Media: Russia found NATO's weak spot


NATO has a “weak link” - Northern Macedonia, which was admitted to the Alliance on March 27, 2020, as a result of the eighth expansion of the bloc. Moreover, the American publication Foreign Policy believes that Russia will certainly take advantage of the weakness of this country and it will become “easy prey”.


The publication said that Moscow, which has a negative attitude towards the east’s expansion of the Alliance, since the 2000s, has actively opposed this process and intends to “repulse NATO”. Therefore, Russia will take advantage political, economic, interethnic and other problems of Northern Macedonia, in which the army, in addition, has a total of 8 thousand troops.

The publication claims that in 2008 Russia “attacked” Georgia, and in 2014, Ukraine, “annexing” Crimea, as part of the concept of opposing the NATO bloc. And this “aggressive” actions of Russia will not stop. Moscow is quite capable of striking a NATO member country. And considering that Northern Macedonia is the youngest and weakest, it automatically turns into the “legitimate goal of Putin”, especially since Russia has long been approaching this country.

Moscow delivered S-400 anti-aircraft missile systems to neighboring Serbia, took part in an attempted coup in Montenegro, and also tried to destabilize the situation in Bosnia and Herzegovina (...)

- said in a publication.

The change in the vector of “aggression” of Russia from the Baltic States to the Balkans is explained by the fact that Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia are already “well protected from attack”. On the territory of the Baltic countries posted military technique and "thousands of NATO troops." Moreover, in the Balkans, the Alliance's positions are much weaker, and forces and means are limited. Therefore, we can assume that NATO will not use “Article 5” and stand up for Northern Macedonia in the event of “aggression” of Russia. And, of course, the Kremlin is well aware of this.

As a result, the publication concludes that the NATO leadership needs to pursue a more active policy in the Balkans, explaining to the local population the benefits of being in the Alliance and a united Europe so that people do not succumb to the "false speech of the Kremlin."
Photos used: https://www.flickr.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. King3214 Offline
    King3214 (Sergius) April 26 2020 14: 28
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    The more NATO spends real resources, defending itself against virtual threats - the better.
  2. GRF Offline
    GRF April 26 2020 16: 36
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    NATO, your weakest point is the United States, it will buck and NATO will not ...
  3. Let them expand - we will burn everyone with hydrogen, ALL!

СМИ: Россия нашла слабое место НАТО


В составе НАТО имеется «слабое звено» - Северная Македония, которая была принята в Альянс 27 марта 2020 года, в результате восьмого расширения блока. При этом американское издание Foreign Policy считает, что Россия обязательно воспользуется слабостью этой страны и она станет «легкой добычей».


В публикации сказано, что Москва, негативно относящаяся к расширению Альянса на восток, начиная с 2000-х годов, активно противодействует этому процессу и намерена «дать отпор НАТО». Поэтому Россия воспользуется политическими, экономическими, межэтническими и другими проблемами Северной Македонии, у которой армия, к тому же, насчитывает всего 8 тыс. военнослужащих.

Издание утверждает, что в 2008 году Россия «напала» на Грузию, а в 2014 году на Украину, «аннексировав» Крым, в рамках концепции противодействия блоку НАТО. И на этом «агрессивные» действия России не прекратятся. Москва вполне способна нанести удар и по стране-члену НАТО. А учитывая, что Северная Македония является самой молодой и слабой, то она автоматически превращается в «законную цель Путина», тем более, что Россия уже давно подбирается к этой стране.

Москва поставила в соседнюю Сербию зенитно-ракетные комплексы С-400, приняла участие в попытке государственного переворота в Черногории, а также попыталась дестабилизировать ситуацию в Боснии и Герцеговине (...)

- сказано в публикации.

Смена вектора «агрессии» России с Прибалтики на Балканы поясняется тем, что Латвия, Литва и Эстония уже «хорошо защищены от нападения». На территории стран Прибалтики размещена военная техника и «тысячи военнослужащих НАТО». При этом на Балканах позиции Альянса значительно слабее, а силы и средства ограничены. Поэтому можно предположить, что НАТО не станет использовать «статью 5» и вступаться за Северную Македонию в случае «агрессии» России. И об этом, без сомнения, хорошо осведомлены в Кремле.

В итоге, издание приходит к выводу, что руководству НАТО необходимо проводить более активную политику на Балканах, разъясняя местному населению преимущества от нахождения в Альянсе и объединенной Европе, чтобы люди не поддавались на «лживые речи Кремля».
Использованы фотографии: https://www.flickr.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. King3214 Офлайн
    King3214 (Сергий) 26 апреля 2020 14:28
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Чем больше НАТО тратит реальных ресурсов, защищаясь от виртуальных угроз - тем лучше.
  2. GRF Офлайн
    GRF 26 апреля 2020 16:36
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    НАТО, ваше самое слабое место - США, взбрыкнет оно и НАТО не будет...
  3. Пущай расширяются - всех выжжем водородом, ВСЕХ!