Why the coronavirus pandemic and quarantine can last for years


As the coronavirus pandemic develops, more and more information about it appears in the world, which requires an analysis of specialists and a certain understanding of society. Already, doctors are warning about the risk of the second, third and subsequent waves of the epidemic, and that quarantine is a very long time, possibly for years.


Let's try to arrange what is already known about COVID-19.

Virus danger


The mortality rate from COVID-19 varies from country to country due to a combination of many factors, but the average rate is 4%. In Italy, the most affected by the epidemic, it is higher, but researchers note that mortality is much higher in the age group over 60 years. As you know, in this country with its mild climate, a lot of people live to old age, which negatively affects the statistics.

For comparison, the mortality rate for swine flu was 17%, for Ebola - 90%. In no case does this mean that the degree of danger of COVID-19 can be understated. People are dying all over the world, disease must be fought.

When to wait for the medicine


Unfortunately, as in the Hollywood blockbuster, when the vaccine appears at the last moment and saves everyone, it will not work. In reality, from the time of development to the appearance of a reliable and safe targeted medicine, it will take years, from 5 to 8 years. No one will allow an untested, potent drug to enter the market that can give serious side effects to the patient’s body.

Immunizations


A lot of people have already recovered from the coronavirus on their own, so the logical question arises as to whether vaccines can be created for those who have not yet become ill. This is all complicated. First, you need to quickly create large volumes of vaccine and distribute it to all medical facilities for administration to millions and billions of people.

Secondly, mass vaccination must be carried out before the epidemic, so that the population has managed to develop immunity in advance. Now it’s too late, and doctors are warning that the effect may be exactly the opposite of what is desired. Doctors regret that the work on a vaccine for SARS, a coronavirus similar to COVID-19, was once frozen. Although these strains vary, vaccinated patients could receive cross-immunity, which would attenuate the negative effects of COVID-19.

What to do


If you look at the statistics, then the vast majority of patients with coronavirus recover. Each person carries the disease in his own way, there is no single prescription for treatment. The hardest hit is people who still suffer from some serious diseases, which is the main cause of deaths. Having felt the symptoms, you must contact a medical institution for help.

The root of the problem lies precisely in the limited capacity of hospitals that are not designed for pandemics. “Self-isolation” aims to limit the spread of infection and allow doctors to cope with the flow of patients. But such a quarantine alone does not solve the problem of a pandemic, which can be repeated again and again until an effective medicine is developed.

According to experts, it is possible to cope with COVID-19 only when 70% of the population will have antibodies to coronavirus, having been vaccinated or ill. Therefore, in the current situation, the real fight against the epidemic can last for years.
Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 6 May 2020 13: 01
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    And China and K have already lifted quarantine. And others did not announce.

    In the end, there will be another "type of flu." It remains only to vaccinate or develop drugs. And the production, I read, the case worked out .....
  2. Nikolay Malyugin (Nikolai Malyugin) 6 May 2020 17: 12
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Previously, during an epidemic, fortresses were closed to prevent infection from entering the city. But how they had food, is unknown.

    - Misha, do you have a coronavirus?
    - Yes.
    “And where did you bring it from?” From China?
    - Offend. From Italy".
  3. BMP-2 Offline
    BMP-2 (Vladimir V.) 6 May 2020 20: 00
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Why the coronavirus pandemic and quarantine can last for years

    Because actions to combat it almost all over the world are somehow "a little moronic" being carried out ...

Почему пандемия коронавируса и карантин могут растянуться на годы


По мере развития пандемии коронавируса в мире появляется все больше информации о нем, которая требует анализа специалистов и определенного осмысления обществом. Уже сейчас медики предупреждают о риске второй, третьей и последующих волн эпидемии, и о том, что карантин – это очень надолго, возможно, на годы.


Попробуем упорядочить то, что уже сейчас известно о COVID-19.

Опасность вируса


Уровень смертности от COVID-19 различается по разным странам из-за совокупности множества факторов, но средний показатель поставляет 4%. В Италии, наиболее пострадавшей от эпидемии, он выше, но исследователи отмечают, что смертность гораздо больше в возрастной группе старше 60 лет. Как известно, в этой стране с ее мягким климатом очень много людей доживает до преклонного возраста, что негативно влияет на статистику.

Для сравнения, летальность при свином гриппе составляла 17%, при лихорадке Эбола – 90%. Сказанное ни в коем случае не означает, что степень опасности COVID-19 можно преуменьшать. Люди умирают по всему миру, с болезнью необходимо бороться.

Когда ждать лекарство


К сожалению, как в голливудском блокбастере, когда вакцина появляется в последний момент и всех спасает, не получится. В реальности от момента разработки до появления надежного и безопасного таргетированного лекарства пройдут годы, от 5 до 8 лет. Никто не позволит выйти на рынок непроверенному сильнодействующему средству, которое может дать серьезные побочные действия на организм пациента.

Прививки


Очень многие люди уже самостоятельно выздоровели от коронавируса, поэтому возникает закономерный вопрос, можно ли с их помощью создать прививки для тех, кто еще не заболел. С этим все сложно. Во-первых, нужно как-то быстро создать большие объемы вакцины и распространить по всем медучреждениям для введения миллионам и миллиардам людей.

Во-вторых, массовую вакцинацию необходимо проводить до начала эпидемии, чтобы население заранее успело выработать иммунитет. Сейчас уже поздно, и медики предупреждают, что эффект может оказаться прямо противоположным желаемому. Врачи сожалеют, что в свое время была заморожена работа над вакциной от SARS, коронавируса, сходного с COVID-19. Хотя эти штаммы различаются, привитые пациенты могли бы получить перекрестный иммунитет, который ослабил бы негативное воздействие COVID-19.

Что делать


Если посмотреть статистику, то абсолютное большинство заболевших коронавирусом выздоравливает. Каждый человек переносит заболевание по-своему, единого рецепта лечения нет. Тяжелее всего приходится людям, страдающим еще какими-то серьезными заболеваниями, что и является основной причиной летальных исходов. Почувствовав симптомы, необходимо обратиться в медицинское учреждение за помощью.

Корень проблемы заключается как раз в ограниченной пропускной способности больниц, не рассчитанных на пандемии. «Самоизоляция» имеет своей целью ограничить распространение инфекции и позволить врачам справиться с потоком больных. Но сам по себе такой карантин не решает проблемы пандемии, которая может повторяться вновь и вновь, пока не будет выработано эффективное лекарство.

Как объясняют специалисты, справиться с COVID-19 можно, только когда 70% населения будут иметь антитела к коронавирусу, получив прививку или переболев. Поэтому при нынешней ситуации реальная борьба с эпидемией может растянуться на годы.
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 6 мая 2020 13:01
    0
    А Китай и К уже сняли карантин. А другие и не объявляли.

    В итоге, будет еще один "вид гриппа". Осталась только прививочку или лекарства разработать. А производство, читал, дело отработанное.....
  2. Николай Малюгин (Николай Малюгин) 6 мая 2020 17:12
    +1
    Раньше во время эпидемии крепости закрывали ворота, чтобы в город не проникла зараза. А вот как было у них с продуктами, неизвестно.

    - Миша, у тебя коронавирус?
    - Да.
    - И откуда ты его привез? Из Китая?
    - Обижаешь. Из Италии".
  3. БМП-2 Офлайн БМП-2
    БМП-2 (Владимир В.) 6 мая 2020 20:00
    +2
    Почему пандемия коронавируса и карантин могут растянуться на годы

    Потому что действия по борьбе с ним почти во всём мире как-то "немножко по-дебильному" проводятся...