IISS: Russia failed its oil adventure


Russia's agreement to radically reduce oil production under the new OPEC + deal is evaluated differently. Nigel Gould-Davis, an expert at IISS (International Institute for Strategic Studies), a senior fellow for Russia and Eurasia, considered this a major economic and political defeat.


According to the author, the refusal to extend the deal in Vienna on March 6 was a big mistake, guilty of which was Igor Sechin, the head of Rosneft and Putin’s closest ally, who insisted on trying to bring bankruptcy of the US shale oil industry to bankruptcy. Earlier, in 2015, Saudi Arabia could not cope with the same task.

The results of this ill-conceived decision were extremely negative. After refusing to extend the deal by Russia, the Saudis increased oil production and staged massive dumping. The price collapse began, but the Kremlin was counting on its reserves of $ 580 billion and the NWF, whose assets amounted to 150 billion. Due to them, Moscow intended to hold out for six years. Instead, Russia made concessions to OPEC + after only six weeks of low oil prices.

In addition to economic losses, the Kremlin suffered serious political defeat in several directions, points out Nigel Gould-Davis.

At first, through its actions, Moscow ruined relations with Riyadh and all its Middle Eastern diplomacy, which had only before been established. In 2017, their culmination was the visit of Salman bin Abdel Aziz al-Saud to Moscow.

Secondly, the United States, which themselves did not join it, played a key role in organizing the new OPEC + deal. Thus, the United States has demonstrated that they, and not Russia, are the real “energy superpower.” Oil is only one sector for Washington economics, for Moscow and Riyadh - the main source of income.

ThirdlyHaving returned to the negotiating table in just six weeks instead of six years, the Kremlin showed the whole world its weakness and readiness to make unprofitable concessions for itself, which could encourage the US Congress to introduce new anti-Russian sanctions in the future.

The IISS expert concludes that the Kremlin’s decision to “bankrupt the American shale industry” is an example of an opaque personalistic policy that has ultimately done serious damage to Russia's economic political interests.
Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

15 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vladimir_ Voronov (Vladimir) April 28 2020 16: 39
    +3
    • 8
    • 5
    The author would like to recall two truths:
    1. "Everything is known by comparison," and for any of the International Institute for Strategic Studies, Russia, in principle, cannot defeat the United States.
    2. "Chickens in the fall count." Too many, including Western experts, do not predict the United States anything good, or even collapse. There is not much to wait.
  2. Arkharov Offline
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) April 28 2020 17: 25
    0
    • 4
    • 4
    Well, what is there to refute?
  3. The comment was deleted.
  4. boriz Offline
    boriz (boriz) April 28 2020 17: 47
    +1
    • 6
    • 5
    Shale oil (and, in the short term, gas) has almost been killed. Small, often simply family-owned companies deal with oil shale. Another six months and the khan is irrevocable to them. Traditional wells can be easily re-opened and pumped further, while in shale wells, high pressure. If you stop downloading, it will stupidly fall and you need to start all over again, and whether this is possible is not at all a fact. It is necessary to pump another portion of poison into the ground. And what kind of oil will be there?
    Large companies work on traditional oil, they are still struggling, although prices there are also lower than cost. Everything is more or less clear with the USA, the goals are close to achievement.
    And KSA, having a lot of fun, ran to borrow money. Will they give? Just in case, expenses have already begun to be reduced.
    If you wish, you can give money and equipment to the Hussites and they will cover the KSA oilfields with missiles and drones. All KSA oil, by a strange coincidence, is located on the lands that KSA took from Yemen in the year 1936. And the Yemenis, for some reason, did not forget this.
    The population of KSA is Sunnis. But in the east (just in the area of ​​oil fields) Shiites live, as in Yemen. By a strange coincidence, Shiites also live in Iran, and Iran regards KSA as it does to Israel. And he helps the Hussites. Well, and that there are a lot of Soviet / Russian equipment and weapons there, so where is it not?
    So, Russia does not even have to get their hands dirty. Well, they will provide Iran, confidentially, some help ...
    1. cmonman Offline
      cmonman (Garik Mokin) April 29 2020 05: 46
      0
      • 2
      • 2
      Traditional wells can be easily re-opened and pumped further, while in shale wells, high pressure.

      Quite the opposite - traditional wells cannot be closed, because opening will take a lot of time / attendants. And the shale ones are simply closed with a “faucet” - pressure will not drop, because oil has nowhere to go, it is locked with oil shale.

      Such wells can be launched relatively quickly with a favorable price situation or, for example, in the case of the start of a new oil pipeline in this area. Production volumes at these wells do not correlate with the operation of drilling rigs.

      In addition, Congress is considering buying up the assets of oil shale companies. So, in the event of a favorable situation for shale workers (a year, two, three), the state will return their assets to them with a small% in their favor. Everyone is happy, amicably leading a round dance ...
      1. GRF Offline
        GRF April 29 2020 08: 40
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        Bought, bought at a small%, everyone is happy ... I smell it, you don’t agree on the nuances that will fall on someone’s fragile shoulders, otherwise what’s the extra cost ...
        1. cmonman Offline
          cmonman (Garik Mokin) April 29 2020 14: 06
          +1
          • 2
          • 1
          When in 2008 the state bought General Motors, and after 6 years, GM returned the money to the state with 9%, then the state earned well !!!
          By the way - Ford himself got out.
  5. Alexander Semenov (Alexander Semenov) April 28 2020 18: 04
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    May will show everything!
  6. The comment was deleted.
  7. shadow Offline
    shadow April 28 2020 22: 22
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    But a bunch of tankers near America with Saudi oil, which the Saudis cannot sell, where are they doing?
    1. Rusa Offline
      Rusa April 30 2020 13: 02
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      They crowded around California, others drifting aimlessly.
  8. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 28 2020 22: 50
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    And next to an article with completely opposite conclusions, haha.
    The advantages of Russia in the economic war with Saudi Arabia are named.
    Experts anneal.
  9. Alfred Offline
    Alfred (Alfred Mursaliev) April 29 2020 06: 32
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    What nonsense ??? !!!
  10. 69 Offline
    69 April 29 2020 08: 48
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Quote: cmonman
    Traditional wells

    What makes you so worried about an emigrant Zionist?
  11. kriten Offline
    kriten (Vladimir) April 29 2020 12: 00
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Shale workers are most affected, but has Russia suffered? Stupidity or propaganda.
    1. radiootdel4 Offline
      radiootdel4 (Vladimir) April 30 2020 15: 37
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      This is an alternative reality.
  12. radiootdel4 Offline
    radiootdel4 (Vladimir) April 30 2020 15: 37
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    An article in the style of "In Russia, everything is lost-oooh."
    These .... so restless - then the Russian economy will be torn to shreds, then they will call it a gas station. Now, “The Kremlin has demonstrated its weakness to the whole world” and has forced the Saudis to reduce production, and the SGA shale bankrupt. And in general, now wait for new sanctions. And in the SGA everything will be fine, but in Russia it will be bad. But the worst thing (they forgot to indicate in the article) is that we are not able to make smartphones with particularly rounded corners.

IISS: Россия провалила свою нефтяную авантюру


Согласие России радикально снизить добычу нефти в рамках новой сделки ОПЕК+ оценивается по-разному. Найджел Гулд-Дэвис, эксперт IISS (Международного института стратегических исследований), старший научный сотрудник по России и Евразии, посчитал это большим экономическим и политическим поражением.


По мнению автора, отказ от продления сделки в Вене 6 марта был большой ошибкой, виновным в которой является Игорь Сечин, глава компании «Роснефть» и ближайший союзник президента Путина, настоявший на попытке довести до банкротства сектор добычи сланцевой нефти США. Ранее, в 2015 году, с той же задачей не сумела справиться Саудовская Аравия.

Результаты этого непродуманного решения оказались крайне негативными. После отказа от продления сделки Россией саудиты увеличили добычу нефти и устроили масштабный демпинг. Начался ценовой обвал, но Кремль рассчитывал на свои резервы в размере 580 миллиардов долларов и ФНБ, чьи активы составляли 150 миллиардов. За счет них Москва намеревалась продержаться шесть лет. Вместо этого Россия пошла на уступки ОПЕК+ всего через шесть недель низких нефтяных котировок.

Помимо экономических потерь, Кремль потерпел серьезное политическое поражение по нескольким направлениям, указывает Найджел Гулд-Дэвис.

Во-первых, своими действиями Москва разрушила отношения с Эр-Риядом и всю свою ближневосточную дипломатию, которые до этого только налаживались. В 2017 году их кульминацией стал визит Салмана бин Абдель Азиза аль-Сауда в Москву.

Во-вторых, ключевую роль в организации новой сделки ОПЕК+ сыграли США, которые сами к ней не присоединились. Тем самым Соединенные Штаты продемонстрировали, что именно они, а не Россия, являются настоящей «энергетической сверхдержавой». Для Вашингтона нефть – это только один из секторов экономики, для Москвы и Эр-Рияда – главный источник доходов.

В-третьих, вернувшись за стол переговоров всего через шесть недель вместо шести лет, Кремль продемонстрировал всему миру свою слабость и готовность идти на невыгодные для себя уступки, что может сподвигнуть Конгресс США к введению в дальнейшем новых антироссийских санкций.

Эксперт IISS делает вывод, что решение Кремля «обанкротить американских сланцевиков» – это пример непрозрачной персоналистской политики, которая в итоге нанесла серьезный ущерб экономическим политическим интересам самой России.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
15 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Владимир_Воронов (Владимир) 28 апреля 2020 16:39
    +3
    Автору хотелось бы напомнить две истины:
    1. "Все познается в сравнении", а для любого из Международного института стратегических исследований Россия в принципе не может победить США.
    2. "Цыплят по осени считают". Слишком многие, в том числе и западные эксперты, не предрекают США ничего хорошего и даже распад. Осталось ждать не много.
  2. Архаров Офлайн Архаров
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 28 апреля 2020 17:25
    0
    Ну а что тут опровергать?
  3. Комментарий был удален.
  4. boriz Офлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 28 апреля 2020 17:47
    +1
    Сланцевую нефть (а в ближайшей перспективе и газ) уже, практически, угробили. Сланцем занимаются мелкие, часто, просто, семейные компании. Ещё полгода и хана им безвозвратная. Традиционные скважины несложно расконсервировать и качать дальше, а в сланцевых - высокое давление. Если перестать качать, оно тупо упадёт и надо всё начинать сначала, а возможно ли это - совсем не факт. Это надо ещё порцию отравы в землю качать. И что там за нефть будет?
    На традиционной нефти работают крупные компании, они ещё подёргаются, хотя цены там тоже ниже себестоимости. С США более менее всё ясно, цели близки к достижению.
    А КСА, много повыделывавшись, побежала деньги занимать. Дадут ли? Расходы, на всякий случай, начали уже сейчас сокращать.
    При желании, можно дать денежек и техники хуситам и они накроют нефтепромыслы КСА ракетами и беспилотниками. Вся нефть КСА, по странной случайности, расположена на тех землях, которые КСА отобрала у Йемена году в 1936-м. И йеменцы, почему-то, этого не забыли.
    Население КСА - сунниты. Но на востоке (как раз в районе нефтепромыслов) живут шииты, как и в Йемене. По странному совпадению, в Иране тоже живут шииты, а к КСА Иран относится так же, как к Израилю. И помощь хуситам оказывает. Ну, а что техники и оружия там много советского/российского попадается, так где же её нет?
    Так что, России даже рук пачкать не придётся. Ну, окажут Ирану, конфиденциально, некоторую помощь ...
    1. cmonman Онлайн cmonman
      cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 29 апреля 2020 05:46
      0
      Традиционные скважины несложно расконсервировать и качать дальше, а в сланцевых - высокое давление.

      В точности до наоборот - традиционные скважины закрыть нельзя, т.к. на открытие потребуется много времени/бабок. А сланцевые закрываются просто “краником” - давление не упадёт, т.к. нефти некуда уходить, она заперта сланцем.

      Такие скважины относительно быстро могут быть запущены при благоприятной ценовой обстановке или, к примеру, в случае начала работы нового нефтепровода в данном районе. Объемы добычи на этих скважинах не коррелируют с работой буровых установок.

      Кроме того, конгресс рассматривает вопрос скупки активов сланцевых компаний. Так что, в случае благоприятной обстановки для сланцевиков (год-два-три) гос-во вернёт им их активы с маленьким % в свою пользу. Все довольны, дружно водят хоровод...
      1. GRF Офлайн GRF
        GRF 29 апреля 2020 08:40
        +2
        Купили, выкупили под маленький %, все довольны... Чую, не договариваете про нюансы, которые лягут на чьи-то хрупкие плечи, иначе к чему лишние издержки...
        1. cmonman Онлайн cmonman
          cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 29 апреля 2020 14:06
          +1
          Когда в 2008 году гос-во выкупило General Motors, а через 6 лет GM вернул эти деньги гос-ву с 9%, то гос-во хорошо заработало!!!
          Кстати - Ford сам выкрутился.
  5. Александр Семенов (Александр Семенов) 28 апреля 2020 18:04
    0
    Май все покажет!
  6. Комментарий был удален.
  7. Тени Офлайн Тени
    Тени 28 апреля 2020 22:22
    +2
    А куча танкеров около Америки с саудовской нефтью, которую саудиты продать не могут, куда дели?
    1. Руса Офлайн Руса
      Руса 30 апреля 2020 13:02
      0
      Они около Калифорнии столпились, другие бесцельно дрейфуют.
  8. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 28 апреля 2020 22:50
    0
    А рядом статья с абсолютно противоположными выводами, ха-ха.
    Названы преимущества России в экономической войне с Саудовской Аравией.
    Эксперты отжигают.
  9. Alfred Офлайн Alfred
    Alfred (Alfred Mursaliev) 29 апреля 2020 06:32
    -1
    Что за бред???!!!
  10. 69П Офлайн 69П
    69П 29 апреля 2020 08:48
    -1
    Цитата: cmonman
    Традиционные скважины

    Что тебя так волнует сионист-эмигрантишка?
  11. kriten Офлайн kriten
    kriten (Владимир) 29 апреля 2020 12:00
    0
    Терпят больше всего неприятности сланцевики, а пострадала Россия? Глупость или пропаганда.
    1. radiootdel4 Офлайн radiootdel4
      radiootdel4 (Владимир) 30 апреля 2020 15:37
      +1
      Это альтернативная реальность.
  12. radiootdel4 Офлайн radiootdel4
    radiootdel4 (Владимир) 30 апреля 2020 15:37
    +2
    Статья в стиле "В России все пропало-о-о-о".
    Эти .... такие беспокойные - то экономику России порвут в клочья, то назовут бензоколонкой. Теперь вот "Кремль продемонстрировал всему миру свою слабость" и принудил саудитов снизить добычу, а сланцевиков СГА обанкротиться. И вообще, теперь жди новых санкций. А в СГА все будет хорошо, а в России плохо. Но самое страшное (в статье забыли указать) - не умеем делать смартфоны с особо скругленными уголками.