"Hot" forecast: summer will bring Sochi weather to Muscovites


Ahead of the May holidays, when many Russians, tired of "self-isolation", rush to the nature for barbecue, and gardeners take seedlings to their suburban areas. According to all forecasts, the approaching summer may set another temperature record, becoming the hottest in the history of observations. This threatens the country with drought, crop failure, forest fires and increased stress on health.


However, as they say, there is no silver lining. Already, there are suggestions that the coronavirus pandemic in the hot summer season may recede faster than expected. What are the reasons to think so?

The fact that everything is going to an abnormally warm summer, we detail told earlier. The temperature on the planet is growing significantly; January, February and March 2020 showed record and close values. Due to the small amount of snow in the winter, in many regions the soil is deficient in moisture, which creates the conditions for drought and crop failure, as well as fires, steppe and forest. In addition, oceanologists warn that the risk of such a phenomenon as El Nino is high: the equatorial waters of the Pacific Ocean can release large amounts of thermal energy into the atmosphere at once.

Most in this situation, multi-million cities are affected, turning into a smoky human "anthill", the inhabitants of which for the most part are unable to escape from it and remain suffering from smog and heat. It is enough to recall what happened in 2010 in Moscow and the cities of the Moscow Region. Then forests and peat bogs were seriously burned, the capital of the country was clouded by a burnt place and fog for several weeks. There are cases when people died, literally suffocating in a dream because of a sharply worsened environmental situation. Cores and hypertonics also died, people from heatstrokes.

The summer of 2010 was slightly better in the northern capital, according to the local Hydrometeocenter:

On August 7, the absolute maximum of air temperature was recorded, recorded in St. Petersburg for the entire time of instrumental observations of the weather - 37,1 degrees. The previous record - 35,3 degrees, set in July, did not last a month. On August 8, the maximum of this day, held since 1972, was again exceeded. The thermometer on this day showed 33,7 degrees.

Unaccustomed to the heat, residents of St. Petersburg compared the air of the city with "boiling oil." There is a risk that today, 10 years later, everything may happen again. According to weather forecasts, the summer will be very unstable: the weather, for example, in Central Russia can rapidly jump from summer to autumn and vice versa. Spring in the Moscow region will be late: “May” will last in the capital until mid-June, possibly even longer. The weather is expected to be rainy and windy, with an average temperature of 15-17 degrees. The middle of the month will be hot, the thermometer will reach plus 30 Celsius during the day and 17 at night.

The coming summer may well repeat the 2010 records.

In early June, meteorologists promise Muscovites and residents of the region a “spring layout”: during the day the air temperature will not exceed 16-19 degrees on average, with only small take-offs up to 27 degrees. From the middle of the month, unusual heat will come to the region of the capital. Forecasters say about 30 degrees above zero, just like in Sochi.

July and August also do not bode well for Muscovites. Daytime temperatures stably above 30 degrees Celsius will become commonplace in these months. In a metropolis, such heat will not be easily tolerated, especially by older people. Against this background, the risk of burning of peat bogs near Moscow increases many times.

One of the dubious advantages of the coronavirus pandemic is that most of the population now has medical masks available that can partially ease breathing with smog and the smell of burning in the air. By the way, with their help, Muscovites were saved 10 years ago. There is another good news. It is likely that the advent of the warm season will help stop the spread of COVID-19. It has long been noted that in the summer, colds take less lives than in the winter. At the same time, the number of people who can be infected by the infected is reduced. There are a number of hypotheses that are trying to find an explanation for this.

According to one of them, it reduces the activity of ultraviolet viruses, it also helps in the summer to produce more vitamin D in the body, increasing immunity. Another hypothesis explains the decrease in the scale of epidemics in the summer by the fact that people spend less time crowded indoors, for example, children at school or students at the university, where in the winter they can more easily become infected and transmit the disease to other family members, and so on along the chain. Studies were conducted on guinea pigs, confirming that some seasonal viruses die faster in warm and humid air. At a temperature of plus 20 Celsius, infection occurs with a probability of 50% less than at a temperature of plus 5 degrees. It was noted that, at low temperatures, guinea pigs remained potentially infectious for longer.

These hypotheses have their strengths and weaknesses, but they are all based on the fact that in summer epidemic activity is markedly reduced. Which is very desirable in order for the coronavirus to be quickly taken under control, and the planet began to return to a full life.
Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

«Жаркий» прогноз: лето принесет москвичам сочинскую погоду


Впереди майские праздники, когда многие россияне, устав от «самоизоляции», рванутся на природу на шашлыки, а садоводы повезут на свои загородные участки рассаду. По всем прогнозам, приближающееся лето может поставить очередные температурные рекорды, став самым жарким за всю историю наблюдений. Стране это грозит засухой, неурожаем, лесными пожарами и повышенной нагрузкой на здоровье.


Однако, как говорится, нет худа без добра. Уже сейчас высказываются предположения, что пандемия коронавируса в жаркий летний сезон может отступить быстрее ожидаемого. Какие же есть основания так полагать?

О том, что все идет к аномально теплому лету, мы подробно рассказывали ранее. Температура на планете ощутимо растет; январь, февраль и март 2020 года показали рекордные и близкие к ним значения. Из-за малого количества снега зимой во многих регионах почва испытывает дефицит влаги, что создает предпосылки для засухи и неурожая, а также пожаров, степных и лесных. Кроме того, океанологи предупреждают, что высок риск такого явления как Эль-Ниньо: экваториальные воды Тихого океана могут сбросить в атмосферу одномоментно большое количество тепловой энергии.

Больше всего в такой ситуации страдают многомиллионные мегаполисы, превращающиеся в задымленный человеческий «муравейник», обитатели которого в большинстве своем не имеют возможности никуда из него сбежать и остаются, страдая от смога и жары. Достаточно вспомнить, что творилось в 2010 году в Москве и городах Подмосковья. Тогда серьезно горели леса и торфяники, столицу страны на несколько недель заволокло гарью и мглой. Известны случаи, когда люди умирали, в буквальном смысле слова задохнувшись во сне из-за резко ухудшившейся экологической ситуации. Также умирали сердечники и гипертоники, люди от тепловых ударов.

Немногим лучше было лето 2010 года и в северной столице, по данным местного Гидрометеоцентра:

7 августа был достигнут абсолютный максимум температуры воздуха, зафиксированный в Санкт-Петербурге за всё время инструментальных наблюдений за погодой, - 37,1 градуса. Предыдущий рекорд - 35,3 градуса, поставленный в июле, не продержался и месяца. 8 августа вновь превышен максимум этого дня, державшийся с 1972 года. Термометр в этот день показал 33,7 градуса.

Непривыкшие к жаре жители Санкт-Петербурга сравнивали воздух города с «кипящим маслом». Есть риск, что сегодня, 10 лет спустя, все может повториться. По прогнозам синоптиков, лето будет очень нестабильным: погода, например, в Центральной России может стремительно прыгать с летней на осеннюю и наоборот. Весна в Московском регионе будет поздней: «май» продлится в столице до середины июня, возможно, даже дольше. Погода ожидается дождливая и ветреная, средняя температура составит 15-17 градусов. Середина месяца будет жаркой, столбик термометра дойдет до плюс 30 по Цельсию днем и 17 ночью.

Грядущее лето вполне может повторить рекорды 2010 года.

В начале июня метеорологи обещают москвичам и жителям области «весенний расклад»: днем температура воздуха в среднем не будет превышать 16-19 градусов, лишь с небольшими взлетами до 27 градусов тепла. С середины месяца в регион столицы придет несвойственная жара. Синоптики говорят о 30 градусах выше нуля, прям как в Сочи.

Июль и август также не сулят москвичам ничего хорошего. Дневные температуры стабильно выше 30 градусов Цельсия станут обыденностью в эти месяцы. В условиях мегаполиса такая жара будет переноситься непросто, в особенности пожилыми людьми. На этом фоне многократно повышается риск горения подмосковных торфяников.

Одним из сомнительных плюсов пандемии коронавируса является то, что большая часть населения теперь имеет в наличии медицинские маски, которые способны частично облегчить дыхание при смоге и запахе гари в воздухе. К слову, с их помощью москвичи спасались 10 лет назад. Есть еще одна хорошая новость. Существует вероятность, что приход теплого сезона поспособствует прекращению распространения COVID-19. Давно отмечено, что летом «простудные» заболевания уносят меньше жизней, чем зимой. При этом количество людей, которых может заразить инфицированный, снижается. Есть ряд гипотез, которые пытаются найти этому объяснение.

Согласно одной из них, снижает активность вирусов ультрафиолет, он же помогает летом вырабатывать большее количество витамина D в организме, повышая иммунитет. Другая гипотеза объясняет понижение масштабности эпидемий в летнее время тем, что люди меньше времени находятся скученно в помещении, например, дети в школе или студенты в университете, где они зимой могут легче заразиться и передать болезнь другим членами семьи, и так далее по цепочке. Проводились исследования на морских свинках, подтверждающие, что некоторые сезонные вирусы быстрее погибают в теплом и влажном воздухе. При температуре в плюс 20 по Цельсию заражение происходит с вероятностью на 50% меньшей, чем при температуре в плюс 5 градусов. Отмечено, что при низкой температуре подопытные морские свинки дольше оставались потенциально заразными.

Данные гипотезы имеют свои сильные и слабые стороны, но все они строятся на том факте, что летом активность эпидемий заметно снижается. Что очень желательно для того, чтобы коронавирус быстрее был взят под контроль, и планета начала возвращаться к полноценной жизни.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти