Proclamation of Haftar as head of Libya plays into Russia's hands


Curious news came from Libya. Having never managed to take the capital of Tripoli by military force in a year, Field Marshal Khalifa Haftar decided to make this a cunning. The commander of the LNA simply proclaimed himself the head of state on the basis of a “people's mandate” and rejected the Shirat agreements, on the basis of which the opposing Government of National Accord was formed.


What is this, a gesture of despair or a thought-out plan of Haftar and the coalition of external players standing behind him?

Recall that Libya is in a state of permanent chaos after the NATO aggression in 2011, which led to the reprisal of its leader Muammar Gaddafi and destroyed the country, turning it into a conglomerate of “policies” and tribal unions that are constantly at war with each other. In the east, the elected Parliament, to which the HNA of Haftar is subordinate, has real power. In the west, Tripoli is sitting in Tripoli Faiz Sarraj, created on the basis of an agreement signed in 2015 in the city of Sihrat. In addition to the mandate officially recognized by the UN, this government does not possess actual power over Libya, but it has the right to sign international treaties, which some external players use.

The situation is complicated by the fact that both sides of the conflict are supported by entire coalitions of foreign states. It is believed that France, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia stand behind Haftar. Beyond Sarraj is Italy, Great Britain, Qatar and Turkey. Russia has a dual position. On the one hand, Moscow recognizes the PNS, on the other hand, mercenaries of Russian origin are marked on the side of the field marshal.

Despite an active start in the spring of last year, the LNA could not take Tripoli. The offensive is completely stuck in a positional struggle. Since the beginning of 2020, the case has complicated the active intervention of Turkey. Ankara signed a memorandum of military cooperation with the PNS, starting to transfer its military, Syrian militants, as well as increasing the supply of weapons, in particular, UAVs. This further worsened the position of the field marshal.

But a much greater concern to other parties to the conflict was caused by the memorandum on the delimitation of sea zones, which President Erdogan quickly signed with Sarraj in exchange for military assistance:

A memorandum of understanding was signed between Turkey and Libya on the demarcation of maritime zones in the Eastern Mediterranean. The memorandum has been ratified by parliament, approved by me and now sent to the UN.

A smart and fast Turkish leader intends to gain legal access to the Libyan oil and gas shelf, at the same time putting obstacles for the implementation of energy projects to his competitors. It is known that the Eastern Mediterranean is now a tangle in which interests in the development and transportation of hydrocarbons by many countries are intertwined.

It is not surprising that the activity of President Erdogan instantly turned Italy, the UAE, Egypt, Greece, Cyprus and Malta against him. Now, many people want to get rid of the Turkish presence in Libya despite the fact that Ankara intends to gain a foothold in its former province by building military bases at key points. Some time ago we toldhow, according to available information, the UAE was ready to pay Damascus several billion dollars for the Syrian army to resume the offensive in Idlib, drawing all the attention of Turkey to the north of the SAR.

Present political Haftar’s move with denunciation of the Sychrat Accords fits into that pattern. If they are invalid, then the Government created on their basis does not have a mandate, which means that the agreements signed by him with Ankara are illegal. Logic could be something like this. The international community’s response to Haftar’s statement is mixed. On the one hand, this unilateral step has been condemned by both the EU and Moscow. The head of European diplomacy Peter Stano said:

We call on all actors, all who have influence on these parties, to increase pressure so that they stop hostilities and begin to search for a political solution. This is necessary for the country and its population.

On the other hand, we are talking about some kind of political solution, but what can it be in practice? New agreement and elections, probably so? This is what Khalifa Haftar himself said:

Libyans, you have responded to our call to announce the termination of the political agreement that destroyed the country, as well as the call to authorize the one you consider most worthy to rule at this stage.

LNA today controls 75% of the country. Haftar, or rather, his protege, a kind of compromise figure, can get a real “mandate of the Libyan people” as a result of a plebiscite, and then send memorials signed by the PNS with Ankara to the furnace and officially put Turkey out the door, which will be very beneficial for Moscow . It is possible that such a scenario, or its variations, may become an international consensus. It would be a legally competent way to pull a burning wick out of a powder keg, into which the Eastern Mediterranean is increasingly turning with the Turkish expansion.

Turkish pro-government newspaper Daily Sabah wrote that the victory of Haftar in Libya will undermine the dominance of Americans and Europeans in the region, and China and Russia will take their place.

Well, time will tell.
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) April 29 2020 14: 36
    -6
    LNA today controls 75% of the country. Haftar, or rather, his protege, a kind of compromise figure, can get a real “mandate of the Libyan people” as a result of a plebiscite, and then send memorials signed by the PNS with Ankara to the furnace and officially put Turkey out the door, which will be very beneficial for Moscow .

    - Alas, but this is a weak argument ... - 5% is too much for the Arab world ... - And these 25% are entirely "about Turkish" and are ready to support Turkey in "any form" ... - and in the military also...

    The Turkish pro-government newspaper Daily Sabah even wrote that Haftar’s victory in Libya would undermine American and European dominance in the region, with China and Russia taking their place.

    - Specifically, again Russia for China will be carrying chestnuts out of the fire with its own hands ... - Yes, when will Russia finally get rid of this China ???
    - Arid summer is ahead ... - And it is time for Russia today to generally limit the supply of agricultural products and other food to China ...
    1. Zenon Zenon Offline Zenon Zenon
      Zenon Zenon (Zeno Zeno) April 29 2020 15: 36
      +4
      Specifically, again Russia for China will carry chestnuts out of the fire with its own hands ... -Yes, when will Russia finally get rid of this China ???
      -Ahead of a dry summer ... -and Russia is already time to limit the supply of agricultural products and other food to China ...

  2. Alexzn Offline Alexzn
    Alexzn (Alexander) April 29 2020 18: 08
    +1
    For Turkey, this is not only a struggle for influence in Libya, it is also a struggle for the shelf in the eastern Mediterranean. Malta, Egypt, Cyprus and Greece in this confrontation will be for Haftar, by default, they need to cancel the shelf demarcation signed by Tripoli with Ankara.
    1. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
      Marzhecki (Sergei) April 30 2020 07: 16
      -2
      That's right. Against Saraj, a large company gathered.
      1. Alexzn Offline Alexzn
        Alexzn (Alexander) April 30 2020 10: 12
        -2
        Many do not understand that Russia supports the marshal, however, not wanting to enter into a very open confrontation with Tripoli. The next operation to reconcile the parties on one of the parties. Maybe this will give its results.
  3. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 3 May 2020 00: 10
    0
    Whose side the Safe is on, that side will win.
  4. Serge Tixiy Offline Serge Tixiy
    Serge Tixiy (Serge Tixiy) 7 May 2020 20: 20
    +2
    Well, yes, Khalifa Haftar, who is a US citizen, whose family lives in the United States, who does not hide his close relationship with the CIA, will suddenly remember his youth (studying in the USSR, mind you - not in the Russian Federation) and will start "pouring water" into the Russian "mill "?! Who will believe it? And how long will Haftar himself live in this case? Not for that the United States was destroying the prosperous state of Libya in order to let Russia in there.

Провозглашение Хафтара главой Ливии играет на руку России


Любопытные новости пришли из Ливии. Так и не сумев за год взять военной силой столицу страны Триполи, фельдмаршал Халифа Хафтар решил сделать это хитростью. Командующий ЛНА просто провозгласил себя главой государства на основании «народного мандата» и отверг Схиратские соглашения, на основании которых было сформировано противостоящее ему Правительство национального согласия (ПНС).


Что это, жест отчаяния или продуманный план Хафтара и стоящей за ним коалиции внешних игроков?

Напомним, Ливия находится в состоянии перманентного хаоса после агрессии НАТО в 2011 году, которая привела к расправе над ее лидером Муаммаром Каддафи и разрушила страну, превратив в конгломерат непрерывно враждующих между собой «полисов» и племенных союзов. На востоке реальную власть имеет избранный Парламент, которому подчиняется ЛНА Хафтара. На западе в Триполи заседает ПНС Фаиза Сарраджа, созданное как раз на основе соглашения, подписанного в 2015 году в городе Сихрате. Помимо официально признанного ООН мандата, это правительство фактической властью над Ливией не обладает, зато имеет право подписывать международные договора, чем и пользуются некоторые внешние игроки.

Ситуация осложняется тем, что обе стороны конфликта поддерживаются целыми коалициями иностранных государств. Считается, что за Хафтаром стоят Франция, Египет, ОАЭ, Саудовская Аравия. За Сарраджем – Италия, Великобритания, Катар и Турция. Россия занимает двойственную позицию. С одной стороны, Москва признает ПНС, с другой стороны, наемники российского происхождения отмечены на стороне фельдмаршала.

Несмотря на активный старт весной прошлого года, ЛНА так и не смогли взять Триполи. Наступление наглухо завязло в позиционной борьбе. С начала 2020-го дело осложнило активное вмешательство Турции. Анкара заключила с ПНС меморандум о военном сотрудничестве, начав перебрасывать своих военных, сирийских боевиков, а также увеличив поставки вооружений, в частности, БПЛА. Это еще более ухудшило положение фельдмаршала.

Но гораздо большую озабоченность прочих сторон конфликта вызвал меморандум о разграничении морских зон, который президент Эрдоган по-быстрому подписал с Сарраджем в обмен на военную помощь:

Между Турцией и Ливией подписан меморандум о взаимопонимании по демаркации морских зон в Восточном Средиземноморье. Меморандум ратифицирован парламентом, утвержден мною и теперь отправлен в ООН.

Ловкий и быстрый турецкий лидер намерен получить легальный доступ к нефтегазоносному шельфу Ливии, заодно поставив препоны для реализации энергетических проектов своим конкурентам. Известно, что Восточное Средиземноморье сейчас является клубком, в котором сплелись интересы в области разработки и транспортировки углеводородов многими странами.

Неудивительно, что активность президента Эрдогана моментально настроила против него Италию, ОАЭ, Египет, Грецию, Кипр и Мальту. Теперь очень многие хотят избавиться от турецкого присутствия в Ливии при том, что Анкара намерена укрепиться в своей бывшей провинции, построив в ключевых точках военные базы. Некоторое время назад мы рассказывали, как, по имеющейся информации, ОАЭ готовы были приплатить Дамаску несколько миллиардов долларов за то, чтобы сирийская армия возобновила наступление в Идлибе, оттянув на север САР все внимание Турции.

Нынешний политический ход Хафтара с денонсацией Сихратских соглашений вполне укладывается в эту схему. Если они недействительны, то и созданное на их основании Правительство не имеет мандата, а значит, незаконны подписанные им соглашения с Анкарой. Логика может быть примерно такой. Реакция международноо сообщества на заявление Хафтара неоднозначна. С одной стороны, этот односторонний шаг осужден и ЕС, и Москвой. Глава европейской дипломатии Петер Стано заявил:

Призываем всех акторов, всех, кто имеет влияние на эти стороны, усилить давление, чтобы они прекратили боевые действия и приступили к поиску политического решения. Это необходимо стране и ее населению.

С другой стороны, речь идет о некоем политическом решении, а что это может быть на практике? Новое соглашение и выборы, наверное, так? Вот что заявил сам Халифа Хафтар:

Ливийцы, вы откликнулись на наш призыв объявить о прекращении политического соглашения, которое разрушило страну, а также на призыв уполномочить того, кого вы считаете наиболее достойным для управления на этом этапе.

ЛНА сегодня контролирует 75% территории страны. Хафтар или, скорее, его ставленник, некая компромиссная фигура, может получить в результате плебисцита реальный «мандат ливийского народа», и после отправить в топку меморандумы, подписанные ПНС с Анкарой, и официально выставить Турцию за дверь, что будет весьма выгодным и для Москвы. Вполне возможно, что международным консенсусом может стать именно такой сценарий, либо его вариации. Это был бы юридически грамотный способ выдернуть горящий фитиль из пороховой бочки, в которую с турецкой экспансией все быстрее превращается Восточное Средиземноморье.

Турецкая проправительственная газета Daily Sabah и вовсе написала о том, что победа Хафтара в Ливии подорвет господство американцев и европейцев в регионе, а их место займут Китай и Россия.

Ну, время покажет.
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. gorenina91 Офлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 29 апреля 2020 14:36
    -6
    ЛНА сегодня контролирует 75% территории страны. Хафтар или, скорее, его ставленник, некая компромиссная фигура, может получить в результате плебисцита реальный «мандат ливийского народа», и после отправить в топку меморандумы, подписанные ПНС с Анкарой, и официально выставить Турцию за дверь, что будет весьма выгодным и для Москвы.

    - Увы, но это слабенький аргумент... - 5% - это слишком много для арабского мира... - И эти 25% - сплошь "про турецкие" и готовы поддерживать Турцию в "любых проявлениях"... - и в военных тоже...

    Турецкая проправительственная газета Daily Sabah и вовсе написала о том, что победа Хафтара в Ливии подорвет господство американцев и европейцев в регионе, а их место займут Китай и Россия.

    - А конкретно - опять Россия для Китая будет своими руками таскать каштаны из огня... - Да, когда же Россия наконец-то избавится от этого Китая???
    - Впереди засушливое лето... - и России уже сегодня пора вообще лимитировать поставки с/х продукции и прочего продовольствия в Китай...
    1. Зенон Зенон Офлайн Зенон Зенон
      Зенон Зенон (Зенон Зенон) 29 апреля 2020 15:36
      +4
      А конкретно -опять Россия для Китая будет своими руками таскать каштаны из огня... -Да , когда же Россия наконец-то избавится от этого Китая???
      -Впереди засушливое лето ... -и России уже сегодня пора вообще лимитизировать поставки с/х продукции и прочего продовольствия в Китай...

  2. AlexZN Офлайн AlexZN
    AlexZN (Александр) 29 апреля 2020 18:08
    +1
    Для Турции это не только борьба за влияние в Ливии, это еще и борьба за шельф в восточном средиземноморье. Мальта, Египет, Кипр и Греция в этом противостоянии будут за Хафтара, по умолчанию, им надо отменить демаркацию шельфа, подписанную Триполи с Анкарой.
    1. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 30 апреля 2020 07:16
      -2
      Совершенно верно. Против Сараджа большая компания собралась.
      1. AlexZN Офлайн AlexZN
        AlexZN (Александр) 30 апреля 2020 10:12
        -2
        Многие не понимают, что и Россия поддерживает маршала, правда, не желая вступать в совсем уж открытое противостояние с Триполи. Очередная операция по примирению сторон на одной из сторон. Может, это и даст свои результаты.
  3. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 3 мая 2020 00:10
    0
    На чьей стороне будет Сейф, та сторона и победит.
  4. Serge Tixiy Офлайн Serge Tixiy
    Serge Tixiy (Serge Tixiy) 7 мая 2020 20:20
    +2
    Ну да, Халифа Хафтар, который является гражданином США, чья семья проживает в США, который не скрывает своих тесных отношений с ЦРУ, вдруг вспомнит молодость (обучение в СССР, заметьте - не в РФ) и начнёт "лить воду" на российскую "мельницу"?! Кто в это поверит? И как долго проживёт сам Хафтар в этом случае? Не для того США разваливали благополучное государство Ливия, чтобы пускать туда Россию.