In the United States noticed a "quiet game" of Russia in Yemen


The participation of Russia in the civil conflict in southern Yemen draws the attention of readers a new article published on the website of the Washington Institute of the Middle East Institute.


According to the work, from the very beginning of the Russian military intervention in Syria in September 2015, many analysts were trying to assess and understand the role of the Russian Federation in the Middle East and North Africa.

Moscow itself, as a rule, is cautious and pragmatic when it comes to processes in Arab countries torn by conflicts, where alliances are often unstable and illusory. The Kremlin also proved its ability to skillfully maximize its successes in one part of the region, without losing its authority in another.

Russia's position in southern Yemen is characterized as a "key, but quiet player." Unlike Syria, where Moscow firmly supports the government in the fight against the uprising, its approach to Yemen was based on balancing between local groups and external players.

Moscow interacts at once with the Southern Transitional Council, and with the Yemeni government led by President Abd Rabbah Mansour Hadi, and with the Hussite rebels, as well as with the three main regional powers - Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Iran.

The long-term interests of Moscow in the south of Yemen are determined by strategic factors - mainly we are talking about access to the Red Sea and, possibly, a military base in the region. In the historical context, the article notes, such interests are understandable, given the past alliance of the Soviet Union with South Yemen - the People's Democratic Republic of Yemen.

The PDRY, which existed from 1967 until it merged with Northern Yemen (the Yemeni Arab Republic) in 1990, was the only state on the Arabian Peninsula to partner with the Kremlin during the Cold War.

The PDRY was a key Soviet ally at the Bab el Mandeb Strait, the main sea route connecting the Gulf of Aden with the Red Sea.

Today, when Russian President Vladimir Putin seeks to expand Russia's influence by capitalizing on old Soviet ties with countries in the Middle East and Africa, the Kremlin is trying to establish itself as a stabilizing force in southern Yemen.

From Putin’s point of view, southern Yemen is a region where Russia can exert influence on the basis of ties laid down in the Soviet period. For many years, the Russian Federation has emphasized that the settlement of the Yemeni “southern issue” is important for ending the civil war.

- the article says.

Russia is the only major world power that has paid close attention to the speeches of supporters of the separatist movement that took place in Aden and other parts of the South.

It is noted that the Russian Federation will act cautiously, observing how the situation is unfolding in these territories, at the same time not putting all the eggs in one basket and establishing contacts with all participants.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. 123 Offline
    123 (123) 2 May 2020 17: 47
    +3
    • 4
    • 1
    Quite clickers unbelted. Where is Agent Trump looking? Apparently, you have to terminate the contract. Maybe appoint a new one. laughing
  2. Bulanov Offline
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 2 May 2020 23: 28
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    On the participation of Russia in the civil conflict in southern Yemen

    US involvement in the civil conflict in Ukraine is so arrogant and undisguised that it is better for the Yankees to remain silent about Yemen.

В США заметили «тихую игру» России в Йемене


На участие России в гражданском конфликте юге Йемена обращает внимание читателей новая статья, опубликованная на сайте вашингтонского Института Ближнего Востока (Middle East Institute).


Как утверждается в работе, с самого начала российского военного вмешательства в Сирии в сентябре 2015 года, многие аналитики задались попытками оценить и понять роль РФ на Ближнем Востоке и в Северной Африке.

Сама Москва, как правило, осторожна и прагматична, когда речь идет о процессах в раздираемых конфликтами арабских странах, где альянсы часто нестабильны и иллюзорны. Также Кремль доказал свою способность умело максимизировать свои успехи в одной части региона, не теряя своего авторитета в другой.

Позиция России на юге Йемена характеризуется, как «ключевой, но тихий игрок». В отличие от Сирии, где Москва твердо поддерживает правительство в борьбе против восстания, ее подход к Йемену был основан на балансировании между местными группировками и внешними игроками.

Москва взаимодействует разом и с Южным переходным советом, и с правительством Йемена во главе с президентом Абд-Рабба Мансуром Хади, и с повстанцами хуситами, а также с тремя основными региональными державами – Саудовской Аравией, ОАЭ и Ираном.

Долгосрочные интересы Москвы на юге Йемена определяют стратегические факторы – в основном речь идет о доступе к Красному морю и, возможно, о военной базе в регионе. В историческом контексте, отмечается в статье, такие интересы понятны, учитывая прошлый альянс Советского Союза с Южным Йеменом – Народной Демократической Республикой Йемен.

НДРЙ, существовавшая с 1967 года до объединения с Северным Йеменом (Йеменской Арабской Республикой) в 1990 году, была единственным государством Аравийского полуострова, которое стало партнером Кремля во время холодной войны.

НДРЙ была ключевым советским союзником у пролива Баб-эль-Мандеб, главной морской магистрали, соединяющей Аденский залив с Красным морем.

Сегодня, когда президент РФ Владимир Путин стремится расширить влияние России, извлекая выгоды из старых советских связей со странами Ближнего Востока и Африки, Кремль пытается утвердить себя в качестве стабилизирующей силы на юге Йемена.

С точки зрения Путина, южный Йемен является регионом, где Россия может оказывать влияние на основе связей, заложенных еще в советский период. В течение многих лет РФ подчеркивала, что урегулирование йеменского «южного вопроса» имеет важное значение для прекращения гражданской войны

– говорится в статье.

Россия – единственная крупная мировая держава, которая уделила пристальное внимание выступлениям сторонников сепаратистского движения, что прошли в Адене и других частях Юга.

Отмечается, РФ будет действовать осторожно, наблюдая за тем, как разворачивается ситуация на этих территориях, в то же время не складывая все яйца в одну корзину и налаживая связи со всеми участниками.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 2 мая 2020 17:47
    +3
    • 4
    • 1
    Совсем щелкоперы распоясались. Куда агент Трамп смотрит? Видимо, придется расторгнуть контракт. Может, нового назначить. laughing
  2. Буланов Офлайн
    Буланов (Владимир) 2 мая 2020 23:28
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    На участие России в гражданском конфликте юге Йемена

    Участие США в гражданском конфликте на Украине настолько нагло и неприкрыто, что про Йемен янкам лучше помолчать.