Russia's expansion in the Mediterranean may extend to Egypt


Russia continues gradually gain a foothold in the eastern Mediterranean. Our military bases are officially located in Syria. On the side of Field Marshal Haftar, who recently proclaimed himself ruler of Libya, Russian military experts were spotted.


Now Egypt may become the next point on the map of the Russian Defense Ministry.

An organization called the Atlantic Council, a member of NATO, has published an analytical report, “Nomination: A Comprehensive Assessment of European Military Mobility.” According to experts of the alliance, among the main threats to it is the active expansion of Russia in the Eastern Mediterranean. The most interesting thing is that not the Syrian Arab Republic was meant, but Egypt, where our next military base could supposedly appear.

Officially, neither Cairo nor Moscow is reporting anything like this. But the drafters of the report are not simple people. Among them, for example, is the former Supreme Commander of the NATO Joint Armed Forces in Europe, General Curtis Michael Scaparotti. It is unlikely that the conclusions of the analysts of the alliance are sucked out of the finger, intelligence from the US and NATO is not in vain eating its bread. So what gives them reason to make such predictions?

If we recall the history, then Soviet warships were relatively recently welcomed guests in Egyptian ports. To counter the Sixth Fleet of the United States Navy, the 1967th Mediterranean Squadron of the USSR Navy was created in 5. It is believed that its appearance has kept the United States from participating in the Six Day War on the side of Israel. The main problem of the Soviet sailors was the lack of their own naval base in the Mediterranean. I had to use Syrian Tartus, Egyptian Alexandria and Port Said, as well as a number of other points of temporary base. In the city of Sidi-Barrani in northwestern Egypt, not far from the Libyan border, there was a base of the Soviet Navy and an observation point for the American fleet.

In the seventies, at the request of the Egyptian authorities, the Soviet squadron left the country's ports, and in 1991 it was completely disbanded. The decision to revive it as an operational unit was made in 2013. Today, Russian warships in the Mediterranean use the Syrian port of Tartus. Then, in 2013, the Egyptian newspaper "Al Watan" reported about some negotiations between Cairo and Moscow on the return of a Russian military base to the country. However, the question was clearly shelved due to a series of political events in Egypt and the death of a passenger liner with Russian tourists on board, which complicated everything.

Nevertheless, the volume of military-technical cooperation between our countries is constantly growing amid a deterioration in relations between Cairo and Washington. The Egyptians buy Russian Antei-2500 air defense systems, MiG-29M / M2 fighter jets, and Ka-52K helicopters designed for the Mistral missions that have never been delivered to us. In 2017, against the backdrop of another aggravation in neighboring Libya, at the airbase in Sidi Barrani, according to a number of foreign sources, several dozen Russian special forces were deployed. Apparently, it is this object that is most interested in the RF Ministry of Defense.

The appearance in Egypt of its own airfield jump will dramatically increase the operational capabilities of Russian anti-submarine aircraft. Following them, frequent guests could be Long-Range Aviation aircraft of the Russian Aerospace Forces. But why does Cairo need this, except for the money to rent the base?

It can be assumed that the Egyptian authorities are not averse to using Russia as a deterrent against the sharp activation of Turkey in the region. The Eastern Mediterranean is increasingly turning into a "powder keg" due to the clash of interests of many players in the field of hydrocarbon production and transportation. Ankara brought its troops into Libya, neighboring Egypt, forcing the government of Faiz Sarraj to sign a memorandum on the division of the sea shelf in its favor, which all neighbors did not like. In the Libyan conflict, Cairo and Moscow, as far as one can judge, are on the same side of the support of the LNA Field Marshal Haftar. To cool President Erdogan’s expansionist fervor in the common interests of many countries.

In this vein, the possibility of the appearance in North Africa of a new air base of the Russian Aerospace Forces does not seem unrealistic.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

8 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. beeper Online
    beeper 2 May 2020 13: 43
    0
    • 3
    • 3
    Not all the same NATO members move the boundaries of their "presence" and strive to "block the oxygen" of Russia! wink
    With the Egyptians certainly will not drop because of Russian bases!
    And in this forced (vitally necessary!) Mediterranean “expansion” of the Russian Federation, the Russian leadership very rationally “lays eggs in different baskets”!
  2. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 2 May 2020 13: 55
    -1
    • 3
    • 4
    I AM FOR! If our tourists have chosen Egypt, then our base is simply obliged to be there!
  3. Arkharov Offline
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 2 May 2020 15: 12
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    Passed already once ...
    1. 123 Offline
      123 (123) 2 May 2020 16: 19
      -2
      • 3
      • 5
      Passed already once ...

      So come on in ..... the usual thing, you know the direction. yes
  4. Bulanov Offline
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 2 May 2020 23: 54
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    If the NATO did not crap in Libya, then everything would be as before. And if Shoigu sends an expedition of archaeologists to Egypt, then someone should bring them stew and condensed milk? That will be delivered by the forces of the Navy ...
    1. Bitter Offline
      Bitter (Gleb) 3 May 2020 00: 19
      +1
      • 2
      • 1
      ... And if Shoigu sends an expedition of archaeologists to Egypt, ...

      What for? Mummification experience to adopt? The temple is almost ready.
    2. Arkharov Offline
      Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 4 May 2020 09: 56
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      As before - this is how, and who in general needed it?
  5. Cyril Online
    Cyril (Kirill) 3 May 2020 08: 43
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    The Alligator is beautiful, of course. Very beautiful helicopter.

Экспансия России в Средиземном море может распространиться на Египет


Россия продолжает постепенно закрепляться в Восточном Средиземноморье. Наши военные базы официально уже находятся в Сирии. На стороне фельдмаршала Хафтара, недавно провозгласившего себя правителем Ливии, замечены российские военспецы.


Теперь следующей точкой на карте Минобороны РФ может стать уже Египет.

Организация под названием «Атлантический совет», входящая в структуру НАТО, опубликовала аналитический доклад «Выдвижение: Всесторонняя оценка европейской военной мобильности». По мнению экспертов альянса, среди основных угроз ему - активная экспансия России в Восточном Средиземноморье. Самое интересное, что подразумевалась уже не Сирийская Арабская Республика, а Египет, где якобы может появиться наша очередная военная база.

Официально ни о чем таком ни Каир, ни Москва не сообщают. Но и составители доклада люди непростые. Среди них, например, бывший Верховный командующий объединенных вооруженных сил НАТО в Европе генерал Кёртис Майкл Скапаротти. Едва ли выводы аналитиков альянса высосаны из пальца, разведка у США и НАТО не зря свой хлеб ест. Так что же дает им основание делать подобные прогнозы?

Если вспомнить историю, то советские военные корабли относительно недавно были желанными гостями в египетских портах. Для противодействия Шестому флоту ВМС США в 1967 году была создана 5-я Средиземноморская эскадра ВМФ СССР. Считается, что ее появление сдержало США от участия в Шестидневной войне на стороне Израиля. Главной проблемой советских моряков было отсутствие собственной военно-морской базы в Средиземном море. Приходилось использовать сирийский Тартус, египетские Александрию и Порт-Саид, а также ряд других точек временного базирования. В городе Сиди-Баррани на северо-западе Египта неподалеку от границы Ливии располагалась база ВМС СССР и пункт наблюдения за американским флотом.

В семидесятых годах по требованию египетских властей советская эскадра покинула порты страны, а в 1991 году была и вовсе расформирована. Решение о ее возрождении в виде оперативного соединения было принято в 2013 году. Сегодня российские боевые корабли на Средиземном море используют сирийский порт Тартус. Тогда же, в 2013 году, египетское издание «Al Watan» сообщило о неких переговорах Каира с Москвой о возвращении в страну российской военной базы. Однако вопрос явно был отложен в долгий ящик из-за череды политических событий в Египте и гибели пассажирского лайнера с российскими туристами на борту, которые все осложнили.

Тем не менее, объем военно-технического сотрудничества между нашими странами постоянно возрастает на фоне ухудшения отношений Каира и Вашингтона. Египтяне покупают российские ЗРК «Антей-2500», истребители МиГ-29М/М2, вертолеты Ка-52К, предназначенные для так и не доставшихся нам «Мистралей». В 2017 году на фоне очередного обострения в соседней Ливии на авиабазе в Сиди-Баррани, если верить ряду зарубежных источников, были размещены несколько десятков российских спецназовцев. Судя по всему, именно этот объект больше всего интересует Минобороны РФ.

Появление в Египте собственного аэродрома подскока резко увеличит оперативные возможности российской противолодочной авиации. Следом за ними частыми гостями могли бы стать самолеты Дальней авиации ВКС РФ. Но зачем это нужно Каиру, если не считать деньги за аренду базы?

Можно предположить, что египетские власти не прочь использовать Россию как сдерживающий фактор против резкой активизации Турции в регионе. Восточное Средиземноморье все быстрее превращается в «пороховую бочку» из-за столкновения интересов множества игроков в области добычи и транспортировки углеводородов. Анкара ввела свои войска в соседнюю с Египтом Ливию, вынудив правительство Фаиза Сарраджа подписать меморандум о разделе морского шельфа в свою пользу, что очень не понравилось всем соседям. В ливийском конфликте Каир и Москва, насколько можно судить, находятся на одной стороне поддерживания ЛНА фельдмаршала Хафтара. Остудить экспансионистский пыл президента Эрдогана в общих интересах множества стран.

В этом ключе возможность появления в Северной Африке новой авиабазы ВКС РФ не представляется чем-то нереальным.
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. пищак Офлайн пищак
    пищак 2 мая 2020 13:43
    0
    Не всё же натовцам двигать границы своего "присутствия" и стремиться "перекрыть кислород" России! wink
    С египтян уж точно не убудет из-за российских баз!
    И в этой вынужденной (жизненно-необходимой!) средиземноморской "экспансии" РФ российское руководство весьма рационально "раскладывает яйца по разным корзинам"!
  2. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 2 мая 2020 13:55
    -1
    Я ЗА! Если наши туристы Египет облюбовали, то наша база просто обязана там быть!
  3. Архаров Офлайн Архаров
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 2 мая 2020 15:12
    0
    Проходили уже один раз...
    1. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 2 мая 2020 16:19
      -2
      Проходили уже один раз...

      Вот и проходите..... дело привычное, направление знаете. yes
  4. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 2 мая 2020 23:54
    +2
    Если бы натовцы не гадили в Ливии, то всё было бы как прежде. А если Шойгу экспедицию археологов в Египет пошлет, то им кто-то же должен тушенку и сгущенку завозить? Вот силами ВМФ и будут завозить...
    1. Bitter Офлайн Bitter
      Bitter (Глеб) 3 мая 2020 00:19
      +1
      ...А если Шойгу экспедицию археологов в Египет пошлет,...

      Зачем? Опыт мумифицирования перенимать? Храм уже почти готов.
    2. Архаров Офлайн Архаров
      Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 4 мая 2020 09:56
      -1
      Как прежде - это как, и кому вообще это надо было?
  5. Cyril Офлайн Cyril
    Cyril (Кирилл) 3 мая 2020 08:43
    0
    "Аллигатор" красивый, конечно. Очень красивый вертолет.