US strategic aviation is in decline


American bomber aircraft is in a serious crisis, writes the specialized publication Defense News. Restoring its potential is a vital necessity, given the “importance of bombers for the nation,” said retired US Air Force Major General Larry Stutsrim.


A military expert claims that the United States operates the smallest and oldest fleet of strategic bombers since its founding in 1947. During the Cold War with the USSR, there were 400 of them, today - 157, of which 17 should be written off in 2021 for the sake of economy. The problem is that the US Air Force "overstrained" during intense fighting after the events of September 11: "too many missions and too few airplanes."

The retired general notes that strategic bombers are a unique force. They are capable of carrying huge ammunition to the target, without needing at the same time foreign “jump bases”, to destroy underground fortified objects. The costs of their operation are lower than for missions using, for example, a fleet or a squadron of small attack aircraft. Larry Stutsrim points out that in the fight against ISIS, several B-1 Lancer delivered more bombs than all the aircraft carrier wing.

It is precisely with the weakening offensive potential of US strategic aviation that the retired general attributes Washington’s recent decision to withdraw five B-52 bombers from Guam. The publication laments that the Pentagon has money for a cannon capable of firing 1000 miles, but no money for strategic aviation, which requires a doubling of the B-21 program.
  • Photos used: https://www.pxfuel.com/
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Observer2014 Offline Observer2014
    Observer2014 April 24 2020 21: 14
    -5
    US strategic aviation is in decline

    Stunned! Do we have a lift? Give me a minus. What, where is the rise and decline? Where is this fine line? Is this a reference point? Minus - plus. I'm talking about the topic of the article. I'm talking about strategic aviation, not only the United States.
    1. Observer2014 Offline Observer2014
      Observer2014 April 24 2020 22: 27
      -6
      -1 That's a minus. Russian Russians urinate, as I said. yes
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 24 2020 23: 32
    -1
    What an urya nightmare !!! Urya decline! 157 total !!!
    And here we have 2 !! the other day M did a swan ... and M2 is generally the same for the whole country .... victory!
    1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
      Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) April 25 2020 09: 10
      +1
      Quote: Sergey Latyshev
      And here we have 2 !!

      And use from them. Would stand in Cuba or Nicaragua, would be a strike unit. In the meantime, if you fly from Saratov to London or Anchorage, the war will end 10 times.
    2. Orange big Offline Orange big
      Orange big (Max) April 25 2020 21: 21
      +1
      Quote: Sergey Latyshev
      What an urya nightmare !!! Urya decline! 157 total !!!
      And here we have 2 !! the other day M did a swan ... and M2 is generally the same for the whole country .... victory!

      Don’t freak out. Take it easy.

Стратегическая авиация США оказалась в упадке


Американская бомбардировочная авиация находится в серьезном кризисе, пишет специализированное издание Defense News. Восстановление ее потенциала – жизненная необходимость, учитывая «значимость бомбардировщиков для нации», считает генерал-майор ВВС США в отставке Ларри Штутсрим.


Военный эксперт утверждает, что США эксплуатируют самый немногочисленный и самый старый парк стратегических бомбардировщиков с момента основания в 1947 году. Во времена «Холодной войны» с СССР их было 400, сегодня – 157, из которых 17 должны быть списаны в 2021 году ради экономии. Проблема заключается в том, что ВВС США «перенапряглись» в ходе интенсивных боевых действий после событий 11 сентября: «слишком много миссий и слишком мало самолетов».

Отставной генерал отмечает, что стратегические бомбардировщики представляют собой уникальную силу. Они способны нести к цели огромный по мощности боезапас, не нуждаясь при этом в иностранных «базах подскока», уничтожать подземные укрепленные объекты. Расходы на их эксплуатацию при этом ниже, чем на миссии с использованием, например, флота или эскадрильи небольших ударных самолетов. Ларри Штутсрим указывает, что при борьбе против ИГИЛ несколько B-1 Lancer доставили больше бомб, чем все авиакрыло авианосца.

Именно с ослаблением наступательного потенциала стратегической авиации США отставной генерал связывает недавнее решение Вашингтона отозвать с острова Гуам пять бомбардировщиков B-52. Издание сокрушается, что у Пентагона есть деньги на пушку, способную стрелять на 1000 миль, но нет денег на стратегическую авиацию, которая требует удвоения программы B-21.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.pxfuel.com/
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Наблюдатель2014 24 апреля 2020 21:14
    -5
    Стратегическая авиация США оказалась в упадке

    Обалдеть! У нас подъём? Поставьте мне минус. Что, где есть подъём и упадок? Где эта тонкая грань? Эта точка отсчёта? Минуса - плюса. Я про тему статьи. Я про стратегическую авиацию даже не только США.
    1. Наблюдатель2014 24 апреля 2020 22:27
      -6
      -1 Вот и минус. Русские русских мочат, как я и говорил. yes
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 24 апреля 2020 23:32
    -1
    Какой уря-кошмар!!! уря-упадок! 157 всего!!!
    А у нас вот 2!! лебедя на днях М сделали... а М2 вообще на всю страну один.... победа!
    1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн Оё Сарказми
      Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 25 апреля 2020 09:10
      +1
      Цитата: Сергей Латышев
      А у нас вот 2!!

      И проку-то от них. Стояли бы на Кубе или Никарагуа, были бы ударной единицей. А пока из Саратова до Лондона или Анкориджа долетишь - война 10 раз успеет кончиться.
    2. Orange Big Офлайн Orange Big
      Orange Big (Макс) 25 апреля 2020 21:21
      +1
      Цитата: Сергей Латышев
      Какой уря-кошмар!!! уря-упадок! 157 всего!!!
      А у нас вот 2!! лебедя на днях М сделали... а М2 вообще на всю страну один.... победа!

      Не психуй. Успокойся.