How Soviet MiG-25 saved Algeria from Israeli airstrike


In the 1980s, the power of the Israel Defense Forces reached its zenith, Military Watch magazine writes. The Arab coalition bloc was destroyed by Egypt’s withdrawal from Soviet cooperation with Western countries. Libya and Iraq, which participated in the Doomsday War together with Egypt, were increasingly preoccupied with conflicts with neighboring states - Chad and Iran, respectively.


Israel has become one of the main buyers of the most modern American weapons. In the 80s, the IDF adopted the fourth-generation F-15 fighter.

Having lost the support of a number of Arab states, the leaders of the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO), Israel’s long-standing political adversary, decided to relocate their bases to northwestern Africa to avoid possible attacks from it. In 1988, the PLO planned to hold a Congress in Baghdad, at which a decision would be made on the future "Palestinian State." However, due to the Iran-Iraq war, the capital of one of the warring parties was considered unsafe for such an event.

Palestinians were warned of a possible Israeli attack, regardless of the venue of the Congress, so it was decided to hold it in Algeria - a relatively remote place and protected from the Israeli Air Force.

The organization's meeting was held at the Club des Pins, 20 km from Algeria. A no-fly zone within a radius of 20 km was introduced around the hotel, which was provided by 2K12 Kub mobile air defense systems, the forerunner of modern Buk-M2 and Buk-M3 systems. Four combat aircraft constantly patrolled the object - two MiG-21 fighters at low altitude and two MiG-25 interceptors at high altitude. A few more MiG-25s were constantly on alert at air bases. Soviet MiGs were at that time the most combat-ready aircraft in the world. In addition, their speed characteristics remained unsurpassed.

On November 10, 1988, Algeria's air defense detected several F-15s flying towards the hotel at an average height. A few more MiG-25s were lifted into the air, which, however, did not go to intercept Israeli fighters - the planes rose higher and took a position in front of the approaching F-15s. Israeli aircraft, spotting interceptors and the work of radar stations, immediately fell on the reverse course.

Israeli F-15S, operating at the limit of their endurance due to the distant location of the target of a potential attack, could not complete the combat mission. The Soviet MiG-25s, thus, were again at the proper height and saved Algeria from Israeli air strikes.
  • Photos Used: US Air Force
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Tramp1812 Offline Tramp1812
    Tramp1812 (Tramp 1812) 1 May 2020 12: 00
    +5
    The reality of the plot of the publication is very doubtful. Air strikes away from its borders, Israel inflicts only very much under force majeure circumstances. To date, I recall only two such precedents: the destruction of the Iraqi nuclear reactor near Baghdad and the raid in Uganda to free the hostages. The bombing of the Palestinian Congress is a suicide event for Israel’s international prestige. From any point of view - meaningless. Yes, let them proclaim at least ten, at least a hundred times a day. On the contrary, Israel most loudly demands the creation of a de jure Arab state, which, incidentally, has been de facto created long ago. Even two: in the Gaza Strip and on the West Bank. There is not a single Israeli soldier, policeman, officer, or Jew.
  2. 69 Offline 69
    69 1 May 2020 12: 54
    -4
    Quote: Rogue1812
    The reality of the plot of the publication is very doubtful.

    The reality is obvious.
    1. Binder Offline Binder
      Binder (Miron) 1 May 2020 14: 38
      0
      I am interested in asking - and who is that desperate daredevil who can put an end to the existence of the state of Israel? fool
      And the article was completely fake - the Israelis, of course, were not going to strike from the air at the Palestinians in Algeria, and the Soviet MiG-25 fighters could not have any impact on the situation.
  3. Alexzn Offline Alexzn
    Alexzn (Alexander) 1 May 2020 17: 06
    +1
    Some kind of dubious story. To Algeria from Israel, 5000 km is the F-15 distillation range with three hanging tanks. It is highly doubtful that the operation, which did not make sense, was planned at all, not to mention the fact that technically it could not be carried out at that time.
  4. Barmaley_2 Offline Barmaley_2
    Barmaley_2 (Barmaley) 3 May 2020 19: 57
    -2
    It is especially funny to read about the super-super-perfection of the MIG-25 (in fact, an excellent car, if not for a few BUT), after Belenko had first stolen it and the MIG would not have been studied to a screw and then the finished one, which caused mind-blowing damage to the USSR defense industry. Tolmachev, who passed a lot of information on the electronics of Soviet aircraft, which made them a complete slag for a long time.

Как советские МиГ-25 спасли Алжир от израильского авиаудара


В 1980-е годы мощь Армии обороны Израиля достигла своего апогея, пишет журнал Military Watch. Арабский коалиционный блок был разрушен уходом Египта от сотрудничества СССР к западным странам. Ливия и Ирак, участвовавшие в Войне Судного дня вместе с Египтом, были все больше озабочены конфликтами с соседними государствами – Чадом и Ираном соответственно.


Израиль стал одним из основных покупателей самых современных американских вооружений. В 80-е годы ЦАХАЛ принял на вооружение истребители четвертого поколения F-15.

Лишившись поддержки ряда арабских государств, руководители Организации освобождения Палестины (ООП), давнего политического противника Израиля, во избежание возможных нападений с его стороны решили переместить свои базы в северо-западную часть Африки. В 1988 году ООП планировала в Багдаде провести Конгресс, на котором было бы принято решение о будущем «Палестинском государстве». Однако из-за ирано-иракской войны столицу одной из противоборствующих сторон посчитали небезопасной для такого мероприятия.

Палестинцев предупредили о возможном нападении Израиля независимо от пункта проведения Конгресса, поэтому его решено было провести в Алжире – относительно удаленном и защищенном от израильских ВВС месте.

Заседание организации состоялось в отеле Club des Pins в 20 км от Алжира. Вокруг отеля была введена бесполетная зона в радиусе 20 км, которая обеспечивалась подвижными системами противовоздушной обороны 2К12 «Куб» – предшественником современных систем «Бук-M2» и «Бук-M3». Четыре боевых самолета постоянно патрулировали объект – два истребителя МиГ-21 на малой высоте и два перехватчика МиГ-25 – на большой высоте. Еще несколько МиГ-25 постоянно находились в состоянии боевой готовности на авиабазах. Советские МиГи были на тот момент наиболее боеспособными самолетами в мире. К тому же, их скоростные характеристики оставались непревзойденными.

10 ноября 1988 года противовоздушная оборона Алжира засекла несколько F-15, летящих в сторону отеля на средней высоте. В воздух было поднято еще несколько МиГ-25, которые, однако, не пошли на перехват израильских истребителей – самолеты поднялись выше и заняли позицию перед подлетающими F-15. Самолеты Израиля, заметившие перехватчиков и работу радиолокационных станций, тут же легли на обратный курс.

Израильские F-15S, действующие на пределе своей выносливости из-за далекого расположения цели потенциальной атаки, не смогли выполнить боевую задачу. Советские МиГ-25, таким образом, вновь оказались на должной высоте и спасли Алжир от авиационных ударов Израиля.
  • Использованы фотографии: U.S. Air Force
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Бродяга1812 Онлайн Бродяга1812
    Бродяга1812 (Бродяга1812) 1 мая 2020 12:00
    +5
    Очень сомнительна реальность сюжета публикации. Удары с воздуха вдали от своих границ, Израиль наносит только совсем уж при форс-мажорных обстоятельствах. На сегодняшний день, я припоминаю только два таких прецедента: уничтожение под Багдадом иракского ядерного реактора и рейд в Уганду для освобождения заложников. Бомбежка Конгресса палестинцев - самоубийственное для международного престижа Израиля мероприятие. С любой точки зрения - бессмысленное. Да пусть провозглашают хоть десять, хоть сто раз на день. Наоборот, Израиль громче всех требует создания де юре арабского государства, которое, кстати, де факто давным-давно создано. Даже два: в секторе Газа и на Западном берегу реки Иордан. Там нет ни одного израильского солдата, полицейского, чиновника, или еврея.
  2. 69П Офлайн 69П
    69П 1 мая 2020 12:54
    -4
    Цитата: Бродяга1812
    Очень сомнительна реальность сюжета публикации.

    Реальность очевидна.
    1. Биндюжник Онлайн Биндюжник
      Биндюжник (Мирон) 1 мая 2020 14:38
      0
      Интересуюсь спросить - и кто ж тот отчаянный смельчак, что сможет положить конец существованию государства Израиль? fool
      А статейка полностью фейковая - израильтяне, безусловно, не собирались наносить удар с воздуха по палестинцам в Алжире, и советские истребители МиГ-25 тут совершенно никак не могли оказать влияние на ситуацию.
  3. AlexZN Офлайн AlexZN
    AlexZN (Александр) 1 мая 2020 17:06
    +1
    Какая-то сомнительная история. До Алжира из Израиля 5000 км - это перегонная дальность F-15 с тремя подвесными баками. Крайне сомнительно, что операция, не имеющая смысла, вообще планировалась, не говоря о том, что технически она на тот момент не могла быть осуществлена.
  4. Barmaley_2 Офлайн Barmaley_2
    Barmaley_2 (Barmaley) 3 мая 2020 19:57
    -2
    Особенно смешно читать про суперпуперовость МИГ-25 (на самом деле, отличная машина, если б не несколько НО), после того, как его вначале Беленко угнал и МИГ до винтика бы не изучили и потом конченную, нанёсшую умопомрачительный ущерб оборонке СССР. Толмачев, который сдал массу инфы по электронике сов.самолётов, что сделало их полным шлаком надолго.