“Cracking ice meters”: Der Spiegel about Russia's most powerful nuclear-powered ship


The German publication "Spiegel" drew attention to the start of construction of a unique icebreaker "Leader" of its kind. The vessel will be 209 meters long, 47,7 meters wide, and a displacement of 71 thousand tons. It is expected that the ship will sail in 2027.


Thanks to two nuclear reactors and a total capacity of 120 megawatts produced by them, the icebreaker will be able to break through ice up to four meters thick. According to German media, the cost of building an icebreaker will be 127,5 billion rubles (about 1,5 billion euros). The ship will be built at a shipyard in the Far Eastern region in the city of Big Stone, on the Pacific Ocean.

Russia plans to use the Northern Sea Route for year-round navigation in the Arctic, and the construction of a new icebreaker is a serious bid for the implementation of these projects. In addition to the Leader, the state company Rosatom will build two more icebreaking ships - they will be commissioned in 2030 and 2032, respectively.

Russian icebreakers are considered the most unique in the world. Currently, the largest nuclear-powered icebreaker is “50 Years of Victory”, it was used in 2014 during the Sochi Olympics to deliver Olympic flame from Murmansk to the North Pole. This was the first visit to the pole during the polar winter.
Photos used: Rosatom
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

«Взламывая метры льда»: Der Spiegel о мощнейшем атомоходе России


Немецкое издание «Шпигель» обратило внимание на начало строительства уникального в своем роде ледокола «Лидер». Длина судна составит 209 метров, ширина – 47,7 метра, а водоизмещение достигнет 71 тысячи тонн. Ожидается, что корабль выйдет в плавание в 2027 году.


Благодаря двум ядерным реакторам и вырабатываемой ими суммарной мощности в 120 мегаватт, ледокол сможет пробивать лед толщиной до четырех метров. По данным немецкого СМИ, стоимость строительства ледокола составит 127,5 млрд рублей (около 1,5 млрд евро). Корабль будет построен на судостроительной верфи в Дальневосточном регионе в городе Большой Камень, на берегу Тихого океана.

Россия планирует использовать Северный морской путь для круглогодичной навигации по Арктике, и строительство нового ледокола – серьезная заявка на реализацию этих проектов. Кроме «Лидера», государственная компания «Росатом» построит еще два ледокольных корабля – они будут введены в эксплуатацию в 2030 и 2032 году соответственно.

Российские ледоколы считаются самыми уникальными в мире. В настоящее время крупнейший атомный ледокол – «50 лет Победы», его использовали в 2014 году во время сочинской Олимпиады для доставки из Мурманска на Северный полюс олимпийского огня. Это было первое посещение полюса во время полярной зимы.
Использованы фотографии: Росатом
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти