). Долг турецких компаний, который необходимо выплатить в ближайшие 12 месяцев равен 172 млрд. Туризм приносил стране около 30 млрд в год, но это было до пандемии.

Дальше – больше. Договориться о займе у стран «Большой двадцатки» не удалось. К МВФ Эрдоган за помощью обращаться не собирается.

В итоге одна из крупнейших региональных экономик Европы движется к дефолту, что может запустить цепную реакцию в регионе и еще сильнее усугубить текущий кризис. Ухудшение ситуации в самой Турции неизбежно скажется на потоке мигрантов не только из Сирии, но и из Ирака, и даже из Афганистана. Ведь для беженцев эта страна является своеобразными воротами в Европу.

Смена режима в Анкаре ничего хорошего не несет и России. Москва в данный момент реализует в Турции сразу несколько важных проектов. Это и АЭС Аккую, и Турецкий поток, и поставки ЗРК С-400. Есть также вероятность, что турки решат закупить российские истребители. Приход к власти других людей, более ориентированных на Запад, поставит под угрозу российско-турецкие отношения.

Более того, из-за агрессивной политики Эрдогана, Турция прямо или косвенно ввязалась сразу в несколько региональных конфликтов (Сирия, Ливия). И чем для нее (и не только для нее) завершится «надвигающийся шторм», пока никто не знает.

  • Использованы фотографии: http://kremlin.ru/
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 24 апреля 2020 14:17
    -1
    Прогресс! Раньше 30 лет писали - доллар вот-вот падет, теперь будут писать - лира вот-вот рухнет...
    1. xilia72 Офлайн xilia72
      xilia72 (xantos) 24 апреля 2020 15:37
      0
      Их лира всегда падала.
      1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 24 апреля 2020 16:00
        -3
        И будет неспеша падать дальше..
        Они же на перекрестке Африка-Азия-Европа сидят + неплохая экономика, армия, туризм и т.п.
  2. kriten Офлайн kriten
    kriten (Владимир) 24 апреля 2020 15:41
    +2
    Скорей бы, может, террористов всех мастей кормить будет не из чего... Никто не заплачет, кроме турок....
  3. Роарв Офлайн Роарв
    Роарв (Роберт) 24 апреля 2020 21:57
    0
    Интересный расклад - преддефолтная страна упрашивает страну с нефтегазовой иглой в венах увеличить квоту на импорт помидоров.
    1. sharp-lad Офлайн sharp-lad
      sharp-lad (Олег) 25 апреля 2020 21:37
      +2
      Разве Эрдоган просил Трампа пропустить в США турецкие помидоры? what
  4. Александр Семенов (Александр Семенов) 26 апреля 2020 14:47
    -3
    Россия кредит даст... расскажут, что это стратегический партнёр и друг!!
  5. Сёма_67 Офлайн Сёма_67
    Сёма_67 (Семён) 28 мая 2020 20:33
    -4
    "Турция движется к дефолту", "Америка банкрот", "Украина замёрзнет", "ЕС вот-вот развалится" - статьи для шизофреников и ура-патриотов.