Anomalous 2020: will global hunger affect Russia


2020 will definitely go down in history and will be remembered with unkind words. Apparently, he will have to count not only the start of the global energy crisis, which confronted the largest hydrocarbon producers, but also the beginning of a great famine, which can hit dozens of states.


What gives reason to say so?

David Beasley, head of the UN World Food Program, said:

The ghost of hunger is more real and dangerous than ever. In the worst case scenario, hunger threatens three dozen countries.


It would seem, what kind of hunger? 21 century in the courtyard, advanced agricultural Technology allow you to grow strawberries in the desert, and in the Far North - watermelons and honey melons. But, unfortunately, everything is much more complicated. The coronavirus pandemic paralyzed production processes, breaking traditional business ties, and everything immediately fell apart. Everything is compounded by the obvious problem of global climate change on the planet, with the consequences of which there is now no one to fight and nothing. In order not to be unfounded, let us turn to the facts.

According to the National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI), the temperature on the planet reached its record two months ago. The last time similar indicators could be observed in 2016, the reason for this was the Pacific El Niño effect, which repeats about once every 4-5 years. This is one of the reasons why the upcoming summer will surely enter the top five warmest in history, or even become the hottest. The overheated ocean becomes rich in hurricanes, from which it suffers more economy USA, the largest in the world.

But this effect has one more unpleasant feature: the rains mostly pour over the ocean surface, almost not reaching land. This threatens not only heat, but also large-scale drought. Already, the levels of reservoirs in Europe are at critical levels, agricultural land is drying up. The same thing happens in the Crimea, about which we detail told on the eve, and in the Kuban. Climatologists warn that terrible forest fires can recur not only in Russia, but also in Australia, and in the Amazon forests drying up before our eyes.

The risk of a large crop failure is very high. Leading wheat producers have already begun to hold their stocks for their own needs, limiting exports. But this is far from all the problems: because of the coronavirus pandemic, there is simply no one to harvest crops, since quarantine does not allow migrant workers to enter. There is no one to collect, the logistics of transportation is broken. Food prices will inevitably rise. But that is not all.

Due to the abnormal weather in East Africa, locusts have especially bred. Her clouds move forward, devouring all the vegetation in front of them. From Kenya, it goes through Ethiopia, Yemen, South Sudan, Somalia, Uganda, Tanzania to the Middle East towards Iran, and then China. You can try to fight locusts, but this seriously complicates the general quarantine, pumping out resources to fight the coronavirus.

According to the UN, this year 265 million people will truly starve, that is, over a quarter billion. And they fall not only on the poorest African countries, where the risk of new coups, revolutions and regional wars is high. Relative annoyance can become chronic among the populations of states such as Iran, Venezuela and even Turkey.

Will the hunger affect Russia? Such a scenario seems highly unlikely, even despite the projected dry summers and the effects of coronavirus. Our state is able to provide domestic needs for both meat and dairy, and fruit and vegetable products. Last but not least thanks to recent policy import substitution, previously so often ridiculed on the Internet. Exceptions are exotic fruits that grow in countries with warmer climates.
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Digital error Offline Digital error
    Digital error (Eugene) 4 May 2020 15: 19
    +1
    “Kommersant” in 2016 attended to the calculation of summer residents in the Russian Federation:

    In 2006, 13,8 million land plots were registered in the Russian Federation in 79 thousand non-profit gardening, gardening and summer cottage associations, it follows from the agricultural census of that year (conducted once every 10 years, the current one has only ended). Another 533 thousand of such sites discovered during the census were not included in any associations.
    Closer to reality, the assessment of the Russian Union of Gardeners: in the country - about 16 million summer cottages, led data Lyudmila Buryakova, head of the public reception of the union. And if you take into account other suburban summer cottages, including the old Soviet cottages and "typical summer cottages", the total number will be approximately 17-20 million, writes Andrei Treyvish from the Institute of Geography of the Russian Academy of Sciences in the journal Demoscope Weekly (N 655-656 2015). Professor of the Institute of Economics of the Russian Academy of Sciences Ivan Starikov believes that there are approximately 32-35 million summer cottages in the Russian Federation. How many summer residents are in the Russian Federation is also a question: Starikov, for example, speaks of 42-47 million people, the Union of Gardeners - about 60 million people.

    https://www.kommersant.ru/doc/3065183

    So the answer to the question in the title of the article is rather negative.
    1. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 4 May 2020 16: 03
      +2
      Do you think it is correct to talk about the problem of hunger in the context of the number of summer cottages? How many people and for how long are able to feed 6 hundred parts of a private household?
      1. Digital error Offline Digital error
        Digital error (Eugene) 4 May 2020 16: 27
        +3
        Quote: Marzhetsky
        how many people and for how long are able to feed 6 hundred parts of a private household?

        Let's count. The potato yield is from 120 to 250 kg per hundred square meters, total from six hundred square meters at least 720 kg. The calorie content of potatoes is 750 kcal per kilogram, with a total of 720 kg we get 540 000 kcal. The daily requirement of a person weighing 80 kg (we do not take heavy physical labor) is 1600 kcal / day. Total we receive - 6 hundred parts of a potato covers annual energy requirement of at least one person. It’s clear that you won’t be fed up with potatoes, but I think the “help” is good, but you can buy bread and meat for the money saved on potatoes. Therefore, it is likely that in some regions they didn’t forbid traveling to summer cottages - they provided the opportunity to self-feed themselves ...
        1. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
          Marzhecki (Sergei) 5 May 2020 07: 02
          +1
          That is, you should demolish everything that was previously planted on 6 acres, and start growing potatoes? This is unrealistic. And in general, talking about homestead farming is a substitution of the topic of food supply at the state level.
          1. NoN importa Offline NoN importa
            NoN importa (NoN importa) 5 May 2020 09: 06
            +5
            Specially registered. I want to know an opinion. Well, if you think it is unrealistic, then what should I do?
            Together we plant 10 acres of potatoes on a land share. Plus, in my garden there are apples, pears, greens, vegetables, feijoa and so on. Garden 5 acres. In Yessentuki. Harvesting blanks from the garden from the basement I have not yet spent for the year before last. And, for example, I give almost 60 percent of the potatoes to my neighbors for a small income. And at the same time, I do not spend days and nights in the garden. A couple of days off per month is enough for me. From feijoa and grapes a year comes from a barrel to two wines. I don’t drink alcohol, so it’s enough to spend money for guests and for the eyes. I just don’t understand, on what basis did you decide for everyone that the garden is something unrealistically heavy?
            1. 123 Offline 123
              123 (123) 5 May 2020 19: 16
              +6
              I just don’t understand, on what basis did you decide for everyone that the garden is something unrealistically heavy?

              Not surprising. If a person has lived all his life in an apartment, he may well have no idea what it is to weed grass, water the beds, spud potatoes, and collect Colorado beetles from it. The task of chopping wood and melting the stove can turn into an exciting quest. Many did not see where the milk came from, and some believe that it comes from the package.yes How is your weather there, has the cherry already blossomed?
  2. yuriy55 Offline yuriy55
    yuriy55 (Yuri Vasilievich) 6 May 2020 09: 27
    +3
    Anomalous 2020: will global hunger affect Russia

    Here the question must be posed differently:
    Will today's power be able to withstand the current situation or will it end like in 1917?
  3. NoN importa Offline NoN importa
    NoN importa (NoN importa) 8 May 2020 09: 07
    0
    Quote: 123
    How is your weather there, has the cherry already blossomed?

    Blossomed already))) The cherry is already harvested, but the apple trees are blooming with might and main. )

Аномальный 2020 год: коснется ли Россию всемирный голод


2020 год точно войдет в историю и будет поминаться недобрыми словами. Судя по всему, от него придется отсчитывать не только старт мирового энергетического кризиса, столкнувшего между собой крупнейших производителей углеводородов, но и начало большого голода, который может поразить десятки государств.


Что же дает основания так говорить?

Дэвид Бизли, возглавляющий Всемирную продовольственную программу ООН, заявил:

Призрак голода как никогда реален и опасен. При худшем варианте развития событий голод угрожает трём десяткам стран.


Казалось бы, какой голод? 21 век на дворе, передовые сельскохозяйственные технологии позволяют выращивать клубнику в пустыне, а на Крайнем Севере – арбузы и медовые дыни. Но, к сожалению, все гораздо сложнее. Пандемия коронавируса парализовала производственные процессы, разорвав традиционные бизнес-связи, и все моментально посыпалось. Все усугубляется очевидной проблемой глобального изменения климата на планете, с последствиями которого сейчас бороться некому и не на что. Чтобы не быть голословными, обратимся к фактам.

Согласно данным National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI), температура на планете два месяца назад достигла своего рекорда. В прошлый раз схожих показателей можно было наблюдать в 2016 году, виной чему был Тихоокеанский эффект Эль-Ниньо, который повторяется примерно раз в 4-5 лет. Это одна из причин, почему приближающееся лето точно войдет в пятерку самых теплых за всю историю, а то и вовсе станет самым жарким. Перегретый океан становится богат на ураганы, от которых в большей степени страдает экономика США, крупнейшая в мире.

Но есть у этого эффекта и еще одна неприятная особенность: дожди в основном проливаются над океанской поверхностью, почти не доходя до суши. Это грозит не только жарой, но и масштабной засухой. Уже сейчас уровни водохранилищ в Европе находятся на критических отметках, сельскохозяйственные угодья высыхают. То же происходит и в Крыму, о чем мы подробно рассказывали накануне, и на Кубани. Климатологи предупреждают, что страшные лесные пожары могут повториться не только в России, но и в Австралии, и в высыхающих на глазах лесах Амазонки.

Очень велик риск большого неурожая. Ведущие производители пшеницы уже начали придерживать ее запасы для собственных нужд, ограничивая экспорт. Но это далеко не все проблемы: из-за пандемии коронавируса урожаи просто некому собирать, поскольку карантин не дает права на въезд трудовым мигрантам. Собирать некому, логистика перевозок нарушена. Цены на продовольствие вырастут неминуемо. Но и это еще не все.

Из-за аномальной погоды в Восточной Африке особенно расплодилась саранча. Ее тучи двигаются вперед, сжирая всю растительность перед собой. От Кении она идет через Эфиопию, Йемен, Южный Судан, Сомали, Уганду, Танзанию на Ближний Восток в сторону Ирана, а далее – Китая. Воевать с саранчой пытаться можно, но это серьезно затрудняет всеобщий карантин, выкачивающий ресурсы на борьбу с коронавирусом.

По данным ООН, в этом году голодать по-настоящему начнут 265 миллионов человек, то есть, свыше четверти миллиарда. И они приходятся не только на беднейшие африканские страны, где высоки риск новых переворотов, революций и региональных войн. Относительное надоедание может стать хроническим среди населения таких государств, как Иран, Венесуэла и даже Турция.

Коснется ли голод России? Такой сценарий представляется весьма маловероятным, даже несмотря на прогнозируемое засушливое лето и последствия коронавируса. Наше государство в состоянии обеспечить внутренние потребности как по мясомолочной, так и по плодоовощной продукции. Не в последнюю очередь благодаря проводимой в последние годы политике импортозамещения, ранее так часто высмеиваемой на просторах интернета. Исключение составляют разве что экзотические фрукты, произрастающие в странах с более теплым климатом.
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. DigitalError Офлайн DigitalError
    DigitalError (Евгений) 4 мая 2020 15:19
    +1
    "Коммерсант" в 2016 году озаботился подсчетом дачников в РФ:

    В РФ в 2006 году было зарегистрировано 13,8 млн земельных участков в 79 тыс. некоммерческих садоводческих, огороднических и дачных объединениях, следует из сельскохозяйственной переписи того года (проводится раз в 10 лет, нынешняя - только закончилась). Еще 533 тыс. таких участков, обнаруженных в ходе переписи, ни в какие объединения не входили.
    Ближе к реальности оценка Союза садоводов России: в стране - около 16 млн дачных участков, привела данные Людмила Бурякова, руководитель общественной приемной союза. А если учесть другие загородные дачные владения, включая старосоветские дачи и "типовые дачные дворцы", то общее число составит примерно 17-20 млн, пишет в журнале "Демоскоп Weekly" (N 655-656 2015 года) Андрей Трейвиш из Института географии РАН. Профессор Института экономики РАН Иван Стариков считает, что дачных участков в РФ и вовсе примерно 32-35 млн. Сколько в РФ дачников, тоже вопрос: Стариков, например, говорит о 42-47 млн человек, Союз садоводов - о 60 млн человек.

    https://www.kommersant.ru/doc/3065183

    Так что ответ на вопрос в заголовке статьи скорее отрицательный.
    1. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 4 мая 2020 16:03
      +2
      Вы считаете корректным говорить о проблеме голода в контексте количества дачных участков? Сколько человек и в течение какого времени способны прокормить 6 соток приусадебного хозяйства?
      1. DigitalError Офлайн DigitalError
        DigitalError (Евгений) 4 мая 2020 16:27
        +3
        Цитата: Маржецкий
        сколько человек и в течение какого времени способны прокормить 6 соток приусадебного хозяйства?

        Давайте посчитаем. Урожайность картофеля от 120 до 250 кг с "сотки", итого с шести соток не менее 720 кг. Калорийность картофеля 750 ккал на килограмм, итого с 720 кг получаем 540 000 ккал. Суточная потребность человека массой 80 кг (не берем тяжелый физический труд) - 1600 ккал/сутки. Итого получаем - 6 соток картофеля покрывает годовую энергетическую потребность как минимум одного человека. Понятно, что одним картофелем сыт не будешь, но "подспорье", полагаю, хорошее, а на сэкономленные на картофеле деньги и мясцо прикупить можно, и хлеб. Потому, вероятно, в некоторых регионах и на дачи ездить не запретили - предоставили возможность самоизолированным самопрокормиться...
        1. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
          Маржецкий (Сергей) 5 мая 2020 07:02
          +1
          То есть, следует снести все, что ранее было посажено на 6 сотках, и начать выращивать картошку? Это нереально. И вообще, разговоры о приусадебном хозяйстве - это подмена темы продовольственного снабжения на государственном уровне.
          1. NoN importa Офлайн NoN importa
            NoN importa (NoN importa) 5 мая 2020 09:06
            +5
            Специально зарегистрировался. Хочу узнать мнение. Ну, если по вашему нереально, то что делать мне?
            Мы вдвоем высаживаем 10 соток просто картофеля на земельном пае. Плюс у меня в огороде яблоки, груши, зелень, овощи, фейхоа и так далее. Огород 5 соток. В Ессентуках. Урожая с огорода заготовок я с подвала еще не потратил за позапрошлый год. А, например, практически 60 процентов картофеля я отдаю соседям за небольшой доход. И при этом я не днюю и не ночую в огороде. Мне достаточно пары выходных в месяц. Из фейхоа и винограда в год выходит от бочки до двух вина. Я алкоголь не употребляю, поэтому тратиться только для гостей и за глаза хватает. Просто я не понимаю, на каком основании вы решили за всех, что огород - это что-то нереально тяжелое?
            1. 123 Онлайн 123
              123 (123) 5 мая 2020 19:16
              +6
              Просто я не понимаю, на каком основании вы решили за всех, что огород - это что-то нереально тяжелое?

              Не удивительно. Если человек всю жизнь прожил в квартире, вполне может не представлять, что такое прополоть травку, полить грядки, окучить картошку, собрать с нее колорадских жуков. Задача нарубить дровишек и растопить печь может превратится в увлекательный квест. Многие не видели, откуда молоко берется, а некоторые считают что из пакета.yes Как там у Вас погода, вишня уже зацвела?
  2. yuriy55 Офлайн yuriy55
    yuriy55 (Юрий Васильевич) 6 мая 2020 09:27
    +3
    Аномальный 2020 год: коснется ли Россию всемирный голод

    Здесь вопрос надо ставить иначе:
    Сможет ли сегодняшняя власть быть способной противостоять сегодняшней ситуации или всё закончится, как в 1917 году?
  3. NoN importa Офлайн NoN importa
    NoN importa (NoN importa) 8 мая 2020 09:07
    0
    Цитата: 123
    Как там у Вас погода, вишня уже зацвела?

    Отцвели уже))) На черешне уже урожай, а вот яблони цветут вовсю. )