Western media talked about "two fatal miscalculations of Putin"


The Washington Post journalist Michael Carpenter gave his assessment of the actions of the Russian president in the current disappointing economic and the epidemiological situation in the Russian Federation. In his opinion, Putin made two fatal miscalculations.


The first, according to Carpenter, is associated with an erroneous reaction of the Russian authorities to the proposals of Saudi Arabia to reduce oil production. Putin apparently hoped for a quick bankruptcy of the US shale oil producers, but this did not happen, and the Russian economy was trapped in low prices for black gold.

Economic forecasts for the Russian Federation are very bleak. The state’s currency “cushion” is melting due to large budget expenditures associated with the help of the business suffering from the coronavirus pandemic and the population forced to make ends meet

- writes Carpenter.

Another mistake of the Russian president is an underestimation of the danger of the development of the COVID-19 epidemic and an attempt to hide the real situation in medicine. On January 31, the Kremlin did not want to block the entire border with China, closing only part of it. This has led to a false sense of security. In February-March, testing for the disease was carried out in one single laboratory in Siberia. In addition, many cases of new coronavirus infection have been classified as common pneumonia. The situation was aggravated by the decision of the authorities to criminalize the dissemination of "false information" on the fight against the pandemic.

In this regard, the legitimacy of Putin’s government, according to an expert at The Washington Post, looks extremely unconvincing, because according to polls, the rating of confidence in the Russian president fell to a 14-year low.
  • Used photos: http://kremlin.ru/
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Observer2014 Offline Observer2014
    Observer2014 1 May 2020 15: 34
    -4
    Western media talked about "two fatal miscalculations of Putin"

    And here are the figurines for you all. We Mishustin coronavirus managed to pick up in the Kremlin. bully laughing
    New challenges. New prime. The bunker in Novogireevo - this is not for you. wink
  2. Tektor Offline Tektor
    Tektor (Tektor) 1 May 2020 16: 11
    +2
    Not that I do not see "miscalculations", but on the contrary - I consider the decisions of the VLOOK to be competent. Sechin's proposals really "killed" the US shale industry due to the erroneous actions of the Saudis, which increased oil production, which dropped the price of a barrel to an unacceptable level for shale producers. Those. the Saudis actually made the situation worse, and took the US oil industry out, inflicting losses on the US that are hard to imagine. The oil industry in the states gives 12% of GDP, approximately, not counting the turnover of "paper" oil on the stock exchanges. Those. The states bury about $ 2 trillion in an industry in which about 5% of the population of the states operates ...
    Self-isolation is also the right decision, because hard quarantine could not last more than a month for psychological reasons, and smoothing the infection solved many problems with the infectious hospital bed. Both theses of the American are past the box office.
    1. Alexzn Offline Alexzn
      Alexzn (Alexander) 1 May 2020 17: 26
      -4
      The share of the entire US oil and gas industry is 7%. The USA is the largest producer and (!!!) consumer of oil. The American economy is so structured that a drop in oil prices has not only a negative, but also a positive vector, and it is difficult to say which one is larger.
      1. Tektor Offline Tektor
        Tektor (Tektor) 1 May 2020 17: 45
        +1
        The share of 7% was in 2015, and since then it has grown significantly due to the shale component.
        1. Alexzn Offline Alexzn
          Alexzn (Alexander) 1 May 2020 18: 06
          -3
          It was 7, it became 12%, i.e. a 5% increase in GDP of 21 trillion bucks, i.e. an increase of 1 ... Is this a new joke? This requires a doubling of oil and gas production with subsequent processing. And this is also at a price that has fallen. Not serious.
          1. Tektor Offline Tektor
            Tektor (Tektor) 3 May 2020 14: 09
            -1
            In general, I would assign Sechin the rank of army general for the rout of the energy industry in the United States.
  3. Marshal Zhukov Offline Marshal Zhukov
    Marshal Zhukov (Marshal Zhukov) 2 May 2020 09: 33
    +1
    Well, if Western corrupt media found. So Putin is doing the right thing. They would look for their mistakes.

Западные СМИ рассказали о «двух фатальных просчетах Путина»


Журналист издания The Washington Post Майкл Карпентер дал свою оценку действий российского президента в теперешней неутешительной экономической и эпидемиологической ситуации в РФ. По его мнению, Путин совершил два фатальных просчета.


Первый, по мнению Карпентера, связан с ошибочной реакцией российских властей на предложения Саудовской Аравии о сокращении добычи нефти. Путин, видимо, надеялся на быстрое банкротство сланцевых нефтепроизводителей США, но этого не произошло, и экономика России оказалась в ловушке низких цен на «черное золото».

Экономические прогнозы относительно РФ весьма безрадостны. Валютная «подушка» государства тает из-за больших трат бюджета, связанных с помощью страдающему от пандемии коронавируса бизнесу и населению, вынужденному сводить концы с концами

– пишет Карпентер.

Еще одна ошибка российского президента – недооценка опасности развития эпидемии COVID-19 и попытка скрыть реальное положение дел в медицине. 31 января Кремль не захотел перекрыть всю границу с Китаем, закрыв лишь ее часть. Это привело к ложному ощущению безопасности. В феврале-марте тестирование на болезнь проводилось в одной единственной лаборатории в Сибири. К тому же, многие случаи заражения новой коронавирусной инфекцией классифицировались как обычная пневмония. Ситуацию усугубило решение властей о введении уголовной ответственности за распространение «ложной информации» о борьбе с пандемией.

В связи с этим, легитимность путинской власти, по мнению эксперта The Washington Post, выглядит крайне неубедительно, ведь согласно опросам, рейтинг доверия к российскому президенту упал до 14-летнего минимума.
Использованы фотографии: http://kremlin.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

7 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Наблюдатель2014 1 мая 2020 15:34
    -4
    • 0
    • 4
    Западные СМИ рассказали о «двух фатальных просчетах Путина»

    А вот и фигушки вам всем. У нас Мишустин коронавирус умудрился подхватить в Кремле. bully laughing
    Новые задачи. Новый премьер. Бункер в Новогиреево - это вам ни это. wink
  2. Tektor Офлайн
    Tektor (Tektor) 1 мая 2020 16:11
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Не то чтобы не вижу "просчётов", но даже наоборот - считаю решения ВПР грамотными. Предложения Сечина реально "убили" сланцевую отрасль США из-за ошибочных действий саудов, повысивших добычу нефти, что уронило цену бочки до неприемлемого уровня для сланцевиков. Т.е. сауды реально усугубили ситуацию, и вынесли нефтяную отрасль Штатов в аут, нанеся Штатам такие потери, о которых даже трудно вообразить. Нефтянка в штатах даёт 12% ВВП, примерно, не считая обороты "бумажной" нефти на биржах. Т.е. Штаты хоронят около $2 трлн отрасль, в которой работает, примерно, 5% населения Штатов...
    По самоизоляции тоже правильное решение, т.к. жёсткий карантин не мог продолжаться более месяца по психологическим мотивам, а сглаживание заражения позволило решить многие проблемы с инфекционным коечным фондом. Оба тезиса американца - мимо кассы.
    1. AlexZN Офлайн
      AlexZN (Александр) 1 мая 2020 17:26
      -4
      • 0
      • 4
      Доля всей нефтегазовой отрасли США 7%. США крупнейший производитель и (!!!) потребитель нефти. Так уж устроена американская экономика, что падение цены на нефть имеет не только отрицательный, но и положительный вектор и трудно сказать, какой больше.
      1. Tektor Офлайн
        Tektor (Tektor) 1 мая 2020 17:45
        +1
        • 1
        • 0
        Доля в 7% была в 2015 году, и с тех пор она значительно выросла за счёт сланцевой составляющей.
        1. AlexZN Офлайн
          AlexZN (Александр) 1 мая 2020 18:06
          -3
          • 0
          • 3
          Была 7, стала 12%, т.е. рост на 5% от ВВП в 21 триллион баксов, т.е. рост на 1 000 000 000 000 ... Это новый анекдот такой? Для этого нужно удвоение добычи нефти и газа с последующей переработкой. И это еще и при цене, которая упала. Не серьезно.
          1. Tektor Офлайн
            Tektor (Tektor) 3 мая 2020 14:09
            -1
            • 0
            • 1
            Вообще, я бы Сечину звание генерала армии присвоил за разгром энергетической отрасли в Штатах.
  3. Маршал Zhukov Офлайн
    Маршал Zhukov (Маршал Zhukov) 2 мая 2020 09:33
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Ну, если западные продажные СМИ нашли. Значит, всё правильно делает Путин. Свои бы ошибки поискали.