Nuclear Race: Rosatom has an important advantage over the USA


The USA declared Russia another “energy war”. Now, in addition to the struggle for hydrocarbon markets, the objects of US sanctions may be the projects of Rosatom, as well as Chinese nuclear energy.


What should the next attacks on our country be indicative of?

On the eve of the US Department of Energy, a report was issued in which it actually recognized that the “hegemon” had lost its leadership position in nuclear energy compared with Russia and China. The conclusions presented in it may well be considered a declaration of war:

The US government will enter markets dominated by state-owned companies in Russia and China, and will restore our position as a world leader in exporting the best of technologies in the field of nuclear energy, and at the same time strict non-proliferation standards.


From the point of view of the White House, the situation was unacceptable. The United States was indeed one of the world leaders in the field of peaceful atom, but in the era of globalism, they seriously lost ground. Since the mid-nineties, only one power unit was built, numerous existing nuclear power plants are gradually developing their resources, and this is 97 operating reactors. The United States is not building the so-called “fast” reactors now, unlike Russia or China. In our country, for example, BN-800, BREST-300 and MBIR, which Rosatom is engaged in, in China - CDFR-600.

At the same time, the collapse of the USSR played a cruel joke with the United States itself. It turned out that the Russian (Soviet) technology for the enrichment of uranium, from which nuclear fuel is made, is more economically profitable than American than the latter have used. As part of the 1993 HEU-LEU deal, domestic weapons-grade uranium was converted to low enriched fuel for foreign nuclear power plants. After that, 20% of the quota was introduced for the supply of Russian fuel to the US market. Rosatom even intended to build an enrichment plant in America, but the European concern URENCO received permission instead.

As a result, URENCO USA accounts for 48% of the nuclear fuel market, the remaining 52% to other foreign suppliers. The hegemon does not have its own national uranium enrichment enterprises: old plants are closed, new ones have not yet been built. At the same time, local producers complain that the share of raw material production in the USA itself has fallen from 49% to 5%, now they demand that Donald Trump introduce a quota for US uranium of 25%.

In general, there are obvious problems and a serious lag, which is unacceptable for the president, who proclaimed the slogan on the return of America to its former greatness. At the same time, competitors did not lose time in vain. For example, 48 power units are already operating in China, of which 45 were commissioned in just the last 20 years, when the development of these technologies in the United States actually stopped. Note that Beijing acts in a very original way: at home, the Chinese trust the French, Americans and Russians to build nuclear power plants, and they promote their own designed reactors in the markets of Asia, Africa and Latin America.

But so far, Moscow is still the main rival for Washington. Rosatom has a major competitive advantage by providing a turnkey nuclear power plant project: from construction and staff training to after-sales service and spent fuel utilization. Thanks to this, the state corporation is actively promoting its services around the world.

In this case, I would like to draw attention to one promising project called “TVS-Square”. This is a direct response to the attempt to expand Westinghouse into traditional Russian markets in Eastern Europe and Ukraine. Domestic square-section fuel assemblies can also be installed in future in American-made reactors, which could not but cause concern at the US Department of Energy.

Knowing policies Washington, there is no doubt that it will begin to use all its sanctions capabilities to weaken the positions of Russia and China in the peaceful atom market.
Photos used: RIA Novosti / Alexey Danichev / CC-BY-SA 3.0 / wikipedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

8 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker April 25 2020 12: 57
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Russia is building all nuclear power plants abroad for its own credit. The payback period is 25-30 years. Therefore, the US of Russia is not a competitor.
    1. Badger Offline
      Badger (Dmitriy) 1 May 2020 09: 55
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      All countries are building this way or according to a very close scheme. The construction of such an object is very expensive, and very few can pay for everything.
      Russia is building on a turnkey basis, as described in the article, and this gives us greater advantages than others, we benefit now and especially in the future.
  2. 123 Offline
    123 (123) April 25 2020 19: 14
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Since the unforgettable Mikhail Sergeyevich in the United States for 13 years, reactors have not been built at all. If I am not mistaken, at the moment 2 reactors are under construction, South Korea is working. They themselves have forgotten how. Here is such a "leader" of technological development. What kind of war can they declare? Unless they continue to shit in a petty way, crushing potential customers, they do it that way. An example is the Bulgarians.
  3. boriz Offline
    boriz (boriz) April 25 2020 20: 58
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    The United States has truly been one of the world leaders in the field of peaceful atom, ...

    And where is this seen? The United States has never had uranium enrichment with industrial centrifuges. For decades, experiments and, sometimes, pilot production with centrifuges, a maximum of the third generation, have been conducted. In Russia, the 9th generation centrifuge is now in industrial use.
    What is happening in the USA right now is hysteria, from the realization that they are forever behind Russia. And Russia in the next 30 years, at least, will not be able to catch up with anyone in the world.
    Germany sends us the remnants of uranium hexafluoride, from which 235 uranium can no longer be extracted, and pays money for this, as for the disposal of nuclear waste. And Russian nuclear scientists load it into their centrifuges and continue to pull out 235 uranium from there. Because our centrifuges allow us to extract more of this uranium, due to higher characteristics. That is, it is not necessary to extract uranium from the earth, it is not necessary to make hexafluoride from it.
    And then, when uranium is not already liberated in our centrifuges, uranium 239 is isolated and used in MOX TVEL, in the form of a ballast. MOX fuel is the know-how of our nuclear scientists. When the MOX TVEL fulfills its life in the reactor, a significant part of uranium 239 is converted to uranium 235 and can be passed through centrifuges and used as fuel in reactors. It turns out to be an almost closed cycle.
    The rest of the world is very far from this. For the United States, this is simply unattainable.
    They are used to being the coolest or making others work for themselves. And now the world is changing, you have to pay for everything. Pay with real money, not green candy wrappers. But real money must still be able to earn. But there are problems with this, not used to it, sir.
  4. Konstantin Brykov (Konstantin Brykov) April 26 2020 09: 31
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Russia is a recognized world leader in nuclear energy. And the USA is nobody!) Everything that once could do and build is in the past. Competencies are confused, and collecting their business is not easy. About 20 years they did not build anything and did not design a suitable one.
  5. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline
    Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) April 26 2020 15: 29
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Information for the author: Westinghouse is 100% owned by Rosatom.
    1. T. Henks Offline
      T. Henks (Igor) 1 May 2020 09: 56
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Why then are assemblies getting into editors in Ukraine so badly? And why is Westinghouse bankrupt?
      1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline
        Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 1 May 2020 18: 03
        +3
        • 3
        • 0
        He went bankrupt 4 years ago when Toshiba sold him. Rosatom bought and received all patent rights for square fuel elements. What you need to sell uranium in the United States.

«Ядерная гонка»: у Росатома есть важное преимущество перед США


США объявили России еще одну «энергетическую войну». Теперь помимо борьбы за рынки сбыта углеводородного сырья, объектом американских санкций могут стать проекты «Росатома», а заодно и китайская атомная энергетика.


О чем же должны свидетельствовать очередные нападки на нашу страну?

Накануне Минэнерго США вышло с докладом, в котором фактически признало, что «гегемон» потерял свои лидерские позиции в ядерной энергетике по сравнению с Россией и КНР. Приведенные в нем выводы вполне можно считать объявлением войны:

Правительство США выйдет на рынки, где сегодня доминируют государственные компании России и Китая, и восстановит нашу позицию в качестве мирового лидера в экспорте лучших технологий в сфере ядерной энергетики, а заодно и жестких стандартов нераспространения.


С точки зрения Белого дома, ситуация сложилась неприемлемая. Соединенные Штаты действительно были одним из мировых лидеров в области мирного атома, но в эпоху глобализма серьезно сдали свои позиции. С середины девяностых годов был построен всего один энергоблок, многочисленные имеющиеся АЭС постепенно вырабатывают свой ресурс, а это 97 действующих реакторов. Так называемые «быстрые» реакторы Соединенные Штаты сейчас не строят, в отличие от России или КНР. В нашей стране это, например, БН-800, БРЕСТ-300 и МБИР, которыми занимается «Росатом», в Китае – CDFR-600.

При этом развал СССР сыграл злую шутку с самими США. Выяснилось, что российская (советская) технология обогащения урана, из которого делают ядерное топливо, экономически выгоднее американской, чем последние и воспользовались. В рамках сделки ВОУ-НОУ от 1993 года отечественный оружейный уран перерабатывался в низкообогащенный на топливо для иностранных АЭС. После для поставок российского топлива на рынок США были введены 20% квоты. «Росатом» даже намеревался построить в Америке обогатительный завод, но вместо него разрешение получил европейский концерн URENCO.

В результате на URENCO USA приходится 48% рынка ядерного топлива, остальные 52% - на иных иностранных поставщиков. Собственных национальных предприятий по обогащению урана у «гегемона» сейчас нет: старые заводы закрыты, новые пока не построены. При этом местные производители жалуются, что доля добычи сырья в самих США упала с 49% до 5%, теперь они требуют от Дональда Трампа ввести квоту на американский уран в 25%.

В целом, налицо явные проблемы и серьезное отставание, что неприемлемо для президента, провозгласившего лозунг о возвращении Америке былого величия. При этом конкуренты не теряли времени даром. Например, в Китае работает уже 48 энергоблоков, из которых 45 введены в строй всего за последние 20 лет, когда развитие этих технологий в США фактически остановилось. Отметим, что Пекин действует весьма оригинально: у себя дома китайцы доверяют строить АЭС французам, американцам и русским, а реакторы собственной разработки они продвигают на рынках Азии, Африки и Латинской Америки.

Но главным соперником для Вашингтона все же пока является Москва. «Росатом» имеет важнейшее конкурентное преимущество, предоставляя проект АЭС «под ключ»: от строительства и обучения персонала до сервисного обслуживания и утилизации отработанного топлива. Благодаря этому, госкорпорация активно продвигает свои услуги по всему миру.

При этом хотелось бы обратить внимание на один перспективный проект под названием «ТВС-Квадрат». Это прямой ответ на попытку экспансии компании «Westinghouse» на традиционные российские рынки в Восточной Европе и Украине. Отечественные топливные сборки квадратного сечения в перспективе могут быть установлены и в реакторы американского производства, что не могло не вызвать озабоченности в Минэнерго США.

Зная политику Вашингтона, можно не сомневаться, что он начнет применять все свои санкционные возможности, чтобы ослабить позиции России и Китая на рынке мирного атома.
Использованы фотографии: RIA Novosti/Alexey Danichev/CC-BY-SA 3.0/wikipedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. сталевар Онлайн
    сталевар 25 апреля 2020 12:57
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Россия все АЭС за рубежом строит за свой же кредит. Срок окупаемости 25-30 лет. Поэтому США России здесь не конкурент.
    1. Барсук Офлайн
      Барсук (Дмитрий) 1 мая 2020 09:55
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Все страны строят именно так или по очень близкой схеме. Строительство такого объекта очень дорого, и очень немногие могут всё оплатить.
      Россия строит "под ключ", как описано в статье, и это даёт нам большие преимущества, нежели другие, нам выгода и сейчас, и особенно в будущем.
  2. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 25 апреля 2020 19:14
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Со времен незабвенного Михаила Сергеевича в США 13 лет реакторы не строили вообще. Если не ошибаюсь, на данный момент строится 2 реактора, работает Южная Корея. Сами разучились. Вот такой вот "лидер" технологического развития. Какую войну они могут объявлять? Разве что продолжат гадить по-мелкому, давя на потенциальных заказчиков, так они и так это делают. Пример - болгары.
  3. boriz Офлайн
    boriz (boriz) 25 апреля 2020 20:58
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    Соединенные Штаты действительно были одним из мировых лидеров в области мирного атома, ...

    А откуда это видно? США никогда не имели обогащения урана с помощью центрифуг на промышленном уровне. Десятки лет велись эксперименты и, иногда, опытное производство с центрифугами, максимум, третьего поколения. В России сейчас в промышленном использовании центрифуги 9-го поколения.
    То, что сейчас происходит в США - истерика, от осознания того, что они отстали от России навсегда. А Россию в ближайшие лет 30, как минимум, не сможет догнать никто в мире.
    Германия отправляет нам остатки гексафторида урана, из которых уже не может извлечь уран 235, и платит за это деньги, как за утилизацию ядерных отходов. А российские атомщики загружают это в свои центрифуги и продолжают вытаскивать оттуда уран 235. Потому что наши центрифуги позволяют извлекать больше этого урана, за счёт более высоких характеристик. То есть, не надо добывать уран из земли, не надо делать из него гексафторид.
    А потом, когда уран не выделяется уже и на наших центрифугах, выделяют уран 239 и используют его в МОКС ТВЭЛ, в виде как бы балласта. МОКС топливо - это ноу-хау наших атомщиков. Когда МОКС ТВЭЛ отрабатывают свой срок в реакторе, значительная часть урана 239 превращается в уран 235 и его можно пропустить через центрифуги и использовать как топливо в реакторах. Получается почти замкнутый цикл.
    Остальному миру до этого очень далеко. Для США это просто недостижимо.
    Они привыкли быть самыми крутыми или заставлять других работать на себя. А сейчас мир меняется, за всё придётся платить. Платить реальными деньгами, а не зелёными фантиками. А реальные деньги надо ещё уметь заработать. А вот с этим - проблемы, не привыкли-с.
  4. Константин Брыков (Константин Брыков) 26 апреля 2020 09:31
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Россия - признанный мировой лидер в атомной энергетике. А США - никто!) Все, что когда-то могли делать и строить - в прошлом. Компетенции растеряны, и собрать их дело непростое. Лет 20 уже ничего не строили и не проектировали годного.
  5. Оё Сарказми Офлайн
    Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 26 апреля 2020 15:29
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    К сведению автора: «Westinghouse» на 100% принадлежит Росатому.
    1. T. Henks Офлайн
      T. Henks (Игорь) 1 мая 2020 09:56
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Чего ж тогда так плохо сборки лезут в редакторы на Украине? И чего это Вестингауз банкрот?
      1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн
        Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 1 мая 2020 18:03
        +3
        • 3
        • 0
        Он был банкротом 4 года назад, когда его продавала Тосиба. Росатом купил, и получил все патентные права на ТВЭЛы квадратного сечения. То, что нужно для продажи урана в США.